Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Hikers Den

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.8
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.8
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.9
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
16th Aug 2017
10.0

I can't fault this hostel at all. The staff were very friendly and very knowledgable towards hiking routes in the area. I imagine they know lots about cycling trails also, although we did not go out on bikes. The area in front of the hostel is always busy with people staying in the hostel waiting to chat with fellow hostellers, the atmosphere is great. YOu can drink and eat your own food in the front yard bit. Also, if it gets cold at night there is plenty of space indoors to carry on chatting.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2017
10.0

This is arguably my favourite hostel in the Balkans, it has everything needed for an unforgettable stay in Zabljak, the gateway to Durmitor NP. The owner, Alex, is helpful, kind and extremely knowledgeable about the park; every morning he sits everyone down to brief them on whatever hike/activity it is they're doing and ensures everyone is clued up and safe. The hostel is clean, homely and the common area is an excellent place to meet others and deliberate over the surrounding natural beauty!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Where to begin? Alex (who runs the hostel) defines this experience and shepherds travelers through elaborate hiking instructions and recommendations. His advice is key to having an amazing time in Žabljak, so take every recommendation he has. He is so great that when I had one night left in Žabljak, he totally had my back and set me up in a room at the hostel again even though he was fully booked. Only issue is no a/c. Eat @ Nostalgia and order the veal or lamb in sač for a lovely meal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
31st Jul 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels we've ever stayed at. Alex really wants to make sure that everyone enjoyes their stay here. It's very easy to meet people here and do hikes together. We stayed for six nights and could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
9.7

If you come to Montenegro and don't come here you will regret it. I stayed 5 nights and never got bored. Alex is the best owner / host I've ever experienced and gives awesome advice tailored to your skill and conditioning. Seriously, visit this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel that you'll hear about all over the balkans. Alex is great and his advice is pretty sound when it comes to hiking routes and driving. If you're an early riser and expecting other hikers to be so, you shouldn't. It's a hostel after all not a hiking club as I found out. My mistake. Good vibe though as most people aren't your usual drunkard. Things are pretty social so it can run lateish but in my short experience, not past midnight.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2017
9.4

A great home base to explore the area. We didn't spend enough time here, but Alex was very knowledgeable and helped us pick our hikes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

Hikers Den was one of the most special Hostels I've ever stayed at. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and had tons of amazing ideas for activities, and gave us an incredible amount of information to keep us safe. The picnic tables out front creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere which makes it really easy to make friends. 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
10.0

Hands down the best place we've stayed in Montenegro. Alex is an incredible host and Durmitor is beautiful. The vibe in the hostel was friendly and everyone was keen to get involved with the national park together. Loved every minute.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
9.4

We had a very nice stay in this hostel. The stuff was friendly and helpful. Alex was giving us tips on where to go hiking based on the weather and his personal experience. Definitely recommended as a base to hike the surrounding beauties of Durmitor National Park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.