Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Era

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 584 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
Hostel Era Located at San Mateo 2, , Madrid.
Hostel Era
Spain
Madrid Madrid 28004 San Mateo 2
79% 584
40.4249313 -3.7004828
Hostel Era
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
9.4

Good for a hostel not bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

We stayed unfortunately just for one night but it was pretty comfortable, the staff made all to make us feel comfortable we didn't have any problem at all, it was clean and we would definitely stay again here it's only a couple steps to the metro station and easy to get there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
9.7

Great place to stay, close to the centre and reasonably priced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brianfarrell630
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
27th Sep 2016
5.1

On arrival the gent on reception showed no interest and I felt that he did not like checking people in. He explained nothing about the hostel , Just asked for the money.First impressions mean a lot. Luckily I got this place for 10 euro and it was just about worth that amount. There was very little atmosphere there. The others on reception were a grade higher than my initial encounter. I stayed in another hostel after that and it was a much better experience for the same price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Sep 2016
2.0

Appauling customer service with the morning staff memeber. A charge of 5 euros for waiting anytime within the hostel before the check-in time of 12:30 and a charge of 5 euros for waiting within the hostel after the check out time of 11am. Do not wake up a customer that has already reserved a room for another night in a different booking to pay that booking there and then. Let the customer pay that reservation after he has woken from his bed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
26th Sep 2016
9.4

Great place to stay. Quite central. Close to public transport. Clean. No problems

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
8.3

Good hostel with everything you need. Nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
9.7

I only stayed a night, but everyone was very nice and it is in a great location. There is plenty of food and shopping within walking distance. The lockers are useful and I felt safe the entire time. The breakfast was pretty basic but had all that I needed. I will stay there again if I head back to Madrid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Aug 2016
4.3

I have been in two rooms and it is so noisy. The walls are so thin and also the Windows don't isolate the noise from outside. This is really bad given the central location of the hostel. It was also very hot in the rooms. I couldn't manage to sleep at all because of noise and hotness

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
8.3

Only sad point was you couldn't drink in the hostel :P Staff were amazing and accommodating! A lot of showers, sinks, toilets to access so never had to wait on anyone. Cozy little common lounge. The rooms had air-conditioning which is a must for Spain during the summer. Would have been nice if you could set the temperature though, because the rooms were either sweltering or pretty chilly with the AC on or off.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.