Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 875 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 875 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
9.1

Great private rooms with aircon. The hostel is very clean and almost feels like a hotel. Two good pools and lounging area. Food choice from the restaurant is limited but breakfast is very good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.9

Amazing roof top bar, local area a bit ropey at night but a very chilled hostel with friendly and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2017
8.9

The facilities are phenomenal. Seriously impressive and the roof top is to die for. The rooms were very nice (stayed in private room & 4 person dorm). The dorms AC was not great which was a pain given the humidity. The staff was helpful, but also spent a lot of time chatting with other employees while "helping" out guests. Perhaps they are guests working for room and board, but it was a bit annoying. The bar plays music pretty late despite the 10PM quiet time. Not an issue for us, but FYI.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.6

Feels very high end for the price - really comfortable dorms, which include curtains around your bed meaning that you get a lot of privacy, as well as each bed having its own fan. Expensive once inside the hostel and the atmosphere was a little lacking. Lockers also have absolutely tiny locks, meaning I couldn't secure my stuff. Incredibly friendly staff and gorgeous building, as well as the two pools, help make up for that. Would recommend for a bit of r&r if you feel the need!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2017
10.0

Masaya was by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at, and to say the least, the best hostel I have ever seen. I was definitely caught off-guard when I first walked into the hostel to check in--I thought I had walked into a resort (judging from the pool on the first floor and the ornately oriented lobby). All of the staff members are extremely friendly and helpful and I am happy to say that I am able to call some of them my friends. Want to enjoy Santa Marta? Book your nights at Masaya! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
5.7

I would not recommend staying here. The front desk staff is incredibly rude. They could not careless about their guests. The AC unit leaked all over 2 of the beds and soaked our bags. But it is a beautiful establishment in a good location. I just think you are better off elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi girls. One again sorry that you had such a bad experience at the hostel. We have talked about it with the staff to make sure it won't happen again. For the AC sorry that it happened when you were staying. We hope we had been able to compensate a little bit the day of your departure with the laudries. Anyway enjoy the rest of your trip in Colombia. Take care. Melissa - Manager

7th Jul 2017
10.0

The staff was fantastic. The bar keeps a tap on your room and bed number so it's really easy to order drinks and have a good time. The beds come with fans, lights, plugs and curtains. Lockers and aircon as well so it's very comfortable. If you want a place to be able to have a good time, I definitely recommend it. The staff was really friendly and really helpful too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

3rd Jul 2017
9.7

Our 1st res was in a 12 person dorm. There were 6 British boys who intolerable. They left beer bottles, slammed doors, clogged the toilet twice, and fought like kids. I was pissed mostly at them, not at the Masaya. However the no AC and TERRIBLE beds in the dorms didn't help. We weren't happy, so we got a private room the next day. Worlds of a difference! Clean, AC, perfect. Bonus: Masaya Restaurant on roof is INCREDIBLE. Chef is AMAZING. Shout out to the delicious breakfast too! Miledes cooks!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services, We will be sure to Mileidis know that they made an positive impact during your stay. About the noise, we are already more strict with the rule of silence after 10pm, thanks for helping us improve our service. We hope to see you soon again in the Masaya hostels. Sincerely John - Front Office Manager

23rd Jun 2017
10.0

The best hostel in santa marta! Definitely stay here if you have the chance, the hostel have secure lockers with lots of storage space. The privacy is amazing and there is even a charger input next to every bed! Make sure to get a room with A/C it gets very hot in santa marta. The staff is amazing especially Lilliana, she was a sweet heart and very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Beautiful boutique hostel felt more like a hotel! Large comfy dorm beds with own curtain, light and powerpoint. With two swimming pools and rooftop bar what more could you want! Great place to meet people would definitely stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.