Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
8.9

Awesome staff in the reception, they help me out with everything i needed, workers in the bar could pay more attention to clients! I think is a bit pricey because the rooms are quite small, no enough space for your lugagge and the bathroom was not in very good conditions, it does has AIRCON but is not strong enough. If you want to party this is your hostel :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2017
9.4

A great hostal with a good breakfast. Really close to all the sights. Air con in the rooms. Kitchen is small. But loads of cheap places to eat around so it doesnt really matter. Has a little party at night most of the time but doesn't go that late so you can still sleep!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
6.3

SO this could be a good hostel, but my overall grip is mainly with the people staying there and the layout. If I had to hear one more loud Australian talk about 1. how hot it is 2. how many countries he "did" or 3. how many prostitutes his friend had banged, I was about to go crazy. The rooms surround a courtyard where people congregate at night (and during the day). Yeah it closes at midnight, but still. The bathrooms were meh too. Mine didn't have a mirror and had no window. Mosquitoes!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jul 2017
6.9

It was ok for one night. But everyone could have just walked in your room. So you should look after your belongings. The air-conditioning runs all day long, which is nice. It's more a party hostel, so can be noisy and it's not very clean. But of you book a tour with them, they have a good storageroom and you can leave your backpacks there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Definitely one of the top 3 best hostels I've ever stayed in! The location was perfect, and the atmosphere was amazing! The bar was relaxing and the food was economical and tasty. I'd definitely recommend Mamallena Hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
4.3

I normally just give 10s but this place is dirty, full of bugs, smelly, we were given used beds and it was the only hostel where no id was asked for, low security. So many options, I wouldn't recommned this one...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Really? We are as bad as you say and yet no one else has had the same complaints? Dirty and full of bugs is a big call! If that was the case I am sure we would have heard. If your beds werent ready, and I doubt that as you checked in late at night, then all you had to do was ask for them to be cleaned. I am sorry you didnt feel you had a great experience, but you did check in late and leave early so didnt give us much of a chance. You´re comments do seem slightly over exaggerated.

6th Jul 2017
9.7

The hostel was very fun and had a great enviornment. It was clean and the air con stayed on all day in the dorms. It was a few blocks away from the city center and the walled city but things were easy to get too from there :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
10.0

We really loved this hostel. The aircon was amazing, good wifi, lockers, very informative staff for finding out about shuttle buses to Minca etc. The bar is really good too! And it's walking distance to the walled city/old city. We were there 3 nights and it was an overall great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jun 2017
6.0

The location is great and there is lots of space to socialize. The bar is great in theory but needs some improvements. Takes forever to be served, only takes cash, and the food is really lacking (I.e., we were served raw chicken). The staff was extraordinarily unhelpful with booking tours and answering questions. The kitchen is tiny and ill-equipped. Would not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Jun 2017
8.6

Really nice friendly hostel in a good area near bars and restaurants. About 20 min walk from a nice beach. Didn't like how strict they were on breakfast.. I arrived 10.05 and they said nope! Also kitchen is small and HOT. Good chill areas and nice bar attached.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.