Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,553 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.4
Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb Located at Dubicka 8, , Zagreb.
Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb
Croatia
Zagreb 10000 Dubicka 8
93% 1553
45.8129230 15.9293288
Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

Do it! Book it now! Such a beautiful, inviting hostel and staff! The outside kitchen and garden are perfect for relaxing, meeting people and enjoying your day. The staff are beautiful people who interact with you as a friend not a client! I loved my stay here and wished it was longer. Beautiful art throughout the house, hilarious signs (thanks igor)! You'll leave with new friends--they also have two ADORABLE dogs:)! Mali mrak is #1 :D thanks for the wine, peanuts, grapes and figs!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
9.7

I was only there for a short time before leaving Zagreb, but after one night I wished I'd booked a longer stay! The only negative is it's not right in the city center, but the tram takes you there in a few minutes. Everyone at the hostel was unbelievably nice and interesting- very good company, but also allowed you to have your personal space and time. Emphasis is put on keeping things clean, but they also seemed interested in showing people who wanted to around the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Clean is a must, no discussions there :) And it really is a thing here - to be on your own if you choose so or to meet other travelers, both very easy. You will find this mentioned in the hostel's description, we encourage guests to really read it, it's very representative. As for location, i completely understand your perspective, and while the connection to the mainsq is excellent and 24/7, do not forget that the place we are at is exactly what allows us to have a very specific setup, summer kitchen, grapes in the garden etc. Can't get that around the mainsquare and we consider our house to be more than just a place to sleep :) Thanks for the stay, the lovely read here, all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Honestly amazing hostel, super clean.. Really good yet chill atmosphere the staff help you out with whatever you need, kitchens good and there's a huge supermarket around the corner so really easy to cook, outside area is sweet to hang out in.. Also felt really safe and the trams into town are super easy

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks much!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Just stayed for one night and had a great time and met really cool people. Thank you Ivana & Igor!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
9.7

The best hostel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in 70+ hostels. Everyone is so nice, chill, and amazing. Great place to go if you're a solo traveller or a small group, it's so easy to make friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for an extraordinary time, it was great!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2016
9.1

Excellent hostel! The cleanest one I've ever stayed at while in Europe. The workers are extremely kind and helpful. I felt like I was in someone's home rather than a hostel which was nice. The location isn't the most exciting since it is in a quiet neighborhood, but it isn't too far from the city center. A 15 min tram ride away. Either way I would definitely consider this hostel for future stays in Zagreb.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Actually, it is our home, sort of :) Thanks for staying!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
5.4

The location was far out of town. We felt the atmosphere was very intense. The sheets were so old they felt like they were dirty. When we arrived and were getting a tour of the building the vibe in the only open communal area - the garage - was unwelcoming, it was smoke filled and messy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Guests who like to have a drink and a smoke are allowed to do so on the outside premises of the house, which means the garden and the garage space. The only thing that can prevent you from using the garden after 22:00 rather than the garage, because of strict croatian residential area laws, is the issue of being too loud. If that is the case, you have to be inside and there is no exception to this. Also, we are not chaperoning people into keeping a meticulous table on a lively Saturday evening just so you can have your prescribed set of expectations fulfilled. Same goes for feeling unwelcome, i really don't see how you can hold the hostel responsible for other travelers not receiving you they way you'd like. Resolve your personal issues on a different platform in the future, this is not the place for that. Which leaves us with the only tangible thing i can put my finger on – old sheets. Just tell us, and you'll get new ones, can't keep track of every single sheet.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.7

The staff are super welcoming and friendly (they also make great coffee), the outdoor area is sublime in summer with tasty grapes even grown in the garden. Nice quiet hostel, in a convenient location filled with lovely people :) would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The grapes are not fully ripe yet, as i keep reminding everyone, but no one seems to care :) September's the real deal for grapes, folks, help yourselves. Thanks for a lovely stay, you two.

  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Aug 2016
8.0

A really good hostel for those who don't care much about being in the centre of the city. It's an interesting place with a nice backyard. The interior is a bit dark. Although, beds were really comfortable. Really friendly dog and staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Incredible hostel. Host was the sweetest I've ever met. He gave me incredible advice so that I could see the best of Zagreb in just a few hours. Free drink on arrival. Chill atmosphere. Strongly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hey now, no nonsense here :) Zagreb's not a one day city, but if you are here for the day, there's probably a priority to things you can see. Glad you liked it, thanks for staying, was nice to meet you!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.