Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Feb 2017
6.9

The guy working there (i think he is running the the place) was super rude. The atmosphere when he is around drops! I was not the only traveler who thought so. Although there is a girl working there and she is really sweet and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The kitchen could use a makeover but it works. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, im sorry you though i was rude, i was just trying to explain why you cant use the room before the maid is finished cleaning, i hope the internet search, the phone call to the store, the tips on how to the get to the store, the free map and tour desk info i provided to you and your boyfriend was good help anyways. as you could see the painters started working on the hostel when you stayed here so the makeover is on its way

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved it!!!! the staff was awesome, the manager was very nice and also helpful... I felt at home Will be coming back for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay! Highly recommend it! 👏🏼👍🏽

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.7

Perfect if one looks for a quiet hostel. Not a party-hostel. Spacious large dorm with single beds (no bunk beds) in a nice house with good sitting areas and kitchen Easy to socialize with other nice travelers. The hostel is easy to reach by walking from the city-center and differernt bus terminals Helpful and friendly owner

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
9.7

I like this hostel and made a point of going back to it when I came back to Costa Rica. It's not perfect, as it needs more outlets in the dorms and some work on the bathrooms, but I have been there twice now and would gladly stay again. I think it has a great vibe and I love being close to two large super markets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jan 2017
10.0

Roomy hostel in good location. Classy ( all private bedrooms have parquet flooring) one time home of very upper class "Ticans" with lots of atmosphere and super helpful hosts. Very well equipped kitchen, blender, rice cookers, food processor etc. Got great use from rear patio, as I'm a vaper and enjoyed lots of chats and and may cups of the never ending supply of fine coffee from kitchen. Did not get to watch any but there must be about 200 movies to choose from from 100's of TV channels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Jan 2017
6.0

The hostel was well secured from the outside. They had small lockers if you need (not sure if they rented locks, we had our own). The staff member seemed very lost and was not overly welcoming. The bathrooms were okay, except the shower didn't drain properly and was gross to shower in. The beds were extremely uncomfortable - you sank into the middle. They provide a sheet for covers and as the temperature drops at night my friend and I were freezing. Our room also had no lighting at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there, we are sorry to see your hostel did not meet your expectations and that you found the staff unwelcoming, we´ll take your comments and work on them right away to improve our facilities like the drain issue which has already been fixed. I wish you would have told us about the beds or that you were cold, we could have placed the boards of the beds in right position and also we could have given you a second blanket. our dorm does have proper lighting though, you just had to turn on the light switch.

  • davidson87
  • Ecuador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.1

This is a good location within walking distance or Uber to any location. There are two bathrooms and one shower (that I knew of) for about 8-10 people but we made it work. Everyone was helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our 3 nights at Casa del Parque. Loved the atmosphere at the hostel, the owner (Roger) was super nice and accommodating, located in a hip neighborhood - but also very close to the Central Market area. We were in San Jose over New Years and found plenty to do. If you are passing through San Jose or staying for a few days this is a classy (yet affordable) place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.9

Good hostel - we booked as a stopover before an early morning flight. Decent walk (20 min?) to central San Jose, but not located in the greatest area. Facility interior felt elegant and home-y for an affordable hostel. Staff were helpful. Only problem was the area with dorm beds isn't walled off - it is an open floorplan and you can hear noise & see light from downstairs, so it's not ideal if you're a light sleeper or need to go to bed early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.