Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.9
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Located at Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam.
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1071 RL Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL
69% 593
52.3542941 4.8818134
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
3.7

The value for money was abysmal! The room was tiny with one plug socket to share between 4 that was half way up the wall! One staff member tried to be helpful about the socket situation but then changed their mind and said that the person taking over from her would not be as understanding so could not help us. The shows room on the third floor was ridiculous small and was suffocating due to lack of window! Bunks didn't have ladders. Disappointed that we had to pay for lockers considering price

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
6.0

Cosmos is great because it's right near the museumplein but there is no atmosphere or vibe. There are no common spaces. Our room of 12 was incredibly hot at night. Don't rent bikes here, you can find something else cheaper and better I'm sure!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

I stayed in a 9-person female dorm with a few friends for one night. It was fairly cramped- there wasn't really much space between bunks at all. There was only one bathroom for 9 people- 1 toilet and 1 shower stall. They weren't separate either, so you couldn't go to the bathroom if someone was showering. The bathrooms were clean though. There are a few communal bathrooms that came in handy. Overall, it's fine for a night or two, but I wouldn't want to stay longer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
2.0

Please don't stay here . Garbage for what it costs . Don't need to say anything more .

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We will try to contact you to get some more info so we can improve. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.4

Nice place to stay. Although little bit far from the city center, it is the nice area near to the Rjiksmuseum. Hotel staff are friendly and are available throughout the day (and night) to help. It is very hard to find hostels in Amsterdam and this one is a very good value for money. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Location good, however room with 9 girls was to small so floor was covered in bags. Plugs were not easily accessible from all beds and no lockers in rooms. Fine for one or two nights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2016
7.7

very cramped dorm, luckily shared with decent people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
5.1

NOT CLEAN. Stayed in a 9 girl room that was cramped with triple bunks. Definitely got spider bites in my sleep and woke up with swollen, angry red bites all over my arms, legs, and ankles. Only two outlet plugs in the whole room. Hardly any airflow in the room, it smelled musty. No key to get into the hostel, so you could easily just walk in flashing a random piece of paper. Great location to the museum quartier, but there are other hostels that would probably be better for your money.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
7.1

Great location walking in cite neighborhood and walking distance from all Amsterdam sites. Felt very safe staying here too. Completely overpriced - I've paid Hal as much for hostels in Europe with 3 times the amenities. Cosmos charged €55 for one night in a tiny 9 person dorm. Also charged an addition 10 for key and 10 to leave stuff there the next day. I wouldn't stay here again in Amsterdam as my first choice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
6.3

Over priced and boring. Not a place for socialization. Frankly too few toilets and showers. It was nice to be close to the Van Gogh and rijksmuseum but I'd rather be in the heart of Amsterdam and take the tram to it. Other hostels were more exciting and better priced. Would not stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.