X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Cat Reviews

1236 South Las Vegas Boulevard, Las Vegas, Nevada, Las Vegas, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
972 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

the directions were incorrect and the guy on the front desk was absolutely useless and knowledge less :( BUT the hostel is super cheap and very clean and great place to meet people, FREE pancake breakfast and all other staff I met were lovely :) activities offered and affordable :) shame really it's quite far down the Strip for but you can expect that for the price you pay :) 1st night I had a private room because it was so cheap - basically a 6 bed dorm to myself :) awesome! xx


80%

Very good hostel, very cheap ! The staff was nice To be recommended


97%

2nd time. Really really good hostel. Every day other activities.


71%

Pretty decent spot and unbeatable for the money, just didn't have a lot of character, and the common area was quite small and cramped... much better to hang out outside in the courtyard. Would probably return next time in Vegas....


100%

Great place to hang out and meet people. awesome location in the arts district and just a short walk from the general debauchery of the strip...so win win! There is even air con in the rooms to make sleeping off a hangover that much easier.


86%

I can't remember a thing, so I suppose that means it was pretty awesome!

  • 5th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

First impressions not good, doesn't look like a good hostel, but once you settle in its ok. The rooms are good with shower, toilet and lockers. Every night something going on, bus stop is close to hostel, costs $6 for 2hrs or $8 for 24hrs good to get to the strip or you can walk the 40mins. Area didn't look the safest but never had any trouble. You get what you pay for.


100%

Best Hostel I've ever been at, seriously, planning on returning next year for a week. Lots of activities and really good value for money.


49%

Price confusing!! They're very cheap, but you have to add a couple things in the price, even the towel. No air conditioning. (an essential item in Vegas) Good Internet. I wouldn't recommend them, and probably will not go back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Website & confirmation email & rules you must read BEFORE checking in are very clear on price. If you are referring to the $10 key deposit, you get this back when you check out. It is in your pocket, not ours, so not a real cost of the stay. All rooms have good air conditioning - but your dorm mates can turn on or off. If they do this when they leave, turn it on when you come back! Glad you like the internet, but it's a party hostel - come out with us!

74%

Cheap and ok.


34%

This hotel was located very far away from the strip and the nice places. VERY hot in the rooms, the air-con didn't work so good. The staff was pretty rude and they took extra charges for everything..I would not recommend to stay here since you can find really cheap hotels (cheaper than the hostel) thats located on the strip, with pool, and a working air-con!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Free parking, a/c, breakfast, wifi, tours & activities, coffee/tea/lockers/luggage storage/laundry soap. Hotels charge $15 daily WIFI. A/C is normal here 72F/21C. If your dorm mate turns it off to go 'green' when leaving, turn it ON when you arrive. This is on rules & a colorful sign by a/c. No hotel is cheaper than a hostel here EVER. Ask what will be on your credit card bill when you checkout- never the advertised price at hotels in Vegas. Ask them.

86%

I loved the pencakes in the morning :)


69%

Not enough lockers


80%

Seems to mirror the Vegas party experience, bed was particularly uncomfy but otherwise great value for money. Staff could have been more forthcoming to help you get the most out of your stay.


66%

the staff was quite friendly but incompetent-they couldn't even tell me where the bus stop is for the bus that goes to the airport, and they couldn't answer any other question I had; the rooms could be cleaner; its a bit of a walk to the strip or fremont street (ca. 15 min.) but there is good public transport; they offer good, freshly cooked dinner for only 5 $; good activities at night;


86%

This place was a ton of fun. If you look at it as a party hostel - this is a great place. The staff is great. Hostel events are fun. When I just moved into my room it smelled of piss (not sure why), but I had a blast staying at this place. And the price per night is pretty unbeatable.


100%

The best and most perfect place to stay in Vegas as a backpacker. no question, just book it. every night is different. the hostel is amazing, arranges awesome activities every night. highlight of mine was casino night. you guys rule. definitely coming back as i havent experienced the rest of the week. but vegas was awesome because of this place. safe, clean, good rooms, good location. what more do you need?


49%

The location is in the middle of no nowhere. Especially at night, it is not really safe to walk around. Be careful if u carry wth u nuggets, milkshakes or other kind of food, it will attract all the homeless and dodgy people that count Las Vegas. The hostel itself isn't really clean. Serial killers might share your room. Well, it's better to spend your money in an other hotel that might be a bit more expensive, but it will give u a better experience of the city.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most guests like our location - 1 mile from Fremont Street Experience, 15 min walk from Stratosphere & ON Las Vegas Blvd & still so cheap! If you want to avoid cities with homeless & suspect the worst of other backpackers in your dorm, you should alter your travel plans significantly.

83%

If you wan't to party come here.


74%

Stayed here during EDC weekend as every hotel in Vegas went up $100 a night. A great atmosphere of youthful international travelers. Not located in the best part of town, and the A/C sucks, but if you're looking to do vegas on the super-cheap, it's not a bad play.


(586 results)


View all Las Vegas Hostels

Please give us your feedback