Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.2
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 848 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 5.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2017
2.9

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOSTEL! Me and my friend just after the check-in, when we entered the room, noticed a terrible smelling (a very strong chemical that nobody knew what was) and that the lockers were too small to fit our stuff (kinda like 30cmX30cm). We asked to cancel the other 2 nights (we were supposed to stay 3) n give us the money back and they simply said "no, the manager will solve it". To top it off, 5 days after that, not even any small answer from the manager...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
6.6

Upsides: It's super conveniently located, literally right next to two tram stops. It's secure (with a locking front door that you must be buzzed in to get through), and is 24 hours, with no curfew! Downsides: My towel, my washcloth, and my soap all went missing within three days of staying there. It's super cramped, with tiny bathrooms and winding stairs. They also gave my bed away TWICE (without telling me, forcing me to move beds twice) while I was out during the day, on two different days.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Sep 2017
6.6

Overall this hostel met all basic needs. Unfortunately there seemed to be a lot of disorganization when it came to the allocated beds. One day we were sleeping during the day due to being sick and the receptionist and cleaner came into our room and very loudly argued about the beds and which ones were meant to be checking out etc which I found to be very unprofessional and rude. Also didn't like having to pay for a locker and that there was only a multi box from one power point in the room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • willian_garcia
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2017
3.7

Horrible stay at this place, I had no sleep at all during the night, the rooms are like a sauna (we stayed in the fall, can't even imagine how it is in the summer) and packed, I stayed in the 12 dorm room and clearly the place is not suitable for 12 people, couldn't barely walk within the room, beds are not corfortable, no side light or sockets. Bathrooms are clean at least, but small. There's no lockers in the room only at the reception and they charge you 3 euros to use it..not worth staying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
7.1

(+) Price/quality is ok. (-) The rooms were too hot so we had to open the windows and although it got a bit better, I've been biten several times by mosquitoes. (-) There is no place to rest or spend time besides the room. (-) Lockers are payed. And there is almost no space to put things in the room. (-) There is only 1 bathroom/floor

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.6

We really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. This part of the city is a safe area and the city centre is within walking distance. Friendly staff, very clean, relatively small rooms, the only thing we rather disliked was that we had to pay for the lockers and they also charged 3€ per bag/suitcase when we wanted to store them until the evening on the day of our departure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Aug 2017
6.0

We stayed in the 12 bed dorm. There wasn't enough space between the beds, you could barely store your luggage. The beds weren't too good as well, they seemed unstable. The staff was friendly, but the amtosphere was a bit dull, as there was no common room. And it smelled weird, which really bothered me. You don't really get much for the price, I wouldn't stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
7.4

It was super clean, and that is a very important factor. However, it lacked a very important thing: a common room. You can't just go to the hostel and sit for a bit with your friends if you are in separate rooms. Besides that, I also think that the price does not justify what you get. But then again, everything is this expensive in Amsterdam.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
4.6

Toilets broken, no lockers in the room, no suficient windows in the room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2017
2.9

Rude service, not helpful at all. Feel scammed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×