Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Gastama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2196 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.7

The sleep/ acoustic isn't the best... I was allocated to a room on the first floor, which I reckon is directly above the hifi system. The bed is mounted into the wall - the material conducts sound really well... I can feel the vibration and listen to the music playing on my bed plus there is a bar right opposite of window (noise still at a bearable level if you sleep flat not sideway). not until 3am when things starts to tone down... other than that,,, everything is alright for a night stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
10.0

accueil sympa, chambre et lit propres bien localisé

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Very straight forward check in, friendly staff. Dynamic atmosphere in the bar. Overall nice hide out from taking a dip into Lille Metropole!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.0

Pretty kickass hostel. Bit of a walk from the main bus/train stations but it's a nice walk. Bar underneath makes it good for solo travellers. The kitchen needs some serious TLC from the staff (it's really gross) but other than that a pretty cool hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Privacy curtains on the beds are a nice feature. The showers dont have any kind of temperature control, but it was surprisingly warm. You have to keep pressing the button because its on a timer, but not too bad. Location is not far from things you want to see

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.1

Hostel Gastama was really neat - and it actually turned into a cool bar at night on the weekend. Thankfully, it was still quiet, clean, and safe in the rooms. No complaints, I had a great time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • indranb5076
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel and staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
7.1

Great little hostel, pity the cleaning wasn't up to scratch!! Good to have cooking facilities!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
8.0

It's a bit far from train station. But everything is nice here. The bed is comfy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Tink0296
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Staff Were Absolutely Amazing. Kind And Caring. I Went Into Lille For Dinner, But Unfortunately I Was A Little Too Late. Came Back To Gastama, And Asked The Staff On Bar Duties If The Kitchen Was Still Open. Of Course It Had Just Closed, But He Managed To Go And Get Me Left Over Chips Anyways On The House! Beers Were A Good Price! The Rooms Were Brilliant And Clean. The Toilets Could Do With Being Extended But Only Because This Hostel Is So Popular! Plus It Is A Beautiful Stroll To Town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.