Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.8
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jul 2017
6.0

No lockers in the dorm. The window can only be opened very little, and imagine sleeping in a 12-bed, cramped dorm in the hot summer nights. They charge 3euros for storing bags at the reception. Only one toilet and shower per floor & there are a few dorms on each floor, so imagine the horror of a traffic in the morning. They assigned you the beds & I happen to get the upper bed that does not have stairs to climb up! Highly, highly overpriced given the facilities. Good location & great reception!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
4.9

Don't stay at this hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
6.6

The Hostel is well located, and the staff is very nice. But if you want to know new people, that is not the right place. There's no living space, where the guests can meet or know each other. You just have access to your room and to the bathrooms. There was also no space where I could leave my backpack and lock it (all were already used). So, I think that the price do not correspond with the quality of the service. I was in another Hostels in Amsterdam which were very better and more convenient.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2017
6.6

Not bad considering the choices avalible in Amsterdam during peak season. It's hard to find somewhere nice and affordable in this city, within a good location too. You need to pay for everything, which sucks. A good choice for a short stay. The rooms are very crowded so it isn't somewhere you can hang out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
6.3

They charge for hot water for drinks! €1 to get hot water from vending machine. You have to pay €3 to store luggage when you check out. If you just need a bed, toilet and shower, it's fine and very clean. But there is nothing else. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is nowhere to sit and rooms are small. Location is close to nice park, supermarket, shops, bus and museum quarter but 30 min walk from old town. I recommend renting a bike from Mike's bike. They are great and cheaper than Cosmos.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.3

Good atmosphere and great staff. There arnt any lockers for bags but we felt very safe as everybody was in the same position. If you want a hostel to hangout in it's not great as there are no common areas or kitchen. However, great location and great people. Highly recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2017
3.4

After staying in this hostel for two nights. The hostel was extremely dirty and I was very disappointed for the amount of money the hostel charged.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ChrisTheUnicorn
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.6

Overall, it's not a bad hostel. It's expensive and there's nothing included in the price really (no breakfast, no form of any atmosphere etc). However, it seems like a pretty normal thing in Amsterdam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.3

Pros: decent location, friendly staff, private bathrooms, good atmosphere Cons: very cramped rooms and bathrooms, no lift and lots of stairs, beds to short to sit upright in, overpriced

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2017
4.6

We were so unhappy with our living conditions that we moved out after the first night, even though we had paid for whole weekend. We were crammed into a tiny room with 10 people. No space for bags or belongings. Clothes strewn about the room and floor. Room was hot and smelled awful because of all the people crammed in. The beds were crap- plastic mats. Too many people shared one bathroom. The shower did not stay on. My living conditions were better when I lived in Africa than my stay in Cosmos

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.