Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 148 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Mamallena Located at Parque Central, On the Central Park, Boquete.
Hostel Mamallena
Panama
Boquete Parque Central, On the Central Park
88% 148
8.7761820 -82.4321794
Hostel Mamallena
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 52 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed this hostel, arrived super early but we were checked in & on a tour quickly :) Super helpful guy in front desk through the day. They organise excellent tours that I'd highly recommend. Nice rooms, the outdoors & balcony make for a very nice relaxed atmosphere where you'll meet fellow travellers and get good advice etc. Only issues were the wifi was very random, bit crowded for morning cooking space & we were told there was no other shuttle to Boca but there was round the corner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Mamallena at Boquete was a real pleasure. The manager went out of his way to be gracious and accomodating to the multitude of people waiting to check-in/out, shuttle bus or tour visits. Told me about the best coffee shop in town. In an atmosphere of young backpackers he made a mid-sixties solo woman traveller feel welcome. Top marks all round for staff cleanliness location -everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Really good location, and good free breakfast. The tour office being in the reception was useful, and you also get a discount. We met some great people here too, it's a really sociable hostel. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.6

All around decent hostel. The staff was helpful and fantastic, full of information. They organize tours to Vulcan Baru and other things around which was great. The hostel itself could have been cleaner and there were no real quite hours so people were extremely loud at times. It was also difficult to find quiet time to sleep before climbing the volcano because the bar next door played music until about 11 pm a couple nights in a row, so that part was trying. But was pleasant with great kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
7.1

Good things about Mamallena: ok, so it's great that they have a really central location near all the tour agencies and not too far from some hikes just around town. Super safe area and very safe to walk around at night. Liked that they have friendly staff on hand at all hours, and not too expensive. Lockers to keep stuff safe. Bad things: don't like that there aren't locks on all doors. I stayed in a dorm and our door had no lock, we had no key.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jun 2016
9.4

Loved this hostel! Staff very friendly and knowledgable! Good location right in the main square Comfortable bed! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louynch3711
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Very helpful staff. Nice clean kitchen. They make a huge bowl of batter in the morning and guests can use it to make as many pancakes as they want. Nice hot showers and good mattresses and pillows. Really liked this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jun 2016
10.0

This was a great hostel. Really clean, spacious, right on the main square and lovely staff who helped look after our valuables and muddy shoes as well. There is a company who do tours based in the reception area that are really cheap as well so really easy to get the most out of your stay. The pancake breakfast is nice and there are lots of lounge areas to chill out in. The beds were comfy but my only complaint is my friend and I were in such a creaky bunk bed we didn't want to move at all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ja_lee232823
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th May 2016
7.4

Kitchen was a little small. Location was a little sketchy at night but us two girls still wondered to the super market and back. Long walk to old town but do able! Lots of showers and the garden area was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Mar 2016
4.6

Staff was awful. They had problems completing simple tasks like check-out efficiently, and were unfriendly in the process. Information they gave on tours was incorrect. Facilities are old and run down, private rooms are not cleaned daily (not even the bins are emptied). Location is very loud with live music until past midnight. I've been to many hostels all over South America but was generally underwhelmed by the experience here. Really bad value for money. Go somewhere else if you can.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.