Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel El Ovejero

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.0
Hostel El Ovejero Located at Jose Pantin 64, , El Calafate.
Hostel El Ovejero
Argentina
El Calafate Santa Cruz 9405 Jose Pantin 64
79% 272
-50.3367506 -72.2590327
Hostel El Ovejero
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Nov 2016
4.9

I've spent three months in SA and this has been the most disappointing hostel yet. It's a shame because it could be amazing; it's in a nice building with its own kitchen and living area and that staff are friendly. However it seems that whoever runs it is trying to cut corners as much as possible. You have to make and strip your own bed, there didn't appear to be any cleaners and you have to pay for a locker. Aren't these the things that you've already paid for in the price of the hostel?!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.0

Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very small - not enough space to store 4 people's bags and only one person can move at a time. Despite advertising that there was a kitchen we were told we were not allowed to use it as we were in rooms not in the main building - our room was quite far away in a separate building. Also spent a night at the campsite which was nice but ground too hard to peg out tents. Also very noisy as next to road and cars arrived in gravel car park at all hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.3

No wifi in rooms but they have a nice lounge/ cooking area inside the main building where you can use it. Rooms are separate from the main building and bathrooms. It has a lovely camping feel and is pretty quiet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
7.7

PROS: great location, close to a grocery store and to the main road. Good value for the money in El calafate, and can use the kitcen at all time. CONS: very small nag out spaces, only 1 bathroom, not many pan to use in the kitchen. If someone is already cooking it gets very crowded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.1

For 150 pesos you get a 4 bed dorm inside a tin can house, no space, outdoor showers and no kitchen. Be aware !

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
10.0

We had a very nice night in the 4-person dorm. Some previous reviews had complaints about the temperature in the rooms, but we found the heating and blanket situation to be completely sufficient during this cold spring night. The walk to the bathrooms is easy. Staff members were extremely nice. And the on-site restaurant was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Oct 2016
6.6

The hostel's facilities are a bit small, both the bed in the double room, and the common facilities. Only one toilet/shower for the hostel guests, otherwise you have to walk outside in the cold to use the campground's facilities. Most staff is friendly, although I had a bad interaction with two guys who told me the shoes I had left behind were locked in the office and I'd have to come next morning to get them. Turned out there was no locked office and the shoes had been there all the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
19th Oct 2016
7.7

Toilets are far away from the room. Rooms are small. Horrible bed. Basic kitchen. I am not complaining as price was so cheap. Just laying out facts.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Oct 2016
9.1

Great location, hot showers, comfortable beds, functional kitchen, communal area and bedrooms lovely and warm. WARNING: Do not book the 4 bed dorm- it is outside in a little hut. We had friends stay there and they said it was tiny and freezing- they were pretty uncomfortable for their stay. And when they wanted to use the communal area/ kitchen, they had to be let in by a member of staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Sep 2016
8.0

For the price, the place is great. Comfy and warm. The bathroom line can get a bit long and sleepy above a parilla can be a bit loud. Staff was welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.