Hostelworld.com

Hostel El Español

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Hostel El Español Located at Manuel Lobo 377, Lavalleja e Intedente Suarez, Colonia del Sacramento.
Hostel El Español
Uruguay
Colonia del Sacramento Colonia 70000 Manuel Lobo 377, Lavalleja e Intedente Suarez
78% 193
-34.4683538 -57.8395843
Hostel El Español
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Mar 2016
7.1

Plus: Hostel is located in a great spot, only 5min walk from the bus terminal and 5min walk to the Historical area (where most people go for sightseeing). Nice showers and they provide you a free towel. Didn't have any problems with staff. Cons: The wifi was poor, only working periodically during our stay. The breakfast was one of the worst of our 2 months in Uruguay/Brazil/Argentina, tiny pieces of toast with butter. The 6 bed dorm we stayed in was also very cramped.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2016
7.1

It was actually kinda the nightmare I expected , when u get 6 people all crowded into bunk beds. Especially bad was one obnoxious woman who refused to turn on fan & let air circulate, even for a few minutes. As a result, all 5 of us sweat in bed...ugh! She also snored quite loud, and refused to roll over or anything. The paper thin mattresses also need to be upgraded. I wouldn't have even stayed here at all, if ANYTHING else was available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jan 2016
7.1

Good location to the ferry, bus station. Everything is in walking distance and the breakfast was simple but as it's free - no complaints! The bed mattress was extremely thin and because of that combined with people talking loudly and turning lights on before 5am it wasn't a good nights sleep. But for the price I would return and hope for less annoying people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2016
9.4

Nice hostel, very nice staff. It has a lot of toilets, the kitchen is well equipped and the beds are comfortable. Only bad thing was that the inet connection didn't get to work too far from the reception where the wifi router was.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2015
6.6

Beautiful hostal with hammocks and open terrace, but the reception ladies werent helpful, kitchen was super small without enough pots and pans to accommodate the number of guests, but the location was good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2015
5.1

There just was some stress around beds, I arrived at 2pm and was told to take a specific bed and put my stuff on it, I came back at 6:30 to take a nap and when I awoke another guest started yelling at me that I took her bed(she was speaking in Spanish and I only speak English) the women who checked me in came in and told me to switch beds in broken English and I tried to explain how I arrived at 2pm and the other guest arrived at 6pm and that she herself had told me to take that specific bed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Dec 2015
6.0

Pretty average hostel, staff were not very friendly, tried to charge us the deposit again saying hostelworld had the deposit not them, which is how it works to advertise with hostelworld! Location was pretty good, near the old town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Nov 2015
8.0

The only day that i was there, i feel comfortable. The hostel is nice, mainly clean and the staff are warmly and attentive. I have only two thing to complain. 1) My mattress was a little thin, i think that only mine was so thin, the others guests in the room didn't complain about that. 2) The hot water temperature in the shower was very hight and could not be blended with cold water because the last had very low pressure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.