Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mali Mrak Zagreb

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 1741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 1741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.7
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.8
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • markwumitchell
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Absolutely amazing hostel. It's probably the best that I have stayed in so far that is not a party hostel. Really cool atmosphere but this is further enhanced by the wonderful staff. Not only are they extremely helpful, but they genuinely like to spend time with the guests and get yo know them. The entire house is very clean as well. Very cool home away from home feeling here. If you play chess, ask for a game with Phillip. You'll probably lose though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dowon10148288
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

Dope place, very friendly people, good showers. Actually a hostel rather than the typical rebranded hotel. Go here and have no regrets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2017
10.0

This was one of the best hostels we've stayed in! Although it was a 10 min (if that) tram from the city centre the transport was easy to use and regular. The hostel had a great atmosphere and lots of common rooms and a lovely garden to sit and cook in. The staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly and gave lots of recomendations of what to do in the city. It felt like staying in a family home! Will definitely stay here any time I'm in Zagreb!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

We were welcomed by Igor who is lovely and super friendly! He gave us a tour and showed us what we could do with our limited time while staying in Zagreb. It's a very quirky hostel with art all over the place which we LOVED!!! And we liked the fact that it had a few notes as a reminder to clean up after yourself. We had AC in the room which was fab, especially in the heatwave! Overall we can say if we go back to Croatia we are 100% going to Mali Mrak again, mostly for the dog and Igor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
10.0

This place is special, a home away from home. Hopefully see you all again sooner rather than later.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Had a good stay here, nothing to complain about other than lack of power outlets in dorms (but I may have been unlucky with bed choice). Super interesting hostel, always something to look at, everyone is really friendly and chilled and the dog got along with ours well, which was fantastic :) not far out of the city especially if you're used to travelling in anyway, and the tram is close regardless :) would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
3.7

The bald man who checked us in was quite rude and didn't even introduce himself to us, then on the second night we got angry at us for talking too loudly at 11:45pm, then refused to speak to us the next day. They have aggressive notes about mopping the shower & cleaning everything all over the walls, which if it was a cheap stay, I would totally agree with, but to charge over £110 for 2 nights, I expect them to make sure the place is clean themselves. Total rip off, very disappointed

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

1. You violated this country's customs/culture and also law, which pretty clearly states 22:00 as the end of shouting and yelling. You got a reprimand and now you pout. 2. The house rules are clear, you are required to clean up after yourself, not other people. You may shut up and respect the rules. 3. You forgot to mention you had a private room for 3 persons, your pet rat and a dog for no extra charge for 2 nights. You knew the price, house rules and still made the booking. 4. I've met thousands of fantastic people from England, but it's people like you who create the unpopular stereotype. You might even learn some culture while travelling. The bald man

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Everything is outstanding here. The people, the location, just amazing. Wish I could stay longer, Zagreb is a beautiful city to visit!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
9.1

One of the cleanest Euro hostels I've stayed in. Staff is wonderful--I was nervous after reading reviews that it sounded "too cool" for me, but not the case. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Comfy beds, it was cooler during my stay so didn't affect me, but could see how limited a/c could be an issue for some guests. Showers/toilets are all combined ( just1 per floor) so plan accordingly. Further from the city center than I would prefer. Still easy get too, just means extra planning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello & thanks. People often comment on the level od cleanliness here. Filip, Toni & me really have strict internal rules for maintainence., though you will find the occassional dustmote. Don't panic! But what many don't know is that 'clean' also depends on the guests, and I have to say we're impressed by the backpacking community that visits here - marvellous participation:) ! As for 'too cool' I have no clue what that means, idioms can be empty phrases these days, but I'd like to quote a favorite review: "the people here are very down to earth". And that's all there is. Pretentious , snobbish folks and their kind are in the wrong place here. Igor.

8th Jul 2017
9.4

This place was lovely! They had great recommendations for where to eat and things to do around the city. Wonderful atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It's personal. Giving good recommendations, that is :) a pleasure, anytime!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.