Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Che Playa

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel Che Playa Located at Calle 6, entre Avenida 15 & Avenida 20, , Playa del Carmen.
Hostel Che Playa
Mexico
Playa del Carmen Qintana Roo 77710 Calle 6, entre Avenida 15 & Avenida 20
82% 969
20.6262375 -87.0756196
Hostel Che Playa
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Warning: If you are looking to sleep at night, do not book this hostel! If you are looking to party and meet awesome people from around the world, then definitely stay here! They had events at the rooftop bar almost every night, the staff is amazing, the rooms are neat and bathrooms clean. The location is super close to the beach, but not in the center of the overpriced tourist traps. I definitely would recommend! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
4.6

Staff wasn't that friendly, check-in took about 10-15 min per person, because their computer runs so slow - as they that. Actually dorm was 1 block away from the hostel - not in the hostel itself, entrance being a glass door facing the streets. Pretty loud and bright during night. Lockers have been extremely fragile and rather unsafe. Hostel had a night roof terrace with a social atmosphere. But pretty much all hostels in Playa have that and you can get way better accommodations for the money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
8.0

The staff and atmosphere is amazing. They have group social events every night and tours every day. The facilities are moderately clean but they could do better in this department. This is definitely a social / party hostel. A great place to meet friendly travelers and do group things. It is very noisy, so i recommend ear plugs for when you need to sleep at night. The manager of the hostel (kevin) and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. Lastly, their WiFi actually works!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

great place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
4.0

WORST PLACE IVE EVER STAYED!!! The bed was lumpy, and the sheets had blood stains. They sent me An email that I didn't receive because I was on the plane, saying they over booked, and instead of telling me when I got there they put me in the top room that was being renovated. It was a gross experience and I'm extremely pissed off. I've stayed all over, but this was a HUGE rip off!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Dec 2016
7.1

The staff aren't very helpful. They gave me a bed some was already occupying 😒 and gave a single sheet. When I asked for more sheet, the dude didn't know what sheets were 😩 I met good people there, so it was worth the stay I guess. Also, the fruits at breakfast is really good also.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Dec 2016
10.0

Brilliant and very social hostel. Facilities, staff and location excellent. They have a bar but still allow you to drink your own alcohol. The 10 bed mixed dorm has a balcony which is fun for drinking on as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
2nd Dec 2016
8.0

-Lively place with bar in the evening -Good breakfast -No locker in private room -Noisy construction work started 8am in the building -Card payment did not work properly. I was charged the key deposit but did not get it refunded and nobody replied to my email

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Nov 2016
9.4

Highly recommended!!!!! Excellent staff!!! Great location one block from downtown ( 5th street). Totalmente recomendado si deseas pasarla bien en Playa del Carmen... Además está a 6 minutos caminando del ADO (Bus Station) no necesitas taxis...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
3.1

Overall an okay hostel but I was disappointing in the service. I booked an identical room to my friend and they carded me $400pesos extra per night. When I brought this up to them they basically said "too bad". Also the property is under a ton of construction (not mentioned when booking) so we were greeted by tile demo work every morning at 7am. Also the roof bar was closed. I understand the need to update - but it is a bit of a bait and switch to not mention it at all when booking.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.