Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 544 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jun 2017
8.6

Great hostel, good vibe and lovely staff. Common area is way too close to the rooms, makes it pretty loud at night. Location is not in the walled city, it's a 10 minute walk and I felt uncomfortable walking at night to and from. Bit of a sketchy area and not a lot of lights along the walk.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glag you had a great time, unfortunately not much we can do about where the social areas are, but they are what makes the hostel so fun. We actually are in the walled city, as theres a wall that goes past us a block away :) but we arent in the actual centre, which is 10 minutes away as you say. Getsemani is pretty safe and our area is well lit, but there are a couple of blocks that could for sure have better lighting. It is a safe area area though and usually not much to worry about.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
6.9

The hostel has a really good vibe and is easy to meet other travellers. The kitchen needed a deep clean and the toilet paper bin was not emptied daily. But overall a nice hostel and I would go again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear you would come back! I did check the kitchen and it does seem clean to me, one of the staff said there had been an issue with some dirty pots that the guests hadnt cleaned very well. We do empty the bins every day, except in the private rooms where we have signs asking you to tell us when you want them emptied. We dont like to enter the rooms without your permission. Hope to see you back again

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jun 2017
5.7

More of a party hostel- good location in party area and 5 min walk to old town. Trip was ruined by 1 particular drunken guest in our dorm who made it clear security was pretty low the fact that he was purchasing and drinking alcohol at 8am when clearly on no state to drink anymore. Hostel has potential but the security was a let down

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jun 2017
7.1

Great location, nice party vibe and good breakfast. Wifi was poor though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear you had fun. WiFi can be a problem. We do pay for the best we can get, and three networks to try and avoid problems. Sometimes its not good, but we are in a third world country so cant expect too much. Best suggestion is to let us know its not working and we will reset the router, that usually does something to fix it.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th Jun 2017
8.3

Good value for Cartagena, and the food in the bar was reasonably priced. Very nice vibe. Air con!! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2017
9.4

best part is the AMAZING air conditioning in the dorm rooms! great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
8.0

Overall a good hostel, aircon in the rooms is on 24/7 which kinda also means people hang out in their room in the day. Otherwise the common area is really good there's always stuff going on in the evening and they serve good food. Breakfast pancakes taste kinda funny though. The staff is ... let's say not interested and they never showed any kind of emotion. Exception is the Argentinian girl at the bar, she's like the nicest person ever! Oh and try to get a room upstairs, they are 1000x better!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th May 2017
8.0

We only stayed here for one night on a stop over for a flight. Atmosphere was great though. It's a real party hostel and good for nights out. I would not recommend it for a quiet night though as the bar is loud.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th May 2017
10.0

Unfortunately I had to cancel my stay at the hostel because of my own circumstances, so I can't review the place itself, but the staff were very responsive and helpful in allowing me to cancel my room last minute. I would certainly stay here if I am in Cartagena in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • g_cullinan9942
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th May 2017
10.0

Air con in rooms! Social courtyard area. Good bar at front. Pancakes for breakfast. Helpful staff. Great location. Mangoes falling from trees very early in the morning in certain rooms is the only negative.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.