NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Lao Reviews

Rioja 771, Mendoza, Argentina

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1473 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We had a great stay in hostel Lao. The Staff is very friendly and helpfull if you have any question. There is nothing to complain about.


Great chilled hotel - loved every second. My only suggestion would be to ask tour questions of the managers during the day as the night staff aren't as experienced


Very nice hostel and atmosphere. Mike and Celeste were the best part of the stay - so welcoming with the best advice. The room that I was in (a double in the pool house) was great and it was a very cheerful orange. The location was about a 15-20 minute walk from a lot of the restaurants/plazas, but was in a perfect spot to catch the bus to Maipú.


Staff bastante atencioso

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Awesome place to stay~ thank you!


Very nice hostel with a good vibe and the cutest dogs:) breakfast is good and location very central - only 10 min walk from the bus terminal. Extended my stay from 1 to 6 nights :)


Great hostel with awesome staff! Super clean! Great back yard to chill out in! Close to the bus station and very secure!


Sehr nettes Hostel in Bus-Terminal-Nähe. Das Stadt-Zentrum lässt sich in ca. 15 Minuten bequem zu Fuß erreichen. Das 4er-Zimmer war relativ groß und sehr sauber, die Betten frisch bezogen. Die beiden Bäder auf dem Flur waren ebenfalls groß und sauber, aber speziell morgens war Schlange stehen angesagt. Das Frühstück war typisch argentinisch ziemlich karg, aber ausreichend. Wer will kann direkt im Hostel div. Touren buchen, wir konnten das aus Zeitgründen aber nicht nutzen.


I have only stayed at 2 hostels in my travels and can't say enough about Hostel Lao. I had a private room with a bathroom. Although it was right off the front door, I felt completely safe throughout my stay. It was noisy in the morning if people we leaving early, but otherwise it was nice and quiet at night. The staff was very helpful organizing transportation or navigating which bus you needed to take to get to certain areas of town and attractions. The common areas were excellent!

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Nature. Grass. Swimming pool. Very good value hostel.


DO NOT stay here!!! Lied about having a 24 hour front desk, Closed from 2-5 Pressured us to use their vendors, and gave misinformation to discourage using others One girl was so rude- she took our key to the front entrance, knowing we would be locked out. She knew we had a plane to catch and said we would have to wait until 5 to be let inside, cutting time extremely close. At 5, the staff arrived but had forgotten his key. So we were locked out of the hostel, with our bags held hostage inside

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologise for the key issue but nothing that happened makes the hostel dirty, unpleasant, unsafe, or justifys your ratings. If you followed normal thinking and had money to pay us when you checked out then none of the above would have happened. We always allow guests to keep their with keys after check out if they need them, provided they have paid. Really, who check outs, doesnt pay and demands to keep the key? We do not pressure sell or misdirect. Safe Travels.


En Mendoza, el hostel mas cercano a la terminal de omnibus, que conozco. A pocas cuadras del centro, pero una zona que de noche, es algo desolada. Cuando llegué, no podíamos resolver el uso del tele, que para ese fin de semana, lleno de lluvias era importante, para mi. Pero una vez resuelto, dobresalió la buena onda, del personal del hostel y de las personas ahí! La pile no estaba funcionando...por suerte llovió todo el fin de semana, sino...


Overall this place is awesome and would definitely recommend. The location is right in between the bus station (walking distance) and downtown (also walking distance). But because of this it is located kind of in the middle of nowhere and on a random street. Security is great though with double doors and a buzzer on the outside, and your own large locker inside. The facilities are beautiful and clean and staff is extremely helpful. Only bummer is that breakfast is pretty weak in comparison.


Perfect hostel, great staff and owners, will always come back


Erg vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel. De eigenaren zijn een leuk stel! Ze kunnen je goed helpen bij het reserveren van een leuke wijntour. Onze chauffeur had op het laatste moment afgezegd en toen heeft eigenaar Mike ons meegenomen op tour in zijn nieuwe auto. He's the man!


Das hostel war sehr schön und die Mitarbeiter sehr hilfsbereit und nett. Die Doppelzimmer mit Bad ensuite sind allerdings recht laut, da sie zur Straße und zum Eingang liegen. Jeder der nachts klingelt und eingelassen wird steht unmittelbar vor diesen Türen. Außerdem bellt der hostelhund auch gerne mal wenn er auf der Straße einen anderen Hund sieht. Also besser die Zimmer im Garten nehmen.


Muy buena la atención, Francisco se paso de buena onda


Sehr schönes Hostel mit kleinem Garten und Pool. Super freundliches Personal. Zentrum von Mendoza ist gut zu Fuß zu erreichen.


Hostel Lao is a perfect place to stay in Mendoza. Close to the terminal, an amazing and charming place to stay (loved the garden!), really nice staff and the information on activities got recommended by other travellers for a reason! I loved my stay and can only recommend it!


Really nice hostel with good facilities. It's very secure (2 always locked front doors). Our room was really nice - large with an ensuite. There was plenty of space in the 3 common areas as well as in the garden. Breakfast was large and tasty. The staff were extremely helpful - particularly Romina.

« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)

View all Mendoza Hostels

Please give us your feedback