X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Small yet cozy.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Of course facilities can be improved, but the WiFi was pretty good. The staff was super helpful and Simba the cat is simply amazing. I think the location is really good. Plus the atmosphere was great when I was there (during the Netherlands vs Spain World Cup ! :) )


69%

The location is ok, near from some bar and a big market, in a nice place. The beds could be more clean, the breakfast is poor and it's really strange and rude have to pay to leav the luggace at the reception after check-out and can't wait for some minutes there...I've never seen something like that! The balds guys that are there at the night are really friendly , the others not so much.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Breno, Thanks for your stay! Unfortunately we have not the space to leave 70 bags and 70 people after check out. That is why we can't have guests still hang around after check out. We can not do our job properly if we have to help guests that are actually staying and also guests that had to check out but still hang around the reception. We mention this before you check out so you can make your plans after check out. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

63%

This hostel is ok. It's a little small, so the breakfast has a schedule, or people wouldn't fit in the kitchen. About the location, it's not in the centre, but it's easy to walk to the central places from there.


71%

You get what you pay for with the hostel - whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, there was little space in the rooms and there was only one bathroom for a whole floor. However, the wifi was awesome but the breakfast is just not a breakfast - they only provide a loaf of bread and jam/peanut butter. Would probably look somewhere else if I went back to Amsterdam.


46%

We paid £70ish per night, This is far too much for the distance to the town center, and the facilities provided. Especially after we paid £35 for the third night in the Flying Pig. Which was amazing

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your stay! You stayed on a busy Holiday and weekend and our location and price is clear before you book and we are in the city centre. The 3rd night we were actually cheaper as it is a sunday. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam! KInd regards, Cosmos staff

66%

The staff and Simba are easily the best part about this hostel. Rooms can get a bit pricey, especially on the weekend. Very close to the Van Gogh museum and close enough to some night life areas. Be prepared to walk far if you want to go to the Red Light district, though. My one complaint is that I could never find a convenient outlet for shaving, etc.


89%

Simba is a maximum!!!!

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Being a budget hostel in Amsterdam, Cosmos is not that bad. Few remarks are the small common area and the lack of lockers, really too few for the number of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay! We have more lockers in other rooms that you could not see:) There are enough and will get even more with time;) also common room will be taking care of. It is all on the agenda. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

80%

I enjoyed this hostel and the staff were nice.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

8 bed dorm was very pokey, the communal area was mainly used as a staff office, which was a little unwelcoming. No bed change for the 6 days i was there, also they were keen to charge me for leavong my luggage for a few hours on the final day.

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

The location is fine for the museum square and vondelpark, but it's at least an hour away from the city center when you walk. Also, I paid for two beds in a six bed room. This was more expensive an less clean/kept up than when I payed much less at a different hostel for two beds in a four bed room. Just to top it off, "breakfast" (which is included) is stale toast, old butter/jam, and weak tea/coffee.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay! It is really less than an hour by foot to any place in the city centre. You are actually in the South part of the city centre. But the Redlight district is a total different atmosphere an vibe. We love our neighbourhood and are happy with the great location. You stayed in the most busy weekend of the year, it was even on the news. You really had cheap beds for these days. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

71%

Rooms were small and there was no space for luggage. Only one power point in the room, although there was a power board. Aside from this, it is quite a nice, clean hostel and a pleasant place to stay.


69%

Good location - close to Van Gogh museum, rijksmuseum, I amsterdam sign, but far from train station. Staff weren't helpful - use a map and rely on yourself. Not much space in washrooms -no hooks/ shelves. Creepy men walk around in their underwear after showering. Kitchen was small and had bad facilities and no lockers in rooms. At 4 in the morning in my female dorm a make worker came in, turned the light on and was rummaging around the storage closet.Workers would come in room randomly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , We are suprised by your comment. We always give our guest a map and show all hotspots and give other tips. If we have forgotten you, just ask;) We did not know about about any creepy men, we have no kitchen, but an area where you can prepare some food. Lockers are in the hallway and is some rooms with more space. We have no female dorm. It was probably a male room mate in your shared room. We still hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

43%

Must Pay for all Extras I would assume included. No storage without 24hrs notice. The common room is just a table inreception. Not relaxed. Must Pay for lockers. Breakfast is warm white bread. Most of the Staff were patronising and on a power trip. Recommended the worst coffee shop in amsterdam. No space in dorms. Ensuite smelled bad all the time. Noone would stay here if it wasn't cheap. Go somewhere else. Read the terms and conditions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your stay. At check in you were acting not polite and really not nice. There was no reason for that as we did nothing wrong as you just arrived. Everyone was having fun and enjoying, but we have no idea why you acted so angry all the time. Also it is really not normal to rush in and walk directly to a room, while you are not staying with us anymore! Why come back if it is such a bad place??? We still wish you all the best with travelling. Cosmos staff

77%

Location not near train station but near museum. Breakfast is not enough.....


74%

Very nice staff!! They were very helpful and gave plenty of maps indicating different areas. The rooms were a bit crowded but the people who stay there are all really chill. No lockers so you have to either carry your stuff with you or find a way of hiding it. There were only three outlets in a room of 12 and all were next to only one bed so it was pretty inefficient. Breakfast wasn't fantastic but it was free. Bathrooms weren't nice since they were individual with a lot of water on the floors,

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

But all is fine for my stay except for after checking out. I kindly asked the staff if I could wait at the 'common area' for a few hours before my flight in the evening and he replied "NO!?! You have to leave this place NOW, like, you can't stay here after checking out, you need to leave". I couldn't believe my ears. So I ended up seeking shelter at a Hotel nearby where they warmly welcome me at their lounge area for a few hours despite me not staying with them. Other staffs were nice though.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for stay! We have between 60 and 70 guests on a busy day. You stayed in such a period. Guests that actually are staying also would like to have a sit and use our facilities. At a certain time we must ask you kindly to really check out. We are happy you also admit we were nice to you. But it is not honest to write a bad review because we asked you to check out. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

91%

The only bad things about the hostel: no lockers, and no lockers in the rooms. Other than that - an excellent hostel. Staff is very very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Thanks for your stay! We are really suprised by the comment. We have lockers in some rooms and in the halway. You stayed just 1 night, so maybe you did not notice or asked us. We hope we can welcome you again;) KInd regards, Cosmos staff

94%

The staff is so friendly and could offer many amenities, from maps to shampoo and conditioner. But I think maybe the best part of the stay was how easy it was to get to -- plus it's down the block from the Rijksmuseum. Plus, there was abundant coffee and breakfast. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(47 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback