X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Centraal Reviews

Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
452 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 67%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Decent hostel, a little bit far out of town but easily walkable, stairs super steep going into the hostel and no lockers provided unless you pay 1 euro a day for a large safe, stayed in an 8 bed, From UK


89%

Very nice staff

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place is great for young adults who need a cheap place to crash for a few nights while they explore the city. Me and four friends got a 5 bed room, with a simple shower/bathroom. The location is around a 15 minute walk to Dam square, just follow the tram lines! Or get the tram for around 2.80 euro. The staff here are very friendly, and there is a small communal area on the 1st floor where you can meet other travelers. Would stay here again.

  • 24th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

very nice and helpful staff, but very dirty hostel!

  • 12th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

In winter, the room is a bit cold. However, it is really good place for staying at a cheap price.

  • 20th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

great value and staff


34%

Unfriendly staff, extremely overpriced for what you get Definitely not central like the name suggests


66%

It is what it is. Bare necessities hostel. Clean and secure with friendly staff. Fairly good location just outside city centre. If you are on a budget it is the place to be, just don't expect acommon room, luxurious toilets, a kitchen. Not a very social hostel so better for travelling in groups. Would stay here again

  • 1st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

You get what you pay for during Monday to thurs, however on Friday night the rate is tripled. Doesn't matter what country or location in my opinion the Friday rate is far too much considering the quality of the facilities. The toilets in the 8bed share dorm are right next to the beds, so expect everyone to hear everything. also they were pretty unclean. The showers likewise. Also no one was at reception at 8:30am when we had to check out which was weird.


69%

The staff was very helpful and nice, the hostel is clean and well located - really close to the city centre and metro. However, the street is a bit too noisy (trams going by), there is very little extra space at the room as well as bathroom etc.


69%

I really enjoyed the days I spent here; the problem: the "bathroom" is just a wc and the shower box was like a small room with a sink in to wash your face. Apart from this, the location is perfect, few minutes far from the centre .


63%

The hostel is fine, nothing special, not bad.


31%

This hostel was one of the worst experiences of my trip. The hostel doesn´t count with any common facility except from the place where you can have breakfast (3.5 EUR). In my room there were two guys that looked like drug dealers and were really messy and smelly. The staff wasn´t very helpfull when I asked the typical things, like where is a supermarket or just a place to eat. It is definitly not a backpackers hostel, it is just a place to spend a (really bad) night.


86%

Good nights sleep. Good location. Lockers for 1 euro a day. Felt safe. The toilet was small but that's hardly a deal breaker. Room was clean. Staff were helpful. GREAT value for money (think it was £8 a night). Close enough to a tram stop to be useful but not close enough to be noisy. Would recommend.

  • 19th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

We had a problem due to a bad traduction of the Hostelworld's Spanish page, but Kariem fix it for us! ;-) The hostel offer basic services, but the room are cleaned everyday, there is hot water and you thanks the electric heating when you get back from outside! ;-) We just had some problems with with the roommates because twice (but different people) they came back in the night and they did'nt have any respect for the people that was sleeping... Anyway, I had a nice stay in the Centraal!


57%

The Hostel Centraal is over expensive for what it offers. It's a simple place and we paid 45 euros per day. Nothing to complain or say beyond that.

  • 16th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! highly recommended. Key highlights are how friendly and helpful the staff are, location is great right next to the tram station and a 20 minute walk to centraal station. Also very secure big lockers!

  • 9th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything was ok, the staff is very nice and helpful. If I come back to Amsterdam, I will be definitively at hostel centraal.

  • 30th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It's a pretty basic hostel, but you have everything you need! I don't know if it was just because I kept getting lost but the hostel seemed a bit out of the way if you were walking, but even at that it wasn't too far. It's particularly good for back-packers, because they have big lockers you could fit a person in (literally, i'm 5ft 9' and my friend was able to close the door!) The hostel was clean, staff were friendly, just bring the essentials like shampoo, tooth paste and soap, the usual!

  • 27th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We had a lovely stay, the staff were excellent and really friendly, would definitely stay here again :o)


(258 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback