X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Komatsu Ueno Station Reviews

7-2-21Ueno Taito-Ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
95 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
49%

DONT stay here. We have stayed in Nepal, India and a lot of sess pits in Asia, this one was the worst. The shared bathrooms are absolutely filthy, it's like the bathroom out of the movie SAW. The rooms are very old, dirty marks on the walls and it smells like a nursing home with cigarette smoke. The two old ladies that run it were LOVELY but I don't think they are fit enough to run this hostel anymore. Book a night to see if you don't believe me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. We are very sorry for making you unhappy from our Cleanliness is too bad. WE will try to clean up our bathroom and toilet more. Best Regarads

49%

Ok, it nice location just few meniute walk to the stations and close to shopping street. But CLEANLINESS = TERRIBLE escpecially bathroom & toilet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. And Thank you for writing that it nice location just few meniutes walk to the stations and close to shopping street. We are very sorry for makeing you unhappy from our Cleanliness is Terrible. WE will try to clean up our bathroom and toilet more. Best Regards.

74%

Staff cant speak english, but still try to communicate and help you out! Really friendly. Rooms were clean and comfy, just dont be picky about the shared bath and washrooms.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feel that you think our staff (Obasan) is friendly. Thank you for writing that our room is clean and comfy. We try to make clean shared bath room and washrooms more. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

63%

Kind staff, small chalk boards on the front window say "Welcome " with your country's flag (made it easy to find), when me & my brother arrived they gave us tea to welcome. The man running it is funny. However at times only the elderly cleaner (without English) was there. The room was very cold even with the heater running (more insulation on the floor may help?). Bad smell in the bathroom, and common shower area may be off-putting for some. Really good location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you that Welcome bard with flag. We try to make clean bathroom more. We are very sorry that make you cold in your room. Thank you for your frank reviewing. Best Regards.

57%

rooms smell bad. The bathroom smells very bad and look dirty. Air ventilation is very poor

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that make you unhappy. We try to clean up the bathroom more. We try to rapier a ventilation. We felt sorry truly. Thank you for your flank review.

51%

In a pinch, good for one night. Bit of a haunted feeling. Not clean. Found bugs in the futons. Bring a sleeping bag liner. Great staff and location however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that make you feel haunted. Although a true thing is said and pest control is carried out once in 4 weeks, pest control cannot be carried out still very much perfectly. But it is no excuse. We felt sorry truly. Thank you that our staff and location are great.

74%

A/C was a little weak but I think that had more to do with outside temperatures. Also weird time restrictions on use of shower, only available 7-9am and then again from 6-11.30pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . We will fix the air-conditioner. We try to make the time which can use a shower longer. Thank you for your frank reviewing. Best Regards.

91%

Very nice hostel, easy to find and located in a superb location near Ueno, minutes walk from okachimachi, asakusa, and akihabara. The host are friendly especially the obasan which waited for us at 1-2 am. Even though they can't speak English well they tried their best to help us

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel for many days. Thank you for reviewing that our location is really close to Ueno Station, and Okachimachi, Asakusa and Akihabara. Thank you that you think our staff (Obasan) is friendly. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

57%

Dirty, sweaty and old hostel. The former public bathroom in the basement, only accisible with the elevator, reminded me of the one in the movie Saw. Dark, humid and creepy! But the location is perfect and the old no-English speaking staff is very kind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. We are very sorry for makeing you unhappy. Thank you that our location is perfect and the old no-English speaking staff is very kind. WE will try to clean up our bathroom more. Best Regards.

69%

I like a friendly atmosphere, like go visiting and staying at my auntie's house. They took a good care for us. Good point is, the hostel's owners have no need to speak English because there are enough English information papers show around the hostel. However, it was a bit rough when taking a bath. And our room wasn't clean enough, there is some dust in a futon and I got itched because of that.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

It was a good stay. Very good location with 24/7 mart just outside and close to the big Ueno station. Staff was nice, though they did not speak english. Not supreme freshness or biggest room, but it's at a low price and it's a hostel, it is what it is. All over no complains, I got my money worth.

  • 26th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for reviewing that our location is really close to Ueno Station and the 24/7 mart Thank you that you think our staff is nice Thank you for your frank reviewing. Best Regards.

40%

I've stayed in many "rat-holes" in Asia, this could very well be my worst experience ever. Worst was the stench of cigarettes. Me and my friend didn't take a shower during the three days we stayed there, because it felt cleaner not to take a shower than having to get naked in the so-called shower. Poor value for money in comparison with other options The close proximity to Ueno-station is great though. When I go back to Tokyo I will choose a more interesting area than Ueno to stay in though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for your frank Review. We checked our showre. It was warking . And, our hostel is not No-smoking hostel. But, we are very sorry for makeing you unhappy. WE will try to clean up our hostel more. Please don't dislike Ueno area. Best Regards.

91%

Very nice Hostel! I is realy cheap and really close to Uenostation, which has grat access within Tokyo. The staff is also really nice and helpful. If you have any complaints they will give their best to help you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel for many day. Thank you for reviewing that our location is really close to Ueno Station. Thank you that you think our staff is nice helpful. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for yourA heart-warming review. Best Regards.

49%

the location is very good, the staff doesn't speak English except for some words but they are nice and we got by. The shower in the basement is a Japanese Onsen but really really old and you can't lock the door. the basement is quite scary, not too clean and ... well, interesting experience and u should feel adventurous

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is very good. Thank you that you think our staff is nice. We are very sorry that we made you unhappy about the basement shower which can't lock the door. Thank you for your frank Review. Best Regards.

60%

Excellent location and the staff were friendly but spoke no English so bare that in mind if you stay here. The facilities were all of an adequate nature the main problem was you could be waiting for the shower facilities as their woman's shower room was closed so there was just the one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is Excellent. Thank you that you think our staff is friendly. We are very sorry that we made you unhappy about woman's shower is just one. Thank you for your frank Review. Best Regards.

77%

Hostel komatsu is very convenient that really near from the Ueno station,it takes 3 minuts to the pratform of the station from the room of the hotel. So you can go every where anytime. Hotels staff understand English litle however they are very friendly so there is nothing eny problem!

  • 5th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is good. Thank you that our staff is very friendly. We try to understan English little more. Thank you for your hear warm review. Best Regards.

51%

Come to this hostel if you are on a tight budget. Location is unbelievable, but beware of tthe the shower room, which has no lights, hot water, and friendly beetles. The rooms are quite dingy and sad, but oddly, I enjoyed my stay. The staff will mount a little chalkboard to the entryway with your name and country flag, which is kinda neat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is unbelevable. Thank you for reviewing about our hostel in frank. We are planing to clean up our showre room better. Best Regards.

60%

It would be nicer if it was non-smoking. Floors could be cleaner. The female-bath was out of order. It's quite worn-down. However, very close to Ueno staion which is important if you have to leave early for the airport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is good. Thank you for reviewing about our hostel in frank. Best Regards.

77%

For sleeping *one* night before taking keisei-line to Narita It's okay. I don't know for the women, but the gents were referred to the public shower/onsen, and is by any standard a nasty and disgusting place to be. Moulding in the walls and floors, and mirrors that are so dirty you can barely identify it as a mirror, proving that they do not clean regularily. I did not shower. The room is otherwise okay. Sorry about being so harsh, but if they clean up for the next guests, let us know.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is good. We will try to clean up our public shower and mirrors more. Thank you for reviewing about our hostel in frank. Best Regards.

89%

This hostel was in a great location - a few minutes walk from Ueno Station and within easy access to convenience stores and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and friendly. While there were no extra amenities, the room and facilities were clean and comfortable. Yes, this was a hostel with a small room and shared bathroom facilities, but I was very happy that I stayed here. For the price I paid, it was a good value and the location was fantastic.

  • 7th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. Thank you for reviewing that our location is good. Thank you for reviewing about our hostel in frank. Best Regards.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback