Hostelworld.com

Hostel Era

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 517 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9
Hostel Era Located at San Mateo 2, , Madrid.
Hostel Era
Spain
Madrid Madrid 28004 San Mateo 2
79% 517
40.4249313 -3.7004828
Hostel Era
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.7

Awesome location, would recommend staying here for sure. Basic but good breakfast, good security but not much of a social vibe and staff were a bit standoffish. Basic kitchen (microwave) but no stovetop etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2016
6.9

The hostel is located a little walk out from the centre of Madrid but is easily walk-able. The hostel isn't glamorous at all, the breakfast was basic, the toilets smelt funny and the beds were okay. That being said, it was £9 per night and served its purpose extremely well! I met some great people in the room, went out all night and crashed when we got in. All in all, I'd highly recommend the hostel to anyone travelling on a budget (1/2 the cost of others) and who plans to be out exploring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • azzacalvin6170
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
3rd Mar 2016
3.1

It's advertises a kitchen just like it's sister hostel it only has a microwave. Overall not the greatest place to stay

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
10.0

First stay at a Hostel and it was very clean and staff was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Feb 2016
4.3

The hostel is very very dirty, the bathrooms smell really bad, there is no soap in the toillet, my bed and sheets weren't clean at all. There were some weird people in the hostel, I didn't feel good or safe. Poor breakfast. Don't recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jan 2016
9.7

It was the one that i choose for my last night in Madrid. The building is super cool, modern and unic ! Staff was really friendly, helpfull and professional. I met really nice people there from all over the world. My room was for 6 persons, with lockers, showers, toilet and a lot of space inside ! From 0% to 100%, i give 100%, i went to many hostels around the world and mostly they are nice because i´m not so exigent but this one beats all my expectations! Good luck and keep doing the same

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jan 2016
7.7

The location is close to shopping district and not too far from the subway stations. The staffs are nice. The facilities are not too bad. I spent one night in 10 mixed dorm. The bathrooms and toilets are for common used for all people. I got my own locker with lock in the room. The wi-fi was good. There were only 2 power sockets in the room They provided the 4 way gang sockets, but they were still unreachable from my bed. The kitchen, the reception, and the common room are in the same wide room

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2015
9.4

Great beds and accommodation, fast internet , very well located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2015
6.3

No hot water to take shower!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Nov 2015
9.7

Cheap, clean, friendly, easy way to sol, easy get to here from metro, but the hot water is a lttle weak. Very quiet place, but the common room's the bottom make a sound, they made by wood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.