X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Irena Reviews

Od Gaja 36, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

When we arrived at the bus station, the owner was there to pick us to the hostel and he brought us at the airport at the end of us journey. We have well welcomed . Clean, a little bit far from the old town, but bus stop very close and 30 min by walk. . Kitchen is well equipped and a supermarket there is very close to the hostel.


89%

When we arrived at the bus station, the owner was there to pick us to the hostel at 2 am. He was very atencious and helped us and the other guests a lot. Clean, a little bit far from the old town, but the bus stop its very close and by walking it's 20 min. I guess the most of the hostels in dubrovnik are far from the beach. Good kitchen to use and a supermarket very close to the hostel.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

When we arrived the staff couldn't speak English, but we got to understand each other. Later there was someone who could and made things easier. So many stairs to get there, and it's a bit far away from the old town. But they let us even take a shower after our check out, and they kept our bags, because the city is SO hot!


86%

Really nice hostel, the outdoor terrace was beautiful and has the best veiw over dubrovnik and the port. A little far from the old town and the bus station but a great place to chill out. Owners were really nice, offering welcome drinks and their home made liquour to try.


100%

The family-run hostel cares about their guests and often sit and chat with them. The cleanliness conditions are superb and from the hostel its an easy 20-30 min walk downhill to Dubrovnik city center down mostly pedestrian-only passages.


71%

Not bad, a little bit hard to find... Nice owners and nice room, but when I opened the window it smelled like garbage outside.... The bed was confortable.

  • 8th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Rooms were clean, we even had a balcony with a lovely view about Dubrovnik. There were enough bathrooms and the kitchen was sufficiently equipped. It was quite a walk from the bus station and from the old town, approximately half an hour with some steps as well, but it was manageable. It is not a good place to meet fellow travellers though, as the atmosphere was rather private. The owner was really nice.


86%

Guesthouse / hostel with amazing view of Dubrovnik. 20 min walk from the old city. Very nice owners, very welcoming. Very good value for money. Recommendable!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Not a hostel. This was a family run inn type place. They family was nice but didn't give us much information about the place. There was no one else staying there while we were there. It was good for a place to sleep and that's it, and we used the kitchen but it wasn't what we expected at all.


86%

Hi, good owner and helpful. Thanks for all.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff is very friendly, it is a little far to old town 30 min walking


83%

Very good staff, we will come again.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very Nice family that runs it. Its about 15-20 min walk to old town. as long as you dont mind a litle walk its fine. Annoying if you're out at night and you want to get home in a hurry.


86%

the rooms are nice, there are two bathrooms, so usually no lines to use them. There is a kitchen with the basic things you need to cook. There are no aircons, but it was fine as there were fans. Sadly, the washing machine didnt work. You feel very welcome there by the family that runs the place. The view from the rooms and balcony are amazing ane i would definately recommend staying here :)

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

No A/C. Beautiful place though. Our rooms had balconies overlooking the city. Location was a little ways from Old Town. Easy to walk down and then take cab back for affordable price. Family seemed to be in the lower level and rooms upper level. Unsure how strong their English was, we had a Croatian/American traveling with us. Very helpful though! Offered us rides to Old Town. Would stay again!


34%

We arrived at hostel Irena to be told we were being taken to an over flow hostel nearby. The location of the other hostel was slightly better than the original hostel irena which was way out of the town but it still wasn't great. The man at the hostel spoke little to no English and the room didn't have even basic facilities such as a bin and was very grubby. For nearly 40 euro we had to share a dirty bathroom and tiny equally dirty kitchenette. It would have been ok for 10 euro a night.


77%

Beautiful, perfect everything! Knew it was too good to be true! Checked in on one of the last cool days of spring. Certain critters shut down metabolisms and hide in cold. On evening 2 the room warmed up! After taking a nap in evening woke up, turned on lights and realized I was sleeping with dozens of beg bugs! Owner didn't know what they were. Wouldn't refund all my money for the night. Had to sleep on the streets because hotels were closed. The eggs are laid, it's the bed bug's home now!!

  • 25th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


50%

The room was small and not clean (there were lot of dust). The kitchen and the bathroom were dirty (horrible!). We told to the family who didn't care. The hostel is difficult to find (lot of upstairs). I don't recommend this hostel and I will never go. If you didn't go to Dubrovnik july and august, I advice you to find a room when you will be on the city. There are a lot of advertisement. Enjoy, negociate!!

  • 14th Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


70%

Distance from Old Town and beaches is inconvenient for a short stay in hot weather, as the walk can be exhausting and busses a little unreliable if you want to make the most of the time. However, the family whose house the apartment is attached to were friendly and helpful, and the rooms pleasant- kitchen and two showers also very useful. If you're lucky enough to have a room with a balcony, the beautiful, panoramic view of Dubrovnik is well worth the slightly awkward location.


67%

The staff was nice enough to help us driving to that place, which was just impossible to find. The room was not very clean, and very hard to cool down (no air-con); the kitchen not very well equipped. The beds were doing a lot of noise that woke us up during the night. Otherwise very nice vue on Dubrovnik for the breakfast.

  • 3rd Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback