X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Croydon Reviews

Warmoesstraat 75, 1012 HX, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
588 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The shower is not separated from the toilet, so you'll be standing in water when peeing. I woke up a couple of times every night because it sounded like people was falling down the very steep stairs; it turned out that the guests were just running down them. And people were also screaming throught the night, either in the hostel or on the street outside.

  • 21st Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

To Croydon Hostel. Me and my friend, Elise, stayed at your hostel on November 13th to 16th. We were there for a conference and had a good experience at the hostel. The employees were very nice. Most of the time it was a British guy (whose name, we never got) who were at the reception and he helped us a lot, especially with directions to places outside the city. I hope this will be passed on to him, as he ensured a high level of customer care. Thank you. Regards, Marie Brøndgaard Jensen.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

it's in a great location and the staff are really helpful but the hostel had no atmosphere and was disgusting there where mice in the room and mold everywhere


51%

It was really not clean and the toilet was constantly leaking water in the bathroom.


89%

Cheapest hostel on weekdays. You can read some bad reviews, but didn't have any bad experience. No rats, nor mouses involved :) I would really recommend the hostel, if you want to save your money on something more important that you could buy in Amsterdam ;)

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

the hostel's location is in the city center of amsterdam, something very important and easy to find it from central station. 2 things we worried about was the lockers of the closets was broken and the other thing were the mice. but in all amsterdam have mice not only to croydon, our stay was pleasant. ( an advise,if you dont eat to your room you dont have mice,thats all)


66%

위치는 역에서도 가깝고 관광지 내라서 아주 훌륭했다. 직원도 친절했습니다.다만 가격이 싼만큼 시설은 열악했다. 입구부터 가파른 계단이 있었고, 객실 내부와 침대, 화장실 등은 상대적으로 좋지 않았다. 와이파이도 카운터 주변은 그나마 괜찮은데 방에서는 좋지 않았다.


60%

Right in the middle of red light district. Scary stairs but typical of Amsterdam, the staff was friendly and the sheets were clean. The bathrooms had mold. Stairwells were dirty. No kitchen or common room. Bedroom door didn't lock, and people could just walk into the hostel or room whenever. Cheap but very basic. The janitor came in without knocking. Lockers in room but they had been vandalized. Nothing special really.


69%

No words to describe how much I loved the staff here. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Great conversations all the way around! The spectacular waffle place next door is an added bonus. The hostel itself could use some work but for the price and the location, it's definitely manageable. You're basically in the red light district and super super super close to central station. If you're looking for a place to lay your head and you aren't a prude, you will be more than fine here.


89%

Good atmosphere, amazing location (Main Street of red light district so a bit loud but we still slept fine!), friendly and helpful staff. Get discount in the crepe/waffle store below (gorgeous!) and on a few other things (eg renting bikes) which is a good bonus. Bathrooms weren't amazing but pretty clean and definitely okay for the money! Highly recommend :)

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

All u need

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


31%

cleaning non-existent, very bad smell in the room and in the bathroom, rubbish not collected, towels delivered dirty. we left after 2 hours without any refund. absolutely not recommend to anyone!!!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

After we managed to climb up the stairs i was positively surprised. I had read some negative reviews about this hostel but it really wasn't bad at all. Good and clean place to stay, right in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Good value for money in the center of Amsterdam. Ideal for visiting all the tourist attractions. Surprised myself about the good quality of the hostel since it was cheap to stay in.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Definitely one of the best hostels we stayed in. Best thing was probably the facilities although the bar was more expensive than the rest of Prague. We had a great time though, would definitely reccomend


63%

They bring me to the next hostel White Tulip because they were fully book. For thi s reason my assessment is about the white tulip hostel.


43%

Felt more like a flophouse than a proper hostel. Facilities were lacking, the room and bathroom smelled, and there was an additional mattress on the floor in the room which made an already lacking atmosphere even less acceptable.


71%

Great Location, kinda expensive for what you get. We left booking hostels too late so were stuck with little choice. However the hostel was good for a place to sleep and get a wash. The stairs are narrow and very steep, but the rooms are a good size (dorm for 8). Lady on the reception was helpful, some other guys on a night didn't really do much. No problems with cleanliness for a group of four guys! ;-) Overall a decent hostel with great location, no common room! Bars everywhere outside though.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The place was pretty good, except for the fact that my hostel mates brought food which in combination with leaving the windows open (it was very very hot) attracted 2 little mice which was quite gross... Another thing to keep in mind (although really doesn't matter) is the fact that hostel Croydon is located along the "gay street", again doesn't change anything other than the fact that the shops are catered to homosexuals. Otherwise great location and very close to everything (train

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

During our stay, one of the broken lockers in the room was fixed, which was nice. Some of our Canadian roommates felt unsafe by the fact that the 24/7 reception seemed to had been unmanned for a while during one night, even though the front door is always open. One of the girls pointed this out to one of the male staff members, he treated her in a very demeaning way, this kind of brought a little cloud over our stay. The 2 female staff members, we met, however, were very nice and forthcoming.




View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback