Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Caracol

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.4
Hostel Caracol Located at Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico, Popayan.
Hostel Caracol
Colombia
Popayan Cauca Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico
88% 142
2.4410155 -76.6025805
Hostel Caracol
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice hostel, good common areas, good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Good location and nice, quiet vibes. Perfect for chilling, reading and early nights (which is just what I was looking for after weeks of partying!) Noise from communal areas travels quite well, so could hear people coming in and out and getting up but wasn't really a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.9

Everything good, a really nice hostel in the center, you will appreciate !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.9

Decent hostel. Incredibly average atmosphere but I think that's more to do with popoyan than this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
7.4

We were able to add extra nights to our stay no problem when we decided to climb Volcan Purace. For the hike we got up at 3:30 am and the night staff couldn't be found to call us a cab or let the backpacker in who just came in on a night bus. Our next night we were kept up by a study session held by the night staff member, which I felt was inconsiderate. However, this is a comfortable place to recoop and break from long distance travel. The town is cute too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Dec 2016
7.7

All hostels in popan aren't great but this the best of it. Negativ: they lost my reservation when I came back from a trip and the hostel was full. Had to switch in the middle of the night the hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Nov 2016
8.3

I have three criticisms. The Internet terminal did not work well, the lighting in the kitchen/locker area was rather dim, and, the beds creaked. That said it was a very enjoyable stay. The staff were very amenable, excellent location, peaceful and tastefully decorated. I'd stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
7.7

Super nice setting, good location, wish the wifi was stronger.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.4

Great location, very friendly staff, wifi wasnt great and showers were lukewarm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Sep 2016
8.0

Stayed one night while passing through. Room was clean, nice kitchen, bathrooms could use a little work but fine. Coffee shop open in the morning, but none included. Just a warning - we were in Popayan on a Sunday and everything was closed - could not find one restaurant open. Store was a far walk and we got lost on the way back. Just a heads up - other days are better than Sundays here :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.