Hostelworld.com

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.2
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Located at Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam.
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1071 RL Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL
71% 526
52.3542941 4.8818134
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
5.1

The staff was nice. Stayed in 12 female dorm, overpriced for what was provided. Linen was not clean, there where no common area, no kitchen, no microwave. Three very small bathrooms for the whole hostel. It is near Museumplein, but it is not near the city center (20 min in tram). Bathrooms were cold and the lights shut off after a few minutes. The showers only ran for a few second, making very difficult to take a shower.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2016
6.9

Was an ok hostel walking distance from everything(20 mins walk to central station with everything in between) their is no real common area or kitchen facilities plus you don't have access to building unless you buzz wasn't a major problem as they have a 24hr reception but still.... meh the rooms are not very big and the shower toilet on our floor was tiny the toilet is less than 10cm in front of the shower door. If you need a place just to sleep it is ok but if your with a group probs not

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Apr 2016
8.3

No common area or water or table but overall nice staff great location and unbeatable value

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2016
3.7

Stayed in 12 female dorm, VERY over priced for what was provided. Linens obviously never changed-brown/white color with BLOOD STAIN and other suspicious spots. Small rooms gave it a sweatshop feeling. No kitchen or common area. Staff was uninviting and didn't speak English. Lockers for rent, €3 luggage storage for 6 hrs only. Not enough bathrooms for the amount of people. Would not recommend staying here, worst hostel I've been to in Europe and most expensive. Simba the cat was the only positive

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We checked if you had notified our staff during your stay about the linen, but we could not find any remarks. Also no complaints while you stayed with us. We are known for our cheaper prices, but during weekends and holidays, prices are higher than usual. But you actually stayed in the cheapest room in during normal period and we were one of the cheapest in Amsterdam. We hope maybe next time you can try on of our ensuite rooms. Own bathroom and more comfy maybe? Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
4.0

The hostel was about profit over backpackers welfare. I understand this to others would be a steal, however because we are all backpackers I felt there should be some flexibility. My friend and I arrived than expected and we know that we could not check in yet, however we were no even let inside the compound and had to stand outside talking to one of the staff through the window. It was raining then and they just weren't flexible nor compassionate.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We are actually about welfare, clean hostel and safety. That is one of the reasons why we can't allow people before check in. We are cleaning and making sure check out is going smoothly, this way you can expect a clean bed and room when you check in. We advise to store your bag at any station if you are very early in Amsterdam, this way you can already explore the city. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

2nd Apr 2016
7.7

A simple place to crash for the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
6.0

Room was very tight but clean. Staff wasn't unfriendly but not very nice either. Location was best part.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
6.3

It wasn't a very clean hostel, and the sheets smelled kind of funny. The bathroom on the second floor was nice and big but the one on the first floor was kind of claustrophobic. It kind of felt just dirty too like a cheap motel. I remember walking in and there was no room for a big suitcase to fit through the door. The staff were incredible though, including Simba the cat. They really helped me figure out what I wanted to do in Amsterdam so that was the best part for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
8.0

My friend and I had a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
8.0

Lovely and clean, really close to all the museums, right above a really nice soup and salad resturaunt. It was a bit above my price range but it was clean and comfortable and in a nice area which made up for the price though there wasn't anywhere to lock away valuables. A very quiet hostel for those not looking to party.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.