X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Marabou Reviews

Konevova 738/55, Prague, Czech Republic

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
826 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff were all helpful with directions & sightseeing ideas. There was an old musty smell throughout the hostel but you got used to it. Showers needed to be held down by a button continuously so wouldn't turn off.


34%

we had a private double room but it wasn't as it appeared in pictures, marketed as pragues most colourful hostel, well yes the wall paper is colourful but the lighting gives it a dingy feel. the toilet on our floor was shared with all other private rooms however it didn't flush properly, and the seperate shower was dirty and was push button water but when you pushed the button the flow only lasted 10-15 seconds before cutting off and having to push the button again. it was not centrally located


100%

I realy liked the interior, those wallpapers, adv plates, typing machine, vintage stuff, beer bottle collection. I was impressed.


74%

Unfortunately not everything looked that clean as it probably was. That was also enforced by the smell of old cigarettes that´s stuck in the furniture. The showers are not great also. You have to keep pushing the button if you want to keep the water running. So if you're a girl with long hair it's one of the worst things possible. One of the good things about the hostel is the included breakfast and also the staff is great, funny and helpfull!


86%

badly soundproofed and squeak doors may prevent you from sleeping late.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This could be an awesome place if some thing were fixed. * Overall the place suffers from ventilation problems.In the twin room we stayed it was worst,as there was mould growing on the walls and no windows to air it out. * Painfully understaffed. 1 pers dealing with the bar,check in and any other queries.The whole check in process took well 2 hrs. * No free parking although listed in facilities Pros:good selection of beers, interesting neighbourhood, some friendly staff members, ok breakfast


97%

We accidentally booked our night for the next night so we arrived one day prior to our booking. The staff were nice enough to let us sleep in cellar for a small fee. That very nice. The rooms are very tidy and nice. I love the beer selection that they have as well


91%

Great hostel. While the location is not the best one could hope for, the fact they have on tap beer and a huge collecting of bottled beer makes it a rocking joint. The staff were relaxed and easy to have a conversation with. A free breakfast is always a treat aswell :) Would deffinatly recommend and return to.


51%

We took the Low-Budget-Double-Room and it was horrible. There was no freh-air (no window, no airconditioning), so it was hot and smelly. It was also very small and because it´s next to the lounge it was very loud till the middle of the night (4 o´clock). Even the music from reception was more like a disco party. We would NOT advice to get this room even if it´s cheap, but you won´t enjoy it. It seems more like a storage room. The hostel by itself was okay. There is free breakfast and WIFI.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The reception were helpful. no wifi working and no computers that worked either. quite out of the city centre but not too expensive. not enough showers, had to wait for a while at times.


86%

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hostel's a bit out of the way meaning we walked for quite a whole most days. However, it's easy to meet people as there's loads of common area. The rooms were good and had huge lockers.


89%

Great friendly atmosphere! You will meet lots of people here


37%

Always at least one toilet blocked. Tea machine was broken. (Rather flimsy feeling) door of private room accessible by all other guests. Room needed mopped. Horrid decor. Sheets didn't feel 'clinical' (only time of our trip we used our linen sleep liners). Shower button needs hit constantly. Common area seats torn to bits. Downstairs smelt dingy. Leaflet promised a free beer on arrival, non given. Unhelpful staff. Far from nice part of Prague. Worst accommodation of our trip. Dingy hole.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel has 14 toilets, we are very sorry that some of them were just used at the time of your need. Our kitchen is fully equipped with 15 liter teapot, further kettle with complimentary tea bags, at the time of your stay both worked perfectly. Your room was a private room and no one except you did not have the key to unlock the rooms, I do not understand what you mean. Before each check in the room and the bed thoroughly cleaned and coated with clean sheets from external laundry..

86%

A great value hostel, nice bar and plenty of space to lounge about. It is quite far from the centre, but with good bus and tram connections. The shower could use a good clean, but other areas are spotless.


40%

the 3 nights i stayed there the wifi never worked for me. In fact it didn't work for all the people I've asked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Weiliang, thank you for your comment. Unfortunately it happened on weekend and T-Mobile doesnt work on weekend. It was fixed during Monday than. I would also like to say, that all internet acces in the hostel, it works in every room, is for free. Tom and Marabou Team

80%

The staff was amazing, the guests considerate and the facilities welcoming. My only complaint is that the shower curtain in one of the first floor bathrooms has mildew/mold on it and needs to either be washed periodically or replaced all together. It was simple to get from the city center to the Hostel and I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

the wifi doesnt work properly in rooms

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

This location is good if you have a car (over the weekend, its free parking a few meters down the street). There is a bus station near the hostel, but if u prefer walking - the center is only a 20 minute walk. Staff is very friendly and ready to help. We liked the kitchen (there is everything you need and more) and living room. I liked breakfast (not much choice, but it was good) and free coffee and tea all the time. Wifi was very slow.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

It was an awesome stay, probably one I my favorties in Europe. Free breakfast! I stayed in a 16 person dorm, the lockers were huge! The room was big too. There were plenty of toilets showers, I never felt like I had to wait for anyone. Staff was great, tons of cheapish beers to choose from. The ownly downsides are push-button showers, and flaky internet, but that have computers so it's fine.




View all Prague Hostels

Please give us your feedback