X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Caracol Reviews

Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico, Popayan, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
35 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Though we were just at Hostel Caracol for one night, we were sorry we could not stay longer. The open layout and friendly atmosphere was comfortable and welcoming. It did not have any of the grotty feeling that some hostels have. The kitchen was clean. Caracol is in the historic area and easy walk to the town square, restaurants and Exito for groceries. We enjoyed talking to the other guests. Our room did not have a bathroom, but was close and we had no trouble finding one free.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

No wifi, broken fridge, no atmosphere, no other guests, staff don't even try to speak English....definitely do not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Sorry to hear you had a negative experience in the hostel. I have to confess, you did indeed visit the hostel on a weekend when the WiFi was down and the fridge also gve up the ghost too. Both elements were up and running within a couple of hours of Monday morning. All of our staff speak something of English but are far from fluent and we do our best to create a relaxed but friendly atmosphere. Once again, please accept my apolgies that you didn´t have the stay you had hoped for.

89%

Overall this hostel was very good. My only complaints are... that the showers had electrically heated shower heads which barely got warm. Second the beds were bad. They were of poor craftsmanship and every time u roll over the bed creaks and sways. The mattress and bedding was not great either. If these issues were fixed I would rate 95%.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • shackwel
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, great staff, great little cafe out front (get the brownie with arequipe!), we really enjoyed our stay. Only complaint is that the beds were unbelievably squeaky.




View all Popayan Hostels

Please give us your feedback