Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Capitan Tom

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 59 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 59 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2017
3.4

Do yourself a favour and avoid this place. The only good thing I can say about it was the lady behind the front desk was exceptionally nice and helpful. The other worker there Vlad is constantly confrontational and loud, which is unbearable and woke me up most morning's. There's two bathrooms for 30 people which leads to a 3 year wait for a pee or shower. The place itself is not very clean either. The WiFi is temperamental and has a speed of a snail with a broken leg.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • rachaelmaxey7539
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Aug 2017
3.1

Do yourself a favor and spend a few more dollars to stay somewhere that doesn't smell

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
5.4

Tonya was as helpful as she could be and extremely nice. Despite this, it is hardly worth the small amount you will pay unless you are on a very serious budget. I would not recommend Capitan Toms to anyone even though Tonya was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
6.0

Party hostel (if you are into this). The staff did not know how/try to deal with an above average noisy drunk teenager guest crowd, too noisy until way past 1 AM, and regularly leaving the common kitchen in an impossible state to be used. I wonder why one pays several hundred dollars to fly here to spend 24/24 speaking loudly and drinking in the public parts of a hostel open to the public. Nicely they refunded me the last 3 days and I moved on to one the tens of “normal” hostel with lots of loc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
10.0

best value in Antigua. Great atmosphere, load of free stuff (coffee, water ), well equipped kitchen, rooftop view from the terraza and very helpful owners feel like a family overthere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Jul 2017
7.1

Value for money! The dorm beds were comfortable enough but crowded. Fully equipped kitchen was awesome. The owner Tanya was helpful and friendly and almost always around. Please note there are 3 dogs that live inside. They eat meat bones on the couch, all over the floor and in the kitchen. So if you mind this, keep our of the common areas or don't stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jul 2017
6.6

Only 3 bathrooms for the whole hostel so there's a long wait in the morning! Bit of a weird vibe in the hostel but I suppose you get what you pay for! Wouldn't stay here again however if you are after dirt cheap accommodation, then this is your place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Loved this hostel. the owners and people who work here are so friendly. kitchen really well equipped , great roof terrace, tv and nice sitting room with comfy sofas. felt like home away from home. could not recommend this place enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2017
9.7

Had a great stay at this hostel! The lady that runs the place is amazing, will give you all the information you need for any tours or buses etc and can organize it all for you. The place is nice and chilled, has a good kitchen, in a great location and has some beautiful dogs bopping about. Recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.1

Very nice woman trying to help you as she can Very close to Bus Station. Great view from the terrasse. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×