X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Centraal Reviews

Plantage Kerklaan 19, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
465 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

There was no common room, breakfast or atmosphere here. The staff were friendly but not informative at all. The area is nice but very quiet. Would not go back to this hostel


77%

Nice hostel but ask for a room on the lower floors as the stairs are very very steep. Great restaurant downstairs and the owners/staff are very very helpful


74%

We enjoyed our stay, but the shower situation was weird. Having a bathroom/shower in our room was awesome, but there should be some kind of divider between the shower and rest of the bathroom so that the whole bathroom doesn't flood every time someone showers. Definitely could use more outlets too, we were struggling with the 4 that we could find. The steps were really steep but still manageable, we thought they were kind of cool really.


86%

The staff were very pleasant and willing to help. The location is great only 10 mins away from everything. There is also a very good reasonably priced restaurant attached next door. When we hired bikes the security was very god as there was parking outside the front of the hostel.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice and clean. Not a great atmosphere to meet people.


77%

The man who ran it was really friendly and helpful, it is not right in the middle of amsterdam (by the zoo) however we found this an advantage as the center was really busy and it was quite where we were staying. There is no curfew which was great as we did not have to worry about coming back before a certain time. The stairs are very steep so be careful if you have heavy luggage but apart from that we enjoyed our brief stay and the staff were really lovely!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

This hostel is close to the center. We had a room with our personnal shower and washroom. The problem is that there are very hight stairs to climb before you get in your room so it was difficult with our luggages. The cleanliness is also far from being perfect. But the sheets were clean. It 's a good value for money.


71%

The location was very good! The staff was very friendly!! Specialy Boesba! He gave us very good information about our trip and he was always with the smile!! We are waiting him in Creta!!!

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

It was the one of the good hostels that you can stay in Amsterdam. Security was good and showers in every room makes it very comfortable. you can rent lockers for 1€ per day in your rooms. Location is not good actually, you can walk 10 min for central, however near the hostel there are zoo, university and very good coffee shops

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
57%

We paid 5 euros extra fee because we just staid one night. So we didn't pay the price that i've booked over hostelworld. That's not fair.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest; if you read the booking's conditions for one night booking, you will read it clearly written on the booking site!!!! we need to change and clean the room after your departure, and housekeeping does cost this amount, we do not profit of it at all. we just kept the conditions as it is and you can not review negative because of one condition which is clearly maintained on the site! some guests are never satisfy!!!!

71%

Very friendly accomodating staff! Quite expensive considering the basic layout of the rooms, however it was during the new year period which could account for the high fees. Only thing to really criticize is the location. The hostel is a minimum 15-25 min walk to the red light district unless you take the tram. Dont be fooled by the name- it is no where near amsterdam centraal station!

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Staircase is awfully cool, many would disagree, but we had fun The reception guy was very nice and outgoing, gave many advice on where to go etc Cafe on the ground floor is pretty cheap and the pizza is delicious to go with red sweet wine.. yummy Not really very close to center, but nice to take a 15-minute walk, good area of the city Pretty quiet and comfy, but when you take a shower there is a flood all over, so don't forget sleepers Overall, if was good experience, recommend

  • 17th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Just a bed... an expensive bed.


86%

Friendly family run hostel. Simple facilities but good for the price. In a quiet part of town. Steep stairs but the man took our bags up to the room for us.


69%

Location in Amsterdam is excellent but the price to stay is expensive but that is the price you pay for being walking distance from the red light district.


80%

Cleaniness of the hostel was very good in particular the bathroom! puts you at ease when theres a clean bathroom, Rachid who works on reception was very helpful! lovely guy helped me navigate a few things around the city and helped with checkout process.

  • 7th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

I did a reservation for 3 nights and I only stayed one with some effort! I think this is enough to review this hostel!

  • 27th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

It was the cheapest place we could find and for backpackers who are going to be out most of the night it's worth it


51%

I woke up and my safe was wide open. Probably my fault for not closing properly but they are extremely flimsy to start out with. The toilet and shower is connected so your feet get soaked. There's zero party atmosphere and its a lot of money. I would not stay here again. Look for a place closer to the red light district or central station. Or Couchsurf.. So much fun to Couchsurf in Amsterdam.

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A really great hostel. The staff were very helpful.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(263 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback