Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 5.7
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 620 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 5.9
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 5.7
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Located at Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam.
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland 1071 RL Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL
66% 620
52.3542941 4.8818134
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
3.4

The only good thing is the location and one of the staff is not friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2016
7.4

Really hot rooms was only negative. No air con

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Aug 2016
5.1

Although the location is ideal, the biggest problem is ventalation. The room was narrow and too full so there was a lot of body heat. Trying to sleep in sweat is not good. The showers and toilets were sufficient but for the money I paid we should have got a locker. The stay was overpriced. Generally an alright stay but it wasn't an amazing hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
4.6

I was pretty revolted when during our stay there was a bed bug infestation through the entire hostel and reception couldn't have cared less, leaving bite marks on most of the people. Also they claimed to have a 24/7 reception service but when returning one afternoon the front door was unlocked and saw no one around and even our room door was unlocked.. they did not note us of all the ridiculous rules and restrictions before booking either. One rule: We are not responsible for bed bug bite.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying and informing us. Although you personally had no problems during your stay we still appreciate the feed back. We are working hard to improve where possible. We have directly hired a pest control company to help us. However these bugs travel with our guests and leave us with a difficult problem. This means we are also victim of the situation as we do everything to keep our place safe, clean and bug free. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

30th Jul 2016
7.4

If was a convenient place to come back to after a long day of sightseeing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
8.6

A bit away from the main part of the city, but accessible via rail.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
3.7

The value for money was abysmal! The room was tiny with one plug socket to share between 4 that was half way up the wall! One staff member tried to be helpful about the socket situation but then changed their mind and said that the person taking over from her would not be as understanding so could not help us. The shows room on the third floor was ridiculous small and was suffocating due to lack of window! Bunks didn't have ladders. Disappointed that we had to pay for lockers considering price

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel was quiet and clean. The lockers were 1 euro. There wasn't much of a common room, it was a just a small seated square beside the reception desk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Jul 2016
6.0

We only stayed here for one night, it was the cheapest place that we could find. Bunk beds are comfy so it's good if you just need a place to sleep but don't expect facilities such as lockers in the room or a social area to meet others, you also can't bring beer in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
6.0

Cosmos is great because it's right near the museumplein but there is no atmosphere or vibe. There are no common spaces. Our room of 12 was incredibly hot at night. Don't rent bikes here, you can find something else cheaper and better I'm sure!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.