Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 701 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Really great hostel-good location to walk around town, helpful staff, great rooftop bar, kitchen and hangout area. The 12 person dorm room was spacious and beds were private. Only negative was that they seemed to need a few more bathrooms! Would definitely recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
7.7

Nice location and friendly stuff Too big, I think there are 16 beds in each dorm Absolutely no atmosphere during the week, in a bar on a roof there were around 6, 7 persons

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.1

Great hostel and very friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

Maybe the best hostel in Santa Marta! Very clean, very beautiful pools and architecture. The staff is super friendly and helpful, drinks are good and they also offer nice activities! They also improved their dorms with more AC and fans, the showers are decent and clean. Nothing bad to say! It is just awesome :D

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.0

The hostel had an amazing rooftop common area. It's a great option to enjoy yourself without trekking around the city. The rooms have comfortable and private beds and large lockers. The only downside is the floors were not very clean in the rooms The staff were very friendly but not overly knowledgeable. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jan 2017
9.4

You pay more than your general hostel but you get a fantastic facility, great staff (from cleaning personal to front office), and a beautiful, just beautiful hostel. The food cooked by the chef was very good as well. Strangely enough, the 12 bed rooms are nicer than the 6 rooms (more space). Some nice activities in the evening organised And music playlist throughout the day is spot on.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Jan 2017
5.4

Very very over priced for a private double which was dark and kind of dingy. Breakfast wasn't good, hostel is noisy and feels like some kind of commercial enterprise. To top it off they tried to charge us for keeping our bags at the hostel past the check out time. In the end we moved to another place in Santa Marta which was so much nicer and a third of the cost! Would not recommend masaya for private double rooms...

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • paulowen1407933
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.7

Very expensive for what it is and whilst staff are very nice check in takes way too long. Overall though I enjoyed my stay here

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Dec 2016
6.9

At the time we went it was full of families and couples. The stay was not very accommodating in helping us with check out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.7

My friend and I booked 3 nights but left after 2 to spend New Years Eve elsewhere. Thought it was going to be a fun place for NYE because of the roof top bar & pool, but the hostel was mostly filled with couples and families. In our 6 bed dorm were 2 boy & girl teenage siblings traveling with their parents and a couple. The bar is also fairly expensive & has poor happy hour specials. Ok location in city, but so much traffic & honking around. Beaches were small/crowded. Clean bathrooms though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.