X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Mamallena Reviews

10-47 Calle Media Luna, Getsemani, Cartagena, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
161 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great location in the old city. The pancake breakfast was pretty good too!


97%

Great location, just outside the old town with lots of little restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. Very social hostel and lots of fun, but not the best if you want to go to bed early, all rooms overlook the courtyard, which they shut down at midnight I think, which is reasonable. They offer lots of info and bookings for Playa Blanca, Santa Marta, Panama San Blas Islands, and more. Very convinient for lazy people.


80%

Great location. Basic room but all ok. Definitely recommend.


91%

Great hostel! Staff super friendly and helpful! Air conditioning is a god send in Cartagena. Love the hostel animals as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And they all loved you right back :) Staff included!!

77%

Nice hostel in a good location - Getsemani. Private room had air con and a pancake breakfast. A little noisy at night as the rooms surround the central courtyard. Helpful and friendly staff, and a direct shuttle organised for Playa Blanca and transfers to Santa Marta/Parque Tayrona. All in all - a good hostel.


71%

This was an okay experience. My one complaint is their reluctance to give you towels when it clearly states they are included. Maybe specify which rooms include towels so people can plan ahead. Pancake breakfast was good as well. Staff was ok..not the best not the worst. I didn't find them overly helpful or welcoming. The atmosphere was alright..not a huge party vibe but if you want that go to media luna. A/c is a must so make sure your dorm has that or good luck trying to sleep!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah sorry about that, but to be fair you did come asking questions at a time when we had a problem outside and the police were involved so we weren't particularly helpful at that particular time. All our dorms have AC so theres no problem with being too hot to sleep at night. All our privates booked online have 24 hour AC.

94%

In a great location for night life and a short walk to the walled city. The rooms are all off the outside sitting area so it is loud but they kick everyone out at 1230 anyway so its fine, you should be out partying anyway! Private rooms you have air con whenever you want and dorm rooms I think they switch it on at 9.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
94%

Would defiantly come back here and defs recommend it. The staff r so damn helpful, warm friendly people, great atmosphere and vibe for meeting people. Only downfall is AC is only between 9pm-9am n Cartagena can get stinking hot, so this can be tough, but otherwise perfect, wifi great too. U got the party hostel across the road too, easy access n then u come back n sleep, also apparently staff at the media luna are terrible. Stay here


77%

Decent hostel in a good area. Close to bars, old city, supermarket, etc. kitchen is stifling hot but decently equipped. Lots of Info about boats to Panama and tours. Staff seem a little too eager to change sheets in between guests though, as they were coming in to the rooms very early. One of the cats also really likes to come into room 11 for some reason. Woke up in the middle of the night to the cat on my bed. Rooms near the front would be quite loud, ask for one at the back.


71%

The hostel animals are a hoot, especially the parrot, who wanders around the hostel greeting everyone with "hello!" and "hola!" It even yelled out "burrito!" once. Real smart one. The one thing I will say is if you want your sleep, you won't get much here because it's next to a bar playing music until 3 am (once, 3:30 am). Also, the toilet in the dorm is next to people's beds.


74%

Friendly hostel, well located just outside the beautiful old town. It may not advertise itself as a party hostel, but if you want to sleep before 1-2pm definitely bring earplugs. Also you need to ask for your room to be cleaned and for the air con to be turned on. That said it was friendly, staff were helpful and breakfast good (pancakes and fresh coffee)


71%

Great hostel, pancake breakfast was mint. Rooms comfortable with air con and comfortable beds. Owner is a bit odd but still a nice guy... stair case up to the dorms is a wee death trap... should get some attention as a bit unsafe with those walking up and down with large packs. Good place would most def stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
A bit odd? You must have caught me on a good day! Glad you enjoyed the place, but based on the score i wouldn't like to see the place you hated.........

83%

A great hostel but travellers should know that it is smack bang in the centre of the party district, and loud dance music does not stop until very late, usually during my 3 day stay around 5 or 6am. So not recommended to those who wish to catch up on sleep.


86%

Nice spot. Helpful staff and handy location. Air con was awesome since Cartagena is as hot as the sun. The rooms do get some street noise as well as the bar out the front doesn't help but the air com drowns it all out. If you can't get this place, book the place across the road as it looked good.


97%

Our room was upgrated to a room with air conditioner, so we slept very well, thank you! :D The rooms are clean and the shower is very good but with not many water. When you leave your room you stand directly near to the tables where the people sit and drink in the night. The staff is very helpful and you can easily book trips to playa blanca or others directly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks guys, for the nice comments. I wish we could move the tables but unfortunately its not going to happen! We're stuck with the layout we have, at least it makes it very friendly!

91%

This is a sociable hostel in a great location. The owner Stuart is incredibly helpful and has a wealth of local knowledge. Would recommend anyone to stay here. Elliot

  • 22nd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Don't tell everyone, people will start to think I am nice and that could hurt my reputation :)

69%

We stayed in an ensuite double. They didn't clean the bathroom once and we stayed for 4 nights which made it pretty disgusting especially when you can't throw toilet paper down the loo. I also saw mice in the kitchen. Atmosphere was good . Location brilliant. Music is played until 2am so just make sure you are ok with this

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its a shame you felt that way, and that you didn't mention any of this on the few times that we actually spoke. Its actually our policy for our staff not to enter your room unless requested. I must have forgotten to tell you that when you checked in and I do apologise for that. Please, next time just ask for someone to clean you room.

83%

The hostel plays loud music well into the night. The privates don't have air-con which makes sleeping a sweaty affair. But the beds are new and comfy. Don't book your Playa Blanca trip through the hostel- it is MUCH cheaper to just get your ticket right at the dock.


100%

Excellent hostel. We stayed at Mamallena in Panama City and liked the hostel so much we booked to stay with them in Cartagena also. The Hostels are different, but just as good for different reasons. The Cartagena Mamallena has good sized rooms and some excellent communal areas. Rooms didn´t have AC, but we were more than fine with the fan in the room (I believe AC is being fitted soon anyway). Staff were helpful; even though Stuart the owner is an Aussie ,-), he was very welcoming and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ah you , just don't know when you're beat :) I appreciate the comments and it was a pleasure to have you at the hostel. The AC is coming soon, depending on local workers of course........ Thanks for the comments and come back next time you're in town.

100%

Stuart is the man and is extremely helpful; goes out of his way to ensure that guests have a great time without any hassles

Owner Comment (Hide)
Now you've just made me blush :(

(92 results)


View all Cartagena Hostels

Please give us your feedback