X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Hutteldorf Reviews

Schlossberggasse 8, A-1130, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2155 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice and helpful staff. Close to metro station at central line! Amazing breakfast. Close to all attractions. CLEAN. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you liked our staff and our free brekfast. We also appreciate that you enjoyed our location. We deeply want to thank you for your review and we would be happy if we could see you again in future. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

94%

I guess one of the best hostel I stayed in my all Europe tour. Nice staff great ppl. Nice atmosphere free breakfast. You have to adjust a bit with shower n toilets but according to a hostel they are fine. Great value for money. Nice location.


89%

It takes a bit to reach the city centre but that's no further problem if you don't mind to spend some time in the metro. The rooms are all clean and there are big lockers which you can use with your own padlock (if you don't have one you can buy it at the reception). The breakfast was the best one I ever had in a hostel! And the staff was really friendly. Me and my friend, we arrived one night earlier as booked in the middle of the night and though were welcomed heartly and got a good room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We are really happy if you enjoyed our free breakfast so much. We want to thank you once more for your great review and we would be happy if we could welcome again in future. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

69%

Good place to stay! A little far away from everything but the subway is easy to figure out. Staff were friendly and helpful and free breakfast was awesome! No kitchen, only a microwave, which wasn't great. The rooms are not sound proof at all so as long as you have good neighbours you're ok!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We want to thank you for your review. We are sorry if you did not like our location that much. We are happy that you liked our staff and our free breakfast. Unfortunately we cannot influence the behaviour of all our guests. We hope you could find some rest and we would be happy if we could see you again in future. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

63%

Boring and far from the center of the city


37%

DO NOT STAY HERE! Far from the city- and the "hiking" that the hostel is near may be beautiful but not easy to find or to get to. It is a hassle to get to this hostel and the staff is not helpful and not friendly. The clientele was also a bit odd so if you are young and want to meet people- here is not the place for you. I moved hostels the second night because the location was so poor and the WiFi was out for the majority of the time I was there. I recommend staying at wombat instead=way better

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry if your stay was not as you expected it. We are not located within the city centre but we offer a huge garden for relaxation and to meet fellow travelers in summer. We are really sorry if you did not like your stay at our hostel. We are sorry if the WiFi did not work during your stay but we always improve WiFi problems as soon as we recognize them. We want to apologize once more and hope you still had a nice trip. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

74%

Free breakfast was amazing, directions to the hostel were easy to follow, cheap place to stay but not very close to city centre

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our breakfast and that you could easily find our hostel. We know that we are not situated within the city centre but we are in a green, secure and relaxed area of Vienna where you can relax in the garden after a long day in the city. We want to thank you for your review once more and we would be happy if we could welcome you again sometime. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

66%

Very organized and clean. The location was a bit remote..

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

A little out of the way, but if you have an unlimited Eurail pass you can rip into town within 5 mins on the above ground train. Overall decent place though with good wifi.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you could reach the city centre for free within such a short time. We are also happy that you liked our good WiFi. We are sorry if you were nto satisfied with our cleanliness and our facilities. We take your review serious and we'll take it in consideration in future. Hope to see you again sometime. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

46%

Except the quality of the reception, our two nights were a nightmare. There was a smell of pee in the corridor, the heat was unbearable, none of the bedside lamps were working,bed sheets weren't so "clean" ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We want to deeply apologize for your bad experiences during your stay at our hostel. Thanks to your review we can improve the quality of our services. We take your review very serious and we keep it in mind for future improvements. We want to apologize once more and we would be happy if we could welcome you again at our hostel and convince you from our engagement. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

77%

Everything you need. The staff and other guests were very friendly. There was quite a wide age-range of guests. The hostel is quite far from the centre but it's very easy to get the underground.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you were satsified with your stay at our hostel. Reviews like yours motivate us to further improve our services and offers. We want to thank you once more and we are looking forward to a reunion sometime. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

94%

It's an easy find once you know how to get there. Last stop on the U4 and then a short walk (there is a way around the massive hill). Only issue we had was arriving at midnight & having to make our beds by torchlight as people were sleeping. Nice atmosphere, you can keep to yourself or mingle with others depending on what you want to do. Due to travel arrangements we had to extend our stay by a night, in which the staff were more than accommodating! Can't complain with the free breakfast either!


77%

Nice hostel with a huge garden very appreciated after a long walking day in the city. Good organisation of the dorms, even though we were in a 20 beds dorm, we didn't feel we were this much !


66%

Our stay was overall a pleasant one. Staff were helpful but kept to themselves, rooms were a good size and had room for a table to play cards etc. and their garden/patio area was wonderful. The location is a bit out of the way; 4 S-Bahn stops from anything interesting but otherwise okay. One problem I would mention was the lack of AC or room fans. C'mon people, when it's 36 degrees out you need some sort of cooling system!


43%

This was the worst hostel I stayed in while travelling around Europe. It is not a place to stay if you are a single traveller that's for sure. There is no bar and the common area is always empty. The hostel is full of families and I stayed in a mixed room which is had good experiences of before hand but here I was put in a room with all men who were in at least their 50s and we smelly and when they turned up they were drunk. This shouldn't have happened when I am a lone traveller.


86%

Big hostel, so staff felt mostly invisible, which isn't necessarily bad, but they didn't make me feel all that welcome when I arrived. They were still decent enough though. Just expect a hostel where groups mostly stick to themselves, but the free breakfast was really great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We want to thank you for your review. We take it very serious that you did not feel welcome at our hostel and we really want to apologize. We are happy that you overall liked your stay at our hostel. We would be really happy if we could welcome you again at our hostel and convince you from our engagement in future. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

91%

Good hostel, nothing to fault.


80%

Lovely out of the way hostel and nice to be able to spend some time on the green grass and amongst the park like setting. Had two very noisy room mates who arrived at 1130 and stayed up until 1.30am making a racket. Not the hostels fault but unpleasant. Very hot in the room with no AC but was able to leave a window open

Owner Comment (Hide)
We want to thank you for your review. We are really happy that you liked our setting within the green surroundings. We hope you could still find some rest and we are sorry about your room mates. We want to thank you once more and we hope to see you again sometime. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

94%

It may seem out of the way, but it is a very short walk to the station. You wont need to buy a train ticket as no one checks, so its a free ride to the city. Do not disregard because of the location


66%

It good, cheap, but really far away. And there's no kitchen (only microwave) for a place so far from the city center and close to a park. Train was easy enough to take into town. A lot of kids were there when I was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry if we could not fulfill your expectations. We are not in the city centre but as you mentioned you can go pretty easy to the city centre and thanks to our location it is calm, relaxed and very safe. We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we would be happy if we could see you again in future. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback