Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Croydon

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
6.5
Good 835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.5
Good 835 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 5.0
Hostel Croydon Located at Warmoesstraat 75, 1012 HX, Amsterdam.
Hostel Croydon
Netherlands
Amsterdam Noord-Holland Warmoesstraat 75, 1012 HX
65% 835
52.3748786 4.8977351
Hostel Croydon
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Unbeatable location... Rooms get very hot on the higher levels, but in all is great for anyone who is saving money just to blow it on drugs and alcohol. They use wrist bands for security so you have to show the wrist band to the front desk to get in. This comes is handy if you are found passed out in the streets and the police need to figure out where to give you a ride to. There's no bar or events each night but they do advertise a pub/club crawl for 18€.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

Check in staff not interested. Dude from second day not from the area so couldn't make any recommendations. The cleaner would come in before check out time to remind you that today was check out day. Not ideal if it was not your day. No kitchen to cook own food. No common room to socialise. No aircon in rooms or fans. Overpriced in general.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Jul 2016
5.7

For the price you pay its a very basic place to stay, made worse if you're on the top floor. Only having one shower and toilet to share between 8 is difficult and made worse by it being a wet room, the toilet was not separate. If you're going for the Amsterdam experience eg to get drunk and high then yes this is a great place to go! But if you are going for the cultural aspect then this will not be for you! Staff were lovely though and the discount for the Irish bar was really helpful!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Coldtrailing
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.9

Great location and the value is pretty decent compared to other locations and the staff was largely friendly. Very near to central Amsterdam and the red light district. Probably a 10 to 15 minute walk from the Central Train Station. Only downsides were no place to leave luggage prior to check in, there was also no common room or kitchen facilities (that I saw, anyway). The stairs are also very steep, which is not uncommon for the area, but can be a problem for people with mobility issues.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
6.6

If you want to be really close to the red district it's ok. If you don't probably not the best place to be

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
8.0

Excellent location, literally steps from the old cathedral and within walking distance of the central train station. Downside is that the windows in my room didn't fully close, so it could get a little noisy at night as I could hear all the partiers on the street outside. Stairs are very steep, so if you've got luggage, be prepared for some heavy lifting! (But I assume all hostels in downtown Amsterdam are like this.) Overall, in felt I got my money's worth. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
4.3

The staff was the worst ever. I got charged too much for my stay by mistake, and the owner at first seemed very nice about it but insisted he needed to check some things before reimbursing me. 2 weeks and multiple phone calls later and he has yet to reimburse me. I doubt I'll ever see that money again. Overpriced for the kind of hostel that it is, but a hostel is a hostel and if you just need a place to sleep, I guess it does the job.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jun 2016
6.3

Apart from location this hostel doesn't have much going for it, the steep staircases are the first challenge you will have to tackle and are very difficult with any form of sizeable luggage (extreme injury hazard). The bedrooms were basic and the bunks didn't have ladders to the top bunk. Stayed here only because I booked late and no where else was available. Probably wouldn't stay again, most reviews on here are fairly correct and I was aware of the pit-falls before I stayed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
5.4

Too many people smoking inside the rooms. we could barely breathe!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
4.6

The only thing I can commend about this hostel is its location. The stairs to enter the premises are so steep that we were hitting our knees going up. Upon booking we were told that we would have a private bathroom, which we did not - the shared bathrooms only seemed to have been cleaned once a day and were constantly soaking wet because there is no division between the shower and the rest of the room. Further more, the room was very dusty, it evidently had not been cleaned before we arrived.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.