Hostelworld.com

Hostel Mamallena

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 272 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Hostel Mamallena Located at 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena.
Hostel Mamallena
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani
84% 272
10.4224797 -75.5449280
Hostel Mamallena
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.6

Pros: -great social atmosphere in the common spaces -great location -Stuart the owner is wonderful and has a friendly helpful staff, almost always someone around who speaks good English - fun bar and fridge for quick drinks -good wifi Cons: -some issues with the AC in our room--but seems to have only been the one room They kick people out of the courtyard at midnight so people can sleep which is nice of you want to sleep but tough if you were up talking.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2016
10.0

Place was great! Awesome location (great party on Wednesday), free pancakes, spacious room, helpful staff. Would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
10.0

My girlfriend and I arrived here after 2 days of planes and airports so a pick me up was definitely needed. Mamallena and the surrounding area provided and we were partying hard for the next 3 nights! Top place top people It has everything you would expect from a quality hostel.The bar had very good price cocktails and the party often spread to the street outside which just added to the atmosphere. Stuart the boss is a top bloke and sorted us out every time we needed help. I strongly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
9.1

Really great hostel! Great atmosphere and the staff are so helpful with recommendations and tours. Seen some reviews where they don't get a good rap but we thought they were great! Decent wifi and A/C was a godsend. Good tours on offer. Just 5 mins walk to the centre of the old town. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Apr 2016
6.9

Disappointed but great social side to the hostel and always helpful having a kitchen

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • hayleycresp
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
10.0

This place was our fave place in Sth America to stay! The owner is super friendly, stocks the fridge with amazing beer and it's got a very social vibe without being hardcore party central. We met so many lovely people here and it's perfect place for the nightlife spots. The courtyard is really fun to hang out in and the security clear everyone out to the street after 12 so you can sleep if you want to. 100% recommend!! Thanks for having us xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • louiseblair264
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
31st Mar 2016
10.0

Awesome location, helpful staff and nice air con rooms.. can't ask for much more!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
8.9

Thank god for the air conditioning here! The staff couldn't care less about you. We never even got checked in and up until we checked out nobody asked us to pay (luckily we are honest!). The breakfast costs money but they offer free "pancakes" (no butter or anything, and they're thick as cardboard) but if you ask for just the free pancakes be warned: the lady cooking gets really annoyed and complains to the others right there. Otherwise great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm glad you had a good time but sorry you felt that way about the staff. You felt we ignored you, we felt we treated you like an adult. We dont believe in asking you for money and to do check in as soon as you walk in the door, with your backpack still on. We nearly always send you to your room first and ask you to come back after you have relaxed. Then when you come back we do check-in. You must have forgotten to actually come back after we showed you the beds. We also very rarely ask for money up front, to me that shows a lack of trust in you. 99% of people pay on check out, and we assume you are honest, why wouldnt you be? We also know exactly when you are down to leave. Our staff are always available as well, but they arent usually interacting with guests unless you come to us, and usually theres guests always at the desk. Sorry about the pancakes, they can be up and down sometimes, but they are free! The staff in the kitchen shouldnt do that, but its hard to be happy all the time. We are working on that constantly.

19th Mar 2016
9.1

Very good Hostel!! enjoy there friends

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
9.4

The owner Stuart was brilliant could not have been more helpful. Hostel has a great atmosphere and is in a great location near to restaurants , bars and a short stroll to the old town.place is very clean staff seem to be always cleaning something!! Only downfall were the staff on reception could of been a bit more helpful seemed to not care at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.