Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,687 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Lao Located at Rioja 771, , Mendoza.
Hostel Lao
Argentina
Mendoza Mendoza 5500 Rioja 771
89% 1687
-32.8945068 -68.8359975
Hostel Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

We had a lovely stay at Hostel Lao, we originally planned to stay for 2 nights and stayed on for 5. We had the private room which was cosy with the best matress we've slept in in SA. The shower was always hot and cleaned regularly. The breakfast is stated how it is on hostelworld, quite simple but substantial. Staff were great big shout out to the nightshift guys, loved Margarita the dog, she is beautiful. Very helpful with what to do around Mendoza. Met some great people in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice place, comfortable bed, clean, good wifi and well equipped kitchen. Nice breakfast as well, and free towels. Very secure but I wish there was a keychain of some kind on the key as they are quite small and unfortunately mine fell out of my bag, but the staff was very accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.1

Overall great hostel. Had a private ensuite room with terrace just for one night. Wish we could have stayed longer. Breakfast and showers were both really nice. Only annoying thing was the bad wifi in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.9

The staff at Hostel Lao are kind & helpful. We booked a double room & although the bed was actually 2 single mattresses pushed together it was very comfortable. The room had a heater & storage facilities (not always to be found in SA hostels). Breakfast was basic. We've experienced a lot of different hostel breakfasts & are not concerned by plainness but we did find it a bit much that there were signs asking guests to limit their consumption to one of certain things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We do state online that in some of our double rooms can be made up as doubles or twins. If made up as a double the bed will be two singles well joined together. Glad you found it comfortable! Re breakfast: again if you read our online description we clearly state what we provide for breakfast. There is only one sign asking you to take one of one item, and that�s an egg. Please don�t make us out to be tight; given what you pay we provide plenty and we do it with a big smile. Safe Travels.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

Hostel was a bit quiet when we were there as is off season. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Walking distance from the bus station. We had a private room and only shared the bathroom with one other room. Breakfast was toast and fruit. We did the half day wine and oil tour and actually had a fantastic time. We were the only English speakers on the tour, so basically had our own tour and tasting at each winery with the English speaking guide.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jul 2016
7.7

Only point about the staff that I did not like was that they just gave me the bed linen and I had to do the bed myself! I did not really like the atmosphere there. Very boring and not really a place to socialize with people in my opinion. I think many travellers go there as a couple or when they want to chill after a tour. If you are alone and want to meet people, it is not a good place. The beds are small (I am 190 cm) and I did not sleep good. WiFi is good everywhere in the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! We give you your bed linen to show you its clean & make sure it has not be dirtied by other dorm guests putting their stuff all over your bed. This is very common in good hostels. 1.90m is very tall! Our beds have standard length mattresses at 1.85m/6.1feet. Perhaps you being tall and not our beds being small is the difficulty? Re atmosphere: we provide a clean safe building, good music, nice vibes and we think it�s up to you to do the rest. Perhaps try talking to the other guests. Most couples love meeting new people, and the other people in your dorm were not couples and seemed like friendly open people to us. yes this is a chilled hostel but most people find it to be very friendly

16th Jul 2016
6.6

Wi-Fi works well in the common areas not in the rooms in the garden. Breakfast was nice: eggs, fruit, etc. Staff was helpful with questions about tours. Rooms were very cold but the heater that the owner provided helped a bit. Overall nice clean place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are not at all surprised by such a bad review from this guest. Wifi does work in most rooms and garden. Just not the room she stayed in at the far end of the garden. These garden rooms can be cold, especially in winter during a huge storm! Extra blankets are available and the heaters do warm the room up but not to the 32 degrees some people would like! Please come and experience the hostel for yourselves as opposed to buying into an incredibly negative outlook that most people will not share.

7th Jul 2016
9.1

This place was ok. Thought it was a little expensive for what it was but a fine choice. There were really nice common areas and a fireplace. The breakfast was fine. The people who worked there were friendly and helpful. And their dogs were super sweet. It would probably be really nice to stay here in the summer because it has a nice green space. I didn't like that they didn't have the beds made when I arrived and had to make my own bed. It was also cold at night. Could have used another blanket

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! US$8 for a clean comfortable place to stay&sleep, in a stunning old house that’s safe, warm, staffed by nice people and includes 1 meal is really not expensive! We give you your bed linen to show you its clean & make sure it has not be dirtied by other dorm guests putting their stuff all over your bed. This is very common in good hostels. When you arrived I personally said “if you need anything at all just ask”. I assure you this includes extra blankets and many other services. Safe Travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.1

We had a pleasant stay at hostel Loa. The owners are lovely and made us feel so welcome and at home. Michael even helped me to find a doctor and we loved our chats with Celeste. Our room was lovely if a little small and the common areas were delightful. I miss Margarita every day. The staff really go out of their way to help you and give you information on things to do in Mendoza. The breakfast was great. We highly recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.0

Really friend staff and a good location. Breakfast included.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.