X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
371 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

I can't recommend this hostel. Only if is your last option is okay. Is clean and well located but, not all the staff is nice, the rooms are really small and in general the hostel is so hot, was hotter inside than outside. Maybe in winter that could be a nice thing. The Internet (Wi-fi) was also terrible. If you can try to look for another one.


54%

Great location! Lovely &friendly Staff! Shame about the tiny rooms! No ladder to step up onto your bed, you feel squashed.. With 8 beds in the room there should have been 4! But you get what you pay for! Was nice but needed more space! X


60%

The hostel was further away from the city center. The staff was very helpfull

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

I spent 3 nights and the room wasn't cleaned even at once! The bathroom was really dirty and smelly. When I asked at the reception for someone to clean it, after the second night, the recepcionist told me that they must do the cleaning everyday, but if no one came there, he would ask to. But nobody came again! The room was so tiny that there were just a space of 50 between the bed for us to move, and there were no lockers, so we had to put our backpacks unsafely under the beds.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I felt like the facility was not worth the amount of money charged for a night's stay. The staff was surprisingly rude at times. Depending on what employee was working dictated the level of service you received. I would not recommend this location to someone I knew.


94%

Calm and really friendly area, amazing location. For sure I'll be back! Thank you guys from the hostel and Simba ❤️ The king of the hostel

  • 7th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

The hostel was the worst in my trip unfortunately.


71%

Although everything was clean and the beds were very comfortable the whole hostel was just tiny.


63%

It was in a pretty good location about 5 min walk to the museums with a lovely park and a supermarket. But that's the only supermarket and it was hard to find anything near by open after 9. The hostel itself was ok the rooms were cramped there was 12 beds in our room that should have been 8 and only 3 toilets for the whole hostel that were also the showers so if some one was showering you couldn't use the toilet. Expensive but it seemed like all do amsterdam was.


57%

The staff were really nice and they tried to be as helpful as they can! Simba the cat is super cute! The rooms are super crowded (jammed bunk beds) and there was barely space for baggage/luggage. Bathrooms were not clean and never kept up (ran out of soap and toilet paper more than once). There is only one bathroom per floor so it made it also difficult to do much. Wifi worked though, so that's a plus.Overall, you get what you pay for. It is about 30mins walk to the city centr


57%

Very small hostel and the rooms are extremely cramped - the communal area is really small as well so there isn't room for more than 4/5 people to chill out when you don't want to wake everyone up in the room. When we arrived the staff weren't that welcoming but did get nicer and were helpful providing maps and information. Bathroom situation is ridiculous - there are 2 bathrooms between about 30 people - and no separate toilets. Beds were really comfy. The cat was cute though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We more showers and toilets, only they are in some rooms. As you choose the biggest and cheapest room, you are sharing the showers and toilets. And we have more than 2 for sharing and for less than 30 persons. If the communal area is too small, please know we are surrounded with the coolest pubs and bars to relax with friends;) Next time please see which rooms have their own bathroom, so you don't have to share:) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

71%

In general I enjoyed my stay at Hostel Cosmos. I wish that some of the staff would speak better English because it was quite hard to communicate at some point. What annoyed me was the water because the hot water didn't run properly and so showering became a disaster ! But all in all a lovely hostel and I am amazed by your cat.

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean tidy and nice friendly staff.

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Cool place with lots of character. Small rooms though.


34%

Hidden fees, far from everything, and unhelpful staff. would not stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. There are no hidden fees, so we are suprised by your comment. Your friend arrived the 2nd day and we have to charge for the empty bed for the 1 night. We are in the city centre near Museumsquare and other hot spots. We have no idea why you mention these things. We still hoped you enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

69%

Did not like paying an extra key fee would rather just get charged if it was lost. Staff members were not all on the same page. And receiving a towel per person with small amenities would have been helpful. Also please list exact check in time on website/page bought.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying and feedback! We will use your comment to improve;) We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam:) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

69%

No common area currently.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

was fine but stairs were so narrow and upturned, they took money from my credit card later they gave it back but was akward and if u want to leave your bags u have to pay, but in general was a clean and nice place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay! Stairs are typical in these beautifull Amsterdam buildings;) We pre-authorise your card to make sure there is enough credit to cover the reservation. We also have to protect ourselves concerning false bookings, No Shows and late cancellations. Storage is an extra service and we only ask a small fee as we already offer the cheapest beds in town. We also want to make sure we have bags of guests that REALLY need to store them. Kind regards,Cosmos staff

54%

The Hostel was near some good sights, overall far from the city centre, but close to quite a few tram stops. The cat is mean, there was hardly ever toilet paper, and the bathrooms always smelled like poop. It was much too expensive for what you get. I've stayed in better hostels in more expensive cities for less. Only good for sleeping and not much else.


86%

Really helpful and thoughtful staff. Great value for money and clean rooms. Good location as not far from city centre walking and even closer when you've mastered the trams! Also do good extra touches like taxis with a flat rate to get you to the train station and airport and bikes to rent directly from them.

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback