X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
113 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

I liked it. The staff was nice, They had warm blankets. It might be difficult for someone with heavy luggage to go all the stairs up to the reception. I found it quite poetical though, the stairs. There was one bathroom for one floor, so you had to waitin the morning and if you needed to check out, it could be difficiult. But I mean, it was just for the dorms like this with the bathrooms. You could also brush your teeth in the sink in the room, so.. The staff was nice and it was relaxed.


31%

- This hotel vibe isnt what you look for when ordering something referred to as a hostel. - Lack of common room makes for a hard time meeting other travelers. - Only one staff member didnt hate his job and the others need to remember they're working in hospitality. Very blunt and rude at times which isn't doing them any favours. - Further away from landmarks that have been mentioned. - 12 beds crammed into a room that is no where near big enough Apologies but this is as honest as they come


100%

Great , estremely kind and helpful sfaff.very clean and fresh bed sheets .cheap good location.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review and comment:) We enjoyed having you as our guest. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

74%

Very Friendly staff, don't go to the hostel if you think that it will be like a hotel. It is purely there for you to sleep and to shower etc. I found that the beds were comfortable and the facilities were satisfactory, The staff were very helpful and showed us the best places to go. You will enjoy this hostel if you have previously stayed in hostels. A safe environment.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Four person room were very tiny and very humid. In the morning windows were like after the rain, but inside the room.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Location could not be better! loved the museums and leidesplain for nightlife, and Simba is too cute...... free map and tips from the staff helped me alot.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It's really quiet and clean hostel next to museum area, but it didn't suit most of my requirements, you can't stay in the hostel until check-in time even arriving 30 mins early, you can't leave luggage in the hostel cause they don't have enough space, it didn't include the kitchen, the staffs always tell you it's not allowed to do this cause their boss will angry.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay. We are very suprised by your comment. We had hold your bag 1 whole day before your check in. So it was not 30 min, but 24 hours. We never promise a kitchen, but have some seats to eat something simple. we are surrounded with cheap places to eat. We tried to joke a little bit. Simba is the boss;) Simba rules, we must admit, she can be a bit grumpy sometimes. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

43%

The rooms are narrowed. When u ask staff for stuffs like toilet paper, they acts pissed and lazy manners. Wrong charges on payment, had to discuss for it. Saw rent really dirty towels for cleaned ones. Also staff argue and intimidate on guests. Inner spaces generally in bad condition, likes toilets. Staff barge into rooms during night or early morning waking up everyone "because there may be intruders". Despite cameras everywhere, frequently ID controls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay and mentiong these things.You never mentioned any of these things whil staying here. We will contact you, to see what happenend. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam!

100%

Enjoyed my stay, because of nice staff really got to know the city better. Good starting point to explore the city and for a hostel it is pretty clean and safe! They give you a card, you have to show when entering the hostel.

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jessica, Thank you for your stay and comment! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

46%

The staff were very rude and intimidating. They did not accommodate the smallest of requests. The hostel itself is not too bad but the staff certainly are!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Greg, Thanks for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. We have actually no idea what went wrong. We will contact you about this. We are glad you liked the hostel and hoped you still enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

60%

At the time I was staying at your hostel, the common room was being renovated so we only had access to our bedrooms which was very limiting.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the stay! Sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused. We really had to renew certain things. Was really nice to meet you and friends. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam!

40%

Quite bad hostel, not so near to the center, with no kitchen, staff not too polite and an additional porcentage to pay at the arrival in addition to the normal price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay! We noticed you have not read any of our info before booking. We are central, Red-light is not the only place in the centre;) If a guest not follow the house rules, we have to be firm sometimes. City tax is mentioned on all websites and is never hidden. We never claim to have a kitchen. We hope you still enjoyed our lovely Amsterdam:)

86%

We had a great stay at hostel cosmos. The staff were amazingly helpful, more than at any other hostel I've stayed. It's only a short tram ride from the centre and for the price, you probably couldn't find a better hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jason, Thank you for staying! It was our pleasure to help you. We look forward to welcome you in the future;) Kind regards, Cosmos staff+Simba

71%

Not bad, not great. 4 person private room had it's own sink and a big window. Room got a by hot and the pillows were awful but we were only there to sleep so it did what it had to. Oh yeah, Simba rules!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark, Thanks for the stay and feedback! We will certainly discuss and improve on the points you have mentioned. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

26%

This hostel was appalling. After traveling the world for 4 months, this has been the worst hostel I've stayed in (and I stayed in BlueSky Hostel Glasgow!). The room was like a sauna with no ability to open the window, the mattress and pillows were like inflatable rocks, the cleaner cracked my iPhone and did not even apologise, and I was not allowed to stay on hostel premises after check out in the common area even though it was raining outside. I would not recommend this hostel to an ant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thank for your stay! We know you are upset because you had to check out. Unfortunately we can't have guests hanging around after check out time, because of the amount of guests we host and cleaning. Our stations and airport are perfect for having a seat and to wait for your next trip. It rains a lot in Amsterdam, so waiting will not help:( You never mentioned anything about the phone or our cleaner. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

34%

Staff were friendly but not accommodating to any needs. Dorms were tiny for the amount paid. No lockers without paying an extra fee on top of an already exorbitant price. No common room. Kitchen was helpful.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay! You should have let us know about your needs. Our rooms are normal size for an Amsterdam hostel in a monumental building. You know the priced when you booked and is reasonable compared to most hostels in Amsterdam. With our location you are surrounded with common rooms;) The fee you paid is Euro 1 for a locker, which we invest in more and better lockers. Kind regards, Cosmos

34%

Hostel cosmos was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in, it was so bad we checked out early and found another hostel for the rest of our stay. It is dirty, smelly, small, bad facilities and the staff were rude. Do not stay here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy. However the things you say are not true. We had to ask you to check out, because you did not want to leave the room at check out time. You did eventually after 3 hours. We were not rude and are very sad you say these things. We clean daily and take it very serious. However we still see your comment as feedback, so we can improve ourselves. We wish you goog luck with your future travelling. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

89%

Loved the place and great location. Just need a fan or aircon in the rooms during summer and the staff were extremely helpful and nice. Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Scott, Thanks for the stay and feedback! We are working on a sollution for those (rare) warm days. The buildings in Amsterdam are designed for the colder weather. So you will see more central heating than ac;) We hope we can welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

60%

Good hostel, but a little expensive.


60%

Due to a very small common room, it was very difficult to meet people. The rooms were clean, wifi was strong and staff were very helpful and friendly.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback