Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Franz Ferdinand

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 554 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Hostel Franz Ferdinand Located at Jelica 4, , Sarajevo.
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
Bosnia And Herzegovina
Sarajevo 71000 Jelica 4
92% 554
43.8595964 18.4262073
Hostel Franz Ferdinand
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
9.1

Hostel franz Ferdinand in modern, comfortable and clean. It's s located only a few minutes walk to the old town making it very easy to get to the main attractions of Sarajevo. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hostel has great facilities including free use of computers, printing and communal kitchen to make your time traveling easier. Also, franz Ferdinand has one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much on your awesome review :) And yes, location is really good and for everyone visiting it shouldn't be a problem visiting everything that's worth visiting :) Thanks again, FF Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.7

Superb hostel! Great location, great facilities and super friendly staff who are willing to help out with everything, even recommending a running route!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much on your awesome review, we will continue to be that great :) Thanks FF Team

10th Aug 2016
9.7

Love it!! Great staff willing to help. I was going to an obscure town in Serbia and they researched and told me how to get there! Great all around. Love Sarajevo and this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much on your awesome review, and don't think our staff is not thankful :) It will never be a problem for us to help you, it can be scary to go to a city which is not really researched by other travelers :) Thanks, FF Team

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location in the centre of town. The staff were all very helpful. We were impressed with breakfast, having poached eggs was a luxury at that point in our trip! The beds were comfortable with lights and plug sockets. Would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Sarajevo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much on your really great review. Breakfast definitely deserves some noticing since it is included in the price, and price of the room is also really cheap :) We have some new innovations in the breakfast, next time will be even better :) Thanks one more time FF Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.1

Franz Ferdinand is a really good choice of hostel. As it only has a few rooms it's easy to meet people and get chatting. The staff are very friendly and love to give you tips on travelling, the tour they recommend is fantastic too. The only negative is the common area is a little small which isn't too much of an issue but my room was tiny so space was a bit short. There are only a few showers and toilets, no queuing experienced but they can get a bit dirty as cleaning only happens once a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your great review. It means a lot to us :) We are working on changing the room, we are aware that it can get a little bit cramped so we will work it out :) See you next time in lovely Sarajevo :) FF Team

  • kateoverthere
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2016
8.6

PROS: Amazing location, good value, nice front desk staff CONS: Not much atmosphere, rooms very hot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and for your praise. We will always give our best to help each guest :) We are working on the atmosphere, sometimes people are also not for a socializing, phones are better :) FF Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.9

Franz Ferdinand has an excellent location in the centre of Sarajevo, close to the central street. The staff were very friendly and able to offer local advice and recommendations on what to do and where to eat. The dorm room was very clean or though they don't provide door keys for dorm rooms. Overall it was a great hostel that I would definitely stay at again if I were to revisit Sarajevo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so, so much for your great review, it was our pleasure to have you in our hostel and i'm glad that you were satisfied. Our best aspects are our staff and cleanliness. Thank you again :) FF Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.3

The common room is nice and clean, the kitchen equipment is great and there is a dishwasher. Our dorm was really small for 6 people and there was no airco. There are enough toilets and showers, but some showers are uncomfortable as the water was either burning hot or extremely cold. We were given towels when we arrived, but they were accidentally taken away by the cleaners the next day and no new towels were available until another day later. The staff is very friendly and the location is great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, and for your praise, it means a lot to us. Sorry about the dorm, we always think bed and basic amenities are ok, size of the room-it's hard to have it all for the price of the dorm. And we are also sorry about the towels, maybe make sure to keep it on your bed so cleaning ladies don't take it. Thank you for the staff praise.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Overall its ok and the guy who checked us in was really helpful and gave us good advice. Room was too small for 8 beds, pretty much had to put your backpack in the locker or everyone would be tripping over them. very busy main road next to our dorm so was hard to get to sleep, breakfast area really small and everyone is getting in each others way. Overpriced for what it is.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review first of all. Thank you also for the praise of the staff, we will always help our guest. We are sorry about the noise and size of the room. We will transform the room to a 4-bed so there will be no problems anymore. We still think it's proportional to the price. Thanks

24th Jul 2016
8.6

Clean hostel sitting in the middle of the old town. Biggest knock is that the hostel is split into two sides and the common area in the side we were in was pretty cramped making it harder to meet others.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review first of all, we always welcome all guests to come to the main common area, we are sorry you had bad experience with this. Maybe next time we will have more guidance for you. Thanks

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.