X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
144 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Not enought space in the rooms and mattresses are encased in plastic so they can't breathe. Lazy staff, tha reception and lobby is closed sometimes till 8am, even you can't use it during the day someday.


100%

Simba is great and really adds character to the place. Save and cheap place with lockers and camera.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff was extremely helpful, rooms were clean (despite a mouse sighting!), and the bathrooms were great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , Thanks for staying! One of the guests left the doors open from the terrace and food in the room. That is why we advise guests to not eat in the dorms. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

100%

Loveddddd Simba! cute little hostel and suprisingly clean. Save place and had some good sleep. Good linen provided

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for the stay and comment;) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

49%

Never coming back - staff incredibly rude, facilities lacking, bad experience. Arrived at 3am and they refused late checkout even though all they had to do was swap one sheet and pillowcase - fine. Then, accused us of lying when we refused to pay an extra €3 on top of the first €3 for holding our luggage longer, even though we were never informed of the extra cost. Every other hostel has offered this as a courtesy to guests, because it costs them nothing to do. Sucking as much money as possible.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We give all guests the same treatment and even if you arrive at 03.00 am, you are equal to the other guests. We also must clean every room. It would be impossible to function if every guest decides when to check out. Our rules are written in all of the rooms and hallways. Also info about check out and luggage is clearly mentioned. We still hope you enjoyed Amsterdam and wish you alle the best. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

40%

Avoid this hostel if you can. One bathroom per floor, not even divided by shower/toilet. Big lines in the morning. Charge for every little thing (lockers - which are small and in the hallway, luggage storage - and still only for a few hours, etc). No kitchen. No common area except a small area around the reception desk. Not sure what the normal prices are because it was a busy weekend in Amsterdam, but definitely not worth it for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the stay and feedback. We never promised a kitchen and it was a very busy weekend and you actually had paid one of the cheapest prices in Amsterdam. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam!

100%

Great place, great staff, enjoyed the city, met great people. The shower and toilet are too tiny thought. :)

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your stay and comment! Was really nice to meet you:) Kindest regards, Cosmos staff

54%

Showers were awful. It was like a little drizzle and the door doesn't close so the whole bathroom gets drenched, in fact the floor gets wetter than you! No wardrobe to hang clothes and no towels. Leather pillows are horrendous. Not that central location for how much it cost but the bike hire is there. I've never stayed in a hostel before so maybe I was expecting 2 much? But leather pillows nowhere 2 put clothes and a horrendous shower,and the hand towel was padlocked to the wall? Not for couples

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I arrived late to the hostel. A staff member was there and was super helpful and helped with everything I needed.


54%

We stayed in a tiny room with 6 beds, it was okay when there were only 4 people staying but when it was full it was uncomfortable. 3 people in the room got bitten by bedbugs and the bathroom had very poor ventilation, the walls and floor were always wet and the shower was either very hot or very cold. There was a cleaner in my room when I got out of the shower and he stayed there silent for the next 10 mins changing sheets while I stood in the corner in my towel. Very awkward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Georgia, Thank you for your stay. Nobody reported any bites or other complaints. You choose to stay in a 6 person mixed dorm and your own travel partner was a male. You can change in the shower without feeling akward. You stayed several days and know when we clean. We think a private room would be more suitable for you. Maybe next time;) We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

66%

on first night was signed in by a very nice guy (sorry,can't remember his name) when i turned up late ,.But on second night when i arrived back about 3am another receptionest tried to get me to sign some other forms and had adopted a very bad,sarcastic attitude.Nasty person

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Decent Location, a quick tram ride away from the center of town. Wished there were lockers in the room to lock our stuff up, but they had some you could rent for a euro.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I liked it. The staff was nice, They had warm blankets. It might be difficult for someone with heavy luggage to go all the stairs up to the reception. I found it quite poetical though, the stairs. There was one bathroom for one floor, so you had to waitin the morning and if you needed to check out, it could be difficiult. But I mean, it was just for the dorms like this with the bathrooms. You could also brush your teeth in the sink in the room, so.. The staff was nice and it was relaxed.


31%

- This hotel vibe isnt what you look for when ordering something referred to as a hostel. - Lack of common room makes for a hard time meeting other travelers. - Only one staff member didnt hate his job and the others need to remember they're working in hospitality. Very blunt and rude at times which isn't doing them any favours. - Further away from landmarks that have been mentioned. - 12 beds crammed into a room that is no where near big enough Apologies but this is as honest as they come

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Steven, Thank you for your stay! We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam. We will contact you to see what happend. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

100%

Great , estremely kind and helpful sfaff.very clean and fresh bed sheets .cheap good location.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review and comment:) We enjoyed having you as our guest. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

74%

Very Friendly staff, don't go to the hostel if you think that it will be like a hotel. It is purely there for you to sleep and to shower etc. I found that the beds were comfortable and the facilities were satisfactory, The staff were very helpful and showed us the best places to go. You will enjoy this hostel if you have previously stayed in hostels. A safe environment.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Four person room were very tiny and very humid. In the morning windows were like after the rain, but inside the room.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Location could not be better! loved the museums and leidesplain for nightlife, and Simba is too cute...... free map and tips from the staff helped me alot.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It's really quiet and clean hostel next to museum area, but it didn't suit most of my requirements, you can't stay in the hostel until check-in time even arriving 30 mins early, you can't leave luggage in the hostel cause they don't have enough space, it didn't include the kitchen, the staffs always tell you it's not allowed to do this cause their boss will angry.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay. We are very suprised by your comment. We had hold your bag 1 whole day before your check in. So it was not 30 min, but 24 hours. We never promise a kitchen, but have some seats to eat something simple. we are surrounded with cheap places to eat. We tried to joke a little bit. Simba is the boss;) Simba rules, we must admit, she can be a bit grumpy sometimes. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

43%

The rooms are narrowed. When u ask staff for stuffs like toilet paper, they acts pissed and lazy manners. Wrong charges on payment, had to discuss for it. Saw rent really dirty towels for cleaned ones. Also staff argue and intimidate on guests. Inner spaces generally in bad condition, likes toilets. Staff barge into rooms during night or early morning waking up everyone "because there may be intruders". Despite cameras everywhere, frequently ID controls.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay and mentiong these things.You never mentioned any of these things whil staying here. We will contact you, to see what happenend. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback