Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Hostel Mamallena Located at Parque Central, On the Central Park, Boquete.
Hostel Mamallena
Panama
Boquete Parque Central, On the Central Park
90% 164
8.7761820 -82.4321794
Hostel Mamallena
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Oct 2016
8.9

The hostel itself was great - well set out and in a good location. Only negatives were the terrible doof doof music thumping until 1 or 2am in the bar next door which was right outside our window (it was their national holiday weekend though so not sure if this is a regular occurrence or a once off)...and the skeevy person that helped themself to some of our food in the fridge.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Strijdhagen
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Oct 2016
8.6

Great hostel for the outdoors type. A very diversified group of travelers stay here as a starting point for the many things to do around Boquete. Very clean with a good kitchen, showers are unfortunately not great. Staff is very friendly and gladly help with issues and bookings for tours or directions for bus/taxi. While the location is great being in the middle of the center, there seemed to be a noisy bird gathering at least 3 times a day right next to my window.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Cool hostel for backpackers. Don't excpect 5 stars hotel, but pleasant place with really cheerful people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at in all of Central America. Extremely clean and secure. Staff is great. Kitchen is large and well-equipped. Located right in the middle of Boquete. I can't think of anything that could have been better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
21st Aug 2016
7.4

The European staff member on the desk was amazing, so friendly and helpful, the local guy at reception didn't seem as welcoming. Great location and pancakes for breakfast were a plus :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • julio21_939242
  • Venezuela, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Nice hostel with multiple areas to share with other people. Location at the main square of the city is perfect to get around but can be a little noise at night. Staff and pancake breakfast were definitely a plus. Many of the tours they propose are a bit pricy and actually can be done on your own. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 60 reviews
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Really enjoyed this hostel, arrived super early but we were checked in & on a tour quickly :) Super helpful guy in front desk through the day. They organise excellent tours that I'd highly recommend. Nice rooms, the outdoors & balcony make for a very nice relaxed atmosphere where you'll meet fellow travellers and get good advice etc. Only issues were the wifi was very random, bit crowded for morning cooking space & we were told there was no other shuttle to Boca but there was round the corner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2016
10.0

Mamallena at Boquete was a real pleasure. The manager went out of his way to be gracious and accomodating to the multitude of people waiting to check-in/out, shuttle bus or tour visits. Told me about the best coffee shop in town. In an atmosphere of young backpackers he made a mid-sixties solo woman traveller feel welcome. Top marks all round for staff cleanliness location -everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.1

Really good location, and good free breakfast. The tour office being in the reception was useful, and you also get a discount. We met some great people here too, it's a really sociable hostel. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
8.6

All around decent hostel. The staff was helpful and fantastic, full of information. They organize tours to Vulcan Baru and other things around which was great. The hostel itself could have been cleaner and there were no real quite hours so people were extremely loud at times. It was also difficult to find quiet time to sleep before climbing the volcano because the bar next door played music until about 11 pm a couple nights in a row, so that part was trying. But was pleasant with great kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.