Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Lozanni Reviews

54 Kapodistriou Street, Athens, Greece

Reviews & Ratings Explained


727 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 61%Security
  • 61%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 56%Atmosphere
  • 51%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Don't you ever go there! The area is really shady with prostitutes and junkies all around the hostel. We booked a private room with bathroom, received a terrible accommodation where everything was broken and dirty. We got blood and other awful staff on walls and on our duvet! There was loads of black hairs everywhere. We went to the staff asked for other room so they offered us a room downstairs with shared bathroom. I went to check a bathroom and there was sh**t on toilets and floor!


The hotel was very nice, just the cleanliness that was average, our bathroom was very dirty. But all other things was very nice, good linen, good space in the room, good a/c working very well.


The staff was very friendly and helpful, the location is very central, just 20 min walk to the acropolis. Just don't expect a hostel, there is no kitchen and no common room. The building is quite old and in need of some renovation. Hot water and ac both sometimes stopped to work and the sheets were not very clean, but at least they fixed everything quickly. If you are looking for a cheap stay in a good location, this might be an option for a few nights, but you might find better options.


The staff is friendly, they help as much as possible, the room was clean, but they don't have lots of bathrooms, so to take a shower sometimes we needed to wait. The location is very good is close from the main street of Barcelona and its easy to take the transport and come from the airport


Night staff was lovely but day staff was very unhelpful and ALWAYS smoking indoors. No sinks in toilets was strange and bathrooms would smell for a long time before cleaning. No atmosphere as rooms are spread out with no common area. Location is rough area but quite central. Wouldn't stay again.


We were very disappointed. Photos doesn´t match the truth, building is old and dirty, the surroundings is crowded with prostitutes after dark and we had the feeling that the hotel itself serves as a "1 hour hotel" for ladies and their customers. At least it stinked so.. The rooms vere dirty, shower was shabby and broken, full of mildew and when we complained to the staff he told us, that "it isn´t dirty, it just looks like dirty" !! Can you believe it?! Don´t go there, it was the worst choice!!!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Location is decently close to the action, but he neighbourhood is sketchy. Not very invitng to any but the most spartan solo travelers. The bar that looks so nice in the photo was closed there entire time I was there (3 days). Also not a great place to me fellow travels, with the bar closed there is no real common area. The building itself has some character but could use some light refurbishing, and some lights! Also had to climb a ladder to access the only plug in the room.


Nice staff, good location, just the cleanliness was poor


Great staff very helpful and accommodating. Lovely rooms and beds, air on wasent very good in the hot weather because they keep the controller downstairs instead of in the room.


The rooms have no safe box and the room they gave us wasn't even cleaned. The bathroom was completely dirty. Also, during our stay, they didn´t clean our rooms not a single day. They didn´t provide towels, the bed sheet was for a single bed, while our was a double bed. The air conditioning worked well, but it seems they hadn´t enough remote controls for all the rooms in the hostel, so we were told to return them every night to the reception. The window didn`t close.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


One key per room is a joke! Turning off the air con during the day to save money is wrong. We also had a change of guest in our room without a change of sheets! And 2 bunk beds with 1 ladder. Plus no common area. The guy with grey hair was much nicer and more helpful than the guy with black hair.


HORRIBLE! I left just after 15seconds!! Pictures doesn't correspond with reality! A crippy man told me to go inside and sleep to a room that was in remolation, this is not a hostel!! Area is the most dangerous in Athens! DONT GO. I had to go to a Hotel in the last minute! Worst experience ever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, At first you never came in my place.Second,if you did not like the area and you left after 15 seconds how is possible for you to rate about the staff,value,facilities,cleanliness etc.for my plase.Any way ,thank you for your comment,have a good time and try to enjoy this life...


Even for a misunderstanding at the check-in date, the personal was so nice with us. They had no denial for us with our requests. And helped us everytime. Very recommendable. The only con ia the location of the hotel.

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The neighborhood is quite scary at night time. During the day it's okay, but I arrived a little after midnight and was surprised to see junkies and prostitutes flooding the streets. In the hostel I felt safe, but I was uneasy about leaving/getting back after dark. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately the bar that I thought the place had was closed the whole time I was there, and since there is no communal area it was hard to meet people in the hostel.


Nice place, good value, that said, basically everything was wrong with the bathrooms: -cheap toilets. so you have to put the TP in the trash -They give you a roll of toilet paper with check-in, which you WILL forget to bring along -misaligned lock was unable to close -toilet wouldn't flush -no sinks, you need to go back to your room to wash your hands -no soap for the aforementioned sinks -some other things I'm forgetting, my stay was a week ago.


Everything was great. Location itself wasn't too far from everything we wanted to do. However the street itself did not make us feel super safe late at night. Our room was also noisy because it faced the street, but other rooms were much quieter.


Showers didnt work, wifi didnt work well in the rooms, only one key, and dodgy location.


I went there with 2 friends. When we got to lozzani we needed to go up 3 floors carrying all our luggage. No elevator. when we got to the room there was a stinky man in our room so we decided to find a common area to stay there until it was bed time. surprise... NO common area either. In the reception they lend us a room that was booked , to stay there until later. we found cockroach in there. later that night a group of loud french students came and they were SO LOUD! WORST HOSTEL I'VE BEEN TO!

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Friendly staff, but they tend to move you from bedroom to bedroom depending on the people arriving and they do so even when you're out. The hot water is a big problem. The boilers are not always on, so be prepared for cold showers. The cleanliness is another problem: bathrooms and rooms are not quite clean, and toilet paper is not always available. Also, the pictures are not realistic, the hostel does not look like that anymore. The neighborhood is quite weird and unsafe.


Hotel Lozanni is well situated, close to central Omonia-Square. If you want to discover Athens and don`t have high expectations in your shelter, its a good place to stay. Don`t expect to much, you don`t have a shower or a toilet in you room, sometimes the air-conditioning is not working. If you are young and you look for a hostel just for having a bed close to the city center, you are right in Hostel Lozanni.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)

View all Athens Hostels

Please give us your feedback