Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Era

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
Hostel Era Located at San Mateo 2, , Madrid.
Hostel Era
Spain
Madrid Madrid 28004 San Mateo 2
78% 558
40.4249313 -3.7004828
Hostel Era
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Aug 2016
8.3

Only sad point was you couldn't drink in the hostel :P Staff were amazing and accommodating! A lot of showers, sinks, toilets to access so never had to wait on anyone. Cozy little common lounge. The rooms had air-conditioning which is a must for Spain during the summer. Would have been nice if you could set the temperature though, because the rooms were either sweltering or pretty chilly with the AC on or off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • AURELEMACE
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
5.4

No atmosphere in the common area Just one receptionist able to speak in English The door of my room couldn't be locked

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Cheap clean and simple, plus free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location and good value given the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Basic hostel. There's one room where I stayed where you could turn off one light, you had to turn all them off. With 10 people in the room, it's unfair to those that want to go to sleep early. Good location. Above average hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.1

Overall good hostel for short stays. There are only 3 showers for the entire hostel but showers and toilets we're surprisingly clean. There is no atmosphere whatsoever and the rooms were unbearably hot (no fan, AC, could only open one half of window). Staff was friendly but would probably not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maisasv7156
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

I made a mistake and chose the dates. Tried to cancell from Hostelword without successful, Tried to change directly to hostel by e mail and was very bad attended. No solution and lost money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
6.0

To be honest it's not like the best play to be in, it is not that confortable either organizated, but it is in a really good location, i would highly recomend it only if you don't have others options within the same good location. As a person who doesn't speak spanish i found really hard to comunicate with the workers there, mainly beacause most of them doesn't spoke english and the ones who "did" kind of struggle on it. It's an mediocre hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.3

My second time here! I think, there will be 3rd also :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
3.4

Rooms/bunk beds were super dirty and gross. 2 toilets for the whole hostel. Atmosphere was nonexistent. Breakfast was terrible and they make you do your own dishes! 10/10 would not book again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.