Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Era

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
Hostel Era Located at San Mateo 2, , Madrid.
Hostel Era
Spain
Madrid Madrid 28004 San Mateo 2
77% 546
40.4249313 -3.7004828
Hostel Era
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Cheap clean and simple, plus free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.9

Great location and good value given the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
7.1

Basic hostel. There's one room where I stayed where you could turn off one light, you had to turn all them off. With 10 people in the room, it's unfair to those that want to go to sleep early. Good location. Above average hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.1

Overall good hostel for short stays. There are only 3 showers for the entire hostel but showers and toilets we're surprisingly clean. There is no atmosphere whatsoever and the rooms were unbearably hot (no fan, AC, could only open one half of window). Staff was friendly but would probably not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • maisasv7156
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

I made a mistake and chose the dates. Tried to cancell from Hostelword without successful, Tried to change directly to hostel by e mail and was very bad attended. No solution and lost money.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
6.0

To be honest it's not like the best play to be in, it is not that confortable either organizated, but it is in a really good location, i would highly recomend it only if you don't have others options within the same good location. As a person who doesn't speak spanish i found really hard to comunicate with the workers there, mainly beacause most of them doesn't spoke english and the ones who "did" kind of struggle on it. It's an mediocre hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2016
8.3

My second time here! I think, there will be 3rd also :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
3.4

Rooms/bunk beds were super dirty and gross. 2 toilets for the whole hostel. Atmosphere was nonexistent. Breakfast was terrible and they make you do your own dishes! 10/10 would not book again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
26th Apr 2016
7.7

Awesome location, would recommend staying here for sure. Basic but good breakfast, good security but not much of a social vibe and staff were a bit standoffish. Basic kitchen (microwave) but no stovetop etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Mar 2016
6.9

The hostel is located a little walk out from the centre of Madrid but is easily walk-able. The hostel isn't glamorous at all, the breakfast was basic, the toilets smelt funny and the beds were okay. That being said, it was £9 per night and served its purpose extremely well! I met some great people in the room, went out all night and crashed when we got in. All in all, I'd highly recommend the hostel to anyone travelling on a budget (1/2 the cost of others) and who plans to be out exploring.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.