X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Komatsu Ueno Station Reviews

7-2-21Ueno Taito-Ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
111 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 52%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

This is not my first time that I stayed at this hostel. The toilets really need to be cleaned. They smell very bad, you have to hold your breath if you want to use them. I had to use the toilets at the JR station every day before I went back to the hostel. I stayed here for 5 nights and was given only one small towel for the whole period.


57%

I don't reccommend staying here on Friday-Saturday-Sunday night because this area will be very noisy from the drunk and garbage pickups. You will have trouble getting sleep. Also, the toilets really need to be cleaned. Otherwise this hostel is in a good location, very convenient for getting around.


80%

The staff were incredible!!!!! We experienced gracious hospitality everywhere we traveled in Japan, but these hosts were above and beyond! It is also incredibly convenient to Ueno station, which is a major station to get just about anywhere in Tokyo and beyond.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feeling that our staff were incredible. And,our location is incredibly convenient to Ueno Staiton. Your review make our old women and man very happy. Thank you very much. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

71%

A little bit small but still comfy good location

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you that our location is good. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Best Regards.

49%

The building interior needs a thorough painting and general upgrades. While it seems to be clean enough, the dinginess of the walls throughout made it feel dirty. Location feels unsafe, but is very convenient to the train station that links directly to the airport in 36 minutes, so that was an upside. I was traveling with my 15 year old niece and was not willing to leave her in the room alone.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feel that you think our location is very convenient from airport. Thank you for your a frankly reiew. We try to make up clean more as possible as we can. Best Regerd

69%

The hotel stay throughout was good. The location of the hostel was a little hard to find initially, and the signage was small as well. The hostel stay location, however, was a little noisy at night as people are drunk and making a lot of noises. Noises from neighbour was also quite clear. Although it was a no smoking hostel, however, cigarette smell can also be detected quite a number of time. Other than that, the overall stay was good without any bad memories. Thank you.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for staying in our hostl at this time. Thank you for write that the overall staly was good without any bad memories. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

54%

Great location. Not well sign posted. Quite dirty and damp. Expensive for what u get. Rooms were cold. Shower is Japan style- first night in Tokyo having a shower next to a naked Japanese woman. Straight into the traditional with a shock. Good job I'm not prude!!! I'm normally easily satisfied and travel a lot but I doildnt recommend this place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. We are very sorry for making you unhappy from our Cleanliness is too bad. Thank you for your lankly review. We try to make our hostel more clean. Anyway we are very sorry that we make you bad feeling. Best Regarads

77%

Awesome location, great price, decent rooms. The old lady in charge of the place is super sweet, but speaks 0 English. She always seems to be awake. However, the toilets are co-ed and the showers are old and only open early in the morning or from 7-12 midnight. If that doesn't bother you, than it's a fantastic place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank for staying in our hostl at this time. Thank you for feel that the old lady in charge of the place is super sweet. Thank you for writing that awesome location, great price, decent rooms. We try to make clean shared bath room and washrooms more. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

staff is very kind~! and the location is so good. caz it is located near Ueno station!!

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feeling that our staff is very kind and the location is so gogo. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

89%

We had an excellent stay here. The staff was so helpful and kind even with the language barrier. The whole facility was very traditional with tatami mats and futons in the rooms and a communal bath area. Some people said that it was dirty but to me it appeared to be just a bit rundown. Plus they provided green tea and hot water in the rooms! I definitely reccomend staying here. It is a great value and is so close to the train station.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feel that our hostel is close from train staion and staff is helpful and kind. As you know our staffy are very old But they are study English little by little.(Before they could not understand at all.) We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. It make our staffes very very happy. Best Regards

49%

DONT stay here. We have stayed in Nepal, India and a lot of sess pits in Asia, this one was the worst. The shared bathrooms are absolutely filthy, it's like the bathroom out of the movie SAW. The rooms are very old, dirty marks on the walls and it smells like a nursing home with cigarette smoke. The two old ladies that run it were LOVELY but I don't think they are fit enough to run this hostel anymore. Book a night to see if you don't believe me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. We are very sorry for making you unhappy from our Cleanliness is too bad. WE will try to clean up our bathroom and toilet more. Best Regarads

49%

Ok, it nice location just few meniute walk to the stations and close to shopping street. But CLEANLINESS = TERRIBLE escpecially bathroom & toilet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. And Thank you for writing that it nice location just few meniutes walk to the stations and close to shopping street. We are very sorry for makeing you unhappy from our Cleanliness is Terrible. WE will try to clean up our bathroom and toilet more. Best Regards.

74%

Staff cant speak english, but still try to communicate and help you out! Really friendly. Rooms were clean and comfy, just dont be picky about the shared bath and washrooms.

  • 14th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you for feel that you think our staff (Obasan) is friendly. Thank you for writing that our room is clean and comfy. We try to make clean shared bath room and washrooms more. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

63%

Kind staff, small chalk boards on the front window say "Welcome " with your country's flag (made it easy to find), when me & my brother arrived they gave us tea to welcome. The man running it is funny. However at times only the elderly cleaner (without English) was there. The room was very cold even with the heater running (more insulation on the floor may help?). Bad smell in the bathroom, and common shower area may be off-putting for some. Really good location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . Thank you that Welcome bard with flag. We try to make clean bathroom more. We are very sorry that make you cold in your room. Thank you for your frank reviewing. Best Regards.

57%

rooms smell bad. The bathroom smells very bad and look dirty. Air ventilation is very poor

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that make you unhappy. We try to clean up the bathroom more. We try to rapier a ventilation. We felt sorry truly. Thank you for your flank review.

51%

In a pinch, good for one night. Bit of a haunted feeling. Not clean. Found bugs in the futons. Bring a sleeping bag liner. Great staff and location however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that make you feel haunted. Although a true thing is said and pest control is carried out once in 4 weeks, pest control cannot be carried out still very much perfectly. But it is no excuse. We felt sorry truly. Thank you that our staff and location are great.

74%

A/C was a little weak but I think that had more to do with outside temperatures. Also weird time restrictions on use of shower, only available 7-9am and then again from 6-11.30pm.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel . We will fix the air-conditioner. We try to make the time which can use a shower longer. Thank you for your frank reviewing. Best Regards.

91%

Very nice hostel, easy to find and located in a superb location near Ueno, minutes walk from okachimachi, asakusa, and akihabara. The host are friendly especially the obasan which waited for us at 1-2 am. Even though they can't speak English well they tried their best to help us

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel for many days. Thank you for reviewing that our location is really close to Ueno Station, and Okachimachi, Asakusa and Akihabara. Thank you that you think our staff (Obasan) is friendly. We hope that you will come back to Japan, and , stay our hostel again. Thank you for your a heart-warming review. Best Regards.

57%

Dirty, sweaty and old hostel. The former public bathroom in the basement, only accisible with the elevator, reminded me of the one in the movie Saw. Dark, humid and creepy! But the location is perfect and the old no-English speaking staff is very kind.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying at our hostel. We are very sorry for makeing you unhappy. Thank you that our location is perfect and the old no-English speaking staff is very kind. WE will try to clean up our bathroom more. Best Regards.

69%

I like a friendly atmosphere, like go visiting and staying at my auntie's house. They took a good care for us. Good point is, the hostel's owners have no need to speak English because there are enough English information papers show around the hostel. However, it was a bit rough when taking a bath. And our room wasn't clean enough, there is some dust in a futon and I got itched because of that.

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback