Hostelworld.com

Hostel Gastama

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Gastama Located at 109/115 rue de Saint Andre, , Lille.
Hostel Gastama
France
Lille Nord 59000 109/115 rue de Saint Andre
88% 1760
50.6458140 3.0556154
Hostel Gastama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Apr 2016
8.9

The staff were extremely helpful and patient while I asked a million questions about Lille. The pillows and beds were comfortable, and the hostal is a fairly quiet street. It is a 15 min walk to the center of town, but everything was easily accessible. They do not provide towels, so bring your own or be ready to rent one from the front desk. The hot water is decent.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Staff at reception were very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome! The bar was also great - lots of locals come and it had such a good atmosphere! Lovely clean facilities too :) would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
8.6

Economic yet well taken care of. The staff is amazing, helpful, friendly and approachable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • snes53331528
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.9

It was really hard to go there from train station with my luggage. It was also a bit far from city center. Gastama had very nice bar, and the free brownie tasted very good, normally I didn't like brownie but I did like what they offered. Staffs were very nice and helpful. Definitely wanna come back next time I visit Lille. : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th Mar 2016
9.7

Really great hostel. The bar is awesome and full of locals. Only bad point was the showers weren't great but would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Mar 2016
9.4

Awesome hostel with a big bar area which gets lively in the evenings. The hostel is very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would defiantly reccomend. Review in two words - Tres bein!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel, very clean and well equipped and friendly staff. We were a small school group of 17/year-olds and I wouldn't recommend for school groups that are younger. If you are looking for a quiet stay this isn't for you as the bar is lively at weekends and the first floor in particular is fairly noisy but if you're looking for a good atmosphere, the chance to meet new people in a lively environment with friendly staff and amazingly clean, new rooms and facilities, then this is for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • adrianlui7335
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 46 reviews
7th Mar 2016
8.0

Pretty far walk from the station but theres a supermarlet just around the corner. Lots of cool cafes amd eateries around. I was the only traveler staying here looking to meet others. The rest were there for work, just keeping to themselves. I was staying in off season so it may be different during high season. I think this was the only hostel in lille anyway. Cool common area and kitchen plus theres a public bar attached to the front.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
8.0

The staff at Gautama were some of the most helpful I have come across. All of them were eager to help us with anything we needed and welcomed us very warmly. If there is anything I would comment on it is that there should be some information regarding the size of the room, as we were a little bit surprised by how small it was. However it was a nice room, so it was not of extreme importance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2016
9.1

Thanks Marta & the rest of the cheery helpful staff. A wee bit of a walk from the station, but an atmospheric part of lovely Lille. Fun bar area, great for meeting all sorts of folks, albeit more outsiders than hostel residents. Never known such vast spaces between the dorm beds (just don't jet off immediately to Hong Kong or you'll get a claustrophobic panic attack!) Well maintained, spick & span. Budget sociable traveller accom is thin on the ground around here, so a very welcome niche find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.