X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Casa del Parque Reviews

Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
735 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at! Its amazing - it feels like a home away from home with lots of space to relax, including an outdoor garden, a comfy TV room, drinks for sale and a very well equipped kitchen. The rooms are HUGE. We had the double with private bathroom - amazing. The location is also great - super close to museums and some amazing street art. The staff are also super friendly and helpful. Would highly re


100%

This hostel is amazing. Feels like a luxury hotel, but with hostel price. The host, Roger, is really kind and charming. We were supposed to stay one night but we loved the place so much so we stayed three nights. Would go back anytime, and we hardly recommend this place for anyone going in San Jose. The location is amazing, the place is beautiful and the staff are cool!!! Definitely 5 stars.


94%

The staff are really helpful and it is excellent place to stay for this price. I recommended to book trips by them as well - very good organisation, easy and convenient. One of the top hostel on my list ! :D

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Roger, the owner, is the man! He is so helpful and kind. He runs probably the chillest hostel in San Juan. Clean, quiet, but still full of nice people. Returned to this hostel 3 times already. Should say enough. ;) Thanks again Roger!


94%

I had a lovely time at the hostel, the bed was comfortable and the building was pretty. I enjoyed the ambient too, you feel welcome and right at home.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel on Parque Nacional, close to the gold and national museums etc. only a couple of bathrooms and only 1 shower but a good kitchen, Internet, TV, movies, and great staff who are very helpful and accomodating. Ask for wok a great restaurant.


100%

Its a lovely place to stay in san jose

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Other travellers seemed mostly nice, interesting, cool (except for one unfriendly couple). Puppy teeth on my ankle. $2 Charge for any towels. Lock on bedroom door was loose, needed repairs.

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear our hostel did not meet your expectations, while you travel you are bound to find all kinds of people and im sorry that this random couple made your experience at the hostel unpleasant, we have no control over how couples behave, however we do apologize about the puppy, she is a baby and its teething, the doorknob on your is room works just fine, you just have to click the button before closing to make lock work, if you would have asked the staff for help, we would have helped you

94%

We had a great experience here. The owner was warm, welcoming, knowledgable, and helpful. It was fun to chat with other travelers on the lovely garden patio. There are plenty of options for privacy and shared spaces. The house itself is charming, the location right across from the park is great, and everything was very clean.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i can really recomand to stay in hostel casa del parque! perfect location, nice staff and secure.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice place with a functioning kitchen, warm shower, plenty of books/ guide books around, tv and movies. The location is great, very close to the supermarket, a great restaurant called Wok, the jade, gold and national museums. Opposite the Parque Nacional that might be a bit sketchy at night but is very nice during the day. There is only one shower for the dorms and the private rooms without ensuite but some private rooms have an ensuite. The privates are very generous.


100%

Great Kitchen. Beautiful House. Warm and relaxed atmosphere.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Really nice hostel, very calm and relaxing. Decent location. At times the limited number of bathrooms was an issue in the mornings, but otherwise a great hostel.


97%

Very charming hostel located next to a nice park and close to the main street of San José. Great atmosphere, nice people! Since it's a beautiful old house every room looks different, unfortunately it can be a bit noisy in the evening because the doors are not very thick. Other than that we had a great time!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved it here!!!! Amazing staff, super laid back atmosphere, and a gorgeous house!!! I will always come back here when coming thru San Jose!! Plus the neighborhood felt safe, there are a ton of bars and good eats just two blocks away!!!! Love the park across the street which is well lite at night!!! Definitely consider coming here to check it out!!!! Thanks again Casa del Parque!!!!!!!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

seems more like a hotel than a hostel, the house which looks like an old mansion is amazing! staff was helpful and friendly! the hostel's taxidriver was the best, keep him! :)


63%

I did not feel that this hostel was worth the money I paid. I have stayed at much nicer hostels for the same price. Small upgrades could go a long way such as really cleaning the rooms ( there were large areas of floor covered in dust), providing towels for free (not the $2 charge), and fixing the window near the front road.I stayed in one of the rooms that had a window that would not close, so I had to listened to the noisy road outside all night. Needless to say I did not sleep all night.

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, im sorry our little hostel did not meet your expectation, the floor was not covered in dust, it was volcano ash, we clean and polish the floors daily. the window that you mentioned can be closed, you just had to push up and unlock the bolts, should you have told the staff we would have closed it for you but your never did, nor mentioned any of your concerns... i hope the rest of your travels were good and you enjoyed the tropics,

100%

Incredible hosts, awesome location, palace like entrance. Lovely stay wish it had been longer.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Hostel Casa del Parque is a great place to stay. Both the rooms and the bathrooms were nice and clean and the staff was super friendly and helpful. The location was really good (next to the central park and its a nice and safe neighborhood, also its just a 5 minute walk to the city center). The kitchen was OK for cooking but there was not really space to eat. Could use another bathroom. All in all we enjoyed staying at this place and we would definitely recommend it to other travelers.


100%

Beautiful place, great location, very comfortable and welcoming. I especially love the back garden to chill and talk to other travelers.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all San Jose Hostels

Please give us your feedback