Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Costel Timisoara

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th May 2017
8.3

Really nice old villa, big lockers, big common space and a nice garden. Not too far from the center but also not super close, you still have to take the tram. Individual lights at the beds would be great, they're missing on the moment. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, thanks for the nice words and the recommendation. Actually lights are something we wanted to have for a long time but couldn't afford it - we have to buy 26 of them, with bulbs :P. But we've made this expense now - because you are right, it is important - and we will install it these days :) Next time you come you can enjoy a book in you bed at a late hour :P

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th May 2017
10.0

Great stay! Staff are super friendly and helpful, especially with tourist info! Make friends with Alex, he helped a lot with everything and is an all round top bloke

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • arsenalalice4381
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
9th May 2017
7.7

My first hostel experience in Romania. I'm not too sure that the concept is similar to other hostels in Europe I've stayed in. Lots of space here, lots of places to stretch out. Encountered a few different staff members - wasn't sure who was who mostly but DaDa was really a lovely girl. Fair walk into town - not miles (perhaps 10-15 min walk), but don't expect to pop downstairs and be in the thick of the action. If there aren't many guests I expect it feels a bit empty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I wasn't sure how to respond to this review. You're not the first one coming in with a trolley and a nice (business) outfit and we don't know what to expect. Usually it is a bad rating like this one - but we didn't expect the really nice words that describe us well: yeah, we try to be different and we appreciate having lots of common areas we're you can either socialize or just have your quite corner and chill. Staff shouldn't be in a uniform hidden after a desk but rather mingle and be there, but subtle. Of course all this space and garden comes with a fair distance to the town which is walk-able for most but there are just 2 stops with the trams or we have bikes to rent ;) PS: if only for Dada at least the staff would've deserved a "10" - rating ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

I had a great time at Hostel Costel! Comfy beds, cool common areas and a lovely garden where you can relax for hours. People working there are really friendly and helpful, they had some great tips on what to do in Timisoara. Fun atmosphere and a good vibe all around. Definite recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
10.0

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Costel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location was just outside of downtown. And I met some other great travelers that were staying there as well. I'd definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2017
10.0

This is by far the best hostel in Timisoara! Even though they are not in the middle of the city, the 15 minutes walk to the city center offers it's visitors time to get to see a little more ofTimisoara. The area is more than safe, even at night! All the people that work here are friendly, helpful and they always make sure that the guests are ok. Really, if you have any question, desire or complaint they will try to help you! I love Hostel Costel and their garden! Thank you for a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
1st May 2017
9.1

Highly recommend this hostel. The staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming - especially the girls with the tattoos. The hostel was clean and had a good vibe about it. Inconvenient the plug wasn't near the bed but that's only only downside so if you can get over that you'll enjoy your stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
1st May 2017
8.0

Nice hostel with really friendly staff and lots of chill out areas. Room was a good size with individual lockers. Only 2 showers and 2 toilets so they got a bit busy but free towels available which is great. The neighborhood was a bit scary at night time as a solo female and was told to be careful around that area because there are lots of gypsies. The staff were incredible and very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello dear, thanks for taking time to review us and for the good words. There is only one thing we would like to specify: there are 2 showers indeed - but only for girls! So there are 2 more showers downstairs only for boys ;) That makes a total of 4 showers and we never had a problem since.. As regarding the neighborhood - it's a an old shabby neighborhood indeed if you walk towards the outskirts instead of the city center. But we would rather call it charming than spooky - I guess it depends on the mood aswel. Have safe travels and hopefully see you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.6

This hostel is very nice! It's a shame that there'd been a huge checkout just as we arrived, as the atmosphere was extremely boring. I could easily imagine this place having a great atmosphere if there's more people around. They have amazing chillspots in their lovely garden!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
7.7

good value for money. 10-15min walk to town square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.