Hostelworld.com

Hostel Che Playa

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Feb 2017
5.7

Stayed in 8-bed dorm. The pros: It is a great party hostel, the bar is sick. And the location is amazing, super close to the beach and main street. The con's: one TINY bathroom for 8 people is not enough. And the bathroom was pretty dirty. Wifi was very hard to connect to, and lots of construction. only good for a night or two IMO.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.1

Stayed here 3 nights to get a taste of the Playa nightlife. Rooftop bar is always very lively so it's a good way to meet people. The vast majority of guests are Argentinian so I would only recommend this hostel to people who speak very good Spanish. I only speak English and I often felt like an outsider. My dorm was not very clean. There were no windows and everything was constantly damp and musty. Hot water was intermittent and the sheets had several stains..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.7

Horrible noise. I got very dark room with no window (window but 3 cm from betoned wall ) so..no air and light in room i felt like in basement. Definitly only for party people who doesnt care of rest. Great location. Nice tarasse. Oh and at the end i gave back keys and they ^forgot^ to give me 100pesos of caution... i was busy with my bus ticket and laguage so forgot also to.ask it back..so just realized after that i didnt get my caution for keys .. hm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
9.7

Great Party Hostel in Playa del Carmen. Central location, really good free breakfast (fresh fruits, tea, coffee, toasts, boiled eggs), great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
7.4

Hostel is ok if you are into spanish partying, if you are not dont stay here. Staff was nice specially the Argentinian guy who checked us in, however you never know who the staff is as there is always a bunch of people talking ( in spanish ). Location is very good, party is on all night and it seems that everyone speaks spanish, if you are not is very difficult to get involved as they dont want to speak English. We couldn't sleep from 9pm till 3am. Room was clean but smelling really bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
6.9

During my stay the shower was not really working. The walls are thin and you would hear every drunk person walking and talking. I love the location- close and far enough from the tourist strip mall. Near very delicious and cheap taco restaurants. Staff was very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.7

What a cool hostel! They're very inclusive and try and get the whole hostel together! They do group dinners which makes it really easy to interact with people! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Warning: If you are looking to sleep at night, do not book this hostel! If you are looking to party and meet awesome people from around the world, then definitely stay here! They had events at the rooftop bar almost every night, the staff is amazing, the rooms are neat and bathrooms clean. The location is super close to the beach, but not in the center of the overpriced tourist traps. I definitely would recommend! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
6.0

One of the worst experiences. First the good, the location is great, the atmosphere is really fun, good excursions, and that's about it. The bad, The staff service on general is bad. you have to have your own lock for the lockers, On my stay, the bathroom wasn’t working, the other bathrooms did not have toilet paper. we didn’t have lights or energy for about 24 hours! as consequence we also didn’t have water! we could not use any bathroom! nor take a shower, not even wash our hands! forget about

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Dec 2016
6.9

Good location great rooftop bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.