Hostelworld.com

Hostel Caracol

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 97 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 97 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.1
Hostel Caracol Located at Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico, Popayan.
Hostel Caracol
Colombia
Popayan Cauca Calle 4 Number. 2-21, Centro Historico
87% 97
2.4410155 -76.6025805
Hostel Caracol
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Very lovely hostel, but popayan in general more expensive than the rest of Colombia!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
9.1

Nice hostel in Popayan, my second time there. This place does lack a microwave and the fridge is much too small for the amount of people that it serves, it is a cheap model that fills up with frost since the door to the freezing section is missing. Also it would be nice to have a table in the kitchen area. These improvements would not cost much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dmorett929545
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
10th Apr 2016
9.4

Great hostel near downtown. The staff was very friendly and kept my main bag for two days during a short trip to Popayán. Facilities are good and it is clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
8.9

Great place to recharge your batteries. I stayed at the single bedroom without the bathroom, and it seems that the doubles and singles are the same rooms, which is great. The room had a double bed and it was spacious and comfortable. The common areas were nice and too. All guests went to bed early and generally kept quiet, so I wasn't bothered by any noises at all. Popayan itself is not the most exiting place in Colombia, but I enjoyed my stay, mostly because of this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Apr 2016
9.7

Great hostel, very helpful, cute hostel dog called Ally who you can take for a walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2016
8.0

The hostel is nicely decorated and well organized. However it is extremely noisy! The guests talk loud, play music, and the layout of the house makes it impossible to escape. One hears everything echoing under the common roof. It was stressful. In addition, my room was hot and they do not provide fans, so I had to leave the only window, an interior one, open for air. With a fan I could have closed the window and had the white noise. Also, the fridge is too small for all the guests using it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2016
9.7

I stayed here for a couple of nights and loved my stay. The hostel is in a beautiful old colonial building and was spotless; the chilled atmosphere was just what I needed after months on the road. I had one of the private rooms which was lovely and cosy. The shared bathrooms were clean with hot showers. Brilliant location too. I thoroughly recommend, particularly if you want somewhere to relax and charge the batteries.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2016
7.7

Not a world class hostel but perhaps the best in Popayan. Maybe a hotel next time? Pinemma Cafe is great. We stayed in private room, shared bathroom. Bed mattress and pillows did not allow good night sleep. Bathrooms small and not clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2016
9.1

Nice hostel, clean and comfortable, not very social, very chilled, nice place to stop in between places. Good cafe at the front of the hostel. No complaints here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2016
9.7

Nice, quiet hostel on the edge of the historic centre. Organises tours for you. Has a lovely coffee shop on site with good coffees and cakes. Free bike rental is awesome. Mainly private rooms but 8 dorm beds. Privates are excellent value for couples!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.