Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Galeria 13

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1485 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Apr 2017
7.1

Staff is super cool. Place is fairly social and free happy hour daily is a plus. Breakfast is decent. Location is in the middle of historic center. (Keep in mind this area is sketchy at night). The beds in my room were uncomfortable and not very sturdy. I was top bunk with another set of beds touching via headboards. Any time either of us got up the whole bed frame would shake more than reasonably. Enough to wake u up. Bottom line get new beds and place would be a much better stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

I enjoyed my stay here til the fullest, it is in a very good location that is close to everything that you need and wants to see. The staff are super helpful and made my stay the best it could be, and with the Caiprinha hour it was very easy to get to know the others staying here, which was important for me travelling alone. I would definitely stay here when I come back one time in the future, and I would highly recommend this Hostel to everyone wanting a good experience in this beautiful city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels during our nine-month-trip in South America! Very good located in the center of the beautiful Salvador. The staff is very nice and helpful, Wifi works good. Best breakfast during the whole trip! Very good atmosphere and free cocktails in the evening. Unfortunately there is no common kitchen, but the wonderful restaurant Zulu with the best vegetarian Moqueca belongs to the hostel. Highly recommended!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel! The staff and the owner are very friendly and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.4

We stayed here after an awful stay at Acai. It was much better, clean and secure. The hostel owner also owns an excellent restaurant outside where you can get discounts. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
10.0

What can be said about this place, seriously fantastic hostel and easily one of the best in South America. Jonathan, Yamu and the rest of the staff work tirelessly to make it a great environment where everyone has fun and enjoys Salvador. I visited the hostel 3 times and desperately missed it after leaving. Dorm rooms are perfect, breakfast is brilliant and lasts until noon and then you have the pool to relax and enjoy the happy hour cocktails. And they have pizza until the early hours! Partha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Great location, good social areas including a swimming pool to relax around. The staff here are extra friendly and helpful plus a descent breakfast to top it off. Highly recommend staying here if in salvador.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
5.4

The place is overrated in my point of view. Its a standard, rather poorly maintained party-hostel. The best way to avoid any brazilian cultural experience and stay only with "gringos" is to go to this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hostel Galeria 13 is one of the most popular hostels in the Historic Center. We offer a comfortable and safe place for travelers to relax, have fun, feel at home, and share their cultural experiences which happen just outside our doors. We are constantly working to maintain and improve our historic 'casarão'. Recently, we have added an entire solar panel system for heating water. We'll continue investing in projects that help local sustainability. We have also just completed the installation of a dedicated line for the internet. Another example of how we go above and beyond for our guests. We appreciate all feedback and hope this response has been able to fully address any concerns.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.1

Okay hostel. Johnathan was great. Breakfast was okay. Just average beds and small space. Not close to baha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Galeria 13! Everything from the staff, food, location and atmosphere was great! Salvador is so far one my favourite places I have stayed in! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.