Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel GaiaPorto

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.9
  • Facilities 9.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
10.0

The hostel Gaia is a great place to stay. Very clean and tastefully decorated. The rooftop garden was a good place to watch sunsets. The hosts we're friendly, educated and sincere in their efforts to make our stay a good one. Breakfast had many options including fruit, juice, tea, coffee and traditional breads and cheeses. This hostel was one of the best we have ever experienced. More like a nice hotel with a wonderful community vibe. We highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
10.0

Perfect hostel :) Owners are so nice, rooms were very beautiful and cozy, location was quite perfect, free breakfast was included and very fresh. Owner gave us good advices about where to go and welcomed us with good cake and port wine. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this hostel for everyone. If we ever come to Porto again, we know which hostel to choose.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
10.0

Best of 5 hostels I stayed at! Very homey atmosphere, I was greeted with a small glass of port and homemade cake as I entered and the staff went above and beyond to make sure I had the all of the knowledge necessary to see sites in Porto. Was sad to leave, but would give the highest recommendation to for other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th May 2017
10.0

Wonderful place that feels just like home, Marta and João are great hosts! From the hostel it is just a 15 minute walk across the bridge to the city center. Since the place is on the other side of the river it is very quiet and less turistic but has great places to eat just around the corner, metro and train stations are also very close. The rooms are beautiful and everything is very clean. We very much enjoyed our stay and are definitely coming back! :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
10.0

I had a really great time here!! This hostel is beautiful and very nicely decorated with everything you need. On arrival we were given a glass of the local port wine and a slice of delicious cake, what more could you ask for? The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and very attentive to everyones needs. I highly recommend this hostel and will be returning in the future. As for Porto itself, also fantastic!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
10.0

Staff are wonderful. Great breakfast, beautiful terrace. Great place to stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel that felt more like a hotel. Multiple gorgeous outdoor terraces to drink the port wine and homemade cake on arrival! Our host was wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

Joao is honestly the most kind hearted host I've met in a hostel. He makes sure to look after everything you might need, and he loves to chat and get to know the guests. One of my favourite hostels so far this trip, very highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
9.7

Very cozy place, located within the historical area of Vila Nova de Gaia and few minutes by walking from the Douro River, the Monastery and Ribeira. The staff is very friendly. The place has a balcony where is possible to have a great view from Porto. If I return to Porto, I will consider staying there to continue the friendly talk I had with Mr. Saavedra, the owner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel is very cute, clean and comfortable. It doesn't have a party hostel vibe but is a relaxed and welcoming place to come home to after a long day of exploring. The roof has a great view and the host is lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello Morgan. Thanks for your review. We realy are not a party Hostel and that's the big challenge. There's already so many party Hostel that 5 years ago we just wanted to do something different, taking the risk we just made a Family Hostel, cozy and your "Home far from Home". I'realy sorry that you just passed here 10 hours, because if you stayed longer you would like even more!! All the best!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.