X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam Reviews

Frans van Mierisstraat 69 A, 1071 RL, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
307 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Simple hostel but everything works fine. Security was decent and location was very good. Price was friendly.


29%

Staff was very rude, not personable, and no smile at all. There was construction in progress and loose/dangerous material all over the stair landings. The bedroom was very small and dirty. The bathroom soap dispenser was completely empty. I am not one to complain or leave reviews ever, but this place was awful. We paid over 100 euro/night. I could have stayed in a way nicer hostel for three nights for that price. Not impressed.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for stay. We are sorry to hear you feel this way. Rooms are normal size for a twin room in a Amsterdam hostel. Prices are reasonable and please note you stayed during a holiday. Dispenser are being replaced for better ones. It is a pity you did not mention anything to us. But we will use your comment to improve! We hope you enoyed Amsterdam!

86%

Great olacd in a great location.


63%

For the amount we paid for a two day stay, we were absolutely astounded at how often we were paying a fee for something that should not cost extra. £10 down for a room key, £3 for baggage "storage" which was actually just keeping the bags out in the reception room! Very underwhelming, the accommodations were not nearly nice enough for the price.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. The 10 euro is a deposit and is refundable, that is not a cost or fee. You can store the bags at any station if you wish not use our service. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

74%

very expensive in the weekend. lack of bathroom and wc, it's not good. But the location and the staff super nice!!


66%

The Hostel doesn't look like when we see the photos, is really well located, but cold be better organized, also them charge you for everything even to use the lockers.


89%

Upon arriving I thought possibly we we're in the wrong area, (not the city Center as in the main square) The reception staff promptly corrected me and pointed out how close we we're to so many major attractions and how quick it is by tram or walkable by foot if a nice day! The staff we're friendly and helpful, I would Definatly stay at this hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying and kind words;) We hope we can welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

43%

Very narrow stairway

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. This is one of the reason why we have an age limit. We explained this to you and made an exception. So it is really sad to see that you still choose to give a low rating. Especially because we did our best to help you with the many questions and demands. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

63%

Pretty rubbish really as far as hostels go. But clean and cheap, the main things.


66%

Everythint was excellent except the people who stayed in the room with me and the fact that the bathroom makes Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs look luxurious.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Staff were rude, rooms were small not very many showers. There were building works that woke us up at 9am on Saturday that we weren't told about and a window that could be opened on the outside where they were working. We turned up an hour before our room was available and they tried to charge us €3 each to leave our bags for that time.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location. The staff was nice and helpful to us. What I loved the most was simba, the house cat! We were disturbed early in the morning by the building works, and there were few toillets/showers for the people in the cheaper rooms (that means we normally couldn't use the bathrooms when we woke up in the morning, because there were always someone taking a shower). Continuing about the toilets, the floor was always wet, and it didn't feel very clean.


83%

The hostel is very cute, nicely decorated. I thought it was a shame you had ton pay extra for a safe and for a towel, but it was cheap. The staff were helpful on giving recommendations for places to go. Very good value for money

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


26%

As a group of 4 girls, we booked a private room. On 2 separate occasions, a staff member and a construction worker tried unlocking our door and coming into our supposedly PRIVATE room without even knocking!!! There were earwigs on the walls and there was only one toilet and shower for the entire floor. If 1 person was showering, everyone else had to wait until they were done to use the toilet. Overall: lack of toilets and men trying to come into our room without even knocking. Horrible.

  • 17th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Emilie, Thank you for staying. During your stay, we never received any complaints. We have spoken to construction workers and staff, but are really schocked because of your words. We are very suprised as we try to cause as less problems due to construction. You can also go to the other floors to shower. They are not for the entire floor as most of our rooms have their own shower and toilet. You had the cheapest room, so no ensuite. The walls are clean. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

40%

The staff created an uncomfortable atmosphere for the lobby, the showers were cold and dirty, and then is no space to get changed because the floor is soaked after the first person. The beds were good but having staff come in at 9am to make sure you're aware you are checking out today is a tag unnecessary. No kitchen is annoying and the facilities are hidden away in a cupboard. It was cheap but ruined my stay in Amsterdam because the vibe was dreadful. Not a good hostel to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Reuben, Thanks for staying and feedback. We will use your comment to see how we can improve. We actually don't advertise or promise a kitchen. We are happy that you were satisfied with the price. We hope you still enjoyed Amsterdam! Kind regards, Cosmos staff

57%

At checkin, the assigned bed was not made or cleaned at all. The other guests were loud and messy, causing me to sleep elsewhere for half the trip.

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for staying! Unfortunately when staying in a dorm, you can end up with other persons that have a different way of thinking and behaviour. We had arranged a clean bed for you and did our best to help you. We still hope you enjoyed Amsterdam;) Kind regards, Cosmos staff

89%

Great staff, who are always friendly and helpful. Bathrooms left something to be desired but the abilities to rent bikes, buy food and have staff 24/7 definitely made up for it.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

There were some pretty serious building works going on that woke us up pretty early on a Sunday morning. In general though this is a nice hostel and it looks as though the owners are putting some money into it to make it better. There's a fridge and cutlery there to use but no microwave or oven, and I didn't know there was a kettle until one of the staff pulled it out of a cupboard on the third day. Could have done with that a lot earlier.

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome!! Simba is the best!

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

They charge too much for most everything. Hostel is going under construction and is incredibly dusty. Wifi is ok, no free lockers. Would not stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Henry, Thank you for your stay! At the moment we are one of the cheaper hostels in Amsterdam. We apologize for the inconvience due to renovations. We thought it did not bother you as you had stayed 1 extra night. We would like to know about the things we charge too much. A locker would cost you Euro 1. Please send us an e-mail, so we can improve. Kind regards, Cosmos staff

(47 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback