Hostelworld.com

Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica
Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Hostel Casa del Parque Located at Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose.
Hostel Casa del Parque
Costa Rica
San Jose San Jose Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par
88% 962
9.9344853 -84.0696787
Hostel Casa del Parque
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
9.7

Great hostel with amazing friendly staff who will do anything to help you out. Perfect for a quiet nights sleep. Watch out for taxis here- our taxi driver tried to overcharge us hugely from the bus station, luckily the hostel owner came out onto the street to sort it out which saved us so much money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel with super friendly and accommodative staff which includes a really cool dog and a super cute cat ! Close to everything you need to be at. Having breakfast included would have been nice though, although it's no biggie as the hostel is footsteps away from grocery stores and several restaurants around. Would definitely recommend this to friends !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice and simple hostel. Sadly sleep was pretty difficult as the hostel is on a main road and you can't close the shutters! Also, for the price you can go to other hostels and have breakfast included! Staff were super lovely though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice hostel close to the city center in a lovely old villa. Big, well-equipped kitchen and outdoor sitting area. I only had to save the food because of roaches in the kitchen at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello tom, im sorry you had a bad experience with the hostel´s kitchen, its odd that you saw a roach since we fumigate and clean every night, you saw me cleaning the kitchen that night that i had to wait until 1am for your girlfriend´s luggage to arrive... I hope the big room we let you choose was ok for you and that the rest of your travels in the country went ok

9th Jun 2016
10.0

Casa del Parque was my favorite hostel on my recent trip to Costa Rica! The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The room we had was amazing for the price! A very classy building with great charm! Overall such a great value, and the location can't be beat! I would not hesitate to return here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
9.7

I can't say enough great things about this hostel! After a few long bus trips and long, wild nights of traveling, Casa Del Parque was the best place to unwind. It's serene, clean, and green atmosphere is just a plus to the - wait for it...NO BUNK dorms! I was also coming in from a long, hot week in Panama and needed fresh clothes that the friendly staff attended to immediately. The location by Parque Central was too nice not to enjoy an afternoon ice cream or tour. I enjoyed everything!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th May 2016
10.0

simply perfect! great location to recharge from being on the road.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
7.4

This hostel had ok dorms but we had issues with the staff. We payed for our stay in cash, but were informed that the hostel didn't have any change (it was for a $20 USD bill) and we would have to wait to receive it. As we were only staying 1 night (leaving at 5:30am the next morning), we went back at two later times that evening to ask for change, but we were told the manager was out, so never got my change. Also, one of the staff was super unhelpful/rude when we asked about the bus schedule.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
25th May 2016
7.7

Lovely big building with lots of areas to hang out, although this means people didn't mix too much. Very quiet hostel, we slept well! Staff were helpful and location is great, near the centre of San Jose, 10min taxi to bus station. Cat and dog are everywhere...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

The hostel was great! One of the best I've ever stayed in. Very beautiful building (you will notice before you're even inside), pleasant and helpful staff and close to everything (short walk from downtown). The rooms were clean and well kept and I felt right at home there. If you are looking for a solid home base for your stay in Costa Rica, this is the place for you! I would recommend this hostel to everyone and DID recommend it to my friends who have visited here before! Great experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.