Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Hostel Mamallena Located at 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena.
Hostel Mamallena
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani
84% 322
10.4224797 -75.5449280
Hostel Mamallena
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel. Stuart and his staff are amazing and very friendly. Mamallena is exaclty where you want to be!.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2016
6.9

Our stay here was okay, but not as special as the price or reviews indicate. We paid a lot more at this hostel than others, and we enjoyed all the others just as much if not more. The management was kind of rude and the breakfast was a bit pathetic. Other than that, the facilities themselves are nice and the atmosphere is very young and party.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.9

Good hostel, staff were nice, very close to the old town. The rooms were clean and air con was a godsend in the heat. Nice courtyard in the middle for socialising.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.7

We stayed here our first night in Columbia to organize our boattrip to San Blas. The staff is really friendly and really helpful by planning boattrips. But we didn't really get sleep that night, it was just too loud and our roommates weren't really considerate. In the end, it really is a party hostel, so don't expect to get too much sleep here. For meeting people it is really good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
8.3

Overall, good place to stay, and lots of people stay here. Definitely more of a party vibe (other guests always wanting to go out until 3/4am), but I was able to sleep even though I didn't want to go out. Air conditioning makes it easy to sleep (but music can go into early AM). Great location, Walking distance to everything. Organized tours, but I recommend looking to buy outside of hostel (better rate for beach on the street, for example).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bwells_219
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel. I stayed with two friends in a private room and had a blast. The a/c was fantastic considering how hot it was outside. we didn't spend much time at the bar but the common area was fun with great atmosphere. Only negative thing I can say is that the common area is closed at midnight and you can't have guests. The perfect review goes for the hostel owner. Such a nice guy and even let us stop by for a quick shower before a long bus ride two days after we checked out. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • d_droney1302
  • Iceland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.1

Nice spot, very attractive front facade with an individual paint colour that is very in keeping with the old town appearance of Cartagena. Decent little bar which was fun with a couple of other hostels across the road that lead to us all mixing on the street. Internal courtyard is a good place to hang out but can get quite noisy if you are trying to get an early night. Beds were very comfy, ac was a massive plus. Shower was poor (no strength behind it). Staff didn't really seem too bothered

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amyamo19853504
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel in a great location. Lots going on. Definitely recommmend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
8.6

Party hostel with a lot of young people -- no doubt about that. The staff was super helpful and all spoke English. Only cold water in showers but like others have said, you don't need hot water since outside, it's so... hot... all the time. Location is great -- short, 5 minute walk to Old City. Across the street from many bars and eateries. Unreliable wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • FrankieTyler
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
6.3

Reviews bigged up the hostel more than they should have but at least that meant it brought in the right crowd and I met some awesome people here. The location is perfect but pretty much all the hostels in Cartagena are in the same place. I can't comment much on the facilities as I didn't use the kitchen or the bar because we opted to drink our own drinks in the nice courtyard so it was cool that could do that. Staff not as friendly as expected espesh one of the security men.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.