Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1623 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome hidden away place to be and the city center is only a 15 bus ride away :-) staff gave awesome recommendations and made you really feel welcome into their little family atmosphere. I loved the hangout space on the top floor and the Sin City comics in the bathrooms were pretty entertaining :-). I had an excellent stay, recommended for those who like the quite life and to hang out in an awesome location with really chill people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying :)

19th Feb 2017
10.0

This hostel is very artsy and welcoming. The owner and staff are amazing people and there are dogs there! The bunk beds are wooden so they're super comfortable, and the shower is clean and spacious. Wonderful experience all around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Feb 2017
9.7

Hostel Mali Mrak was the best! One of my favorite hostels I've stayed at in Europe, and beyond! It is a bit outside the city center, but the trams are very close to the hostel, easy to use and cheap. The hostel is clean and has a lovely kitchen. And the staff is top notch--they always made sure I had plenty of stuff to do and gave great suggestions for bars and restaurants. The vibe is lively and cozy--a great choice for a solo traveler!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks dear, was a pleasure!

  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

The place is an adventure by itself, the staff share the good vibe with you since the moment you arrive. It is close to Trams (transport in Croatia), so you can reach every place really easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

How delightful >D Thanks much!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
9.1

The atmosphere and staff were lovely. The only downside is the location, but you're really only a short tram ride away from downtown, so that can be overcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks folks, nice guests :)

  • guitarjunkie01
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.4

I absolutely loved staying here and plan on it again! Everyone is so welcoming and helpful with whatever you need. The atmosphere is warm and comfortable with killer artwork decorating the walls. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Much appreciated, thanks for the stay!

8th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel was wonderful! I'm traveling in the off-season so there weren't many travelers, but the people that were at the hostel were lovely - one playing wonderful acoustic guitar in the common area. Everything was clean, Igor gave phenomenal tourist activity & sightseeing advice, and the accommodations had everything I needed: sufficient kitchen, good bathroom, computers if you want to use them, etc. Plus phenomenal art and inspiration around the house! Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Very welcome, thank you. it's always nice to see when someone is interested in more than the usual tourist routines in the city center. Zagreb has hidden gems worth exploring. All the best!

4th Jan 2017
8.3

Overall a great hotel: super friendly staff, very clean and excellent value for money. Nonetheless, it is located far away from the city centre. I would recommend it to anyone bearing in mind that they'll need to take public transportation to and from the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Alas! We deeply sympathize with this burden of reaching the mainsquare with a 15min tram ride. The problems the 1st world generates are indeed dire and troubling, but we do what we can ;)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

i love mali mrak! wonderful staff, most helpful guides i've encountered in a hostel. very passionate about your stay in zagreb. cozy beds, warm showers, family vibe - it's like hanging in your friend's living room. very close to grocery store (super handy) and it's slightly out of the centre but a fun and easy tram ride. it was nice and relaxing to stay in a more residential zone. it became my little home away from home. planned for a week and stayed for two. already planning my trip back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for a cozy wintertime stay :)

30th Dec 2016
8.3

This was a nice hostel. All the paintings, vibes, and atmosphere were nice. Staff was very friendly. Beds creaked a ton, and lockers don't have locks (the staff is confident that nothing will get stolen, but you can rent locks if you're really uncertain...wasn't a huge deal...still it's good to know about this). The location wasn't ideal...it's a long walk from the center, but there is a tram stop not too far that will take you where you need to go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.