X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Gastama Reviews

109/115 rue de Saint Andre, Lille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1421 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Even it was only for one night, we really enjoyed our stay at Gastama Hostel. Lille is a great place to be. The Hostel was a bit far from the main center, but wasn't really a problem for us. The bar and the people were amazing!

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's nice but with limitations..Hostel is clean and has all the necessary facilities. Our room GREAT, comfy bed, bright and big. Sadly, everything seems to be about the bar. You check in "this is your room key, there is the door, bye". No atmosphere, "cold" staff. Breakfast NOT included, which they didn't tell and we found out after finishing it: €5 for cornflakes and juice :S Wifi deconnects every 10 min. When the bar closes, there's nothing left. Cleaning staff came into room before checkout.


97%

Awesome place. The bar at the hostel is cranking every night and there seems to be more locals than travellers there. Don't let that turn you off if you need sleep though, you can't hear it from the rooms. Well worth the money if you ask me


100%

great, loved it, reasonably far from city center but walk-able. great staff clean room and kitchen

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel seems to have been refurbished recently so it appears new and clean. There were good boxes for each person under the beds and it was handy to have the well-equipped kitchen to be able to use. A good looking bar downstairs if you're looking for that, but also space to relax without having to go for a drink. I was the only person booked into my room, so it was really nice and unexpected to have an ensuite room to myself. Friendly staff with very good English.


100%

This is an excellent hostel in a good part of the city. The bar is good and serves and excellent range of beers. The staff are very helpful.


91%

Favorite part was that each bed had its own curtain plus individual lamp and power socket. In the evenings, the hostel's bar front seems more popular with the locals (very French) than the hostel goers, plus their drinks were surprisingly expensive. Was a nice place though.


83%

Hard to find, but staff were really friendly. The room was kind of on the small side but it was big enough for the two of us.


94%

Excellent environ. Helpful staff. Gréât valeur for money. BUT STAFF SHOULD CUT BREAD/BAGUETTE FOR LODGERS. It is apparent client would cut baguette...themselves and leave half / (aborder pièce ) In thé basket.

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel staff were really helpful and friendly and we were pleasantly surprised by their fluency in English. Location is a bit of walk from the actual city center but close enough and also close to the park/zoo. Facilities and everything were great.


94%

Very friendly staff, I had a lovely stay.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Social scene is the popular bar, otherwise it's pretty quiet in the dorm rooms. Room was huge for just 6 or 8 people.


86%

20 mins from stations. Easy to find. Nice chill atmosphere in evening. Very clean rooms and toilets. Pleasantly surprised when we had the entire dorm to ourselves for the whole stay. Curtains on bed and two plugs each was perfect. The only thing was the fire alarm went off in the morning staff were running around and not single one told us where to go , just to put our shoes on. Some were friendly and some had interest in you. But it was a nice place to stay.


91%

I travel regularly across Europe for job, and this is one of the best hostel I've ever been in. Friendly staff, amazing structure, the ground floor with the pub is amazing and the rooms are comfortable. Sometimes it's noisy up to late in the night, but the drinks are good, the position is fairly good and the staff is pleasant and nice. 100% recommend

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

They have very big rooms with bunk beds that each have 2 power outlets and cages under the beds to put your things into. The place has a bar and is very active at night. The staff are friendly and helpful.


91%

Great stay! Open kitchen, laundry, bar downstairs. Met some cool people here. Great value, and there are lockable box/cages under the beds, just bring your own lock. Kind of far away from everything, there's a bus stop down the road I was told, I wanted the exercise so I didn't bother. Also the reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Clean clean everything, one thing though, one shower per level.


97%

Realy, really friendly staff who were always willing to help with whatever was needed. Everything was fantastic - only improvement would be to have more available for breakfast which cost us 5 euros but we only got a bowl of cereal! If there was other stuff available, it wasn't evident to us.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A very nice hostel located in the North of Lille. Individual lights and power sockets for each bed along with individual curtains which was a big plus. Very clean, facilities were good and there is a pub in the main entrance which works well for meeting people if you so wish. Was a tad pricey for a hostel but you will have an enjoyable time if you stay here.


100%

Really nice hostel ! I'll definitely come back if I'm passing by Lille again !


57%

Never seen a kitchen so disgusting in a hostel. The cutlery, the dishes, the floor, everything was soiled. Dishes were piled in he sink for 3 days before someone cleaned that. There is not enough shower and some were broken. It get very hot in the room and if we open the window, we hear all he sound from the bar. I slept relatively good for the first nights but then last night on Saturday drunkards kept making noise all night. I guess being the only hostel in town they think they can do whatever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really sorry about your bad experience at Gastama, We had a lot of party groups on this week-end so we are agree it was a bit messy but that's very complicated to survey the common spaces 24hours a day. Although, As is shown by our cleanliness rating and our last hostelworld award we do our best to offer a high quality of standard and we don't think we can do whatever. Sorry again and we hope you could come back someday to check by yourself. Nicolas Reception Manager

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(95 results)


View all Lille Hostels

Please give us your feedback