X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Mancini Reviews

Via P S Mancini 33, Naples, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
742 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

very good location and good community feel. the host guy is really cool and is happy to do events and show everyone around the town. cool place but the one complaint is that the owner (or manager?) has a pet turtle that he keeps in a very small plastic box. it's very sad, free the turtle! or at least give it room to move more than an inch!!! anyways, good hostel.


51%

The location was questionable, it's within close proximity to the train station but the area was unnerving. The rooms were ensuite, had lockers and the hostel itself felt secure.. but the location just totally tainted my stay there. Breakfast in hostels is never great, this was no exception. I had varying experiences with the members of staff, but overall the staff were friendly and helpful. Lastly, there's only one key per room, could cause inconvenience if you're staying there for a while.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The location was dreadful as it was in a very rough looking area that didn't make you feel safe, however it was close to the train station which made it more acceptable. The receptionist fell asleep so I was locked out from my room for a while. The staff were helpful and friendly and there were lockers. There was no hot water. There wasn't much to eat for breakfast but it was sufficient enough. I wouldn't return based on the surrounding area. There wasn't fresh linen on the pillow, only the bed.


89%

Convenient location to the train/bus station. Staff and volunteers were incredibly helpful. Very social atmosphere with all the backpackers and staff.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff is so friendly, they even have a pet! GG I love you!


100%

Very nice hostel, in a beautiful and colorful city. Staff very friendly. Stay here and you will get the right informations to sightseeing the city with no worries.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The location its close to the station but you think that in one moment some people will steal you a lot of people in the street its weird so if you arrive in the night be very careful


46%

Overall a pretty annoying experience. Lots of inconsistently enforced rules about when you can be in your room due to cleaning -- if they don't clean during the posted times, expect to be booted out by the rather rude and obnoxious co-owner and guilt-tripped for making them wait. Washrooms are also not very clean. I found a shaving razor on the floor of the shower, although it could have been from the last person to use the shower. Even apart from the razor, not very appealing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In all Hostel/Hotel around the world rooms are accessible ONLY after the daily cleanings and so it is also for common areas.When you and your other 2 friends arrived was pretty early and PRETENDED to get into your room and was not even the check out time for guests who were booked ino that room.We kindly offered a safe deposit for your 3 luggages.You have used the common bathroom and this was just used by another guest.We need time to do our work to give you a clean place to stay :-)

97%

Great choice to stay here, it made our trip to Naples great - all the staff are very knowledgable and super helpful about the area and getting around to the surrounds like Pompeii and Amalfi etc. clean rooms and bathrooms too. Great breakfast included too! And the book exchange is such a good idea for travellers. Super close to the train and bus station too. The owners are very passionate about the business and you can tell they care deeply about the service they provide! Thanks for a great stay


86%

I recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to see naples and pompeii. The hostel itself is great, I felt very safe there. I put the location as poor because although it is right next to the train station, it is in a SKETCHY part of town. We were told multiple times not to go outside after dark, and I believed it. One of the people I was staying with at the hostel did go out, and he was drugged and woke up on the side of a random street with his things stolen.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the nice words about your stay in our Hostel BUT about this happening I have to reply: this guy went out with a group of more then 10 people for a night walking tour in the historic center and he was already drunk....plus he also had more drinks in a Bar so he was complitely drunk!! The group walked back to the Hostel without hime because they missed him and that's the reason why he got stuff stolen, NOT because he was drugged as you wrote....common sense is important!!

100%

Very nice and colorful hostel in a location very easy to reach. Best pizza right around the corner of the hostel.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Located very close to the train station but in an intimidating part of Italy. Be very wary of pickpockets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Amazing Naples pizza is right around the corner. They had free sangria night on Thursday! The free breakfast was nice as well. I would recommend bringing ear plugs and sleep mask since there is no air conditioning in the room and the windows to the balcony have to be open to keep it cool. There are bright lights and a lot of street noise.


74%

Only one toilet and shower for floor and they're in the same room. Area looks very dodgy and unsafe. But overall close to station, staff are helpful and free breakfast, what more could you want/need from a hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just for who read....bathroom in the corridor with shower as commone use....but theis guest didn't mention that we also have rooms with privated bathroom!!

83%

This was a fun hostel. I liked that they do aperitivo night on Thursdays & Saturdays - it gave a bunch of us the hostel a chance to get to know each other and mingle, and later go out for pizza (REALLY close to some of the best pizza places in town).The breakfast is pretty good and the rooms are not too small. The lockers only fit really big locks, and they don't rent locks, so keep that in mind. The hostel itself is very safe, but the area is not that great so don't walk around at night alone


77%

Hostel Mancini is located in a sketchy area of town, but this is Naples so you kinda get used to it after 2 days or so! The hostel itself was very good, facilities were impressive and the rooms were clean and tidy! Free breakfasts were a good addition! The staff here are very attentive (compared to others I have visited), they will give their all to help you and won't complain about doing so... Biggest plus is that the hostel is literally down the road from the train station - very useful!


86%

Hostel Mancini is good for a short stay. The neighbourhood and Naples as a whole didn't appeal to me as a female traveller as surrounding streets felt unsafe and a little dirty. Rooms didn't seem to block out any street noise or voices from the hallway. My bed was very uncomfortable. Overall it was good for my layover - the hostels love of Nutella and ability to provide a decent breakfast is ideal for budget travellers. Staff are fab! They can help you navigate Naples or suggest activities.


94%

Such friendly and helpful staff, they were wonderful at the start showing me where to get into the city and how to get to Pompeii etc, and even where to get the best pizza. Very colorful inside and lots of Nutella and a nice breakfast each morning, one of my favorite hostels

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly helpful staff.. clean and tidy if a little old and tired. ..

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The area is pretty sketchy and I was scared to be walking around at night, but the staff were very friendly and helpful.


86%

Very helpful staff, convenient location to train and bus stations, secure.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(56 results)


View all Naples Hostels

Please give us your feedback