X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Irena Reviews

Od Gaja 36, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
33 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Not a hostel. This was a family run inn type place. They family was nice but didn't give us much information about the place. There was no one else staying there while we were there. It was good for a place to sleep and that's it, and we used the kitchen but it wasn't what we expected at all.


86%

Hi, good owner and helpful. Thanks for all.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff is very friendly, it is a little far to old town 30 min walking

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Very good staff, we will come again.

  • 24th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very Nice family that runs it. Its about 15-20 min walk to old town. as long as you dont mind a litle walk its fine. Annoying if you're out at night and you want to get home in a hurry.


86%

the rooms are nice, there are two bathrooms, so usually no lines to use them. There is a kitchen with the basic things you need to cook. There are no aircons, but it was fine as there were fans. Sadly, the washing machine didnt work. You feel very welcome there by the family that runs the place. The view from the rooms and balcony are amazing ane i would definately recommend staying here :)

  • 9th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

No A/C. Beautiful place though. Our rooms had balconies overlooking the city. Location was a little ways from Old Town. Easy to walk down and then take cab back for affordable price. Family seemed to be in the lower level and rooms upper level. Unsure how strong their English was, we had a Croatian/American traveling with us. Very helpful though! Offered us rides to Old Town. Would stay again!


34%

We arrived at hostel Irena to be told we were being taken to an over flow hostel nearby. The location of the other hostel was slightly better than the original hostel irena which was way out of the town but it still wasn't great. The man at the hostel spoke little to no English and the room didn't have even basic facilities such as a bin and was very grubby. For nearly 40 euro we had to share a dirty bathroom and tiny equally dirty kitchenette. It would have been ok for 10 euro a night.


77%

Beautiful, perfect everything! Knew it was too good to be true! Checked in on one of the last cool days of spring. Certain critters shut down metabolisms and hide in cold. On evening 2 the room warmed up! After taking a nap in evening woke up, turned on lights and realized I was sleeping with dozens of beg bugs! Owner didn't know what they were. Wouldn't refund all my money for the night. Had to sleep on the streets because hotels were closed. The eggs are laid, it's the bed bug's home now!!

  • 25th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


50%

The room was small and not clean (there were lot of dust). The kitchen and the bathroom were dirty (horrible!). We told to the family who didn't care. The hostel is difficult to find (lot of upstairs). I don't recommend this hostel and I will never go. If you didn't go to Dubrovnik july and august, I advice you to find a room when you will be on the city. There are a lot of advertisement. Enjoy, negociate!!

  • 14th Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


70%

Distance from Old Town and beaches is inconvenient for a short stay in hot weather, as the walk can be exhausting and busses a little unreliable if you want to make the most of the time. However, the family whose house the apartment is attached to were friendly and helpful, and the rooms pleasant- kitchen and two showers also very useful. If you're lucky enough to have a room with a balcony, the beautiful, panoramic view of Dubrovnik is well worth the slightly awkward location.


67%

The staff was nice enough to help us driving to that place, which was just impossible to find. The room was not very clean, and very hard to cool down (no air-con); the kitchen not very well equipped. The beds were doing a lot of noise that woke us up during the night. Otherwise very nice vue on Dubrovnik for the breakfast.

  • 3rd Sep 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


87%

Hostel Irena offered just what we needed for our trip. The family were most accommodating and helpful throughout our stay yet left us to enjoy the days as we wished. The place was very clean and homely with perfect bathroom and kitchen facilities for a short stay. They are blessed with beautiful views over Gruz harbour. The rooms were reasonably priced and if we were to return to Dubrovnik we would certainly stay there again.

  • 11th Aug 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

“I found this hostel to be in a great location. A plesant walk to old town 20-30mins through a nice lanes and flowered steps. Bus close by if yoand excellent for the bus station a 10 min walk. Great pizza place close by and small supermarket. Some balconys have views to die for


97%

Very relaxing environment. With wifi as well. We were at the main bus terminal to take a bus to Dubrovnik and my friend suddenly realised that he had left his bag in the hostel. Since the bus was about to depart we had no time to return. We called the hostel owner and the kind man drove to the bus station with my friend's bag.


67%

Very nice little hostel. If you are looking for a quiet time then this is the hostel to go to. Staff are helpful and friendly!


50%

It's a guesthouse, not a hostel. The family are nice, but not particularly helpful. They charge for a lift to the station, and told us there was no wifi - though the owner was clearly online while talking to us! There was a sign on the washing machine saying it was broken - though it worked fine for the cleaning lady. It's a good location and our room had an amazing view. The room was big but cluttered with old unnecessary furniture. The bathroom was old and not clean. Wouldn't stay again.


53%

Really steep walk up to the hostel, was in an average area, pretty relaxed owners but charged us for driving to the station at the end of our stay which people normally do for free. Average stay.


83%

friendly family run, i think they should rename it a guest house then hostel as its quite small but very nice clean and great value for money, great for people wanting a quiet place to relax and sleep


87%

Beautiful relaxed place to stay with a wonderful view and a nice family running the hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback