Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Gastama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Aug 2017
8.0

Functional hostel, not greatly atmospheric. Good location, about 20 min walk from Lille Europe. Staff was nice and helpful. Stayed in 4 bed fem dorm, was comfortable but would be smallish if it was fully occupied. Good size cage under the bed for luggage, should accommodate an 80L. Bring your own padlock/towels are hire only. It has a lift which was handy! More hooks on the wall to hang things would be useful. I find France expensive so it wasn't great value for money but not many options around

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
8.6

The hostel is certainly good, but a bit expensive for what it offers. The city is great, and although the hostel is located a bit farther away than they tell from the real core and heart of the city; but it is still a walkable distance (15 minutes).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
8.3

Great hostel, rather close to the city center. The kitchen is state-of-the-art and many common areas to socialize and meet other people. Would recomend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
8.3

Great hostel friendly helpful staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • viivialiklaavu
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.7

One of my favorite hostels this far. Staff was very nice and helpfull. It's easy to meet other travellers in the bar even though there are a lot of local people too. You just have to listen who are speaking english and join them.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
8.6

A great place to stay in Lille! The rooms were clean and tidy; staff very nice and helpful! We only stayed for one night; but it was a pleasant stay. Also seems to be a hip place to meet people - which we did! Not too far from the city center and maybe 30min walk from train stations. the only "issues" was the size of the showers (on the ground floor - to cramped) and the weird smell in the comunal kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
8.0

A decent hostel with a good bar. Allowed us to store bikes safely in the downstairs area. Need a lock for keeping property safe in the room. Toilets and showers could have been cleaner and in better repair. Breakfast standard for a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Super friendly. Really pretty I felt like I was in a Hotel instead of a Hostel. It was a great atmosphere and a nice location in town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • abarber219
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
18th Jul 2017
8.0

Very nice, beds are quite comfy. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2017
9.4

Overall, really good but the boys toilets were not in a great state.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.