X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Dioklecijan Reviews

Obrov 10, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
444 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Small but really nice hostel! Mama is very simpatic and friendly. The Hostel is just inside the old town, perfect location at all. For sure I will recommend for everyone!


77%

It was a very nice stay in Split. The hostel is located very central in the city, which was great. The bathroom was tidy and just shared by 5 people ;) The only thing we were not that satisfied with were the beds: Staying in a 3-bed room, one bed had a slatted frame, one was oversoft in the other one could feel the springs. Even if none of these issues was that striking that we complained by the staff, new beds could be the next investment for your hostel ;) Everything else was fine. Thank you!

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The owners were wonderful. so lively and helpful. was moved on our 3rd night but they moved everything for us. just be good to know about the Croatian tourist tax l. also that you have to pay cash Kuna


86%

It is like a apartment, very good.


83%

Our original hostel was full so we are moved to another location, Hostel Spalata. It was a nice, quiet location very near to City center. It was clean but the water was freezing every time I took a shower, though my friend said it was fine. overall I'd stay here again.


57%

The hostel itself is hard to find as there are no signs. We were moved to another building, which wasn't a problem. The first night, there was a mouse in the room and the last night we were kept up all night wth the noise of either a mouse or a rat scratching the wooden ceiling from above. We told the man that owned the building, but he didn't seem to do anything about it.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The man who runs this (Dennis) is the nicest man in croatia. The most helpful host we have ever come across. His knowledge of the area and advice is sublime - im not even sure 500 characters could do him justice. The hostel has great character whilst being modest. Situated close to the main promenade with loads of good cheap food and drink as well as being a short distance from the beach makes it an ideal stay. Overall 11/10 for the host and hostel combined. Definite stay for anyone on a budget.

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Such a great and funny hostel. Upon arrival at the given address we stood looking confused because there didn't seem to be a hostel there. We were approached by a man who asked what address we were looking for. Upon discovering we were for the hostel he shouted up to his wife, the fellow-owner, who shouted asking our names before coming down with keys. Hilarious and lovely people. Nice hostel, slightly old-fashioned but great facilities and location is amazing, right in the centre of the city!


83%

Excellent location and value. We had an awesome stay. Highly recommend!


91%

Very nice welcome from the staff. Excellent situation in the heart of Split. Having checked beforehand that a left luggage service was available, I was surprised when I found out that this was limited to 4pm on the day of check-out. However, our hosts arranged for us to leave our luggage longer, free of charge.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The location was perfect - right in the middle of old town, and the staff were great. They were super helpful with anything we needed and very accommodating. 10 out of 10 would recommend again!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Denis and his family and the staff were wonderful. They waited for our check in at night and kindly stored our luggage the next day. The room was great and we enjoyed our short stay. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Extremely good and perfect choice to stay at this accommodation. Strongly recommended!!


100%

The mother and son team were very friendly and full of helpful Information. They were very eager to please. The location was perfect and easy to find. The room was so quiet too with comfy beds so we slept wonderfully!


100%

Great 5 bed apartment in a perfect location in the old town. Very clean room with lots provided. Just what we needed to relax in Split after being in dorm style hostels in other European cities. Value for money here is incredible, would highly recommend it!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Was upgraded to an apartment. Great location. A door step away from restaurants, shops and the water. Owner was great. Offered us town maps and was really helpful if we had any questions.?would highly recommend this hostel.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This hostel is that it misrepresented itself as having a 24 hour reception (and it was the only reason I chose this place). I arrived split at 5 am by bus and made it clear when I book the place that I would arrive at 5 am. However, the door was locked when we arrived, and I had to call the owner, who told me the place was locked and I had to come back at 10 am. she said there was no common room in this "hostel". Just beware this place is not really a hostel and does not offer 24h reception.


89%

Really helpful staff. Our train was late and we had trouble finding the hostel late at night, so they came and found us and brought us to our room. Quick wifi, comfortable beds and good sized bathroom. Location is at the top of the Old town so everything you need to see in Split is in walking distance.


97%

Very well located and the owner is really nice. The rooms are clean and very spacious. We had 3beds, a couch and a tv. You are 2min walk from the sea and the old town. Only 10min walk from the ferry port and the bus station. Really great experience!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This is a real gem in the heart of Split! The room was beautiful and overlooked the roof lines of the area. It had everything that was needed. The room was very clean and bright. The owners were extremely helpful and it felt like they were really keen to make sure that if there was anything that we needed, they would make sure it would get sorted. Thank you.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(360 results)


View all Split Hostels

Please give us your feedback