Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel La Colombina

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 132 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Hostel La Colombina Located at Concepcin 280, , Valparaiso.
Hostel La Colombina
Chile
Valparaiso 2370765 Concepci�n 280
86% 132
-33.0422979 -71.6265994
Hostel La Colombina
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
8.6

I stayed here in the mixed 4 bed dorm. There was just enough space for the big bags and suitcases. The second bathroom was spacious, but you had to hold the shower head while you were washing. It is in a quieter part of Cerro Alegre, so could still get sleep on Saturday night. Breakfast was good, and the staff were helpful. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.0

The hostel is in a great location, with nice and spacious rooms and a good breakfast. Staff were nice too. Only niggle is the noise. We had a private double room, which turned out to be joined to a dormitory with just a door between us - and there was enough space below the door that we could hear every conversation in the dorm. Didn't really feel very private and the noise at night kept my partner awake. Still, that's sometimes what you have to deal with in hostels!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.3

Our room was lovely, furnished with some of the most comfortable beds and duvets I've ever encountered in a hostel. The small terrace outside our room and up a flight of stairs was definitely one of the highlights! Nice view of the ocean and the surrounding town, though set a bit too far back. We had an early bus out of town and the staff gave us a phone number for a taxi service and assured us they would pick up at 7 in the morning. This turned out to be false and we had to find other means.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
8.0

This hostel was such a cool building and in a great area! However, it is not a hostel to meet people in (I was literally by myself in the hostel for at least 2 nights) and it doesn't really have a place to hang out or ask for advice. I found one of the staff very nice but the other very cold and overall it wasn't very welcoming. The room itself was also quite cold! Room was absolutely lovely but if coming in winter prepare for an empty, cold hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
8.0

The shower for the 4 bed dorm had hot water for about two seconds, but I showered in one of the other shared bathrooms and it was very hot. Quiet hostel, with a fire place downstairs which was nice to sit in front of and read a book. Rooms were very cold, but there was enough blankets on each bed to keep you warm. Had to rent a towel for the shared room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Aug 2016
9.1

We stayed in a private double room, it was really nice, felt like a hotel. Great location. Kitchen is not the best for cooking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
9.1

Loved this place! I felt like I was in The Shining in a good way, ha! The day woman was difficult to communicate with because she spoke French but the night guy Nano was extremely helpful! I did feel like it was basically our own house but that's what helped make the stay...highly recommended!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
9.7

Super helpful staff - Nono helped me find the right buses, bars, music, and even head to Concon. The hostel was quite empty (it was the lowest of the low season), but the facilities are great, especially the bathrooms and the rooftop mirador. It's also safe - both the neighborhood, and the dorm rooms, which are locked and have lockers. The location - on Cerro Alegre - is closer to food and sights than some of the other hostels farther up the hill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Jul 2016
10.0

very comfortable and cozy place. Its architecture is illustrative of the old Victorian buildings of the area. The place is very clean, calm and accessible; only a few blocks from restaurants, buses, the downtown, etc. The staff was also very helpful and hospitable. Breakfast is good and served with love.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.