Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Casa del Parque

  • Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 983 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.2
Hostel Casa del Parque Located at Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par, San Jose.
Hostel Casa del Parque
Costa Rica
San Jose San Jose Calle 19 Avenida 3era Casa, In front of the northestern corner of National Par
88% 983
9.9344853 -84.0696787
Hostel Casa del Parque
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • belgradista
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
13th Aug 2016
6.9

A typical Lonely Planet place. Very good location close to the main attractions, in an big old house but don't expect too much. The dorm is a room without doors in one floor with 14(!) beds and no curtains so it's hard to sleep after sunrise. And most people just passthrough. So Atmosphere is kinda boring. Staff is friendly but didn't answer my emails how I get to the hostel without having to use a taxi. Only 2 bathrooms and no toilet paper one time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Im sorry to see that our hostel did not meet your expectations and that you couldn't socialize with the other 28 guests in the house, our dorms are a big open space with NO bunk beds because we don't believe in crowding the space, and we DO HAVE curtains, maybe you didn't know how to roll them down? our staff could have helped, we did send you a confirmation email with all the information on how to get here, perhaps you didn't read it all

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.7

Thanks for making us feel so welcome. Enjoyed the stay especially when the dorm was nearly empty. Just need a clothes line to hang washing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved this place! It's one of the most beautiful hostels I've ever been. A '50s villa turned into hostel, it's like the house you will never afford to buy. Lots of atmosphere. There is only a shower for the big dorm, but it was not crowded so no problem. Perfect location, close to the center and a taxi stand just in front. Staff was helpful. Roger prepared for me a great mango smoothie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

I highly recommend the place - transfers arranged without fuss from the airport, room was spacious & clean & Hostel was in an excellent location. Roger who runs the hostel was extremely helpful - helped us plan our trip & advised us on many aspects of travelling around costa rica. He even organised some flowers & cake in the room as it was my girlfriends birthday. Safe, clean, helpful, comfy & good value. We felt welcomed, looked after and was a great pace to start & end our trip. Thanks Roger!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
10.0

My short stay was very enjoyable and satisfying in any way. I just can recommand this place for every backpacker or traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Everything is good . The guy who is new , he could not give me enough information which I want . By the way , he is really nice just I am not lucky

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
10.0

Really friendly place to stay, with helpful and welcoming staff. Great facilities in the kitchen and TV room and the dorm was very clean and spacious. Overall lovely hostel in a beautiful building. Downtown was in walking distance and it's close to bus stations.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.7

A nice place and a great location. Locked gate makes it safe since its next to the park. Great location if you're catching the bus the next day like us. Stayed in room D1 (with private bathroom) for one night, which was on the first floor and next to the public bathroom (adjacent to the public sitting area) so it was a little noisy. Suggestion: put another lightbulb in the room. The room is huge and one side of the room has no light so you can't see anything at night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.1

Good location, short walk to shops & walking distance to bus stations. Very noisy at night due to bars in the area. Wifi weak in some areas (all of upstairs) and dropped out frequently. Staff was excellent, really knew his stuff about travelling around Costa Rica. Pillows need an upgrade urgently! Not enough toilets & showers for amount of people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.9

Friendly and helpful staff, lovely large double room. Shared bathroom was connected to the dorm but this wasn't a problem. Very pretty building and great location for exploring the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.