X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Empedrado Reviews

Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1083 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

awesome staff, good location, good lockers, free wine at night, organized hostel events, could book trips from there easily. guests are cool, good vibe. but someone ate my food. bathrooms are small & not enough, 1 shower is literally impossible, 2nd is nearly impossible, & 3rd is ok but... just not enough & none on the floor I stayed on. looking for a toilet at midnight or 6am or anytime for that matter sucks. go there for the breakfast alone- eggs cooled to order & crepes are the best!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank for review, its very important for us to know what things we need to improve in our hostel to get better your stay, safe trave and cheers

100%

Great hostel, it felt good to have somebody makes awesome crepes in the morning! Very clean when compared to other hostels we stayed in. They also suggest many activities and excursions that you can choose from so you probably wont get bored in mendoza! One of the best hostels we stayed at!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your commet, we are so happy that you ejoyed your stay in our hostel, we are always trying to give the best things to our guests, we hope see you again, have a nice trip and cheers.

54%

I took this Hostel due to the former evaluations. But from my opinion, the evaluators have been drunk or most are faked. The staff is very charming and pancakes are great. But for the rest: Forget it! The hostel itself is in a bad condition. It has nothing to do with a real wine culture in Mendoza. All organzied tours are mainly sales shows, which lasts each 15 min at every winery. Don't do the horse trip incl. BBQ! It was the worst BBQ in my life ever: Bad food and wine, held up in a dog's hat!

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank for review, we are so sorry about the inconveniets that you had while you were here, its very important for us to know what things we need to improve in our hostel to get better your stay, cheers

89%

We arrived early in the morning and we could join breakfast immediately. Breakfast is nice, with crepes (but only the first day).They offer different activities in the hostel, such as empanada cooking class and free spanish lessons. The staff is very helpfull. It's about 20 minutes walking to the centre, supermarket is close. Atmosphere is fine and there is a pool and a big garden where you can chill.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your commet, we are so happy that you found great our hostel, we are always traying to get better the stay of all the guests. cheers.

89%

Excellent staff who are wonderful at organising tours and suggestions for what to do. Hostel a bit outdated but didn't matter too much, we still enjoyed our stay here. Amazing crepes for brekky!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your commet, we are always traying to give the best recomendations for our guests to make better your stay in our hostel. safe travel !!

100%

Excellent hostel! It was quaint, clean, and easily one of the best breakfasts in all of Argentina. Rooms were nice, had A/C, and showers/bathrooms were also cleanly. They even had a mini pool if you'd like. They also have a lot of organized events that are easy to book through the hostel. Not to mention, they also have plenty of free wine tasting within the hostel. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are always traying to give the best recomendations for our guests to make better your stay in our hostel. safe travel !! :)

80%

Nice hostel with good common area. Breakfast is the highlight and glass of wine each night is good. We had to change dorm on the last night (our own fault) and the second dorm was hot and stuffy with a fan that sounded like a lawn mower. First dorm had air conditioning and was really good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your comment, we are traying to make the rooms with all the things that you need to be more comfortable, we hope to see you again in our hostel. cheers

89%

20 minutes walk from main square;30 from park;40 from bus station main bar area;5 from market This place is great.It's hard not to gush praise.Staff are excellent (except 1 guy who told us vendimia was next week when it was that night!! :( ).I arrived worn out by the bus ride at 6am and they smilingly let me go to sleep and then have breakfast (the crepes really are that good)."Beginner friendly hostel" The bath by the reception is a bit wonky and could use a bigger window/ventilation. 9/10

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, first of all the time of 20 from main square is not correct, it is just 7 blocks and only 20 minutes from the bus station. we're so sorry about the confusion about the date of the vendimia. thanks a lot for your commet and we hope that you were happy in our hostel.

91%

Had a lovely stay here- always looked forward to Claudia's smiling face in the morning cooking us all fresh, delicious crepes! The hostel also organizes free Spanish lessons most evenings and one night had an empanada making class for a small fee. Good spot!


86%

This is a lovely hostel with all you could need. Agreed some minor renovation work would help, but does not take away from the really helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast, good facilities (including free laundry and hanging space, good kitchens, small pool, two terraces and TV room). The housekeeping staff are constantly around the place keeping it clean. There are nightly activities like wine-tasting, empanada making and Spanish lessons. All tours can be booked from here too. Great!


91%

My boyfriend and me had a really good time in the here. The room was spacious, the bed good, kitchen well equipped and the bathrooms clean. The hostel also has a nice atmosphere offering wine tastings, BBQ and so on, even though their free wine is not really good quality, but hey it's free. The only problem was that the window in our room was facing the big patio were people talked loudly until the early morning hours. So no sleep without earplugs.


94%

Awesome staff, awesome crepes for breakfast.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. We were a group of 3 and stayed in a 6 bed and a 4 bed dorm. The facilities were good and the atmosphere was great. One if the highlights is the breakfast, lemon and dulce de leche flavoured Crepes. The staff were very helpful and free use of the washing machine is a massive bonus. Strongly recommend staying here.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel was very accommodating despite my last minute plans to stay for a couple more days in Mendoza. It offers plenty of activities that allow you to really explore the city of Mendoza, the vineyards, and the Andes. I had a great time!


86%

Super helpful staff coordinated a last-minute bike and wine trek for me without any hassle. Truly a "must-do" activity while in Mendoza. The place had a nice outdoor terrace for breakfast / drinks at night, and felt very secure. Thanks for a great time!


57%

the interior is quite old and a lot of things are broken in the rooms


80%

Nice hostel with a big kitchen. The outside area has a roof of grapes which you can eat and there's free wine for one hour every evening. The rooms are fine with a little shelf with a light and a power point by each bed. This really nice lady makes pancakes every morning and brings a smile to your face! Don't book the two-bed dorm though as it's tiny and only has one bunk bed, nothing else.


83%

Claudia's crepes are great!

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

All that needs to be said is 'Crêpes'. Just go and you know what I mean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
haha the best panqueques!! Thanks and Buen Viaje!!!

91%

We have had a great time in this hostel where we met nice people! There is a nice kitchen and living room as well as a free Laundry machine and free wine from 7 to 8 PM ! The highlight of all has been the delicious breakfast, crêpes made with love ! A big thank you to her and all the team for making feel us like home ! Hasta luego :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!!! Very glad you've enjoyed it!! Maybe we'll see you soon! Muy buen viaje!!! :)

(80 results)


View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback