X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta Reviews

Calle 14 04-80, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
361 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It's more like a hotel than a hostel. Super nice and modern with all of the amenities that could ever really be needed at a hostel. There are personal fans for each of the dorm beds and fans scattered throughout the whole hostel--which was awesome!

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Big and anonymous with brisk staff. Nice rooftop with basic catering facilities, a bar and plenty of space to sit in shade. Good WiFi throughout. The dorm had aircon and each bed has a curtain, its own light + power sockets. The mattress was ropey and the pillows are wafer thin. It's a pity that the under-bed lockers are not just a bit bigger to fit backpacks as this would make better use of the small space available. Central location, easy to get around all the sites and to the malecón.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We will work on our facilities to improve comfort for all our guests. Remember you can have a 10% off on your next stay.

100%

Very nice hostel with personal fans which are amazing to have

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review, we know how hot i can be in Santa Marta and try to provide the maximum comfort to our hosts, even if they are staying in the dorms. See you soon in Masaya!

74%

Nice and clean hostel, like a resort almost. At the same time, people behave like they are in a resort. Everyone is non-stop on their phones, the atmosphere isn't very social. I would recommend this hostel if you want a beautiful place in a good neighbourhood, not so much if you're looking for some new friends!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are please to see that you liked the quality of our services. While we try to offer the maxim comfort, our concept is also based on offering our hosts a wide range of (free) cultural activities , so that they can fully enjoy their trip to Colombia, and exchange one with a another. We hope to make you change your mind in the event of a future stay with us, and are looking forward to host you again!

91%

Not much to do in Santa Marta, I feel you visit here to see the surrounding areas. The hostel is great as a base or somewhere to recharge. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and a 12 bed. Both are great but the 6 bed is nicer, more private and has AC/and fan. Saying that the 12 bed is fine. Great showers, Cool roof top with pools, tv room to chill, comfortable beds with private curtains and good kitchen facilities. Hostel with a hotel feel.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

one of the best hostels I've stayed


97%

This hostel is more like a 5 star resort. Amazing rooftop terrace with pool, great movie lounge, friendly staff. You still have a nice (Backpacker-)Vibe though. Every single dorm bed has curtains on each side and a reading light, outlets and an own mini fan. I absolutely recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your experience at Masaya! We try to provide the best comfort to our guests with a nice backpackers atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon in any of our two establishments!

89%

Such a beautiful hostel and the dorm beds are great. The roof is amazing. Felt like a little bit of luxury. Staff are great, however the girls working for the travel agency in the front hall are so, so rude. They aren't employed by the hotel, but you wouldn't know this unless you asked, so it reflects badly on the hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment, we are happy that you liked your stay in Masaya, feel free to come back in any of our establishments in the future. We regret that you had a "bad" experience with the travel agency in the front desk, we took notes of your commentary and make sure this won't happen again in the future. See you soon in Masaya!

97%

Amazing hostel in a fun town. The staff were fabulous, especially the bartender who also served as a dance instructor on some nights. I had a great time in Santa Marta and it was definitely even better due to Masaya! The hostel was clean and well cared for, the beds were comfortable, and they had great amenities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your words regarding the quality of our service as well as regarding our staff. Eduar at the bar was pleased to make your stay the best possible. We hope to see you again in the future in Masaya! Don't forget you have a 10% discount on your second stay with us.

66%

Hostel was amazing, rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was great. Staff however were poor, seemed like they had no idea about anything or just had no interest in assisting when we asked them about booking tours and where to eat, laundry etc. and they were quite lazy. The rooftop is really cool but the pool was very dirty! Would definitely recommend staying here in Santa Marta just don't expect much from the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you words, you are pleased to read that you liked your stay in Masaya. We apologize for the pool problem, that we already fixed at that time. Same for our staff, we will make sure your "bad" experience at the breakfast will not happen again. Hoping to see you soon in Masaya!

91%

More like a hotel than a hostel. Slightly more expensive but completely worth the money and in a great location. We stayed here before and after the lost city trek and it was the perfect way to end our stay in Santa Marta.


77%

Not in the best area be careful at night! The staff were always super helpful, more like a hotel then a hostel, not much of a social vibe but the place itself is beautiful, would stay again if we ever went to Santa Marta again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your comment. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the comfort we try to offer. Next we hope you can participate to our free cultural activities ! See you soon in any of our establishments!

89%

Great location and amazing value. Would definitely go back

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are more than welcome to come back and stay in any of our two establishments, with a 10% discount for your second stay in Masaya!

100%

Awesome! Maria was great and extremely helpful

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your words about our staff and especially Maria. Se you soon in Masaya!

97%

I love it!! Highly recommend it, it's beautiful, clean, great location & awesome staff

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your words! We really hope to host you again in any of our 2 establishments!

91%

Best shower I have had in Colombia so far!!

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Emma, I'm glad you liked our shower!! Thanks for this great review. We hope to welcome you back soon!

74%

Its a good hostel, all was really good but i recommed leave more things at the kitchen for cook cause they have only 3 glasses and they are not clean , and they have some plates. The tv room or cine room smells bad we recommed change the cushions But the service was good! And the guy that is at the bar is a really good person!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Vanessa, thank you very much for your comment. I'll see with our manager what we can do about the kitchen and the Cine room. I'm really glad you liked the attention of the bar. It's really important for us to offer a perfect service. Thanks again, hope to welcome you back soon.

94%

very lux hostel, really superb facilities and very central

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Maria, Thank you very much for this great review, which encourages us to improve every day our service. We're really glad you like the hostel and its facilities, don't hesitate to come back, you'll get 10% off on your next stay !

89%

I loved the amenities here including the pools, rooftop bar & good activities. Some of the staff were helpful and others completely the opposite, so it was hit & miss. Ps: The 4 bed AC dorm was crowded and stuffy - save your money & go for a bigger room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Aesclinn, thanks for your comment, i will see with the manager what we can do to improve our service.

100%

Great location to everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Gloria thanks for your great review!! Hope to see you back in Santa Marta soon!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(43 results)


View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback