Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Gastama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Mar 2017
8.3

Staff is soooo nice, had a blast with them. They know what to visit, the bars and restaurants to go. They are just perfect. Little far from the city center, but not too bad. Everything is clean, but I have to admit there is a odd smell in the bathroom!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Mar 2017
9.1

Great hostel in a great city... The staff are amazing and very friendlyl Would definitely recommend for those looking for a social hostel with a good vibe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
9.4

Great place for short stay. The hostel bar is a great place to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.4

I spent only one night here. The room was great. The ambience of the bar was also good. It was however smelling in the girls' bathroom the next morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.9

Awesome location and staff!! Didn't realize before booking that there wasn't an upper age limit (not the hostel's fault by any means!!!) but I had a bit of an unpleasant surprise when I realized I was sharing my room with middle aged men so just something good to note if you're a young female solo traveler. Very secure which is good because the bar attracts a lot of non-guests. Breakfast is crappy and not worth the 4.50€/5€ but the bar and food is very reasonable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

stay in Gastama and get an authentic touch of local life. staff, super friendly and helpful, provides good tips for things to in do in town. vending machine, laundry service and equipped kitchen with lounge space are just what you need while traveling. bar on ground floor serves good beers&cocktails and its restaurant offers a basic menu of international dishes made with care (less is more!). highly recommended :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place with a fantastic bar and lovely staff !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.3

Cool Hostel not too far from Vieux Lyon, decent bar with some good deals on. Kitchen could be a bit cleaner and with a few more things in there, but this wasn't too much of a problem. Staff are very friendly and speak good English (and are very patient with my French!). Bit of a walk from the station if that's where you're coming from but doable. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Bathrooms and kitchen can be a bit tidier but the atmosphere is wonderful and the staff is extremely kind! I'd return to Gastama!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Clean, secure, and brand new. Located a 20-mn walk from the Lille-Flandres station. The only mild criticism I would give is that the bar/restaurant is public instead of being limited to people staying at the hostel, which makes it inconvenient to meet fellow travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.