X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Croydon Reviews

Warmoesstraat 75, 1012 HX, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
515 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Good atmosphere in the hostel. Clean, decent rooms. The crepes and waffles place downstairs is amazing, definitely worth a visit!

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The Hostel is located in the city centre, making it easy to get around the city. The room got cleaned every morning, which i find very important. And they provide a locker in the room or at the reception so you don't have to take your valuables when you're exploring the city. Definitely good value for money!

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Good, clean place and not so expensive. In the middle of the center so ideal for sightseeing or enjoying the nightlife.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Good, clean hostel. Felt very secure although it's in the center of a big city. I've stayed here before, the rooms were renovated recently and improved a lot! Hostel staff was kind and very helpful.

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The rooms had mice, dangerously steep stairs, and the bathrooms were awful. The shower and toilet are together and there is nowhere to put your clothes so that they stay dry when you shower. The shower didn't have a hook for it to hang on, so you had to hold it. No common room or kitchen. Felt very unsafe.


97%

It was cheap, relatively clean and at a great location. The hostel staff also provided me with some discount vouchers, for example for the bike I rented. Overall had a good time, met nice people and enjoyed my stay.

  • 26th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place to stay if you want to explore the city. The hostel is in the middle of the center, at the beginning of the Red Light District. Although I read about this area being unsafe I felt completely safe in and around the hostel. The rooms are being cleaned every day and provide a good place to sleep.

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

This is the worst place we have ever been. Don't trust the pictures. The tiny "bathroom" is absolutely disgusting, you can use the shower and the toilets at the same time. We found a mushroom on the pillow. On the wall and the carpet there are tasks unidentified... So nice. We can't understand how a such place is still open. Even if the price is really cheap it doesn't justified the lack of cleanliness, even the maid wears a chirurgical mask because of the dirt and the odors ans the disease.

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The Room I was in was very good, very clean and had a lot of space. I met a lot of great people there. The bathrooms, wich are shared, were always very clean, even at 5 am after a friday night. Everyone that works at the hostel was really kind and helpful. The only downside is that the hostel doesn't have a common room, wich makes it a little difficult to get to know everyone that is around

  • 17th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I've been in Holland before but never had such a good time as this time. Had a really nice stay, friendly people and a good atmosphere in the hostel. Because of the location it's really easy to go out sightseeing or partying, everything at walking distance.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Good place to stay if you want to go sightseeing in Amsterdam. Staff was very friendly and helpful, good customer service. Room wasn't anything special but it was clean, which I find most important. And I was lucky with some very nice people to share a room with.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

very close to the central station, close to the city center, noisy in the evening (night was fine), good shower, more or less clean, cheap, visitation of two mice (cute;)) we chosed it, cause it was very close to the central station and it was cheap, we spent there 4 nights (5 days), for this short time it was a good place to stay (during the night), but it wasn't a special nice hostel

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

It is a very cheap hostel that it well-placed straight in the city center. However, it is not particularly clean, nor are the facilities more than decent. That being said, given its price, it does provide good value for money.

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The stairs provide some free exercise especially challenging after a night out. Nice rooms, friendly staff. Good place to stay.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice rooms, tidy.. Good value for little money.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Terrible enviroment, a lot of noisy and drugs inside the rooms. Don´t have space for make something to eat and the customes can skome inside the room and etc. NEVER MORE!


31%

The worst hostel i've ever been! There are rats, the cleanning is almost inexistent, and the workers are rude!

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It was very comparable to all other hostels in Amsterdam. It was a place to sleep, but really offered nothing else. I found it to be very grungy and our bathroom smelled really weird. It was nice to have towels and linen included though.


77%

Very accommodating considering it was for a crowd of football fans which is surprising when travelling

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

* Window didn't close properly (very cold) * very steep, narrow dangerous staircase (we were on top floor) * thin walls (noise and smoke from neighbouring room kept us up all night) * Incosistent hot water. poor pressure.


« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback