X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Helvetia Reviews

Sewerynow 7, Warsaw, Poland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
960 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very close to bus stop that can take you anywhere in the city, whether to old town or to airport. Withing walking distance of places of interest as well. Quiet neighborhood at night, and the hostel is in a building on level 1 which keeps it cooler during the day and night. Staff helped me with every request from where to get a haircut to how to get to the uprising museum. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot ! Hope to see you some day again :)

86%

Everything was very nice! the kitchen does not have an oven, so don't buy frozen pizza like I did. oops! Very close to the center and with very helpful, friendly staff :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for comment ! Next time we'll tell you where to eat good cheap pizza :)

89%

A well-run and friendly hostel in a very good location within walking distance of pretty much all there is to see in Warsaw (2minutes walk away from the main tourist-oriented thoroughfare, 15-20 minutes away from the Palace of Culture and Science and 10 minutes away from the Old Town). I would say I've stayed in better hostels in Western Europe where the facilities were more modern and the breakfast was more generous, but they were all large chain hostels in competitive cities like Berlin.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We are trying our best :)

100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at - quiet&civilized and yet warm&welcoming (witty little notes add to the general homely atmosphere) , safe and pleasant, with friendly and really helpful staff. It's in a quiet street but within walking distance from all major sights, plus well-connected with other parts of town in terms of public transport. The common room/dining room really is a great gathering spot for meeting new people. Absolute recommendation!


97%

wonderful, helpful staff. wouldn't hesitate going back. plenty of power outlets


86%

beautiful hostell


89%

We spent four nights at the Helvetia and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Reaching the hostel from the airport is very easy by bus. It takes 10-15 minutes of walking to reach the center of the old city. Nearby lots of good restaurants and clubs can be found. The bathrooms could be a bit more modern and clean, but the beds are very comfortable and the area is very quiet at night. I can definitely recommend staying at the Helvetia

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! We appreciate this! That's rights, actually, we don't have enoguh time to check all the places around the hostel that are being open right now. Next time you are in Warsaw, you have to visit the other side of Warsaw and sit on the beach and have a beer or play beach volleyball. All the best!

86%

Fermale- and male- only dorms would be welcome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment. There is actually one female dorm in our hostel ;-)

97%

great place, right by the university, easy access to train station - excellent staff, good basic breakfast with optional purchase of complete breakfast


94%

Very well located, a few minutes away from one of the main streets. The staff is helpful and friendly, making sure you have everything you need. There's a real backpacker-feel to this place, i'm sure that if we'd ask around, we'd had company even within the other guests. Our room was nothing much but it was ok. The bathrooms seem like a locker room, with 3 separated showers - it wasn't a problem though. The main entrance has even a password, that changes daily. I'd definetly return!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks and see you some day!The bathrooms maybe are not the biggest ones, but there is always another co-ed bathroom, if you are in a hurry. Stay calm and travel! :)

97%

around 30mins walk from CENTRAL RAILWAY STATION(of course you can take bus 175), but close to most of the main sights. Very cozy room and corridor, staff are also very nice, even though the breakfast starts at 7:30, they opened for me at 6 due to early leaving.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Have a nice day :)

100%

Staff at the Hostel Helvetia is extremely helpful. I arrived 5AM and they checked me in. The location is very central, 5-10 min walk from the main Old Town square, around the corner in a calm street. Showers are clean and tidy. Would recommend for other travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! See you some day :-)

77%

it's rather comfortable staying here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. Hope that you enjoyed Warsaw!

89%

Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast, staff are nice but seem to leave reception quiet a bit and their direction could be better. If your looking for a quiet place to get some sleep I would recommend staying be warned the wifi didn't work in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. We are working on wi-fi

100%

Perfect location, friendly and competent staff i just can recommend it.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers! Thanks :)

69%

Positive - The location was good, only a 15 minute walk from the old and new city center. Breakfast was toast, cereal and coffee but filling. Wifi worked great in the lobby. The place was clean. One of the hosts, Gregory, was fantastic! He was a great help, very funny and cute :) Negative - The wifi does not work in all the rooms. There is not much security inside the building and par consequence my shoes were stolen. Thankfully, because of Gregory, I didn't leave hating the place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the comment. We are sorry about the shoes. We have two safes in the hostel for guests's belongings, there is also a locker with a key to each bed in dormitory if you want to. The wi-fi is under repair already :)

83%

Price is reasonable. Security is good because they change the password every day. The kitchen is not very clean because there are really too many guests using the kitchen in the same time. Rooms are clean and tidy. Near to the main market square, within walking distance. The hostel is not in a main street, so the street is quiet at night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment!

94%

It's a good hostel. Large lockers, good beds. Any problems.


71%

Easy to get to, relatively close to Old Town. I got some great suggestions for restaurants and info about getting to and from Wilanow Palace. The showers are great, there's a lot of them, the water is hot, pressure is good, drains well. The combo kitchen and common room was a little awkward, and it always felt too chaotic to really meet anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the comment. We hope that our suggestions suited you best and that you had good time in Warsaw. It's hard to predict how many people meet at the common room at the same time and it depdends on the guests, whether they want to make new acquaintances or not. Cheers! :)

80%

the day we arrived it changed from a free breakfast to one you had to pay for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the comment. It was not like that. Basic free breakfast which was included in price is still included in price and it almost didn't change. We added a new service - now you can buy a bigger, upgraded version with orange juice and vegetables, so there was a misunderstanding. But anyway, hope to see you in Warsaw some day again! :)

(42 results)


View all Warsaw Hostels

Please give us your feedback