Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 646 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.6
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Located at Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam.
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1071 RL Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL
67% 646
52.3542941 4.8818134
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
4.3

They dont let you in to the building untill your check in time. They have no place to sit and talk so you have to wait your check in time. I had to wait 7 hours at outside in the early morning. Thats a big shame

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying. We like to remind you that we clearly mention our check in time beforehand. If you arrive as early as you mention you could have booked a bed for about Euro 10 and check in to use a bed and facilities. You can imagine if 50 guests just want to leave a bag or just want to have a sit, it can be difficult to do our job. Before check in it is not always possible to enter as we are very busy with cleaning and making sure all guests check out safe and calm. Before check in time you can use lockers at any station and explore the city. From 13.00 hours you are more than welcome. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
2.0

I had the worst experience of my life with this place. After a whole day of my flights getting cancelled and delayed we made it too the hostel around 3:00 am and was not allowed in to our rooms.. therefore being put on the street at 4:00 am in the freezing cold! I have emailed them and tried to reach out too them multiple times and do plan on suing them if I don't get my money back! Horrible place and I advised no one to every go!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, You did not arrive on the 1st day, and out of nowhere you show up the 2nd day. This is called a NO SHOW, which means you no longer have a booking with us. If there is no bed available we only can direct you to another place, but when you are acting violent and hostile we can't help you. This means you did not stay with us and you are writing a false review, because you can't rate or judge our hostel fairly. We requested a removal as you are being not honest. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

22nd Oct 2016
7.1

It's an okay hostel. The location is great. Some staff were very nice, some rather indifferent. No lockers, so you have to be careful of your things. No common area, just a small place to sit, the whole place is narrow and cramped. You have to pay 3 EUR to have luggage stored, and even then you have to pick it up by 4 PM.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Oct 2016
5.1

This is by far the worst hostel I've ever been in. The staff was dry and distant. Once we arrived (we were six people), we had like 30 minutes before the official check in time, so we asked once we rang the bell, if we could leave are luggage (just small backpacks) and go have lunch. They responded that they didn't have enough room and that we should come back later, all this THROUGH THE DOOR, not even in person. The hostel has no atmosphere whatsoever. It looks more like a small hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying. We like to remind you that we clearly mention our check in time beforehand. You can imagine if 50 guests just want to leave a bag or just want to have a sit, it can be difficult to do our job. Before check in it is not always possible to enter as we are very busy with cleaning and making sure all guests check out safe and calm. Before check in time you can use lockers at any station and explore the city. From 13.00 hours you are more than welcome. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.9

The shower is not good. Turns off very fast. The only thing I didn't like though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Oct 2016
3.1

I have lived in a lot of hostels around Europe and didn't expect the one that charged me the most to be so crappy. I reached there at 11 am but the staff wouldn't let me even inside the building before 1 pm. When asked if I could at least leave my luggage or wait in the reception the answers were straight no. Infact they made people wait till 1:20 pm. The rooms were cramped with little space to move. No lounge, eating or sitting area or anything of that sort where you can meet other travellers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Oct 2016
4.3

Wasn't the cleanest .. Wouldn't recommend for a solo traveller. No atmosphere, no common area. Had to pay 3 euro to leave our bags on top of a vending machine after check out. No lockers in the room .. Bathroom was clean tho.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Oct 2016
8.3

Staffs are all friendly and brilliant, and they offer great advices! It was a bit crowded to sleep in a 8-people dorm, but you get what you pay for. However, the location is great! It's very close to the museums, and you walk for 5-10 mins then you can get to the market. For city center it's better to take the bus/tram, but still, it only takes around 10-15 mins to get there by bus, it's pretty convenient in Amsterdam. One thing on your mind, it costs 3 or 5 Euros to store your luggages.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
3.4

The only good thing is the location and one of the staff is not friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.4

Really hot rooms was only negative. No air con

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.