Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)

  • 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 707 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.0
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn) Located at 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto.
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)
Japan
Kyoto 783 Sabamatsu-cho, Marutamachi-dori Matsuyacyo Nis, Kamigyo-ku
69% 707
35.0172830 135.7483081
Hostel Kyotokko (ex Kyoto Cheapest Inn)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Nov 2016
7.1

This place is nice and clean. There is no cigarette smell, and the staffs are friendly. Stayed in the mix dorm, clean, nice and cozy. There is a lift within, but do note that the area is rather cram (same goes for the shower rooms). The daily complimentary breakfast is nice. Overall a good stay and i would recommend this place to anyone whom is looking for lodging in Kyoto.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
7.7

I stayed only one night, but it was ok. The staff are all friendly and cheerful. However the dorm room had a strong smell of room spray, which is unpleasant. Breakfast is included, but only bread and jam, coffee, juice..etc. I would prefer a wider variety of food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.1

Before booking this hostel i read the reviews and was expecting somewhere pretty awful. Nothing wrong with this place at all, i would definitly recommend and stay here again. Beds were big and comfy and had curtains for privacy. Breakfast was good. Staff were lovely. There was no sings of a grumpy old man like other reviews suggested. Also had cheap bike rental which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Jul 2016
3.4

Very basic staff were hostile and location was far

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • yessiesierra
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
4.3

The man at the front door was not that nice or polite, he was just grumpy all the time and being sometimes rude. It is smelly and the breakfast included it's nothing worth it. I would not recommend this hostel, there are many with similar price and better attention and location.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • susu0xu
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
7.7

Shower room is placing at first floor, so it is very warm. The top roof is nice area to chill out in the evening, just need to be quite. Nice family working over there, the hostel is just near by Nijo castle that is good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
6.9

An okay place. Nothing too exciting but definitely a good price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2016
6.9

The hostel is OK, it is a comfortable place to sleep and there are nearby supermarkets and places to visit. However it seems to be under construction during my stay we could not use the kitchen really and there was only one shower for the entire hostel, and water was often turned off and some staff would not always be very helpful in telling you when the shower would be available. I understand construction does cause problems but to still have to pay full price seemed unfair.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.