Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th May 2017
9.4

Masaya is an absolutely gorgeous hostel. The rooftop has everything you need - kitchen, resto/bar, patio, pool, lounge spaces. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hostel is clean. The A/C in my room was blasting so cold that we had to ask to turn it down. The hostel is close to the main plaza that has lots of restaurants and bars. Great stay and I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I come back to Santa Marta.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th May 2017
9.1

Feels more like a hostel, great pools and rooftop. AirCon isn't the best but comfy beds.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th May 2017
6.0

I feel so sorry for the owner of this hostel! The facilities are some of the best I have ever seen in a hostel: beds with privacy, nice rooftop with pool, kitchen and restaurant, cinema room. However the staff is absolutely useless!!! They made me go nuts with their service. And a hairdryer would be a great investment!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th May 2017
9.1

Nice hostel with two pools and rooftop to enjoy the sunset. The rooms were well designed with personal curtains and lights. Would recommend this hotel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
9.7

Great place on a stop through. Didn't expect too much but everyone was friendly and the facilities were clean. Nothing crazy fancy, but the rooftop bar and pool are great additions.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
10.0

Pros: I loved the place! Best hostel I've stayed in a long time! Yolina and the rest of the staff were awesome, helpful and cheerful! Perfect place to relax , and enjoy santa Marta ! Cons: The rooms were extremely hot! The restaurant offers no Colombian food , it's all hippie weird curry food ! The food was horrible and took a long time to come out , and the chef was rude! I asked him thre questions and he didn't even bother to look at me. The dishes be served on were dirty.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Apr 2017
8.9

Good and clean hostel, rooms were very hot though, so it was hard to sleep. Pool is nice and kitchen is well equipped. There are computers. Staff was very friendly and the location is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We will make sure that our staff knows that they attention made a positive impact during your stay. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Sincerely John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.0

We stayed in Hostel Masaya after doing the Lost City Trek (they looked after our rucksacks for a small charge while we were on the hike). It's a modern, upmarket hostel right in the centre of Santa Marta, perfect for relaxing by the pool and with a great roof bar and restaurant. Our private double room was very clean and comfy but unfortunately we did find the staff on reception were rude and unhelpful. Could definitely improve their customer service!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are sorry to hear that some things in the hostel did not meet your expectations, We have solved this problem relating to Staff, days ago we had a new trainning with all receptionists and also been added one more receptionist to the desk. Thank you for helping us improve our services. We hope to see you soon in the Masaya hostels. Kind Regards, John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.9

My impression was very dubble. At the one hand this is one of the most nicest hostel i have had sofar, two swimming pools very nice atmosphere, very good\helpful staff. There was 1 big downside for us and that was that the dorm room (at street side) which we had was like a Sauna at night. We could not sleep because in the dorm room it was at least 10 degrees hotter then outside (even with a own fan it was way to hot). If the dorm room was more ventilated at night then this hostel would be a 10+.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We know this situation and are working to solve this problem relating to ventilation in the 12 beds dormitory, changing the top of wooden doors to grills. Thank you for helping us improve our services. We hope to see you soon in the Masaya hostels. Kind Regards John - Front Office Manager

17th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Live music on the roof some nights. Breakfast only included with private rooms. Friendly staff and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.