Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)

  • 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 730 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2017
4.6

Dirty, crowded , rooftop is nice

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel, with friendly staff. All the bunk beds have curtains, reading lamp, outlet for charging phones, cameras, etc. very close to bus stop, supermarket, 7/11, and walking distance to nijo castle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
3.4

A complete and utter disgusting rip off. We paid 300 euro for two nights in a dirty hostel. The room stunk like a smelly teenager's room, the man in reception was completely useless, the free breakfast was a farce. It should be called free morning bread, not free breakfast. The only saving grace in the diabolical hell hole was the front terrace which reminds you there is a world outside Hostel Kyotoko.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
7.4

Don't go there if you have a lot of bags or a huge suitcase otherwise it was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2017
2.9

The hostel rooms were really overcrowded with no space at all.there were not enough toilets or showers to accommodate everybody and due to the amount of people in one room it smelt bad and felt unclean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
8.0

We only stayed there because we wanted an extra night in Toyko and from the reviews online we thought it would be terrible. It's not. It's out of the way compared to all the other hostels (we stayed right in the heart of town previously @ £30 a night) but it's £13 a night!! It's clean with decent facilities. I recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Great location and decent price. Would be one of the best places we stayed in Japan although the floor layout is a bit weird and the beds probably aren't the comfiest. Good shower and common room though and awesome location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

This place is nice and clean. There is no cigarette smell, and the staffs are friendly. Stayed in the mix dorm, clean, nice and cozy. There is a lift within, but do note that the area is rather cram (same goes for the shower rooms). The daily complimentary breakfast is nice. Overall a good stay and i would recommend this place to anyone whom is looking for lodging in Kyoto.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.