X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Centraal Reviews

Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
473 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

It was the cheapest place we could find and for backpackers who are going to be out most of the night it's worth it


51%

I woke up and my safe was wide open. Probably my fault for not closing properly but they are extremely flimsy to start out with. The toilet and shower is connected so your feet get soaked. There's zero party atmosphere and its a lot of money. I would not stay here again. Look for a place closer to the red light district or central station. Or Couchsurf.. So much fun to Couchsurf in Amsterdam.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A really great hostel. The staff were very helpful.


49%

Apart from them forgetting my booking and my friend having to sleep in the reception on a mattress, it was an ok hostel, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24


49%

It was dirty. Someone in our room decided to shave his head in the sink and it was not cleaned up by anyone for 2 days. Also, too expensive for how far from everything it is. We stayed out of the hostel as much as possible.


71%

Not a bad place for the price at all. I think a lot has changed since a lot of the other reviews; there's no vicious dog, the staff is very helpful, and the facilities are clean. Only thing that is true is: WATCH THAT STAIRCASE. You need iceboots and nerves of steel to make it up them if you've been drinking.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Very good place, that's the only thing that they have!


66%

This is a hostel for young people who want to party in Amsterdam. If you are looking for a place where you could sleep, rest and relax, this hostel is definitely not for you. I would recommend it to a group of friends looking for relatively cheap accommodation and wanting to stay together (4 bed rooms and 6 bed rooms). It is in an excellent location (everything you would want to see is in a walking distance), staff is friendly when they are there (often no one at reception) and rooms are clean


60%

Decent hostel, a little bit far out of town but easily walkable, stairs super steep going into the hostel and no lockers provided unless you pay 1 euro a day for a large safe, stayed in an 8 bed, From UK


89%

Very nice staff

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This place is great for young adults who need a cheap place to crash for a few nights while they explore the city. Me and four friends got a 5 bed room, with a simple shower/bathroom. The location is around a 15 minute walk to Dam square, just follow the tram lines! Or get the tram for around 2.80 euro. The staff here are very friendly, and there is a small communal area on the 1st floor where you can meet other travelers. Would stay here again.

  • 24th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

very nice and helpful staff, but very dirty hostel!

  • 12th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

In winter, the room is a bit cold. However, it is really good place for staying at a cheap price.

  • 20th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

great value and staff


34%

Unfriendly staff, extremely overpriced for what you get Definitely not central like the name suggests


66%

It is what it is. Bare necessities hostel. Clean and secure with friendly staff. Fairly good location just outside city centre. If you are on a budget it is the place to be, just don't expect acommon room, luxurious toilets, a kitchen. Not a very social hostel so better for travelling in groups. Would stay here again

  • 1st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

You get what you pay for during Monday to thurs, however on Friday night the rate is tripled. Doesn't matter what country or location in my opinion the Friday rate is far too much considering the quality of the facilities. The toilets in the 8bed share dorm are right next to the beds, so expect everyone to hear everything. also they were pretty unclean. The showers likewise. Also no one was at reception at 8:30am when we had to check out which was weird.


69%

The staff was very helpful and nice, the hostel is clean and well located - really close to the city centre and metro. However, the street is a bit too noisy (trams going by), there is very little extra space at the room as well as bathroom etc.


69%

I really enjoyed the days I spent here; the problem: the "bathroom" is just a wc and the shower box was like a small room with a sink in to wash your face. Apart from this, the location is perfect, few minutes far from the centre .


63%

The hostel is fine, nothing special, not bad.


(266 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback