Hostelworld.com

Hostel GaiaPorto

Prices
map
reviews
9.7
Superb 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.7
Superb 314 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.9
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 10.0
  • Facilities 9.6
Hostel GaiaPorto Located at Rua Cândido dos Reis nº 374-376, , Porto.
Hostel GaiaPorto
Portugal
Porto Vila Nova de Gaia 4400 - 070 VNG Rua Cândido dos Reis nº 374-376
97% 314
41.1341285 -8.6117362
Hostel GaiaPorto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
9.7

A great place to stay. The owner and his family are really welcoming and helpful people. It is not in the centre so you have to walk and take the metro but you can appreciate being a bit far from the centre, near the river and with a great view. It is very clean and calm, the breakfast is really good, we really feel at home! We'll keep a good memory of Porto thanks to this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.4

This hostel is great, the staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. Welcome drink was a nice touch. The only reasons I had to mark it down was because of the showers, they are made like the sinks that turn off after 30 seconds. Also, the hostel is across the bridge from Porto center, so it's about 20 minutes or more walking. BE AWARE; lots of hills, if you are going to Gaia train station take a cab for less than €5, it's difficult to drag your luggage there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jun 2016
8.6

Really clean and quiet. The owner of the hostel is pretty much the only employee and he makes you feel most welcome, nothing is too much to ask and he makes sure you have all the information you need in order to enjoy Porto. The free port tour included is a nice bonus. He did a traditional dinner on one night which was great. The roof top terraces were great as well. My only complaint would be that there was only 1 dorm i think and 3 privates meaning it was too small to meet lots of people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for you review Jack. I was realy surprise about your complaint of us being a small Hostel, because yu said you book the hostels reading the reviews and in all the reviews people said that is a small family hostel and you still book with us. But in September we will increase for the double, but we still be a family Hostel, jot a party Hostel. Its our option. So probably we will continuing not being the best option for you. About me, João, being the only employee, you are pretty wrong. What about my lovely wife that cooked the best meal that you probably had in your trip(home made, just 12,50€ al included, starter, main course, dessert and all the wine you could drink - our production). And all the different cakes you had at breakfast, was Marta, the other employee that we have. Ah, we also have students from turism working with us, but you probably didnt saw them. WE are small for option, we know everyone, we know their names, where they come from, what they do. This is like Home!! Kind Regards, João Saavedra CEO

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2016
10.0

Stayed here for 5 nights in May 2016 with partner in a double room. Lovely place to stay and a great base from which to explore Porto. The Hostel is either 5 mins walk uphill from the south side of the river or 5 mins walk downhill from a tube station. Loved being on the South side of the river as the North side is where most hotels/hostels are located and it was good to be away from the crowds. Hostel clean, safe welcoming and everything you would want from a Hostel/base. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Claudiam7
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2016
9.4

I had a wonderful stay in Gaia hostel. It was extemely clean and tidy at all times when I was there and the showers were incredible! The staff were amazing and extremely helpful, what ever you need just ask :). I would recommend this hostel if you'd like a quiet and relaxing stay in Porto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2016
9.4

Staff is incredibly helpful. Super clean and quiet. Stay here if you're looking for a relaxed environment.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Hostel Gaia Porto is amazing! the owner and his family are the best hosts! they really made our stay perfect. they gave us heaps of information of where to go and what to see as well as making us feel incredibly comfortable and not just like a hostel, it felt like a family. The rooms are very clean, we stayed in the double room as well as a dorm and both were very clean and comfortable. there is a balcony attached to each room which we really liked. the garden is beautiful. 10 out of 10!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The double room was spacious, clean and very good standard, and a lovely shared balcony with a view to the city. Spotless and really pretty bathrooms too. The gardens upstairs was absolutely stunning with amazing views all over. Joao was really nice and helpful, a truly good host! Recommended stay, for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Mar 2016
10.0

I highly recommend this hostel. It is located in a calm neighbourhood, just on the other side of Douro river. Spotless, comfortable mattresses, delicious and balanced breakfast with home-baked cake included. 5-7 min. walking from General Torres metro stop and closed to corner shops and little restaurants. Really nice staff, always willing to help you!! Thank you, João and father for your tips and chats!! If I ever come back to Porto, I will surely choose you again ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! Joao and his family did everything they could to ensure my stay was wonderful. From the awesome breakfast spread every morning to the great recommendations around Porto. Facilities were perfect and I truly felt at home. Make sure you stay here while in beautiful Porto and experience some first class Portugeuse hospitality! Thanks you for running such an exceptional place :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.