X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Gastama Reviews

109/115 rue de Saint Andre, Lille, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1678 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Fantastic. In centre of town very clean and friendly staff

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved this place. Great location, fun in the bar, and the beautiful kitchen to eat our pastures from the boulangerie... Wonderful!

  • 4th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Some members of staff were very kind, others were very rude and agressive when we left, although the hostel itself was nice i would not recommend staying here due to the poor treatment we recieved from the staff, clearly customer service is not the same as it is in other places in the world. We were accused of checking out late when a member of staff had seen us in the communal areas after moving our things from the room to be cleaned, accused of being rude and lying. unacceptable treatment.

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, That's very easy to reverse the roles, After being kindly notified several times to leave your room, you were still inside at 2.00 (just to remind check -out is at 12:00, quiet late for hostel standard) moreover you left your room very dirty. About your critiscm " service is not the same as it is in other places in the world" our staff rating is 93% thanks to a to a lot of british customers with whom we maintain a strong friendship. So perhaps, you should reconsider things next time.

91%

I loved the environment at the hall. Personnel very welcoming and the breakfast was good enough. The only disadvantage was the location. It was 15 min away of the subway.. but with luggages it may take 40 min since the streets have these "antique" style with pebbles.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Was only here one night but it was exactly what I needed. Walking distance to the train station, near the station, very clean and very secure. Seemed like a nice common area in the bar and patio outside, but was very quiet in the rooms!


100%

Really nice hostel. Very clean with spacious dorm rooms. Great kitchen and the staff are very cool aswell. Gastama is a great hostel to stay at Nice bar too


100%

Had a great time! The hostel is more like a hotel. Definately value for money. The staff are great and very helpful! Looking to stay again. A shame it's only in Lille but would definately come back!

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Everything was fine.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good hostel...great bar and staff! The kitchen could be cleaner...they should also think to organize activities for hosts aggregation


91%

This was such a nice hostel! I met some amazing people here, the bar was really nice and I just had a great stay. It was a very new, clean hostel with nice staff. The only thing I can think of is the breakfast. That was just not worth the money. But I would definitely recommend this hostel!


94%

The staff were very helpful and friendly!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good hostel! It is just a small walk from the centre. Only negative comment I can give is that because there is an awesome bar, visited by lots of locals, it is hard to know/meet people from the hostelpart. Not really a hostelatmosphere though. But overall very good stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your stay and your feedback. Lillers and our customers are generally opend minded and approchable so it's very common to see mixed group. If you prefered to meet only backpackers (which is understandable) you have the opportunity in the kitchen/common lounge. Your comments are essential to help us improve the quality of our atmosphere so thanks a lot and hope to see you someday at Gastama.

83%

I was surprise to find only four sits near the kitchen...

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Amazing dorm: enormous, curtain for each bed, 2 sockets for each, and a drawer for each person. Staff were super friendly. The bar has some great beers, even if a bit expensive. Even though there is a courtyard, that was more for the bar, so felt there wasn't really a place to meet too many other people from the hostel.


80%

I enjoy my stay in Gastama Hostel at Lille. I recommanded to add recycle bins in the kitchen.


100%

Gastama Hostel is a great place and deserves top honors. I will highly recommend it to other travelers.


77%

Stayed at Gastama for 2 nights in the female dorm and had a good time! The staff is very friendly and there's a nice bar downstairs, but no noise from the bar in the room. There are only a few showers, but the showers itself are good! The beds are good as well! Only downside is the lockers underneath the beds, that make a lot of noise when you open them.


86%

Beds had pull curtains and reading lights... staff both during check in and check out was friendly and smiling. Internet terminal was free use.


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(78 results)


View all Lille Hostels

Please give us your feedback