X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Mamallena Reviews

10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
129 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great location, just outside the old town with lots of little restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. Very social hostel and lots of fun, but not the best if you want to go to bed early, all rooms overlook the courtyard, which they shut down at midnight I think, which is reasonable. They offer lots of info and bookings for Playa Blanca, Santa Marta, Panama San Blas Islands, and more. Very convinient for lazy people.


91%

Great hostel! Staff super friendly and helpful! Air conditioning is a god send in Cartagena. Love the hostel animals as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And they all loved you right back :) Staff included!!

77%

Nice hostel in a good location - Getsemani. Private room had air con and a pancake breakfast. A little noisy at night as the rooms surround the central courtyard. Helpful and friendly staff, and a direct shuttle organised for Playa Blanca and transfers to Santa Marta/Parque Tayrona. All in all - a good hostel.


71%

This was an okay experience. My one complaint is their reluctance to give you towels when it clearly states they are included. Maybe specify which rooms include towels so people can plan ahead. Pancake breakfast was good as well. Staff was ok..not the best not the worst. I didn't find them overly helpful or welcoming. The atmosphere was alright..not a huge party vibe but if you want that go to media luna. A/c is a must so make sure your dorm has that or good luck trying to sleep!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah sorry about that, but to be fair you did come asking questions at a time when we had a problem outside and the police were involved so we weren't particularly helpful at that particular time. All our dorms have AC so theres no problem with being too hot to sleep at night. All our privates booked online have 24 hour AC.

94%

In a great location for night life and a short walk to the walled city. The rooms are all off the outside sitting area so it is loud but they kick everyone out at 1230 anyway so its fine, you should be out partying anyway! Private rooms you have air con whenever you want and dorm rooms I think they switch it on at 9.


94%

Would defiantly come back here and defs recommend it. The staff r so damn helpful, warm friendly people, great atmosphere and vibe for meeting people. Only downfall is AC is only between 9pm-9am n Cartagena can get stinking hot, so this can be tough, but otherwise perfect, wifi great too. U got the party hostel across the road too, easy access n then u come back n sleep, also apparently staff at the media luna are terrible. Stay here


77%

Decent hostel in a good area. Close to bars, old city, supermarket, etc. kitchen is stifling hot but decently equipped. Lots of Info about boats to Panama and tours. Staff seem a little too eager to change sheets in between guests though, as they were coming in to the rooms very early. One of the cats also really likes to come into room 11 for some reason. Woke up in the middle of the night to the cat on my bed. Rooms near the front would be quite loud, ask for one at the back.


71%

The hostel animals are a hoot, especially the parrot, who wanders around the hostel greeting everyone with "hello!" and "hola!" It even yelled out "burrito!" once. Real smart one. The one thing I will say is if you want your sleep, you won't get much here because it's next to a bar playing music until 3 am (once, 3:30 am). Also, the toilet in the dorm is next to people's beds.


74%

Friendly hostel, well located just outside the beautiful old town. It may not advertise itself as a party hostel, but if you want to sleep before 1-2pm definitely bring earplugs. Also you need to ask for your room to be cleaned and for the air con to be turned on. That said it was friendly, staff were helpful and breakfast good (pancakes and fresh coffee)


71%

Great hostel, pancake breakfast was mint. Rooms comfortable with air con and comfortable beds. Owner is a bit odd but still a nice guy... stair case up to the dorms is a wee death trap... should get some attention as a bit unsafe with those walking up and down with large packs. Good place would most def stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
A bit odd? You must have caught me on a good day! Glad you enjoyed the place, but based on the score i wouldn't like to see the place you hated.........



View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback