Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,700 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Lao Located at Rioja 771, , Mendoza.
Hostel Lao
Argentina
Mendoza Mendoza 5500 Rioja 771
90% 1700
-32.8945068 -68.8359975
Hostel Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.1

Clean and cosy place, with basic breakfast and decent kitchen facilities. Very secure with key and code entrance, as well as big lockers. About 10 mins walk from pedistrian/cafe area and further to the main square. Staff were helpful with assisting to arrange tours and biking - very informative email on booking. Only downside of our stay was the friendly hostel dog, Marguerite, whining all night whilst her owners were away (multiple nights), limiting sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sorry about Marga. We had no idea she cried when alone at night. We do now and she will not be left. Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Mendoza! So clean, quiet and cozy and the staff was super helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive review. It was a pleasure to host you. We wish all guests were like you guys! Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.0

The place is lovely and feels like you're in someone's home. But it isn't being managed very well. They only have someone there to check you in between 7am and 2pm, so we arrived at 9am only to be told our room wasn't ready until after 2 - frustrating as it wasted most of the day. We went to do one of the suggested wine tours which is an hour away by bus but they had closed early, wasting another day. This is a good place to stay if you want to relax and sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We dont think your comment about the hostel being badly managed is at all fair. All hostels/hotels have a check in time. Your room was ready for this time. Where´s the bad management there? We make it very clear you can check in any time, after check in time, with prior notice. We are sorry you had a negative experience with the wine tour. Obviously we can not control when people decide to close their door early and go home. We did call and let them know you were coming.

11th Sep 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel. Located close to all amenities, clean and VERY tranquil. Spacious, and felt like home. Havimg a dog around was nice, and staff were super calm and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing home base in Mendoza, this is the perfect spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Amazing palace to stay! Owners Mike and Celeste are lovely and give good information about things to do in the area. Had a hostel bbq on Friday night which was fantastic, such tasty food! Great atmosphere in the common areas. Breakfasts is descent and the rooms are nice/beds comfy. Good wifi as well :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
9.4

Calm and relaxing vibe. Comfortable garden room, very quiet off the street, clean but maybe a bit small for two people with big back packs etc. clean shower with warm water. Very cute dog!!! Highlight of the hostel! Friendly, helpful and accommodating staff. Kitchen very well equipped. Always have good music playing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Sep 2016
9.7

My stay in Hostel Lao is excellent! The staff is really nice to help me identify spots, restaurants and ATM that worth visiting. The HOT shower, kitchen, living and dining room, bedroom are all neat and tidy. The wifi is very strong as well. The breakfast is nice with bread, toast, some fruits and coffee. It is a cozy place to stay in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sambosonic1808
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Definitely recommended if you prefer a homely atmosphere to bigger commercial hostels. Mike, Celeste & Marguerita (their dog) made me feel so welcome I extended my stay twice. Felt very happy and relaxed here - lovely vibe, clean and safe. It's in a great location right by a main road with shops, ATM, restaurants and bars. As long as you're reasonably fit and don't mind a bit of a walk, pretty much everything's within walking distance. Muchas gracias for the fantastic hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

We had a lovely stay at Hostel Lao, we originally planned to stay for 2 nights and stayed on for 5. We had the private room which was cosy with the best matress we've slept in in SA. The shower was always hot and cleaned regularly. The breakfast is stated how it is on hostelworld, quite simple but substantial. Staff were great big shout out to the nightshift guys, loved Margarita the dog, she is beautiful. Very helpful with what to do around Mendoza. Met some great people in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice place, comfortable bed, clean, good wifi and well equipped kitchen. Nice breakfast as well, and free towels. Very secure but I wish there was a keychain of some kind on the key as they are quite small and unfortunately mine fell out of my bag, but the staff was very accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.