Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Gastama

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,936 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Gastama Located at 109/115 rue de Saint Andre, , Lille.
Hostel Gastama
France
Lille Nord 59000 109/115 rue de Saint Andre
89% 1936
50.6458140 3.0556154
Hostel Gastama
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
10.0

I especially liked about this hostel that the bar, the shared kitchen and dining room are well suited to meet other travelers. During August not many non-french tourists visit Lille so for me this was a welcome opportunity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel hás an amazing structure, its impressive how friendly the crew is and has a bar with an amazing atmosfere on the ground floor where everyday theres locals. Best hostel i had been in EUR.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
9.4

Simply put the place is awesome. Highly recommended they only problem with it is it's a little far outside center city. Bar in the hostel was great and had a really good crowd even though I was only there for a Monday night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
8th Aug 2016
9.1

The rooms are huge!! Great to have a curtain to have more privacy too. Very clean. Lots of people come and drink there at night so not sure who is in the hostel and who isnt but its a really nice place and would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.4

This place was fantastic, although I only stayed as a stop over for one night. The hallways had a weird smell that was a bit gross but that's the only thing I can think of that detracted from my stay. Everything else was excellent!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • silvanmoro5110
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.4

I ended up staying at Gastama longer than I initially planned just because I had so much fun. They have amazing kitchen facilities if you want to book yourself, otherwise the food here is great if not just a little expensive. The staff are all super lovely and hanging out at the bar is great, such a good atmosphere. It's a little bit of a walk from the main station at 20 minutes but it's well worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Jul 2016
10.0

Clean, well located for the old part of Lille, wonderful staff, great bar attached. Would definitely go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again at Gastama!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
6.0

Hostel is clean but the staff and rude. They out me in a room with no electricity and then moved me the next day and said I could have a drink in the house. Late that day when I asked for the drink they refused and embarrassed me saying they had no idea was talking about . They also ignored me when I asked for directions. The bar is full of locals every night who do not want to socialise so to meet people you have to stay in the kitchen area of the hostel . Overall- I'm sure an air Bnb is better

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your opinion. We are very surprised though by the way you describe our staff. We are not used to comments like that. We apologise deeply for the inconvenience that the electricity caused you but we do not believe that our staff was rude with you neither that we were ignoring your demand for directions. It might be that you did not make it clear to us that you actually wanted to ask something. If you regard our staff rating and our general feedback you might overthink your general idea about the hostel but you have all the rights to say what your concerns are and I deeply regret if you did not have a pleasant stay at Gastama.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.6

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our (short) stay and felt safe and comfortable. Our room was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
16th Jul 2016
10.0

The hostel had great activity recommendations for me and my dad. It was clean and had a great location; walking distance to all the sites in town. Great vibe throughout the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.