X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Gastama Reviews

109/115 rue de Saint Andre, Lille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
994 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The kitchen was really nice. The main part of the city was only a 5 minute walk away. I would return.


89%

Although you need a card or have the receptionist open the door of the hostel for you, there were random people in my room who werent staying there, sleeping with people who were. The showers were nice, the room itself was nice (the AC ones).


94%

Hostel Gastama was amazing. Great beer on tap, dependable wi-fi, cool staff, nice kitchen (i ate for free from left-over "community" box), great chill-out place in Lille. I came to Lille to chill-out and that's what happened. Actually, I partied with a friend, really hard, ran home at 5 am. But was able to get in at those ungodly hours and say hello to the night watchman. Only real hostel in Lille --my friend. walked everywhere, incl. to-fro train station. Breakfast was so-so.


94%

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dorm was big, clean and comfortable. The lockers were clean and sleek. There was no climatization so sheets would be nicer than warm blankets. The bar/reception was nice and had a good atmosphere, so did the street where it was in.


86%

Had a great stay. Easy to get to from main train station (just one tram) and has hiking trails just on it's back door step. Lovely people run the hostel and they are fun to get to know and have a drink with.


77%

Booked hostel the night before using hostelworld app, very accommodating and a good standard... Although we didn't spend much time in the room.


97%

Great place! Everything in order, great bar inside and very nice staff. It's a bit far from the center, but the walk is pleasant and there are a lot of restaurants around. Loved it!


97%

Some of the nicest and most spacious rooms I have stayed in. Outlets at every bed, also a curtain to pull in front of you to keep your privacy and keep the light out. Big lockers for everyone to use under the bed. Only downside is the location. It's a bit far from the train station and the city center but not terrible! Good atmosphere at the bar, just slightly expensive


94%

Excellent atmosphere, the bar was always crowded and the staff very friendly and helpful. As soon as you go out, you're 10 minutes walk to the most beautiful places of Lille.


97%

i loved this place - it's got a lovely atmosphere and is in a really nice neighborhood with quite a few really nice bars etc. This is the kind of hostel that suits all kinds of travelers, whether you're here to meet people and go out all night, or to just have a nice relaxing night in Lille. Would definitely recommend!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Cleanest, most hotel-like hostel in terms of the area with the rooms The common area is more of a bar than a hostel common room, which means that most of the people there at night aren't staying at the hostel. Could be good or bad depending on your preference


91%

Comfortable dorms with privacy curtains and comfortable beds. The downstairs area is very chill and the guest kitchen and living room is excellent! Nicola at the reception was so lovely and helpful and always had a big smile :) I would definitely come back ! xxx

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This is one of the best hostels I have stayed at for a long time!! Staff were super friendly and helpful and seemed to really enjoy their jobs!! My dorm was really spacious and well designed. The bar at the front of the hostel was nice too, played the football and had a good atmosphere but the noise didn't carry through to the dorms. The only minor downside to an otherwise amazing stay were the showers could have more space to hang/keep clothes etc.


91%

Great double room in the roof with lovely en suite bathroom. Good location near city centre, about 20 minute walk from main train station.


54%

After a long tiring day, the last thing one would want is to check into a hostel in the middle of a noisy, stinky bar where you cannot hear each other and you had to wait a long time just to get checked in. My room was downgraded from a 4-bed to a 6-bed dorm and I didn't get the right refund for the price difference. The only redeeming factor was the room i was placed in was big. The hostel is pretty clean but the cleaners definitely don't care if you're sleeping or not while they clean the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm sorry you had a bad experience, still trying to understand what really happened. The points are: Checking in on friday night is actually a bit more noisy than usual; Nobody here has never been downgraded (often upgraded) unless special demand of room change (depending on availability); You have been totally and undoubtebly refunded for the price difference and paid the right amount for your night; Housekeeping staff has to do the job between 12 and 15 (not the best time to stay asleep)

97%

Really kind staff!

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Of all the hostels I have stayed in this is by far one of the best. All the people who work there are really nice and are always happy to help. The whole place is clean, everything works, the beds are comfortable and there is an awesome bar.


97%

What a great place. Fantastic location and the friendliest staff you can imagine. The bar has the best beer.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Has to be the friendliest hostel I've stayed in... From the minute I walked in I was made to feel very welcome, staff were excellent! will be recommending to all travellers I meet on my journey around Europe...

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Gastama was amazing!! The staff are all so friendly and accommodating, we even partied with them. Awesome chill out spot and bar. Everything was spotless and new, so clean and close to everything. Would definitely recommend! Great atmosphere.


(115 results)


View all Lille Hostels

Please give us your feedback