X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hostel Masaya Santa Marta Reviews

Calle 14 04-80, Santa Marta, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
98 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff was very friendly The location was good IT was clean

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Amazing rooftop pool, comfy beds with curtains. Lush design that looks like a boutique hotel. Only downside is that the atmosphere is lacking - everyone who wants to socialise walks down the road to bresa loca. The staff don't do anything to help change this.


100%

Everything was amazing. Zero complaints, or even the most minor issue.


91%

Hostels for travelers. Everything is perfect, two pools, one for the morning, one for the afternoon. Depends on the sun. If you are in a dormitorium of 12, be careful not being far from the window, otherwise it is really really hot, even if you have your own ventilator. It is a pity that they didn't put back the curtains in the dormitorium of 6, which have the air co, really appreciable! Really great place to hang out and enjoy everything.


89%

This is a super nice hostel. Only drawbacks were that atmosphere was a bit dull (not the hostels fault) and that one of the staff was pretty unhelpful (all the others were great, which more than made up for it). I would recommend!


100%

Everything was just amazing. Not a party hostel but i like more quite places. 6 bedroom was a bit small and ac is really cold so be prepared. Cinema, rooftop, pool all super


86%

Has potential to be an excellent hostel,kitchen facilities were the only blight. Needs more cutlery and my food was thrown out 4 days in a row despite being labeled with my name room and date. Otherwise the pool is awesome the beers a decent price and the showers and toilets are immaculate.


97%

The place is fantastic. Price benefit ratio is the best I have ever experienced, the rooms are clean, the facility is modern and the breakfast is great for only a few bucks and so on. It is pretty much a luxury hostel for little money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comments! It's a nice satisfaction that you appreciated “la experiencia local de Masaya” during your stay in Santa Marta! It’s very important for us to continue to improve our services and reach your expectations! See you soon in Masaya for new experiences!

94%

Really nice hostel with style. Quiet to sleep and nice in the same time to have a beer atthe roof

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments! We are satisfied that you appreciated “la buena onda de Masaya”, we hope that you appreciated our cultural activities organized every night!!! You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Santa Marta Safe trip in Colombia!

74%

Dorms seemed good value for money, but not the double bed private with ensuite bathroom. It was dirty and the TV did not work. For $70 a night you could stay at a hotel. The grounds, facilities, and location were very nice. The hostel emphasizes its no drug policy, but the curly-haired front desk attendant was clearly smoking pot outside with a sketchy person when we left Friday night. I walked up to him to ask directions to La Puerta and he held the joint behind his back as he answered.


69%

A party hostel, unfortunately a young English party took this literally in having a party in the dorm room. The staff allowed me to move rooms when their party was still going on at 2am but not without trying to get me to pay more for a more expensive room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thank you for your comment. Our goal is to share the Colombian Culture with our cultural activities. The bar closes everynight at 1am to avoid the problem of noise. We are sorry for this problem during your stay, we are going to pay more attention next time because it's not an hostel for party...but for comfort and discover the Colombian culture. Thank you for your comment; this helps us improving the service we offer daily. Safe trip in Colombia!

97%

Amazing hostel!!!!!!one of the best of south amrica !!!2 pools and amazing place

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thank you very much for this nice comment!! It's a nice satisfaction that you appreciated the local experience of our hostel. Don't hesitate to follow us on our Facebook Page: Masaya hostel Santa Marta! You can also discover Masaya Bogota in the Candelaria!

91%

Feels more like a boutique hotel than a hostel! Fantastic location, and the staff were very helpful, letting me store my luggage while I was in Tayrona. Pool and rooftop were lovely, beds were HUGE and well thought out. Only problem was there was not much of a social atmosphere; if you're travelling with your partner and want to unwind, this place is perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you very much for your comment. It's a nice reward for us to know that you appreciated your stay in our hostel!!! Our objective is to combine intimacies moments but also meetings between customers around our cultural events! You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Santa Marta!! Safe trip in Colombia

91%

Could not call Masaya an hostel but an hotel. Actually a boutique one. Value could be % more then an hostel, but u or more cheaper then an hotel. Cleaner then your home, amazing terrace, happy hour with lots of ron. Highly recommend if you want to spoil yourself with some luxury.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments! It's true that we want to propose a quality offer with good services!! It's a nice satisfaction for us that you appreciated the comfort and the cleanliness of our hostel. You can follow us on our Facebook page: masaya hostel Santa Marta and also discover our Hostel Masaya Bogota!

40%

I booked and paid more for a dorm with air-con, only to be told that the air-con is scheduled from 10 pm to 10 am. (which is fraud) Warning full of Israelies. The guy at thier travel agency lies. Staff don't care about you, and don't ask them for direction or you'll die. Breakfast that looks free but is not is added to your tab without telling you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good afternoon, Thank you for your opinion! We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. About the AC is scheduled from 10 pm to 10 am to avoid an overconsumption. About the breakfast, we are going to talk with the reception because normally they prevent that it's just included for private room!! Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

83%

The hostel looks more like a hotel. Brand new, excellent pool. The hostel room (6 bed ensuit) was good. Private curtains around each bed, individual shelf with reading light. Downside was that the room was squishy and so hot. The AC got turned on around 11pm and made the room so cold everyone was freezing. Downside to not having control over the AC remote. The hostel had a few people staying there but there were no games run on any of the nights we were there so the vibe was missing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay. It's a nice satisfaction for us that you enjoyed the architecture and the comfort of our structure. About the AC we changed with a base of 21 degrees in all the rooms with possibilities of modifying the level of AC! About the atmosphere, we met a small problems last week but normally we have cultural activities all the night to discover the Colombian culture!! Good trip en Colombia Best regard

100%

Wow! Definitely by far the best hostel I ever stayed in - anywhere. Actually better than many hotels I stayed in as well. Brand new mansion-like building. It has 2 swimming pools and the most amazing rooftop-terrace with pool-billiard, chill-out-areas and a bar. The dorms and double rooms are spacious, clean and have aircon. The staff is really nice and helpful as well. I also booked my trip to Ciudad Perdida with their travel agency.


94%

This is the best hostel my partner and I have stayed in! We loved the experience, it was very affordable, in a central location in town and feels more like a resort than a hostel. Very clean and good wifi. The only drawback to the 12 bed dorms where we stayed is that the rooms are right above the street so you hear cars, honking people or music if there's some party going on on the weekend- this didn't bother us really... Earplugs are good if you're a light sleeper.


77%

Masaya is a very beautiful hostel in a very central location. Unfortunately there is no hostel atmosphere, nobody talks to each other and everything is very anonymous. I have no idea why, but it was very lonesome as a single traveller.


89%

A beautiful place to stay in Santa Marta. Multilevel, picturesque tile and marble building. Modern furnishings + an old building = unique. Shared dorm beds are cozy and semi-private with train-car curtains, individual fans and reading lights. Spacious kitchen. Inviting social areas. Great night activities! Good WIFI/computer area. Fantastic reception, especially from David and Melanie. Only complaints: rooftop pool closed for cleaning (5 days), occasionally out of toilet paper. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are satisfied that you appreciated the comfort, the staff and the cultural activities of our Hostel! We hope that you spent a pleasant moment in Santa Marta. We are very sorry for the problem of the rooftop pool, it was actually closed to clean it. Safe trip in Colombia and see you soon in Masaya!!

« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Santa Marta Hostels

Please give us your feedback