X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Gastama Reviews

109/115 rue de Saint Andre, Lille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
708 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice staff! They were all nice and helpful. Clean hostel and great location near city center

  • 27th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It's my second time at this hostel and yet again it was a great choice! I love the style, it's very modern with just the right amount of hipster. The breakfast was really good but make sure you sign up for it when you check-in other wise it's 5 euros instead of 4.


89%

too much people in the bar!!! but nice :)

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great Hostel, Great atmosphere! Staff Very Nice and helpfull!

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The only issue I had was that none of the outlets in my room worked, I had to go down to the bar to charge my laptop/cellphone - which was a nuisance.

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are very sorry to hear that there was a problem with the outlets in your room. Thank you for letting us know as we can now fix them. It is a shame you did not come to reception to inform us, as we could have moved you into another room right away. Despite this small problem we hope you enjoyed your stay in Lille. Thanks for the feedback, we hope to see you again soon! The Gastama Team

100%

Very good hotel in general. I think I would prefer if the bar on ground floor wasn't open 7/7 to public. I would have liked having a drink relaxed at night, but it tends to get crowded after work until late. Otherwise thumbs up. Très bon hotel. Petit bémol: le bar ne devrait pas être ouvert au public tous les jours. J'aurais bien aimé boire un verre, tranquille en soirée, mais il tend à se remplir en fin de journée. Sinon, bravo.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Friendly staff, keen to help and explained where key sites were. Extremely clean, quiet area with easy access to great shopping, cafés and sites. Cosy ambience in the rooms


80%

I had a bedroom for 2 without shower. The only problem is that in my floor, there were only one shower for girls and one for boys. so I had to go downstairs, were there was more showers. And the shower is not great, but not terrible.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great staff, loved the kitchen and a pretty clean hostel.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I paid extra to stay in an all female dorm for the night that I was there and at 5 AM the entire room was unfortunately woken up by two men who waltzed into the room to sleep. Naturally the entire room was woken up by this and when the person at the front desk was notified it seemed as though he knew that this was going on. Basically he booked the two men in the room knowing it was an all female dorm and thought that we would not notice. The person at the front desk did not even really apologize

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are really sorry for your bad experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. Our night porter was in training and he made a big mistake with our software. He did not realise it was a female dorm. You should have come to reception in the morning to talk with the day staff. We would have given you a significant discount as a gesture of goodwill. Sorry again for this accident and we hope to see you again in the future! Gastama Team

80%

It was quiet just before Christmas - I pretty much had the hostel to myself. However it was really clean if slightly empty! The bar downstairs is open to the public so arriving late at night is a bit disconcerting as the bar doubles as the hostel reception. Not exactly central, but close enough if you don't mind walking


97%

Super spacious even in a 8 bed dorm and clean. Sound proof is extremely well.


83%

The location of the hostel is ideal for someone staying for the first time in Lille as it is located close to the city centre and most of the city's main attractions. The hostel is quite big and the bar gets really busy at night so is maybe better for people staying in a pair/small group rather than travelling alone, as most guests at the hostel seem to come and go and not spent much time in the hostel. However, overall it is a nice place to stay and all the facilities are clean and functioning!


97%

Hostel Gastama was an amazing place to stay staff were all super friendly and helpful. Short walk to grand place plenty of bars ,restaurants and cafes near by. The bar is great with plenty of beers and spirits for good prices at night it was always busy with friendly locals and hostel guests. Very good sized rooms and very clean Highly recommend staying at HOSTEL GASTAMA


89%

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was ensuite. Very clean and spaceous. Breakfast was extra but good value for money. Served in the bar area which had a good atmosphere. Short walk from the city centre (15 minutes or so). As a solo traveller it probably wasn't the best place to meet new people but would definately recommend it. Good value for money.


91%

Lovely Hostel with a great bar and nice helpful,pleasant staff. A real sense of life. Beds are very hard. Our room was very small for 3 and the kitchen lounge area needs more lounge chairs. But good hostel.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+


91%

Excellent hostel! Very spacious and clean and the bar and free breakfast are great! Not too far to walk to the city centre..only issue is there aren't many showers in the communal bathroom.


94%

Very nice hostel with a bar down stairs which you can't here if you want to sleep. Big kitchen and common room. Good hot showers, bed and wifi. Only down side is 10min walk from station but easy enough with transport. Well recommended


89%

The Hostel was really clean, 10 times cleaner than what I expected. Staff was really friendly and helpfull and there was a great ambiance in the Hostel. Great location also and nice discoveries. No real negative points to point out!

  • 30th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really liked the place. Very comfortable, though its atmosphere is clearly aimed at the younger generation.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(61 results)


View all Lille Hostels

Please give us your feedback