X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Empedrado Reviews

Patricias Mendocinas 1959, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1253 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff is great, super willing to help and have a chat. Location is not that great because it is a 10-15 walk to anything you want to do around town, except the super market, and it is far from the bars in Aristides Villanueva.


51%

On the website I missed photos of the rooms. Another point is, in the room had only one outlet.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Helpful staff helped to arrange activities and tours for us - whole day wine tasting was very good. Lovely crepes and scrambled egg for breakfast. Wi fi does not extend to top rooms but ok in communal area, slow if lots of people on though. Shower water spilled on to main bathroom floor but there were hot showers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. We will take care of the things you mention. !

91%

About 10 mins from the centre of town the hostel is well located. The place is simple and clean. You get free wine in the evening for 2 hours and free washing which is great. Claudia makes fresh crepes and eggs every morning which are fab. Easy to book a range of good value tours and relatively cheap compared to equivalent hostels in the area.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The breakfast is a good enough reason to stay here! Amazing crepes and scrambled eggs


97%

Claudia made eggs and crepes every morning. She was super sweet and friendly. The hostel was constantly being cleaned, and it looked great. It was pretty big too.


91%

Really nice hostel and excellent value for money compared to other options in the town for a private room. The breakfast was really good and Claudia (lady who makes breakfast) will brighten up your morning with her cheerful manner. You get crepes, scrambled egg, bread, media lunas and cereal as well as tea/coffee. Location is a short 10 minute walk to the centre and a bit away from the bus terminal but there is a good supermarket just two blocks away which is handy as you can cook in the hostel!

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Those amazings breakfast makes our mornings great !

100%

If you are visiting Mendoza, stay at this hostel. The accommodations were clean, and there were plenty of bathrooms. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. Claudia's crepes and scrambled eggs were delicious. Finally, the free wine each night was a great added perk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perfect score ! thanks , this 100% is our goal.

97%

This was such a great hostel, just a 5 min walk from the Plaza Independencia.We got a private room with shared bathroom for 200 AR$(!). Everything was super clean, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was adjacent to the room. Staff was friendly and helpful and Claudia's breakfast was superb! Besides the free wine every night, the hostel organizes lots of free activities, such as wine tastings and Spanish classes. They've also got lots of options for tours. We would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thnks for sharing yor opinion , we really apprecate!

89%

Peaceful area, not too far from the center. Really great value for all they offer. Great free breakfast, free wine at night, and only hostel I've encountered so far with free laundry!! Barbara at the front desk was really sweet and friendly, thank you for your wif!i Hostel offers great tours for around Mendoza. Loved all the spacious common areas, especially the sunroof and the other balcony. I was curious though why the beds aren't made after guests leave. But great place to unwind and wine. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We like to hear you have had great timeith us ! hopefully we see you again here soon !

100%

Really good value hostel. Waking up to Claudia offering eggs or crepes for breakfast is the best. The rest of the staff are also very kind nd helpful. Good activities offered each night. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks ! I will take your word for it . Hope we see you soon !

86%

Really helpful staff. Great Breakfast. Amazing excursions. You MUST do the hot springs excursion (roughly 30USD), theyre wonderful and relaxing and then you're taken to a most wonderful little place in the countryside for lunch - meats, cheeses, bread, artisanal beer, and comes with a tasting of a number of homemade liqueurs. The horseback riding tour was also wonderful - get in to the Andes and then enjoy BBQ and the stars. We also did the dinner at the hostel and it was delicious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey , we apreciate your words, we work hard to give our guests the best experience possible. ! hope to see you again !!

60%

The hostel is huge, there are a lot of common areas but very few bathrooms, the bathroom situation is terrible, they are few and get all wet easily. Also, they have a washing machine, which could be amazing, but they should have a rule that the person has to be there to use it, otherwise people just leave their clothes there in the morning and the machine is occupied the entire day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time and make the observation, we will pay attention on the things you mention and fix them. Have a nice travel !

94%

It was a short and easy walk to the main centre of town. We had a private room with and shared bathroom, bed was comfortable, lots of space, and bathrooms were cleaned a few times a day. Free use of washing machine is a HUGE plus! 2 huge kitchens, breakfast is amazing, crepes cooked every morning for you was such a dream! We also booked out tours through reception and had an amazing experience! Do yourself a favour and book here. the staff are so sweet and the experience was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh, great ! thanks a lot for those kind words ! have a nice day !

71%

Breakfast was great. Claudia was amazing. The regular staff was very ok.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment!

86%

The hostel is good - the accommodation is basic but fine, although I was in an outside room which had no lockers and meant I had to pass through the garden to use the bathrooms (although I had the room to myself!). The hostel is in a great location. But what makes this hostel great is the staff...who are all WONDERFUL. They speak great English, are super helpful and an extra special mention to Claudia Crepe who makes you the best breakfasts every morning!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent !! It is nice to know you had great time with us ! See you !!

97%

A lovely, relaxing hostel with brilliant staff. Breakfast was fab, Claudia makes delicious pancakes/eggs, we felt very spoilt!


91%

Great hostel. The rooms are clean, showers hot and breakfast is delicious. Claudia's crepes are delicious!! The staff are lovely - very helpful and friendly.

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot ! we hope to see you again !

91%

The hostel is great. People are very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast is great and Claudia who does our scrambled eggs and pancakes in the morning, can really make our day with her smile and happiness. The only thing that i didn' t like and that it really matters to me is that some times it didin't have hot water to take a shower. Nevertheless, the hostel is great and i undoubtedly recomend to every one!

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cool ! It was nice to hear your kind words, Claudia`s Creppes are the best !! What a shame you haven´t mention your problem with the hot water, for sure the receptionist could have fixed ! Anyway we hope to see you again !!

89%

Everything about this hostel is quite good. The shower pressure wasnt very strong. Could sometimes be a little noisy (nothing that earplugs didnt fix) but as a negative that was about it. Very good brekky with crepes and scrambled eggs served plus the staff were very helpful.

  • 26th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment, We will pay attention on the problems you mention. We hope to see you again so you will enjoy the improves ! See you !

(66 results)


View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback