Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Galeria 13

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
10.0

What can be said about this place, seriously fantastic hostel and easily one of the best in South America. Jonathan, Yamu and the rest of the staff work tirelessly to make it a great environment where everyone has fun and enjoys Salvador. I visited the hostel 3 times and desperately missed it after leaving. Dorm rooms are perfect, breakfast is brilliant and lasts until noon and then you have the pool to relax and enjoy the happy hour cocktails. And they have pizza until the early hours! Partha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Great location, good social areas including a swimming pool to relax around. The staff here are extra friendly and helpful plus a descent breakfast to top it off. Highly recommend staying here if in salvador.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
5.4

The place is overrated in my point of view. Its a standard, rather poorly maintained party-hostel. The best way to avoid any brazilian cultural experience and stay only with "gringos" is to go to this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hostel Galeria 13 is one of the most popular hostels in the Historic Center. We offer a comfortable and safe place for travelers to relax, have fun, feel at home, and share their cultural experiences which happen just outside our doors. We are constantly working to maintain and improve our historic 'casarão'. Recently, we have added an entire solar panel system for heating water. We'll continue investing in projects that help local sustainability. We have also just completed the installation of a dedicated line for the internet. Another example of how we go above and beyond for our guests. We appreciate all feedback and hope this response has been able to fully address any concerns.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Mar 2017
7.1

Okay hostel. Johnathan was great. Breakfast was okay. Just average beds and small space. Not close to baha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Galeria 13! Everything from the staff, food, location and atmosphere was great! Salvador is so far one my favourite places I have stayed in! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel, all the staff are really friendly and breakfast till 12 is great. Caipirinha hour is also amazing and located right in the old quarter for the sights

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location, easy to meet people, big breakfast including eggs, sausages, fruits and cakes. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Feb 2017
8.0

There is a great atmosphere at Galeria with lots of other travellers to meet over a beer or at breakfast in the morning, which is conveniently served until 12pm. We can only comment on the accommodation in the Dog House, just around the corner.. the room is big but was very messy and dirty. You need to put on your own sheets and take down when checking out, which is slightly lazy of the hostel. The location in Pelourinho is perfect and the best asset of the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow ,LAZY! So anybody who stays more than one night will see the girls re make all the 30 beds and 7 private rooms . During carnival they do this 3 times as of course in carnival dorm rooms get messy. We do not make the beds before arrival as other guests sit on beds and throw their dirty bags on others beds.Bring down the sheets after use does not seem such a lot to ask.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

We had a great time staying at Galeria 13 after a bungled reservation we had elsewhere, which prompted us being referred to this hostel by some mates (and it was Carnaval so quite stressful at the time! But Galeria were great in helping us out). They really look after you here and the staff always want to help you. The breakfast is amazing - especially having available between 8am to 12pm. The atmosphere was great and the free caprihina hour everyday was bringing the 'family' together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dnewton090
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
8.3

Thanks to Paolo and staff for the effort & organisation put into the Carnaval schedule...The info was very welcomed, especially given Salvador in general is quite dangerous... Hands down best breakfast experienced in South America -- eggs/sausages/fruit juice until 12pm😎 Facilities fantastic with a dipping pool; and large lounge room, and round-the-clock chef facilities... The daily hour of free Sangria/Caip's was a great touch as well.. Only (-)'s were the lack of backpacker kitchen facilities

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.