X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cathedral Reviews

Republica de Guatemala No 4, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1406 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

My and my friend had a very good Time in Hostel Catedral ! The location was perfect ! Taking the breakfast on the rooftop was also wonderful ! Very Nice staf and very good parties :) i highly recommend this place for young travelers who wants to find and Hostel in Mexico City !

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The beds are good, but the wifi just does nota work. And it seems to be a problem that has nota been solved for a long time. Moreover, the card that opens the door hardly works


86%

El precio es accesible. y el desayuno es muy completo y agradable. La ubicación es excelente. Solo una área de oportunidad sería tener colchones bien cubiertos por sabanas, debido a que me toco uno manchado de algo café y se ve desagradable, También sería bueno cambiar colchones que ya no sirven, porque a mi me toco uno que es muy incomodo y los resortes se empiezan a sentir. Muchas gracias.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias por tus comentarios, sin duda nos ayuda a mejorar¡ Justamente estamos comprando colchones en este mes, ten por seguro que en tu proxima visita, te llevaras una sorpresa¡ Saludos y esperamos verte pronto.

83%

Spotless with dedicated, helpful staff. And, locationwise, impossible to beat. Would definitely reccommend to a friend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ Come back any time¡ Cheers

100%

Loved my time there, and met some awesome people. Best hostel in Mexico City!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome location and cool people. definitely a must go.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Cheers and safe travels¡

83%

Awesome location. Excelente rooftop bar with an incredible view. The downside at this hostel is the staff that is not very excited about the visitors, but the rooftop bar where everyone meets after dinner to star the night makes worth every moment you stay there.


69%

Bad customer service from the mexican staff specially the people in the from desk. Regular cleaning service aswell.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apoligize for you bad experience, ususally people like us a lot... specially our staff.. We are going to work in this matter, hopefully you will come back and check us again.. Cheers¡

71%

We had a great time in Mexico City! The best part of this hostel is definitely the location. You're close to the metro, tonnes of museums, sights, etc. and lots of great food! The breakfast was what to be expected from free breakfast, but still a great addition to save some money. Negatives: Wifi cuts in and out - not a huge problem, we didn't use it much, and our key cards kept deactivating - mostly an annoyance. Overall a great experience though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡¡¡ We are working on this issues... hopefully we will see you back¡ Cheers¡

83%

The location can't be beat!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Safe travels¡

97%

I guess I'm not a huge fan of places that feel like chains, but in Mexico City, this place nails it on all accounts. The rooftop breakfast is quite literally one of the best free hostel breakfasts by sheer virtue of its location overlooking the Zocalo and Cathedral. Super safe area, extremely well connected to metro. The only complaint: all rooms are around an open atrium, and you can hear as much as a phone ringing on the first floor from any room in the place. Overall, extraordinary spot!

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for comments¡ We work really for you guys to enjoy your staying with us¡ We are glad you have fun with us. Please come back any time¡

91%

Amazing location and building right behind the Zocalo. Reasonable price as it includes a fairly substantial breakfast. Rooftop bar is awesome, such a cool hangout spot. Unfortunately quite noisy, partially due to some unfortunate dorm mates but also due to the way that noise echoes through the building. Great spot, but make sure to bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We will continue with our policy of silence during night time at the rooms and halls. Sorry for the inconvenience¡ Come back any time¡

94%

Excellent place!! Amazing vibe and I have to say great value for your money. Half a block from Zocalo (big iconic plaza in front of the national government palace) and right next to the Cathedral and the Templo Mayor (the remainings of an aztec piramid).Staff is friendly and helpful. We had a little situation when our toilet got clogged and someone came within a couple of minutes and resolved the issue. I would definetely stay here again.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they help us to get better¡ We are happy you have fun with us¡ Come back any time. Cheers¡

100%

If your in Mexico City, STAY HERE. That is all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for that comment¡¡¡ We are glad you like us that much¡ Cheers¡

86%

Great activities at the hostel - loved the free walking tours. Friendly and welcoming staff.

  • 30th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Come back any time¡

100%

One of the best hostels I ever seen

Owner Comment (Hide)
woooowwww¡¡ Thanks for your comments Come back any time¡

100%

Really friendly staff and guests, a touch noisy but a fun place in Mexico city with a great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ We are glad you have fun with us. Safe travels¡

66%

No wifi: No usefull wifi and no willing to repair it. Maybe one time. Works only for some minutes a day, and than very week Missing: Every day something was missing at the breakfast. Toast, jam, scrambled eggs, juce, cerials, hot water, cups..... For an International Hostelling they should check there processes. Then its a good hostel.


91%

I met some incredible people at Catedral and the location right on the Zocalo can't be beat. The wifi is nonexistent a lot of the time. No matter what they say, it rarely works. It became a joke among all of the travelers. The bar is fun enough. The breakfast was spot on and the shower was always hot. The lack of a common room does suck, but it's easy enough to meet people downstairs

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, they helps us to get better¡ We are working with the provider and our systems staff, this wifi problem its been fix as we speak. Please come back any time¡ Cheers

100%

Excellent location, amazing and helpful staff, very safe and very clean. It's a beautiful hostel and a definite no brainer when I'll go back to Mexico DF!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments¡ Come back any time¡ Cheers

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Mexico City Hostels

Please give us your feedback