Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 666 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta Located at Calle 14 04-80, , Santa Marta.
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta
Colombia
Santa Marta Magdalena 00000 Calle 14 04-80
85% 666
11.2446089 -74.2108225
Hostel Masaya Santa Marta
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Jan 2017
5.4

Very very over priced for a private double which was dark and kind of dingy. Breakfast wasn't good, hostel is noisy and feels like some kind of commercial enterprise. To top it off they tried to charge us for keeping our bags at the hostel past the check out time. In the end we moved to another place in Santa Marta which was so much nicer and a third of the cost! Would not recommend masaya for private double rooms...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
6.9

At the time we went it was full of families and couples. The stay was not very accommodating in helping us with check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

My friend and I booked 3 nights but left after 2 to spend New Years Eve elsewhere. Thought it was going to be a fun place for NYE because of the roof top bar & pool, but the hostel was mostly filled with couples and families. In our 6 bed dorm were 2 boy & girl teenage siblings traveling with their parents and a couple. The bar is also fairly expensive & has poor happy hour specials. Ok location in city, but so much traffic & honking around. Beaches were small/crowded. Clean bathrooms though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anicamoss324
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
5.4

There were no towels for us. The breakfast was very bad (raw eggs) and was not included because we were in a dorm. Bathroom was not clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
5.1

No safe in the room as they claim. Laundry is expensive and they stuffed it up. They demagnetised my keycard in the middle of my stay and it took 3 attempts to fix it. The breakfast is grim, the coffee is undrinkeable, and there was an ashtray on the breakfast bar. They claim to have a 10pm quiet time but don't follow their own rules. They were dishonest at the tour desk about the logistics of the bus to Palomino. I was supposed to stay here again but changed to a different hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Dec 2016
8.3

Really nice hostel with amazing rooftop pool and bar. The only problem I had was that they ran out of towels the whole time I was there they never had one available.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Dec 2016
7.1

Hostel Top. Das Personal an der Rezeption ist nett, aber völlig unqualifiziert. Brauchen für alled ewig und checkt den Preis bei der Bezahlung falls ihr bereits eine Anzahlung gemacht habt. Bei uns haben Sie das dann einfach bei beiden Malen vergessen...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
8.3

Hostel looks like a hotel, amazing rooftop but unfortunately not much of an atmosphere up there except for the 3rd year anniversary party. Met people in the dorms though. Breakfast was good but not included (8000). Beds are comfortable, bathrooms were clean. Only complaint is that most of the staff were REALLY slow, taking up to 30 mins to check someone in. One guy was absolutely amazing though!! Would definitely recommend this hostel but it's not too social on a regular night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Dec 2016
9.4

It's like a hotel. But with two amazing pools, open kitchen, and a rooftop bar that will make you stay the whole night just at the hostel. Definitely worth it if you just visited tayrona. Also, busses to tayrona are 5 min easy walk from hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
6.9

Great hostel, the staff are utterly useless

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.