Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Era

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.1
Hostel Era Located at San Mateo 2, , Madrid.
Hostel Era
Spain
Madrid Madrid 28004 San Mateo 2
79% 566
40.4249313 -3.7004828
Hostel Era
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
8.3

Good hostel with everything you need. Nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

I only stayed a night, but everyone was very nice and it is in a great location. There is plenty of food and shopping within walking distance. The lockers are useful and I felt safe the entire time. The breakfast was pretty basic but had all that I needed. I will stay there again if I head back to Madrid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
4.3

I have been in two rooms and it is so noisy. The walls are so thin and also the Windows don't isolate the noise from outside. This is really bad given the central location of the hostel. It was also very hot in the rooms. I couldn't manage to sleep at all because of noise and hotness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.3

Only sad point was you couldn't drink in the hostel :P Staff were amazing and accommodating! A lot of showers, sinks, toilets to access so never had to wait on anyone. Cozy little common lounge. The rooms had air-conditioning which is a must for Spain during the summer. Would have been nice if you could set the temperature though, because the rooms were either sweltering or pretty chilly with the AC on or off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AURELEMACE
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
5.4

No atmosphere in the common area Just one receptionist able to speak in English The door of my room couldn't be locked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Cheap clean and simple, plus free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location and good value given the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Basic hostel. There's one room where I stayed where you could turn off one light, you had to turn all them off. With 10 people in the room, it's unfair to those that want to go to sleep early. Good location. Above average hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.1

Overall good hostel for short stays. There are only 3 showers for the entire hostel but showers and toilets we're surprisingly clean. There is no atmosphere whatsoever and the rooms were unbearably hot (no fan, AC, could only open one half of window). Staff was friendly but would probably not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maisasv7156
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

I made a mistake and chose the dates. Tried to cancell from Hostelword without successful, Tried to change directly to hostel by e mail and was very bad attended. No solution and lost money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.