X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Hutteldorf Reviews

Schlossberggasse 8, A-1130, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2013 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 63%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good. Short walk to the metro. But i booked 6 bed dorm, but i was put in a tiny 4 bed dorm with one plug. The room was not in the main building, it was in a smaller building on the side and inside it smelled like toilet. No soap or a towell.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Soap and hand towels in the bathroom would have been appreciated! Otherwise, great.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really want to thank you for your review und we are happy that you liked your stay at our hostel. We take your feedback into consideration. We are happy that you were satisfied with our hostel and we are looking to a reunion sometime.

83%

The bathrooms are a bit awkward with the sinks not near the toilets, but other than that it was nice. We had problems with our roommates but that wasn't the hostel's fault. Our laptops were stolen from the room and the hostel did not have any cameras in the lobby to see who stole them.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked your stay at our hostel. We are really sorry about the theft. We are trying to solve the problem at the moment so we can find a satisfiying solution for your issue. However we would be happy if you would choose our hostel again during your next visit in VIenna. Your Hostel Hütteldorf Team

83%

Good free breakfast, staff are helpful and cheerful. can get Vienna cards there. Rooms are clean. Large hostel so seems ideal for large groups like schools, so depends if you want that. Weird there's no sink in the men's bathroom to wash hands on 1st floor. Meaning you're opening a minimum of 3 doors with unwashed hands before washing them.


86%

Perfectly fine if you're happy being in the bigger type of hostel with a few large groups staying and if you don't mind being at the end of a metro line. It's actually very mice being in the outskirts of Vienna and in a green, quiet area. The staff were pleasant and helpful and Vienna's great!


91%

Bit out of town but on metro line at end of it, short walk uo hill to it. Great breakfast, social seen not very big due to lots of groups book in there, but in our dorm we made our own social thing and games. Vienna not realy a social town anyway, reminder stores mostly closed Sunday so, down town to get snacks have few at hostel and offer a lunch or dinner extra..!


89%

Great in general!

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The Hostel is really good, and while the location is a bit away from the centre of Vienna, the local UBann is very close and quite cheap to get into the city. About the only problem I had was the dinner which was served for 8euro. The chef was not happy at guests arriving 15 mins late and was very nearly not going to serve the food. Having paid for the dinner that surprised me, and since I had a long day having the attitude wasn't really what I needed. It was a great Hostel otherwise.


77%

The Hostel is clean & beds are comfortable. Staff is ok but not always very friendly. The major issue is the lack of a kitchen to cook something, as only a fridge is available. The padlocks for lockers are not available and can be bought at the reception for 5 euro, which is a bit disappointing. Overall good value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really want to thank you for your review. Due to reviews like yours we can improve our services. We are happy that you liked our rooms however we are sorry if you were not satisfied with our staff. As mentioned in our description on hostelworld we offer our guests a small kitchenette with a fridge and a microwave however we do not have a fully equipped kitchen. We are sorry if we couldn't meet all your expectations but we would be happy if we could see you again in future.

94%

Nice hostel, a little out of the way (end of the line actualy) great secure storage. Good breakfast. Plenty of advice on what to do.


100%

Very nice hostel with all facilities. Its big quiet place with parking lot. The place is more convenient for people travelling in Car

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy that you liked your stay at our hostel. We are happy that you liked our facilities and you could enjoy our free parking lot. We are happy that you were satisfied with our hostel and we are looking to a reunion sometime.

63%

breakfast included is always fun but its a little out in the sticks


80%

Clean and quiet hostel on the outskirts of the city, staff were pleasant. Near to excellent hiking, close to the metro. The town definitely shuts down in the evening.


51%

Hutteldorf is far. Yes, it's close to the metro, yes you can get back and forth pretty easily, but the fact is you're not going to be making multiple trips, you'll go out, you'll come back and you'll probably stay back. Which sucks because Hutteldorf is totally antisocial. That includes the staff. Nobody's hanging out, nobody seems to particularly be enjoying themselves. It's a nice, clean place, but if you want to enjoy the city and be social, go somewhere else.


69%

Very close to tram. Safe walk even at night. No paper towel or soap in bathrooms on the room floors?? Bathrooms were not very clean, made you stay out for cleaning times too long. Otherwise staff very helpful and nice. Average hostel experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your inconvenience. Of course we normally offer paper towels on the room floors. We will bring your review forward to our housekeeping team. We hope that we could see you again in future.

77%

Very close to a train/U-Bahn station, but on the outskirts of the city - good combination. Pleasant rooms. I was only missing handsoap for washing the hands after the toilet...

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really want to thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our location and our rooms. We will keep you critisism in mind. We would love to see you again at our hostel.

97%

The staff is SUPER friendly, the hostel is VERY close to the metro station (although it's a bit far from the city center), the view is AMAZING, the quiet and calm are great, and the breakfast is really good (taking into consideration the price you pay for staying at the hostel)! The only thing that surprised us was to have a bathroom but no toilet in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you liked our hostel. Reviews like yours motivate us to further improve our services. We are sorry if there was a missunderstanding about our rooms. We do not offer rooms with a private toilet.

94%

all the facilities including breakfast are fine but internet connection was really terrible, should sit next to the window and look for a proper angle to get connected .


86%

Very large hostel that almost feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Everything is very modern and well kept. Staff is good and does their job, but they won't go the extra mile like some other hostels. Location is far from the center, but metro connections is very easy. Good hostel for families, but not so much for solo travellers looking to meet people.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I don`t have anthing to really complain about and I must say that I find it pretty unfair when people whine here about the location , because the advertisement makes it very clear that the hostel is not to find within the inner city. A lil minus though for the very small and darkish room, but it definitely fullfilled its purpose. A HUGE plus for the staff, because they are very helpful and nice & from second one on we felt very welcome. The price/performance ratio is absolutely nice for Vienna.


(63 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback