Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Mamallena

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 307 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Hostel Mamallena Located at 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena.
Hostel Mamallena
Colombia
Cartagena Bolivar 10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani
85% 307
10.4224797 -75.5449280
Hostel Mamallena
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • d_droney1302
  • Iceland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
7.1

Nice spot, very attractive front facade with an individual paint colour that is very in keeping with the old town appearance of Cartagena. Decent little bar which was fun with a couple of other hostels across the road that lead to us all mixing on the street. Internal courtyard is a good place to hang out but can get quite noisy if you are trying to get an early night. Beds were very comfy, ac was a massive plus. Shower was poor (no strength behind it). Staff didn't really seem too bothered

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • amyamo19853504
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jul 2016
9.1

Great hostel in a great location. Lots going on. Definitely recommmend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • FrankieTyler
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jun 2016
6.3

Reviews bigged up the hostel more than they should have but at least that meant it brought in the right crowd and I met some awesome people here. The location is perfect but pretty much all the hostels in Cartagena are in the same place. I can't comment much on the facilities as I didn't use the kitchen or the bar because we opted to drink our own drinks in the nice courtyard so it was cool that could do that. Staff not as friendly as expected espesh one of the security men.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
8.3

Does everything it needs to. Good location and has a bar at the front.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is not quiet at night but that was fine for us. It was clean, bed was comfy, wifi worked great in the patio, location is convenient to everything in the city, and Stewart was very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
7.4

Too noisy, would not recommend if you want to get more than 4 hours sleep. We booked for 4 nights but left after 1.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.1

Cracking hostel, great buzz around the place and staff can't do enough for you, sorted our booking for bus to Santa Marta as well as Playa De Blanco which was very handy. Great location and despite a great atmosphere with lots of people they were strict on noise after twelve neat the rooms which helped before those early morning starts. Don't get how people can complain about a free breakfast, lots of great restaurants and breakfast places right around the corner if needs be. 100% recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

Fab hostel. Owner Stuart did everything possible to make our stay great, arranged transport for trips, printed flight check in info and more. We booked dorms but were upgraded to a private room, which for the extra I would recommend, it was a nice treat. Seen some complaints about the breakfast but the pancakes we had were great and confused how you can moan about something that is free. Good location close to the old town and a big exito supermarket. Safety deposit boxes and bag storage. Thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • MattShanahan
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Mamallena was possibly the best hostel I've stayed in in South America (after 2 1/2 months of travelling). The laid back bring your own booze nature of the hostel is different to anywhere else I've stayed. Though the drinks at the bar were priced so reasonably that we didn't end up bringing any in. The rooms were cleaned daily and the showers are the perfect temperature for the heat and humidity of Cartagena. The staff are awesome, especially Stuart and the bar staff. Cheers for a great stay!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Atmosphere is amazing. The staff can be a pain, but most of them were very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.