Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Centraal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 691 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 5.6
Hostel Centraal Located at Plantage Kerklaan 19, , Amsterdam.
Hostel Centraal
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1018SZ Plantage Kerklaan 19
63% 691
52.3661140 4.9113821
Hostel Centraal
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Nov 2016
2.6

It's really not possible that such an hostel exists and makes money. The price is unreasonably high for what this hostel offers (i.e. nothing), something like 60€ per night, and you won't even have breakfast included, and they surely know how bad service is, but they don't care. Far from the city center (despite its name), dirty, staff is unkind, there's no soap. Because of some shoe's tracks (!) and hair on the sheets, I'd bet they don't wash them. Briefly: if it was a joke, it wasn't funny.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
3.7

I was very unsatisfied with my experience at Hostel Centraal, I feel that it was not worth the money I paid at all. The room felt crowded and did not smell good, the exit light above my bed was extremely bright and made it difficult to sleep. Some of the bunks were separated by only a curtain, and although some bunks had lights and outlets mine did not. The wifi did not work in the room, and the 72-hour notice for cancellation is unreasonable (most places require only a 24-hour notice to cancel)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
2.6

It was the worst hostel I visited in Europe. I'm already visited 12 countries. Nothing works here. I chose this hostel because It was the only disponible near to centre. Now I understand why.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • erlisayang
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Nov 2016
8.0

nice location 😇

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2016
4.9

Even though it advertised as having lockers, there were no lockers in the 30 bed dorm we were in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Oct 2016
6.9

Anywhere in Amsterdam is expensive over the weekend, this place is no exception. Basic facilities, if you just want a bed for the night it's fine, but doesnt provide a lot beyond that. Pros: Clean, pretty good location. Cons: No lockers in our room, minimal facilities beyond the basics. No real communal areas (only downstairs kitchen/reception room with the long table), so not the most social place, kitchen only good for tea and toast. Staff not super welcoming, didn't get any local info.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
7.4

Cozy, kinda out of the way, nice place to meet people

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.6

Cash for check-in only. Credit card take 5% commission fee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • harrisonraybould
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Sep 2016
7.7

This place was pretty good but they charged extra for bedding and you couldn't get out of it Rest of the stay was pretty good though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.0

I didn't want to stay in the center-center of Amsterdam for the noise and crowds, so this place was perfect. Not too far to walk from Centraal Station, and much quieter. Our 4-bed room turned out to be an 8-bed room with a small divider, but if you have to use the same door to enter then it's the same room. The shower and toilet were right in the room, but I liked this place because it was simple, quiet, and compared to the other hostels, cheap. (Amsterdam hostels are so expensive!!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.