Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
7.1

This was a nice place to stay, but I had a few issues. I had requested their taxi service to pick me up from the airport, but they never showed up. I had to scramble and take an overpriced cab to the hostel. The atmosphere is odd, no one really talked to me except one guy the next morning who lived there. The shower is cold, which is expected of Costa Rica, but I thought the extra $2 charge and $10 charge for laundry was excessive. This hostel is okay, but I've found way better deals.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
6.0

They say there is quiet time after 10 pm, but it didn't actually get quiet until 2 am. Someone watched the TV very loud downstairs and the dog barked at random. The dorm is an open loft-style room, so all the noise echoes throughout the house. It was very dimly lit everywhere and the sheets smelled like ammonia. Plus the host didn't seem to have much info about the surrounding area and how to get around.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
27th Jul 2017
8.0

Very well located and the hostel seems well guarded. Very few showers though which can lead to a long wait and they have a really bad rating if you want to pay in colones, which is weird for me as we are in Costa Rica and not in the US.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
7.1

The house was very pretty and interesting . . Old and colonial. Also, the location was pleasant. Our private room with bathroom was huge. However, there were several drawbacks. Everything was damp, because of the humidity, specifically our bed. There was mold on the pillows under the cases , and an overpowering musty smell in the room. I realize it is hard to combat humidity in an old house with that climate, but a larger effort could be made.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for your comments, it is indeed a struggle to deal humidity on a tropical country where it rains 6 months of the year, we did offer you to put the sheets on the dryer for an extra cycle but your husband declined, and the scent you mention was because your air drying the sheet on an enclosed environment... doesn't help having extra humidity on the room

  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
9.7

Gorgeous building with lots of comfy common areas and very friendly staff. Like many hostels, it could use another toilet/shower, and places to charge your phone are limited. It's clean, comfortable and secure. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
8.9

Staff were cool, spot is central, spot is cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.4

A good base in San Jose with fine staff that make an effort.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.9

Good in an overall perspective. Quiet, great location. Clean. The dorm is quite uncomfortable and there's practically one bathroom/ shower for 15-20 people. Apart from that it's a nice quiet place to stay in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
10.0

Beautiful hostel and easy to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
6.6

Clean and well located and a couple of members of staff were great, but other members of staff were not friendly and we got told off for talking after 10pm. I was meant to stay 2 nights but left after 1 because my bed was so uncomfortable (I could feel the springs) and its really noisy at night. Also the hot water didn't work. No doors to the dorms (but lockers downstairs). Also my friend caught the cleaner going through her purse. It wasn't awful but I wouldn't stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hello, im sorry our hostel did not meet your expectations, we will take a look at the beds and improve where needed, i do want to let you know we do have hot water, you just have to lower the pressure so the water has time to boil in the shower head and our staff is instructed to encourage the quiet ours since we are not a party hostel, about the maid we´ll we looked at the security footage as they have worked with us for years and no incident like this has occurred, we hope the rest of your vacations was good

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.