Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Caracol

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostel Caracol Located at Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico, Popayan.
Hostel Caracol
Colombia
Popayan Cauca Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico
83% 105
2.4410155 -76.6025805
Hostel Caracol
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jun 2016
7.1

Probably the nicest hostel in Popayán, the only think missing is a TV!!! Please buy one so guests can listen to music or watch a movie or the football games, it will bring all guests together and it will be less of a funeral atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel. It was really quiet when I stayed, but I imagine it's to do with the issues getting to Popayán from Cali and the season. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
6.0

Probably one of the most funereal hostels I've stayed at - this is definitely the place to come if you're seeking quiet time; it's like a church. The accommodation is fine and the facilities are clean, but be aware you have to pay extra for breakfast at the onsite cafe (which is closed on weekends). I can't say I was impressed by the surly staff here either - the woman working on the Sunday was especially unfriendly. Maybe the sepulchral atmosphere affects the staff as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.0

Good kitchen, showers and comfortable bed. Not too much atmosphere and would have been nice to have the courtyard uncovered instead of being all inside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Very lovely hostel, but popayan in general more expensive than the rest of Colombia!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.1

Nice hostel in Popayan, my second time there. This place does lack a microwave and the fridge is much too small for the amount of people that it serves, it is a cheap model that fills up with frost since the door to the freezing section is missing. Also it would be nice to have a table in the kitchen area. These improvements would not cost much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel near downtown. The staff was very friendly and kept my main bag for two days during a short trip to Popayán. Facilities are good and it is clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Great place to recharge your batteries. I stayed at the single bedroom without the bathroom, and it seems that the doubles and singles are the same rooms, which is great. The room had a double bed and it was spacious and comfortable. The common areas were nice and too. All guests went to bed early and generally kept quiet, so I wasn't bothered by any noises at all. Popayan itself is not the most exiting place in Colombia, but I enjoyed my stay, mostly because of this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel, very helpful, cute hostel dog called Ally who you can take for a walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
8.0

The hostel is nicely decorated and well organized. However it is extremely noisy! The guests talk loud, play music, and the layout of the house makes it impossible to escape. One hears everything echoing under the common roof. It was stressful. In addition, my room was hot and they do not provide fans, so I had to leave the only window, an interior one, open for air. With a fan I could have closed the window and had the white noise. Also, the fridge is too small for all the guests using it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.