Hostelworld.com

Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)

  • 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.2
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn) Located at 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto.
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)
Japan
Kyoto 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku
69% 683
35.0172830 135.7483081
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2016
8.6

A bit far away from a lot of the main spots in Kyoto. Close to Fire Ramen which is a must eat. Dorm can be a bit noisy given the number of beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
4.0

Straight off the bat you can tell that this place was thrown together to make a cheap dime. The actual building itself is very grimey and unclean and the common room is far too small and for one reason or another has the buildings only showers in it. The dorm I stayed in was horrible as well, 22 cheaply thrown together beds that were horrible to sleep on and no lockers for bags either. Do yourself a favour and either pick another hostel, air BnB or a place in Osaka and day trip in to Kyoto.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

We've stayed in a private room which also had a bathroom. The room was clean, but a bit small. We also had breakfast included. The hostel was near Nijo Castle and Nijo station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2016
8.6

Nice staff. JR line located 15 minutes away. Close to Nijo Castle and bus stops to get to major attractions. Good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jackydiesel
  • China, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

good and cheap place to stay for Kyoto, bus routes are easy to get by if you have a bus pass!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2016
7.4

Overall much better than expected given reviews on this site! The staff we friendly and helpful. Rooftop garden/terrace was very pleasant. Our 4 person guest room was very small but doable. Great deal with rental bikes too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2016
4.6

One of the worst hostels I have ever slelt in. I don't get the good ratings. Having a place to sleep in one room together with 21 other people its bit too much. Pay little extra and stay somewhere else if u can.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.0

Not the best hostel I have ever stayed , not the worst one either. Everything was fine when I was there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
5.7

The place is very small. Should have shower room for each floor. It creates the funny feeling when we have to take a bath while people are having breakfast in the morning. The location is far from Kyoto station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Mar 2016
5.1

Poor location... Bad facilities... Pretty creepy... Beds are packed like sardines...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.