X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
286 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 59%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

One of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at. They crammed 4 bunk beds into a room made for two. They staff was very unfriendly. They had very little common areas to meet people. A very negative vibe here. They had very odd rules, one of them being that they are not responsible for big bites, which we got. Also they only take cash and charge you for everything. avoid if you plan on going out at night because they are not accommodating. I paid 100 dollars for one night, insane.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying. We are sorry to hear you had a less pleasant experience than we expect from our guests. We will use your comment to improve our hostel. Prices during holidays and weekends are higher in Amsterdam. We had no reports of any bites? We e-mail you to see what really happenend. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam!

51%

Money money money!! the room is absolutely small for 12 people, there is no kitchen, the lounge hall is one small space that is full of luggages in the morning so you cannot stay there, they ask 3 euro to keep your luggage, during the weekend the prices are up to 100€. so if you have no solution to stay in a place in your travel in Amsterdam book it, if not I suggest you to have a look around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying and comment. We always try to offer our beds at reasonable prices. However during holidays and weekends prices are higher than average. Also please keep in mind that we like our job but it is still a bussiness and asking a certain price for a bed or room is part of it. Please come again during low season, you will find our prices more than reasonable;) We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam!

20%

Only one working washroom for one entire floor, no outlets close to each bed, only an 8 socket extension for the whole room to share of 8 people on a ground in a very insecure location for valuables. My bed still looked not 100% clean, I ended up leaving and going someplace else, it was such an unpleasant environment, and I did not feel secure at all.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying and feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review. We understand our hostel was not the place for you as you left after a few minutes. We will still use your comment to improve where possible! We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

74%

Overall, the hostel worked out just fine. It was in a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, we booked right before Kings Day so it was incredibly expensive for just a dormitory. It wasn't worth it for the over 300 euro I paid for three nights BUT I would definitely consider staying here again for cheaper.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

it was lovely stay and the staff was really cooperative.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

We were in a six person mixed dorm and it felt like we were all on top off each other. The room we were in could comfortably fit one bunk bed. There were three. They made us check out at 10 am, which was fine, but then charged us to hold our bags and didn't hold bags after five. The location wasn't bad and the cat was cute. They sell food at that front desk which is nice but it's way overpriced. The staff was friendly enough and while my stay was fine I probably wouldn't go back.


80%

Simple hostel but everything works fine. Security was decent and location was very good. Price was friendly.


29%

Staff was very rude, not personable, and no smile at all. There was construction in progress and loose/dangerous material all over the stair landings. The bedroom was very small and dirty. The bathroom soap dispenser was completely empty. I am not one to complain or leave reviews ever, but this place was awful. We paid over 100 euro/night. I could have stayed in a way nicer hostel for three nights for that price. Not impressed.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for stay. We are sorry to hear you feel this way. Rooms are normal size for a twin room in a Amsterdam hostel. Prices are reasonable and please note you stayed during a holiday. Dispenser are being replaced for better ones. It is a pity you did not mention anything to us. But we will use your comment to improve! We hope you enoyed Amsterdam!

86%

Great olacd in a great location.


63%

For the amount we paid for a two day stay, we were absolutely astounded at how often we were paying a fee for something that should not cost extra. £10 down for a room key, £3 for baggage "storage" which was actually just keeping the bags out in the reception room! Very underwhelming, the accommodations were not nearly nice enough for the price.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

very expensive in the weekend. lack of bathroom and wc, it's not good. But the location and the staff super nice!!


66%

The Hostel doesn't look like when we see the photos, is really well located, but cold be better organized, also them charge you for everything even to use the lockers.


89%

Upon arriving I thought possibly we we're in the wrong area, (not the city Center as in the main square) The reception staff promptly corrected me and pointed out how close we we're to so many major attractions and how quick it is by tram or walkable by foot if a nice day! The staff we're friendly and helpful, I would Definatly stay at this hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying and kind words;) We hope we can welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

43%

Very narrow stairway


63%

Pretty rubbish really as far as hostels go. But clean and cheap, the main things.


66%

Everythint was excellent except the people who stayed in the room with me and the fact that the bathroom makes Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs look luxurious.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Staff were rude, rooms were small not very many showers. There were building works that woke us up at 9am on Saturday that we weren't told about and a window that could be opened on the outside where they were working. We turned up an hour before our room was available and they tried to charge us €3 each to leave our bags for that time.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location. The staff was nice and helpful to us. What I loved the most was simba, the house cat! We were disturbed early in the morning by the building works, and there were few toillets/showers for the people in the cheaper rooms (that means we normally couldn't use the bathrooms when we woke up in the morning, because there were always someone taking a shower). Continuing about the toilets, the floor was always wet, and it didn't feel very clean.


83%

The hostel is very cute, nicely decorated. I thought it was a shame you had ton pay extra for a safe and for a towel, but it was cheap. The staff were helpful on giving recommendations for places to go. Very good value for money

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

As a group of 4 girls, we booked a private room. On 2 separate occasions, a staff member and a construction worker tried unlocking our door and coming into our supposedly PRIVATE room without even knocking!!! There were earwigs on the walls and there was only one toilet and shower for the entire floor. If 1 person was showering, everyone else had to wait until they were done to use the toilet. Overall: lack of toilets and men trying to come into our room without even knocking. Horrible.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emilie, Thank you for staying. During your stay, we never received any complaints. We have spoken to construction workers and staff, but are really schocked because of your words. We are very suprised as we try to cause as less problems due to construction. You can also go to the other floors to shower. They are not for the entire floor as most of our rooms have their own shower and toilet. You had the cheapest room, so no ensuite. The walls are clean. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback