X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
341 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Cool place with lots of character. Small rooms though.


69%

Did not like paying an extra key fee would rather just get charged if it was lost. Staff members were not all on the same page. And receiving a towel per person with small amenities would have been helpful. Also please list exact check in time on website/page bought.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying and feedback! We will use your comment to improve;) We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam:) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

69%

No common area currently.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

was fine but stairs were so narrow and upturned, they took money from my credit card later they gave it back but was akward and if u want to leave your bags u have to pay, but in general was a clean and nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay! Stairs are typical in these beautifull Amsterdam buildings;) We pre-authorise your card to make sure there is enough credit to cover the reservation. We also have to protect ourselves concerning false bookings, No Shows and late cancellations. Storage is an extra service and we only ask a small fee as we already offer the cheapest beds in town. We also want to make sure we have bags of guests that REALLY need to store them. Kind regards,Cosmos staff

54%

The Hostel was near some good sights, overall far from the city centre, but close to quite a few tram stops. The cat is mean, there was hardly ever toilet paper, and the bathrooms always smelled like poop. It was much too expensive for what you get. I've stayed in better hostels in more expensive cities for less. Only good for sleeping and not much else.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really helpful and thoughtful staff. Great value for money and clean rooms. Good location as not far from city centre walking and even closer when you've mastered the trams! Also do good extra touches like taxis with a flat rate to get you to the train station and airport and bikes to rent directly from them.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

This hostel was what we wanted just a place to sleep so I cannot complain on that front. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the bathroom clean. This hostel has no common room so if you're looking for interaction with other guests this isn't the place for you. It was perfect for what we wanted but if you're looking for a lively hostel look again


23%

It was the WORSE Hostel that i've ever been. The staff is really rude, the Hostel is far from the center, its expensive, the rooms are small and the bathrooms are dirty. There's no reception and they gonna chuck you out after the check out. Seriously guys, you can find a Hostel close to the center, cheaper and more friendly than Cosmos.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, False reviews are not allowed and do not benefit others. You did not show up and was charged according our T&C. We still helped you with all questions and other things. Blackmail and threats is never accepted. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

60%

The hostel is good if you want only a place to sleep and take a shower. No commom area. Not very good for meeting people. They do t have lockers in the room or in the hostel. After you do the check out you can pay 3€ for the storage ur luggage in the reception without a locker ...just under the eyes of the receptionist who will look after it but i don't really think he knows who's luggage is who's . Me and my sister were a little late for the check out ( half an hour) and they were flexible.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The place was under renovation without telling on the website. The staff was rude, unfriendly, unsupportive and not propositive at all in helping the guests to find their way around the city. Other services which were advertised both on the website and in the facility were deined when I asked for them when I stayed there. Highly non professional behavior overall.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

First of all, its location and staffs are really nice. But it is on renovation for the lounge. So it's quite messy and rooms are quite small.


60%

Very expensive (start of peak season though) for a small cramped room with bunkbeds, no where to hang out except in the room, close to parks though and relatively clean. Good for a night or two.


69%

The hostel is really nice, looks good and its clean. The lockers are only big enough your valuables, not your backpack. The staff was just acceptable, and there is nothing '' social'' ever going on. There is no common area. You cant smoke or drink inside, and you have to ask someone to buzz you in everytime you want to get in. Hostel is good, but not fun particullary. A bit expensive. but the location is nice.


20%

Worst hostel I've stayed at. Everything they advertise is false, besides their cat. Their "laid back" atmosphere is no drinking or smoking, no friends/visitors, showing a card proving you stay there along with name and room number each time you enter. Rooms are small, cramped and extremely hot. One shower/bathroom per floor with no cold water. The only positive thing about this hostel is I saw a lot of Amsterdam in attempt to say out of the hostel as much as possible.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, We are surrounded with bars to get drunk and coffeeshops . Indeed we think a laid back atmosphere means no drunk agressive people or a hostel full with smoke. We try to protect our guests and staff and do not allow non-guests, we are not ashamed of this. Yes, we like to see your card when entering, as we have several staff members. The heat was in the whole country and is rear in Holland. You choose the cheapest room with most beds and shared bathroom. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

80%

The lobby was under construction so there wasn't really a place to hangout except on one chair in the hallway. There were only 2 bathrooms, but it was nice to have a private bathroom when you could get in. There also wasn't ladders to the bunk beds which made it difficult to climb up. The door was the only way to provide air flow into the room so it was extremely hot and stuffy and light came in early and strong due to the door being open.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was a great location and the staff were very helpful. As a woman travelling alone I felt very safe in this hostel. However the person to bathroom ratio was way off. There was only one on each floor so I found myself waiting long periods of time to get in. It was also not the most social hostel, as there was no common area to sit and meet people. Overall though itwas very clean and a friendly place to stay.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location and reasonable price.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The common room was being renovated so there was nowhere to sit and the rooms were very small so there was nowhere to go. We were in an 8 bed dorm which you don't expect to have lots of room and do have to move around people but it was crammed, and with there being no common room we really just went there to sleep. It seemed pretty expensive for the Saturday night compared to the hostels we stayed in in Paris and Madrid.


63%

Good hostel, only a tram away from the centre but there's no lobby. Also the rooms can be very small but over all enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for staying! Our lobby is getting a make over and is ready soon! In the meanwhile we have lovely places around us where you can have a seat and relax. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

63%

I enjoyed this hostel! It is in a different part of Amsterdam by more residential areas so it is very safe! Staff were friendly! I would stay here again for the price.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback