Hostelworld.com

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 459 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.1
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta Located at Calle 14 04-80, , Santa Marta.
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 00000 Calle 14 04-80
88% 459
11.2446089 -74.2108225
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

All the mod-cons to your dorm bed you could ever dream: fan, light, curtain & power plugs. Two pools, good wifi, big kitchen. Great spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th May 2016
9.4

Good Travelagency "Aventure Colombia" near by.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • miketredinnick7466
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th May 2016
8.0

Great location, comfortable rooms and excellent environment for socialising without being over the top or party. They could be better off they helped provide a better orientation to the hostel and to the town but otherwise OK. The travel agents at the front door are wonderful for all your travel questions and bookings.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

Cool hostel, nice building! Bit big for my taste, but very cool!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th May 2016
9.4

I've just came back from Santa Marta and I've spent 6 days at Masaya's Hostel. I had a really nice time there doing activities that I booked in the agency and Expotour. The Hostel is quite beautiful and staff is very friendly and helpful. Specially to mention Lourdes, Chirly and Leo who take care of the breakfast in the morning. Very interesting activities in the evening. I loved Moca band concert with their tour #PasarlaBien. Definitely a place I will come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th May 2016
7.7

Pros: beautiful building, roof top pool and bar, well thought out dorms, nice showers (best in SA), live music Cons: inconsistent staff - most not very friendly or helpful, breakfast not included, one of our beds didn't have sheets and the night staff had us go into a different room (@2am) to steal another beds sheets, they charge $ for storing luggage but don't tell you this up front (5000 pesos per bag per night). Overall, the facility is amazing, but the staff needs to step up their game!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
6.0

The staff was extremely unhelpful. Not impressed, felt it was overpriced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a comment, it helps us improve the quality of our services. We are sorry that you had a bad impression of the way our staff is working, we'll make sure it will not ever happen in the future. See you soon at Masaya's!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
4.9

Staff give very poor service! No apologies and seemed to not care at al! i booked 3 beds for 3 nights in a 12 bed dorm for my boyfriend, friend and myself and we were all put into separate rooms.. (more expensive also) then there was someone in my bed the first night, there was a lock on my beds locker so my stuff was left on the ground, i was told it was going to be cut and it never did! i was told there is no towels at all, then i was told my another lady they are for rent (website says free).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a comment about your stay at Masaya's. We are sorry that you had a bad experience with your booking. We work hard everyday to offer our client's the best experience possible. We hope to get the chance to convince you better in the future.

10th Apr 2016
9.7

Amazing hostel! I stayed here before heading to Tyrona national park. Really a beautiful place with a lively rooftop. It was still quiet at night after about 12. Good dining is close, and the staff are really helpful. Breakfast was also great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving us such a nice review. It is always a pleasure to read all of our client's satisfaction in their commentaries. We hope to get the chance to host you again in the future in any of our Masaya's establishments!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2016
7.7

Nice hostel and in very good location. Shame about having no towels to wash with avaliable to use for 2 days though. Breakfast is vey nice. Wifi good most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review, we are happy to read that you enjoyed you stay with us and the commodities we offer. We're looking forward to see you again in the future at Masaya's!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.