Hostelworld.com

Hostel Capitan Tom

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 27 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 27 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Hostel Capitan Tom Located at Calsada Santa Lucia norte #10 B, , Antigua.
Hostel Capitan Tom
Guatemala
Antigua Calsada Santa Lucia norte #10 B
80% 27
14.5666667 -90.7333333
Hostel Capitan Tom
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.3

Quick one night stay here, value for money, comfy beds. Owner is adorable, really homely vibes. Fully equipped kitchen which is rare for the area. Good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
5.1

Beware of the high reviews; it's pretty obvious that they were falsified. Not very clean, not enough t.p. and the vibe is in the negative. There were people sleeping on cots in the communal area and in the already crampt dorms. Sure, it's one of the cheaper hostels in town so it shouldn't have been a surprise that I got what I paid for. That being said, I checked out the next morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
4.9

Shocked that this has such a high rating. The kitchen was dirty and there was no room in the fridge to put anything in there. We booked for four people in a four bedroom dorm as we were leaving early in the morning, however when we arrived we were given a six bedroom dorm. Bathroom was also very unclean. Nicer places in Antigua for the same price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Fantastic hostel with great community. Tanya is amazing - she helped us book different tours and busses and made sure we were comfortable. Rooftop patio is a great spot to chill and look at some volcanoes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2016
7.4

The first thought which entered my mind was why is the hostel entry through a car wash? The second was why is it so untidy? The third was why is one of the male staff drunk in the evening? If you can overcome these thoughts, you may enjoy the wonderful view from terrace of the volcanoes, get tips from the owner, and enjoy meeting travellers many of whom are travelling long, and realise the hostel is the cheapest and most accommodating option in the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.7

Wonderful place to stay to visit the surroundings and multiple activities of Antigua. Tanya the owner of the place is a hearthwarming and helpful lady that will make sure you feel like home and indeed we did. Incredible person with an amazing sense of hosting. Highly recommended !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
7.7

Good kitchen, very helpful owners and great rooftop to see the volcanoes. Good location, close to the market. However very springy and uncomfortable beds and not enough lockers for people. Very cute dog.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
10.0

The best hostel in Central America by far. Such an amazing and comfortable atmosphere, like a family. Tanya is incredible, never want to leave. If your in Antigua, this is the place to be!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
7.4

Very social. People keep coming back because Tanja treats everyone like family. Facilities are a bit tight - two bathrooms for 20+ ppl - but for the money and a short stay not bad value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2016
9.1

Great hostel - more like a home away from home. Tanya (the owner) works tirelessly to make each guest feel at home from the moment they arrive. Stay for a while and you'll quickly feel like part of the family. Well equipped kitchen with free filter coffee all day and a great terrace with sunbeds and a bbq. Located next to the markets it's in the perfect spot for self caterers or cheap eats.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.