X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Casa del Parque Reviews

Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
756 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The best thing about the place is that it feels like home! The staff is like family and are willing to help in everything! Roger is the man!


83%

Pros: Hostel nice and in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the centre of town with supermarkets just a few mins away and a short taxi ride to the bars of San Pedro. Cons: the water basically didn't work most of the day (i.e. Between 9 & 5) so had to go two days without a shower, cannot bring beer into hostel and they charge 1.5 times the price as the supermarket, have to leave passport or a $60 deposit for a key. Neutral: there is a crazy German shepherd puppy


100%

Brilliant!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location but the dorm room is very noisy with all the traffic from the street.


100%

nice place! i had wonderful time! thanks for everything!

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

This feels more like a guesthouse than a hostel. The location is good, just 15 min walk to the city center. Shops and restaurants nearby. Security is good (looked doors, lockers, camera etc.). There's only one big dorm. And only two bathrooms (one shower). That can lead to some cues in the morning, or evening. Wifi is good, but not available all over the place. Overall good for one or two days. Depending on the people you can have a very good time, though.


100%

Lovely staff, beautiful space. Very convenient location.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Absolutely enjoyed staying here! Walking distance from the majority of well known sites. The staff was incredibly hepful and was greeted at the door. The atmosphere was calmly and so friendly. Everything went really well and enjoyed staying here throughout my stay.


89%

Was only here for one night but the people I met were super friendly, as was the owner, and as this was my first day in Costa Rica it was the perfect start because I felt welcome and comfortable and at home immediately. Highly recommend this place as friendly and chilled and easygoing


100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at! Its amazing - it feels like a home away from home with lots of space to relax, including an outdoor garden, a comfy TV room, drinks for sale and a very well equipped kitchen. The rooms are HUGE. We had the double with private bathroom - amazing. The location is also great - super close to museums and some amazing street art. The staff are also super friendly and helpful. Would highly re


100%

This hostel is amazing. Feels like a luxury hotel, but with hostel price. The host, Roger, is really kind and charming. We were supposed to stay one night but we loved the place so much so we stayed three nights. Would go back anytime, and we hardly recommend this place for anyone going in San Jose. The location is amazing, the place is beautiful and the staff are cool!!! Definitely 5 stars.


94%

The staff are really helpful and it is excellent place to stay for this price. I recommended to book trips by them as well - very good organisation, easy and convenient. One of the top hostel on my list ! :D

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Roger, the owner, is the man! He is so helpful and kind. He runs probably the chillest hostel in San Juan. Clean, quiet, but still full of nice people. Returned to this hostel 3 times already. Should say enough. ;) Thanks again Roger!


94%

I had a lovely time at the hostel, the bed was comfortable and the building was pretty. I enjoyed the ambient too, you feel welcome and right at home.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel on Parque Nacional, close to the gold and national museums etc. only a couple of bathrooms and only 1 shower but a good kitchen, Internet, TV, movies, and great staff who are very helpful and accomodating. Ask for wok a great restaurant.


100%

Its a lovely place to stay in san jose

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Other travellers seemed mostly nice, interesting, cool (except for one unfriendly couple). Puppy teeth on my ankle. $2 Charge for any towels. Lock on bedroom door was loose, needed repairs.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear our hostel did not meet your expectations, while you travel you are bound to find all kinds of people and im sorry that this random couple made your experience at the hostel unpleasant, we have no control over how couples behave, however we do apologize about the puppy, she is a baby and its teething, the doorknob on your is room works just fine, you just have to click the button before closing to make lock work, if you would have asked the staff for help, we would have helped you

94%

We had a great experience here. The owner was warm, welcoming, knowledgable, and helpful. It was fun to chat with other travelers on the lovely garden patio. There are plenty of options for privacy and shared spaces. The house itself is charming, the location right across from the park is great, and everything was very clean.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i can really recomand to stay in hostel casa del parque! perfect location, nice staff and secure.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice place with a functioning kitchen, warm shower, plenty of books/ guide books around, tv and movies. The location is great, very close to the supermarket, a great restaurant called Wok, the jade, gold and national museums. Opposite the Parque Nacional that might be a bit sketchy at night but is very nice during the day. There is only one shower for the dorms and the private rooms without ensuite but some private rooms have an ensuite. The privates are very generous.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback