X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Ka'beh Cancun Reviews

Alcatraces 45 SM. 22 Mza. 10 L. 26, Retorno 5, Cancun, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
638 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The staff makes this place an exceptional place to stay...very friendly and knowledgable!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Ka'beh is a good hostel to stay at. Awesome hammocks, took so good naps in them :D All breakfast options I tried were great. Evening activities like guacamole night were super nice! Only thing I didn't like, was how they were denigrating my next hostel, just because it wasn't the one they cooperate with, and urged me to stay one more night to go to this extremely expensive party. Also they were a bit pushing with these tours they're selling. But all in all, I would recommend this place!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Been trawling for 4 months and its been the absolute best hostel I had ever been too! Great staff, activities every night, cable tv (for those traveling for a long time), amazing book exchange, great common area, clean, jobs tell cannot say enough good things about it! Stay here for sure!


74%

Nice hostel and would even be quite great if it was not for the extreamly strange smell! A lot of reviews mention this but it is true there is a strange smell. They clean the toilets and everything very often but a quite small kitchen and I would enjoy some fruits for breakfast. The 6 person dorm is ok, the aircon works great. Would enjoy some comfortable places to sit, because the hammocks that are the only option not hurting your bum are often occupied. Very good location, close to ADO.


100%

first ...the staff are amazing!!!! the hostel and the rooms are really really good! amazing atmosphere and peoples, free kitchen. the staff knows everything about cancun and the area and helps in everything...! we came here for the second time and we will come back for sure... :)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

shower pressure is very little - hard to wash your body and hair no hot water in the front shower be aware they have nice breakfast - but you might have to ask because it's not so clear by itself

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! Thanks for the review! Since you left, we have fixed the water pressure and the hot water, even though we DO NOT advertise *having* hot water. We don't quite understand why anyone would want to shower with hot water when the average daily temperature in Cancun is 30ºC, but it is now available and working well for those who want it. Thanks for the breakfast tip! - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

100%

a nice hostel feels like home great breakfast and the staff is awsome!!

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My stay at Hostel Ka'beh was great, the staff are full of local knowledge they helped myself with anything you put their way. On a day chilling around the hostel I noticed the place was cleaned top to bottom 2-3 times a day, they organised events for us such as pot international luck dinners, tours to pick you up from the door step of the hostel & a good night out to the Cancun night life, book yourself in here!


100%

The best of the best!! this place truly is my second home, miss u Cris, and i will miss David if he just stop to be so annoying XD


97%

Nothing ever made me feel uncomfortable here. It was a fun and safe place to meet many new people

  • 7th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This is definitely a "party" hostel. If my intent for the stay was to party, this hostel would be perfect. Even though I didn't really have to wait for a washroom, but there should be more washrooms for 20 people. Also, there should be some type of locks for the dorm rooms so that not everyone can enter the room (especially during the middle of the night).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are a tiny 20-bed Hostel with only three dorms and 24-hour reception/security. We know who comes in and out at all times, and the entire Hostel is 'common area'. We have yet to see a reason or a need for keys to dorms where everyone generally shares their space. Private rooms do have their own keys of course! Regarding toilets: we now have an additional washroom, even though it wasn't absolutely necessary. Thank you! - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

66%

It was smelly in my dorm and the matress was bad! Air con was working not every night! Only one bathroom for all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I do apologize for your experience, but you are mistaken on a few things though. We have 3 bathrooms now, not 1... and the AC works perfectly. Sometimes it's too cold, sometimes it's too hot, and while we're desperately trying to develop our psychic abilities, we can't yet know what people are thinking until they tell us... so if you do have a problem with something in the future, *please* tell us so we can do something about it. Thank you! - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

69%

Yeah dunno about this one, I read to expect hostels in Mexico to be pretty average, but since staying at the yak in playa del carmen my sympathy for this place has been lost, the staff are nice, location and atmosphere are good but the facilities are well below average, 2 bathrooms for a hostel that accommodates almost 20 people, seriously? Game over if you get an upset stomach! The shower feels like someone is peeing on you but cold.the place smells pretty strong of something not too pleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello!... I'm sorry for your sub-par experience. We are working on the toilet situation, so that shouldn't be a problem anymore. Regarding your incredible example of a lack of water pressure: Even though we do use water-saving shower heads, generally the pressure is still very good. If it isn't, please let us know so we can fix it. The smell you mention is humidity, and while we are in the tropics, it is something we're working on eradicating. - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

77%

in the room for 6 persons, the air ventilation is very bad because there is practically no window. Because of that there is not entering fresh air and its not possible to sleep there because of the bad smell as well. I hope the hostel will find a solution for this problem.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are definitely working on it. Thank you for your stay and support! - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

100%

The best hostel ever !

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely loved this place, will go back if I ever make it back to Cancún.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

This is an OK hostel, nothing amazing, don't be fooled by all the 100% reviews they are asking people to do that. The rooms smell there is no doubt about that, saw the cat on someone's bed one day which isn't something that I'd be happy about. It is a party hostel so for that vibe you will enjoy yourself, think the nights they offer out are over priced can get much better prices on the doors of the club. Have been to a lot of hostels and seen a lot of party hostels that are better

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Our staff is instructed to ask clients to leave us a review, never a specific rating. We have reminded them that this is unacceptable, and clearly a bad idea. I apologize for the incident. Our rates for clubs are exactly the same as the clubs, which as far as we know, aren't negotiable. The smell is humidity, which is normal in Cancun, and lastly: our Hostel IS pet friendly, we try to remove the cat from the rooms at all times, but she's got a mind of her own! - David @Hostel Ka'beh

100%

Staff were so helpful and friendly. Never too busy in the kitchen or bathrooms and the pressure was upgraded for the showers while we were there and is now excellent!!


57%

Dorms are too big and have a really bad smell. The water stream in the shower is ridiculously weak and there is no hot water at all. I couldn't take a shower at that place. I spent one day and got away. Good thing to be said, the staff is really nice and accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! I apologize for your experience... but our dorm sizes are exactly as you booked them, there are no more beds than advertised. The shower pressure has been fixed, as has the hot water (though we do NOT advertise having hot water), and the smell was humidity, which we seem to have eradicated as well. Thank you! - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

91%

All Mexican hostels are a bit on the dive side. This one is no exception. However, between the staff and atmosphere and location it is a good place. It is an excellent value for the money. The only thing truly annoying is the shower. The water comes out in one SMALL stream, slowly. The shower issue is easy to get around. Shower at the beach.

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • loren_gillings768324
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for the glowing comments! I just wanted to note that while we do use water-saving shower heads, we have fixed the water pressure issue. Thanks again for your stay. - David Uribe - Hostel Ka'beh

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Cancun Hostels

Please give us your feedback