X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Gastama Reviews

109/115 rue de Saint Andre, Lille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
895 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

We had a great stay at the Gastama Hostel. The Staff is very friendly and help you whenever. There is a nice bar where you can enjoy a Mojito. In the bar it is mostly extremely hot. The rooms are very open and spacious. In our room for 8 guests they could have put 12 guests if they wanted to. All the facilities are working and very clean. A great hostel to stay! And then there is the neighboorhoud in which you walk straight to the 'Old lille', which has nice bars and shops and lovely Streets.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great overall but shower facility could be improved alot- shower spray too diffuse so takes ages to rinse off soap if you have thick hair like me, no soap holder in shower box so have to put items on the shower floor (yuck) or outside making the floor wet so floor gets very wet/ no shower mat. But very clean rooms and helpful staff. Thanks!!


89%

Our room had just the beds. It is very simple to keep at least a chair inside the room. We had to put things on the ground.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Most pleasant hostel, spacious rooms and enough space for people to either relax/party without bothering each other too much. Nice kitchen space, friendly vibe. Would recommend.


100%

Perfect hostel! Very nice and helpful staff, lovely atmosphere, great location and very clean. Could not have been better for that price.


86%

Simply everything you'd except from a Hostel. Entrance lobby with bar for simply hanging around. Computer area for internet access, if not there is a free wifi covering everything. Bedrooms are absolutely clean! Every bed has its own privacy curtain and a little cage box for storing your stuff. The bathrooms weren't 100% clean! There is room for improvement. Second, with respect to the overall size of Lille, the hostel is a bit outside, but definitely neglect able.


94%

Hostel was one of the best I've stayed in! Super friendly staff and very spacious, clean and comfortable rooms! The hostel bar was a great place to mix with the locals! All in all I'd definitely recommend it!

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a wonderful place to stay on the final night of my motorcycle trip around Europe. The guests and staff were very friendly and it has a beautiful location in Vieux Lille. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • 12th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel had a very contemporary feel and a friendly vibe!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

huge room for 6 beds dorm - this is the same size room as 12 beds dorm in London. Super clean & tidy, great atmosphere, bar at the reception gets busy on saturday night but you won't hear any noise if u want a good night sleep as it's at the front of the building and the sound gets blocked out by locked doors. just a bit far from EuroStar station -20mins walk or so, but it's a nice little town you might as well wants to walk around :)


86%

Good hostel with spacious rooms and nice bar. It's a bit of a walk to the center (15 minutes).


97%

Very cool place. Kitchen is great. Room 001 a was too hot.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

it's very nice hostel. The bunk beds are very nice wih power sockets , lamp and curtains. They have good kitchen equipped and original living room. Downstairs there is a bar wher you can take some drinks and Know another people. The hostel is clean and moder with nic design.


86%

It was a really good hostel with reliable wifi. The bar makes it easy to meet other persons if you want to. The majority of the staff is really friendly. On the negative side, if your room gives on the front street, you can sometimes ear people from the bar when they go outside and talk loudly, same thing with the traffic in the evening or morning. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back. Also, you can't change the heat of the showers and they are really really hot.


91%

Internet was not working during my stay.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The reception is an extension of the bar or vice versa. Friendly and helpful staff. Several PCs for keeping up on your email and making those necessary bookings as you move on. The only big disappointment was not to taste the local beer of Lille, Gastama. Next time ! Those squeeky doors to the stall need to be lubed.


80%

I was very pleased with my short stay at Gastama, really !

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Best hostel I have ever been. Bar is Great! Rooms are clean, quiet and the curtains around the beds give you more privacy than usual.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff and atmosphere made this place the bomb diggity! Way cool!


94%

Great hostel, superb staff, good atmosphere. Would stay here again and happy to recommend.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Lille Hostels

Please give us your feedback