Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Centraal

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.7
Rating 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 4.9
BOOK NOW
5.7
Rating 711 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.1
  • Security 6.3
  • Location 6.6
  • Staff 5.6
  • Atmosphere 5.3
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 4.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Mar 2017
4.0

Staying for a weekend to see the nightlife at this place is ok. But it's very unclean (dead animal in the drain that was "fixed" by spraying air freshner) and looking at their policy with payment tells you all you need to know about the owners.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Feb 2017
6.0

It is was you pay for! Decently comfy bed and nice warm shower that's only a short walk for the center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
2.9

Expensive, dirty, noise, the wifi just work at the 1st floor. The staff are not nice. Not worth!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Ryan_Brooks
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Feb 2017
5.1

Overall not a bad place by any means just compared to other hostels this is how they stack up. To improve the first thing I would do is have tea and coffee available free for guests.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.9

Good points: The place is not in the centre of Amsterdam but is close, around 15 minutes to 'Amsterdam Centraal'. Being Amsterdam an expensive city to sleep this place offer good prices, one of the cheapest of the city. Bad points: It is a small hostel so, if people make noises in the leaving room, you can be disturbed by this noises while you are resting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
2.0

This property should not be listed on Hostel World! It is terrible! The price per night was appalling. Paying 40 euros for a 30 bedroom dorm, no lockers, not even a luggage room to store baggage when checking in!! We had to store our bags at the train station. No atmosphere! Despite the name the hostel is central to nothing. Please do not stay here. The man running it is also not helpful or friendly. Deserves zero stars!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
7.7

Wasn't too far from town. security was really good with a swipe card to unlock doors. Other than that its was nice cheap accommodation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
2.6

It's really not possible that such an hostel exists and makes money. The price is unreasonably high for what this hostel offers (i.e. nothing), something like 60€ per night, and you won't even have breakfast included, and they surely know how bad service is, but they don't care. Far from the city center (despite its name), dirty, staff is unkind, there's no soap. Because of some shoe's tracks (!) and hair on the sheets, I'd bet they don't wash them. Briefly: if it was a joke, it wasn't funny.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Nov 2016
3.7

I was very unsatisfied with my experience at Hostel Centraal, I feel that it was not worth the money I paid at all. The room felt crowded and did not smell good, the exit light above my bed was extremely bright and made it difficult to sleep. Some of the bunks were separated by only a curtain, and although some bunks had lights and outlets mine did not. The wifi did not work in the room, and the 72-hour notice for cancellation is unreasonable (most places require only a 24-hour notice to cancel)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
2.6

It was the worst hostel I visited in Europe. I'm already visited 12 countries. Nothing works here. I chose this hostel because It was the only disponible near to centre. Now I understand why.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.