Hostelworld.com

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 5.8
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 5.8
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Located at Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam.
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1071 RL Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL
68% 573
52.3542941 4.8818134
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jun 2016
6.3

Over priced and boring. Not a place for socialization. Frankly too few toilets and showers. It was nice to be close to the Van Gogh and rijksmuseum but I'd rather be in the heart of Amsterdam and take the tram to it. Other hostels were more exciting and better priced. Would not stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.6

great location!! walking distance to anywhere. a bit pricey but you dont have to pay for location. receptionist was super helpful. overall good stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Jun 2016
4.6

Bunk beds were stacked three high, way too high, nervous getting up and down.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.9

They have a pet cat!!!!! The hostel has Simba, their pet cat. This is awesome!!! Besides that. Good place. Not enought bathrooms at all!! just one shower/bathroom on each floor. Not enough when there are 15? chicks in 1 room alone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
7.7

Location is amazing and staff was very nice. Very small space without a real common room or kitchen, but perfect for just crashing to sleep

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Wuffybrother
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.7

I stayed in this hostel for two nights, and payed a fortune for it although I think a lot of other places were booked out. It's not very good value for money, no breakfast available and I paid €3 to store my luggage each time for check-in and check-out, and even then they don't like you hanging around afterward or leaving your luggage too long. I think you also have to pay for a locker. The rooms were okay, facilities average but the hostel did the job. The best part would be the resident cat :)

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
5.1

Dorms full of beds. My bed was half inside what seems to be the space for a closet, in the other end of the bed I had a trash bin. The hostel's site says "meet new people", which I found close to a lie, since the only common area is the reception, which is really small too.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2016
4.3

Aside from the ideal location, I would not stay here again. The 12-bed dorm was WAY too tight - I've stayed in others which were fine, this forced people to climb on top of eahother. Speaking of climbing, the bunk beds didn't have ladders. Most of the staff was very passive, indifferent and disorganized. There were not even close to enough showers and bathrooms for the number of people on each floor, leading to lineups and wasted time in the morning. 3euro to store a bag in lobby for 2hrs. B.S.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
4.3

Too strict on having to show a business car every time you enter the hostel, they need a swipe access system or something. Showers were too hot, actually burn. And the top floor shower only worked for 3 seconds every time you pressed it (I timed it).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. As we try to keep you and others safe, we like to know who enters the hostel. With the system you mentioned anyone can enter when having the card. We will check the shower and will certainly improve if it is not working properly. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th May 2016
6.6

Very expensive for what is offered - not enough bathrooms, no shelves for top bunks and locker is outside of the room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.