X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cathedral Reviews

Republica de Guatemala No 4, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1500 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Nice hostel very helpful staff. It's a bit loud, especially on the first floor because the dining area downstairs gets busy and loud. The wifi is very spotty and I had trouble getting decent reception on my phone as well. The rooftop bar is really nice though and I had a great time there. Breakfast was continental, but still a nice perk. The location is fantastic as it's right by the Zocalo with easy access to a lot of the main attractions, as well as to the subway lines. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ The help us a lot¡¡ Cheers

74%

Stayed Four Nights at the hostel which is located right in the Center of DF, behind the Cathedral at zocalo. The Location And the rooftop Bar of the hostel are outstanding. The hostel itself with athmosphere was alright and a decent breakfast included. What i die not like was that the bathrooms which were for the dorms to use Where really dirty. The mens Rest room always smelled so bad that i did not want to use it and rather went to nearby Restaurants

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ Safe travels¡ Cheers

97%

A good place to rest and to talk with travelers. Good service!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Cheers

86%

Above all, its a great hostel and i would stay there again for sure, especially for the terrace bar and the staff who works there at night and the social vibe of the hostel But...they are expensive and should improve some stuff to make it worth it. At breakfast, many times there is no coffe, or the coffe is cold. The common bathrooms are not very clean and the reception staff sometimes is rude or careless. They should also relax about the silence after 10pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We care a lot about our guest and the money that they paid, we are one of the most cheapest hostels in mexico city, please check out food prieces and accomodation around this neightborhood. We provide breakfast are included in our accomodation, hot and cold dishes such as: eggs, hot cakes, fruit, bread, juice, etc. Please come back any time¡ Cheers

97%

Great place to meet others, got all the facilities you need and its clean. The wifi isn't consistent but that was the only fault. Great free walking tours most days and an awesome upstairs bar. Really enjoyed my stay!


100%

Overall great place, staff were nice and accommodating. Lost my free breakfast ticket twice and was fortunate enough to get another one at the front desk with no hassle.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Cheers

91%

Hostel Cathedral is in a great location and the vibe is exactly what you're looking for as a traveler. Fun group outings, a terrace bar, and a great breakfast served on the roof! I will definitely stay in this Hostel next time I return to DF.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks For your comments¡¡¡ Safe Travels and please come back any time¡ Cheers

97%

This is a very good hostel with an excelent location! The room is clean and they really value silence. Don´t worry if you like to party ´cause you can have some fun at the terrace. The view is amazing! Wifi is poor and unstable! Last thing: DO NOT belive the staff when they tell you that your taxi to the airport is gonna take from 5 -15 minutes to arrive at the front door of the hostel! My taxi took 1 hour to arrive at the hostel and I almost miss my flight!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ As you might know we dont manage the taxi service, we work with a taxi company (that offer us better rates for our guest). We are sorry that sometimes taxis might take a little more tah they supposted to, and we understand how rude this could be... Safe travels

97%

Great location; clean. Staff were very kind and helpful. Really great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to be better¡ we are glad you have fun with us¡ safe travels¡

91%

Very helpful friendly staff, great view fron the roof top bar, great central location. Wifi isn't great but Who care when you have an amazing city to get lost in :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are glad you have fun with us, come back any time¡ Cheers

91%

I did not have problems regarding the service, reservation, expectation, etc. They were very kind in the treatment and always available to help. To recomment: the free walking tour with "Ivan" To improve: the breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ Come back any time¡ cheers.

69%

staff at reception are not friendly or helpfull. central location. good breakfast but not much facilities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better and improve our work. Usually people love our reception staff. Please come back any time¡ Cheers

83%

Excellent location and very helpful, well-informed staff. Some of the rooms are quite dark so if you need sunlight to wake up, try to ask for a bed in the upper floors... unless of course you mind the nightly racket from the rooftop bar. Altogether a very nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, come back any time¡ Safe travels. Cheers¡

69%

Apart from the very central location and breakfast, there wasn't too much to rave about. Staff weren't particularly helpful and the bathroom was covered in mould. Okay place to crash while you're out and about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are sorry you didnt find us helpful, usually people love our way of working and helping guest. We clean all our bathroom twice a day, we are really sorry that you find it with mould, you stay in a dorm and sometimes its difficult for guest to keep it clean, but we are always willing to help, clean and do... as many times as necesary¡ just need to ask. Cheers

80%

Staff were not interested, inviting or engaging! But would always help when it was requested. Was more like a lodging house feel than a hostel. I believe the feel comes from the Staff and affects the atmosphere of the place! 1 Of the 2 nights the bathroom/toilet wasn't cleaned so it had a bad smell! The rest was excellent. Ps: also true about the noise as mentioned in other reviews, I didn't think it was a party hostel but it was noisy from the way the building is designed, reregard

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ We are sorry you didnt felt part of the atmosphere, as you said atmospere comes first from our staff, that is why we are always there for you guys. Please come back any time. Cheers

97%

Location, staff and view from the roof was amazing!!! It was wonderful stay!

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Come back any time¡ Cheers

94%

Great view from the roof terrace. Their breakfast is the best Mexican breakfast so far. The staff knows everything about Mexico City and you would have your questions answered.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are happy you have fun with us. Come back any time.

77%

Bad smell coming from the toilet constantly and specially after showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better. We jus check all the pipes from the hostel. the smeel its gone¡ Cheers.

94%

enjoyed my stay here awesome location great rooftop bar & breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡¡¡ Please come back any time¡

86%

This hostel is clearly an institution. They have thought of all of the conveniences that travellers like in hostels: a terrace bar, clean bathrooms, hot showers, comfortable beds, ample power plugs, big lockers, breakfast... So it's a comfortable hostel with regard to the physical stuff that it has. The hostel is huge though and, consequently, it lacks personality and charm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better. Please come back any time¡ Usually people love our charm and personality, but we will work hard on this matter... Thanks.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Mexico City Hostels

Please give us your feedback