Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 818 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jun 2017
9.1

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Masaya. The location was good in the town, super fast wifi and very nice communal areas (rooftop & pool) where it is great for relaxing. The beds had curtains to draw across which made the dorms nice to stay in, although they were very small and hot in the top bunks. We added breakfast on the rooftop for 8,000COP per person (not included) which was worth doing for ease. Not very social, more a place you come to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.7

Absolutely amazing hostel. Felt more like a hotel. Rooms were good, staff super friendly and helpful, quick wifi. Best bit is the roof. Great pool and bar, only shame is that the great music turned off at 12. Would definitely recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Dorms a bit on the small side, but every bed has a socket, light and a curtain to pull. Nice Facility, helpful staff. Wifi in dorms not as good, but fine outside. Toilets smelt sometimes odly in the morning..Kitchen could be better equipped.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.6

Nice hostel with 2 pools. Pretty relaxed. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great rooftop terrace with bar and pool. The 4bed dorm is really packed if 4 people are in there with all the luggage. Great beds with a not so good pillow ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We will make sure that our staff knows that they attention made a positive impact during your stay. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Sincerely John - Front Office Manager

  • slembrouckniels
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th Jun 2017
9.7

Busy, but cosy hostel. Stayed in 6 dorm with OK size, clean ensuite bathroom. Aircon goes on at 8pm, breakfast (coffee, eggs, cereal, fruits) is $8,000, laundry is per bag. Friendly staff. Kitchen could be better but overall very nice hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.1

Beautiful hostel but comparatively expensive for the area. You're paying for the common areas here (which are great) but we were disappointed that our 6-bed dorm was so small, hot and dark. Regardless, I'd stay again as the atmosphere was brilliant. Get your laundry done elsewhere as they charge an extortionate COP 25,000 per bag!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi , thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. About the Laundry we are already working to change the size of bag for washing more clothes for the same price, We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind Regards John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jun 2017
6.6

Overall Masaya is pretty good but for a boutique hostel at a premium price I feel there is a number of things they can work on. The two women receptionists I dealt with on occasion were friendly enough, but at times they were obviously more interested in chatting socially with local guests or on their phones, rather than assisting those waiting. The breakfast was really ordinary and nothing like the photos. You have to pay extra for towels and the air-conditioning only functions after 8pm.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I stayed in! Amazing facilities it's more like a hotel than a hostel. Stayed in the 4 bedroom room with air conditioning for extremely reasonable prices. Staff are all amazingly friendly and there are always great events going on! Pools are lovely, great place to relax. Ended up spending 3 extra nights here after only planning to stay for 3 throughout our 1 month trip! Highly recommend if staying in Santa Marta, cheap and cheerful, right down the road from La brisa loca

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

26th May 2017
10.0

Hostel Masaya was the nicest hostel we visited in Colombia. Beautiful building, great location, helpful staff, ensuite bathrooms, speedy and reliable wifi, two pools and an amazing rooftop. I'd live there if I could!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for your comment and for choosing us for your stay in the city, we are very happy that you liked the hostel and its services. We hope to see you soon at the Masaya hostels. Kind regards, John - Front Office Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th May 2017
9.1

We just stayed one short night but liked what we saw! The communal areas are top notch but our room was very cramped and hot. The AC seemed to be on very slightly (we couldn't adjust it, no remote) but with 6 bodies in a tiny room we could barely sleep. I also got locked in the bathroom but luckily my friend heard me knocking trying to get out and we managed to get me out. I mentioned it to the front desk so hopefully it will get fixed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.