Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Che Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.6
Hostel Che Playa Located at Calle 6, entre Avenida 15 & Avenida 20, , Playa del Carmen.
Hostel Che Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Qintana Roo 77710 Calle 6, entre Avenida 15 & Avenida 20
82% 934
20.6262375 -87.0756196
Hostel Che Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.4

Highly recommended!!!!! Excellent staff!!! Great location one block from downtown ( 5th street). Totalmente recomendado si deseas pasarla bien en Playa del Carmen... Además está a 6 minutos caminando del ADO (Bus Station) no necesitas taxis...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
3.1

Overall an okay hostel but I was disappointing in the service. I booked an identical room to my friend and they carded me $400pesos extra per night. When I brought this up to them they basically said "too bad". Also the property is under a ton of construction (not mentioned when booking) so we were greeted by tile demo work every morning at 7am. Also the roof bar was closed. I understand the need to update - but it is a bit of a bait and switch to not mention it at all when booking.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.6

Very good and social hostel with very friendly staff. The hostel is located close to the bus station and close to the main street and the beach. Some say it is just a party hostel, but in my opinion it is also a suitable hostel if you don't want to go out (every night). Only remark is that the bathrooms and toilets are often not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • aniejesus865
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
5.7

The staff isn't friendly, when I arrived in the afternoon, there was an insane amount of noise in the room above, the living room is small. There are better places to stay in Playa

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Nov 2016
9.1

Nice hostel with pretty good breakfast. People were really nice I enjoyed it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
9.1

It is a party hostel, so if you don't wanna party don't go there, music its is loud. But if it is what you want, it is the best place to do it. Facilities are good, nice swimming pool, good kitchen and enough bathrooms. Staff is friendly and helpful, they have the best chef ever. Good parties every night, and daily tours, so easy to get to know other fellow travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
6.0

Hostel was on reform, and they didn't advise at anytime. Noise started at 5 AM on Saturday! And as it was on reform, the nicest place we saw on the pictures wasn't available. The enviroment wasn't that good, people wound't talk to each other. There wasn't any group interaction or going out. Staff wasnt welcoming at all, didn't explain how everything worked. Shower was cold and toilet paper missed a few times. Breakfast was ok. My sheets were torn, and even the towel I rented.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Nov 2016
8.9

Call a head before you book and ask if they are still doing construction. It was like they were banging sledgehammers right on top of your head. Other than the lack of consideration for people sleeping in the morning. I love the place. The construction workers start at like 7:00a.m. Not a good place to sleep at till construction is done.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
6.0

I completely understand the idea of a party hostel, but we woke up to find a drunk guy asleep in our bed and were told by the staff that there was nothing they could do about it. Our sheets were dirty. It looked like blood. They said it was paint. Either way, not good! The bathrooms were pretty dirty and there was noise til late at night with people partying and early in the morning with construction workers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
11th Nov 2016
6.9

A decent hostel for the price. Definitely a party hostel, so if you are looking for a place to relax I highly highly highly recommend looking elsewhere. Unfortunately did not have the best stay here due to inconsiderate roommates but nothing to the fault of the hostel/staff. Playa del Carmen is a safe town if you're a reasonable person. I did however have an issue with a girl who wasn't even staying at the hostel in my room... often. Wouldn't stay here again but partygoers would likely enjoy it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.