Hostelworld.com

Hostel Gastama

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2117 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.3

Cool Hostel not too far from Vieux Lyon, decent bar with some good deals on. Kitchen could be a bit cleaner and with a few more things in there, but this wasn't too much of a problem. Staff are very friendly and speak good English (and are very patient with my French!). Bit of a walk from the station if that's where you're coming from but doable. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Bathrooms and kitchen can be a bit tidier but the atmosphere is wonderful and the staff is extremely kind! I'd return to Gastama!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.9

Clean, secure, and brand new. Located a 20-mn walk from the Lille-Flandres station. The only mild criticism I would give is that the bar/restaurant is public instead of being limited to people staying at the hostel, which makes it inconvenient to meet fellow travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
7.1

Good location, very nice staff, but for the price of an hotel room you have the confort of an hostel.... not worth it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.7

Really good location, nice beds with privacy curtain, staff were really helpful and didn't charge me for printing my tickets. Awesome kitchen and you have the choice of hanging out in the common room or public bar/cafe. Looks like there are some nice spots for when the weather warms up. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Very bad WIFI connexion, impossible to work!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Staff is very friendly and helpful, location is great in the old town, everything is close by! The kitchen and lounge area are amazing! The rooms and the bathrooms clean! Had a great time here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
6.9

Pretty average hostel. The showers are gross, the lights in the showers didn't work and the floors everywhere are pretty filthy. The beds have individual curtains and power sockets which is a nice touch, but everything else in this place is basic. Decent bar downstairs serves lunch and dinner but attracts a rich, middle aged work drinks crowd. About a 15/20 minute walk into the centre of town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
10.0

Almost impossible to flaw- I was sick for this portion of my trip so speant the whole time in the hostel, and the facilities and atmosphere were out of this world! When I come back to properly experience Lille I will be staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jan 2017
9.4

Excellent, friendly hostel, good food, warm beds, amazing wifi, lively atmosphere, staff understood my basic french, and spoke basic english. It was cheap, and good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.