Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Casa Colon

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 149 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostel Casa Colon Located at Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower, San Jose.
Hostel Casa Colon
Costa Rica
San Jose Paseo Colon, 24th Street N, Next to Mercedes Tower
87% 149
9.9352251 -84.0901064
Hostel Casa Colon
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place !! Probably the best for the money in San Jose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
10.0

This place is beautiful! I fell in love the second I walked in the door. All the wood beams and floors, the staircase!!! The rooms are of course clean and up to par. I felt like a hotel more than a hostel but for the money I couldn't believe it! I would come back in a heartbeat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Jul 2016
6.6

We stayed for 2 nights as a base to go rafting from. Hostel was clean although very dark inside and not the most sociable of atmospheres. Dorm room was spacious and good beds although you had to walk around a bar and past the kitchen to get to the bathroom and the bathroom was quite small. Really hot showers though which was great! Reception not overly helpful, wifi was good. Pictures are mildly deceiving.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments! About the shared bathrooms maybe it was a communication mistake because upstairs we have toilet and showers near to rooms, totally apart from the restaurant to give something more private. We really aprecciate your review and we going to comunicate better the bathrooms locations for the convenience of our guests. Best Regards!

30th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel has an updated look and resembles more like a hotel. It is very attractive and located to the major bus terminals. Restaurant is also good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
10.0

I only stayed one night. This was one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at. It was borderline hotel quality. Rather quiet, very pretty, great location. I would stay again if I were looking for a place to relax for a night especially.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking your time and let us know your stay was a good experience. Best regards!

5th Jun 2016
10.0

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at Hostel Casa Colon. It is very conveniently located. We took a bus from Arenal to San Jose and since Casa Colon is located on the main avenue, we literally spotted it from the bus, asked it to stop, and got off feet from the entrance! The rooms were very nice and clean and the staff was exceedingly helpful. The shuttle service to the airport was very useful as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad to hear you had a good experiencie at Casa Colon. Thank you so much for your good review!

11th May 2016
9.4

Great location near to Ticabus and other bus terminals. As well as close to the nice theatre and churches in the centre and a big park next to the football stadium which is great to go for a run. There is even a swimming pool by the park too. The actual hostel is very nice. Half hotel, half hostel, but more like a nice hotel. There is a computer which is very fast. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. The only problem was that there were no power points for the top/bunks and no lockers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments! We are happy to hear our location was good for you and the staff was friendly! Your opinion about the power points is something that we going to improve, thanks for that. Best regards!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th May 2016
7.7

Good location, the staff was amazing and very helpful, the ac didn't work on the bottom bunks. The hostel looks very nice and bank across the street,and 4 blocks to central of san jose.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for visiting us and take the time to write your opinion. Best Regards!

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2016
10.0

It seemed like a nice hostel. The staff was nice, it was clean there and silent at night. I arrived very late and left very early, so I didn't really see that much of it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comment!!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
8.0

Great place to stay! Good food. Good location near market. Thin walls, so you can hear traffic through the night. Not all employees speak English...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your comments and we regret the noise situation but because our location in the capital the noise becomes inevitable. Best Regards!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.