Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Lao

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostel Lao Located at Rioja 771, , Mendoza.
Hostel Lao
Argentina
Mendoza Mendoza 5500 Rioja 771
90% 1720
-32.8945068 -68.8359975
Hostel Lao
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
9.7

Just stayed there for two nights. Excellent people and atmosphere. Very respectful people and willing to help. The only but that the four people dorm that I got was a bit noisy because of the road traffic. Close to termibus, restaurants and supermarkets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
8.9

Great place to stay. Lovely people and the dog is so sweet. Breakfast is nice with an egg ( more than most hostel we stayed at), near town, seems to attract nice people while we were there. Only problems.. music in every room which can be a little annoying and the swimming pool is empty which was a main reason why we picked the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. With regard to the music; we have 3 tiny speakers, one in each lounge and one outisde. Hardly a pumping party set up! Most people enjoy some gentle ambiance music! Yes the pool has no water in it until 1/12, when our summer starts. Perhaps if you had read our online description you would have seen this. There are plenty of other great reasons to stay here which you clearly noticed as you wrote "great place to stay"! Amazing the things people find to complain about when they are paying less than US$10 a night. Whatever happened to a good hostel being a clean, safe place with a good vibe?

2nd Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, amazing staff, really really good facilities (probably the best showers you could find) and a really good breakfast with fruit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Oct 2016
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed in during 1.5 months in Argentina. Mike and Celesti were amazingly hospital. Felt like a home away from home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahcarroll91
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
4th Oct 2016
9.4

My kind of hostel! Super cosy, tasty breakfast, the home baked bread was such a nice touch. Lovely stuff, comfy quiet clean dorms. Have been recommending to everyone that this is the best value for money hostel in Argentina.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
8.9

Great base in Mendoza and some of the most helpful staff we have encountered on our trip - tips on the vineyards and horse riding avoiding the crowds or overpaying were ideal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
20th Sep 2016
9.1

Clean and cosy place, with basic breakfast and decent kitchen facilities. Very secure with key and code entrance, as well as big lockers. About 10 mins walk from pedistrian/cafe area and further to the main square. Staff were helpful with assisting to arrange tours and biking - very informative email on booking. Only downside of our stay was the friendly hostel dog, Marguerite, whining all night whilst her owners were away (multiple nights), limiting sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review. Sorry about Marga. We had no idea she cried when alone at night. We do now and she will not be left. Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.7

Great place to stay in Mendoza! So clean, quiet and cozy and the staff was super helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive review. It was a pleasure to host you. We wish all guests were like you guys! Safe Travels

15th Sep 2016
6.0

The place is lovely and feels like you're in someone's home. But it isn't being managed very well. They only have someone there to check you in between 7am and 2pm, so we arrived at 9am only to be told our room wasn't ready until after 2 - frustrating as it wasted most of the day. We went to do one of the suggested wine tours which is an hour away by bus but they had closed early, wasting another day. This is a good place to stay if you want to relax and sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We dont think your comment about the hostel being badly managed is at all fair. All hostels/hotels have a check in time. Your room was ready for this time. Where´s the bad management there? We make it very clear you can check in any time, after check in time, with prior notice. We are sorry you had a negative experience with the wine tour. Obviously we can not control when people decide to close their door early and go home. We did call and let them know you were coming.

11th Sep 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel. Located close to all amenities, clean and VERY tranquil. Spacious, and felt like home. Havimg a dog around was nice, and staff were super calm and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing home base in Mendoza, this is the perfect spot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.