Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 674 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 5.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great place and rooms were clean. Staff were friendly. All round good place. Thanks for having us

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying and kind words! Kindest regards, Cosmos staff

22nd Jan 2017
9.7

So friendly and simba rules!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying and kind words! Kindest regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.7

had good time there, was clean and warm

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
5.1

They only have 1 toilet per floor, in my room we were 10 and I counted at least 4 rooms in the floor. They don't allow you to wait inside the hostel before check-in or after check-out. They have a cat, I don't think it was written anywhere and they should mind that some people are allergic or simply don't like it. The beds were so close to each other I could barely walk to mine. You have to pay to leave your backpack there after check-out. Overall, wasn't worth the money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying! Simba, our cat is mentioned clearly on every website;) You stayed in the biggest and cheapest room, but if you look online you see that we have also rooms with bathroom. So most rooms on your floor have their own bathroom. You don't have to leave your bags, but it is an option. Check in and check out times have a reason, this way we can clean, organise and make sure guests that are actually staying can use all facilities and space. We are surrounded with places to hang out while waiting for your flight or ride:). Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Dec 2016
4.0

No common area except for a tinny reception. No kitchen. Not allowed to drink. Most rooms are tinny with a toilet inside which is always weird. They charge you if you wanna leave your backpack before or after check in/out !!! When I got there I had to beg to leave there coz they didn't wanted. And this is a super standard service among every hostel I d been. Don't expect the usual friendly kind of hostel staff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We never promise or advertise a kitchen. We are a drugs and alcohol free hostel. All normal drinks are allowed and we even sell them, so you can drink, just no alcohol. We like to keep our hostel clean and safe for all our guests. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
4.3

They dont let you in to the building untill your check in time. They have no place to sit and talk so you have to wait your check in time. I had to wait 7 hours at outside in the early morning. Thats a big shame

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying. We like to remind you that we clearly mention our check in time beforehand. If you arrive as early as you mention you could have booked a bed for about Euro 10 and check in to use a bed and facilities. You can imagine if 50 guests just want to leave a bag or just want to have a sit, it can be difficult to do our job. Before check in it is not always possible to enter as we are very busy with cleaning and making sure all guests check out safe and calm. Before check in time you can use lockers at any station and explore the city. From 13.00 hours you are more than welcome. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
2.0

I had the worst experience of my life with this place. After a whole day of my flights getting cancelled and delayed we made it too the hostel around 3:00 am and was not allowed in to our rooms.. therefore being put on the street at 4:00 am in the freezing cold! I have emailed them and tried to reach out too them multiple times and do plan on suing them if I don't get my money back! Horrible place and I advised no one to every go!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, You did not arrive on the 1st day, and out of nowhere you show up the 2nd day. This is called a NO SHOW, which means you no longer have a booking with us. If there is no bed available we only can direct you to another place, but when you are acting violent and hostile we can't help you. This means you did not stay with us and you are writing a false review, because you can't rate or judge our hostel fairly. We requested a removal as you are being not honest. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

22nd Oct 2016
7.1

It's an okay hostel. The location is great. Some staff were very nice, some rather indifferent. No lockers, so you have to be careful of your things. No common area, just a small place to sit, the whole place is narrow and cramped. You have to pay 3 EUR to have luggage stored, and even then you have to pick it up by 4 PM.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Oct 2016
5.1

This is by far the worst hostel I've ever been in. The staff was dry and distant. Once we arrived (we were six people), we had like 30 minutes before the official check in time, so we asked once we rang the bell, if we could leave are luggage (just small backpacks) and go have lunch. They responded that they didn't have enough room and that we should come back later, all this THROUGH THE DOOR, not even in person. The hostel has no atmosphere whatsoever. It looks more like a small hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying. We like to remind you that we clearly mention our check in time beforehand. You can imagine if 50 guests just want to leave a bag or just want to have a sit, it can be difficult to do our job. Before check in it is not always possible to enter as we are very busy with cleaning and making sure all guests check out safe and calm. Before check in time you can use lockers at any station and explore the city. From 13.00 hours you are more than welcome. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.