X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
99 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The rooms are narrowed. When u ask staff for stuffs like toilet paper, they acts pissed and lazy manners. Wrong charges on payment, had to discuss for it. Saw rent really dirty towels for cleaned ones. Also staff argue and intimidate on guests. Inner spaces generally in bad condition, likes toilets. Staff barge into rooms during night or early morning waking up everyone "because there may be intruders". Despite cameras everywhere, frequently ID controls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay and mentiong these things.You never mentioned any of these things whil staying here. We will contact you, to see what happenend. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam!

100%

Enjoyed my stay, because of nice staff really got to know the city better. Good starting point to explore the city and for a hostel it is pretty clean and safe! They give you a card, you have to show when entering the hostel.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica, Thank you for your stay and comment! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

46%

The staff were very rude and intimidating. They did not accommodate the smallest of requests. The hostel itself is not too bad but the staff certainly are!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Greg, Thanks for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. We have actually no idea what went wrong. We will contact you about this. We are glad you liked the hostel and hoped you still enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

60%

At the time I was staying at your hostel, the common room was being renovated so we only had access to our bedrooms which was very limiting.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the stay! Sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused. We really had to renew certain things. Was really nice to meet you and friends. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam!

40%

Quite bad hostel, not so near to the center, with no kitchen, staff not too polite and an additional porcentage to pay at the arrival in addition to the normal price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay! We noticed you have not read any of our info before booking. We are central, Red-light is not the only place in the centre;) If a guest not follow the house rules, we have to be firm sometimes. City tax is mentioned on all websites and is never hidden. We never claim to have a kitchen. We hope you still enjoyed our lovely Amsterdam:)

86%

We had a great stay at hostel cosmos. The staff were amazingly helpful, more than at any other hostel I've stayed. It's only a short tram ride from the centre and for the price, you probably couldn't find a better hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jason, Thank you for staying! It was our pleasure to help you. We look forward to welcome you in the future;) Kind regards, Cosmos staff+Simba

71%

Not bad, not great. 4 person private room had it's own sink and a big window. Room got a by hot and the pillows were awful but we were only there to sleep so it did what it had to. Oh yeah, Simba rules!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark, Thanks for the stay and feedback! We will certainly discuss and improve on the points you have mentioned. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

26%

This hostel was appalling. After traveling the world for 4 months, this has been the worst hostel I've stayed in (and I stayed in BlueSky Hostel Glasgow!). The room was like a sauna with no ability to open the window, the mattress and pillows were like inflatable rocks, the cleaner cracked my iPhone and did not even apologise, and I was not allowed to stay on hostel premises after check out in the common area even though it was raining outside. I would not recommend this hostel to an ant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thank for your stay! We know you are upset because you had to check out. Unfortunately we can't have guests hanging around after check out time, because of the amount of guests we host and cleaning. Our stations and airport are perfect for having a seat and to wait for your next trip. It rains a lot in Amsterdam, so waiting will not help:( You never mentioned anything about the phone or our cleaner. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

34%

Staff were friendly but not accommodating to any needs. Dorms were tiny for the amount paid. No lockers without paying an extra fee on top of an already exorbitant price. No common room. Kitchen was helpful.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay! You should have let us know about your needs. Our rooms are normal size for an Amsterdam hostel in a monumental building. You know the priced when you booked and is reasonable compared to most hostels in Amsterdam. With our location you are surrounded with common rooms;) The fee you paid is Euro 1 for a locker, which we invest in more and better lockers. Kind regards, Cosmos

34%

Hostel cosmos was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in, it was so bad we checked out early and found another hostel for the rest of our stay. It is dirty, smelly, small, bad facilities and the staff were rude. Do not stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy. However the things you say are not true. We had to ask you to check out, because you did not want to leave the room at check out time. You did eventually after 3 hours. We were not rude and are very sad you say these things. We clean daily and take it very serious. However we still see your comment as feedback, so we can improve ourselves. We wish you goog luck with your future travelling. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

89%

Loved the place and great location. Just need a fan or aircon in the rooms during summer and the staff were extremely helpful and nice. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Scott, Thanks for the stay and feedback! We are working on a sollution for those (rare) warm days. The buildings in Amsterdam are designed for the colder weather. So you will see more central heating than ac;) We hope we can welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

60%

Good hostel, but a little expensive.


60%

Due to a very small common room, it was very difficult to meet people. The rooms were clean, wifi was strong and staff were very helpful and friendly.


89%

The staff was more than helpful in getting us accommodated and showing us where we could go and what we might do. We were pleasantly surprised and eternally grateful. Also, SIMBA RULES1

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for you stay and nice comments;) It was our pleasure and most important are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Cosmos staff+Simba;)

91%

The staff is the best! Really caring and nice people! Awesome!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola! Thanks for staying guys! We really enjoyed your company;) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

74%

It's next to the Van Gogh museum which is nice but otherwise you'll probably have to take a tram to the city center. Facilities are really so so but the staff was super friendly. One of them somehow remembered my name and I had a great time talking to the staff.


77%

Good friendly staff


63%

Not bad, booked at the last minute. It was ok for the price. There is no common area which means there is no atmosphere. There is the reception area with some seats but you are not even allowed to hang out there when you check out while you wait to get a train or bus later in the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for staying 1 night with us! We are sorry, but many guests that still stay with us would also like to have a seat and eat something or just relax. Also we must clean this area so it is just not comfortable or fair to others if you spend hours after check out at the reception. We are surrounded with places to hang out and at the station there is plenty to see and to do while waiting for your bus or train. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

89%

Quite a walk from the Centraal, would recommend you take the tram. Staff are very helpful and friendly. If you are 1.95m+ you probably won't fit in the bed if you sleep straight. Don't expect a king size bed. Haha.. The area is great for Museum and Parks. If you want to go out for a drink at night, Leidseplein is close by.


80%

Small yet cozy.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback