Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Hostel Merlin Located at Kajovska 59, , Cesky Krumlov.
Hostel Merlin
Czech Republic
Cesky Krumlov 38101 Kajovska 59
81% 738
48.8097180 14.3144989
Hostel Merlin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rlmor109142
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Only stayed here one night. In really fantastic location, so close to the castle! Rooms not airconditioned so get very hot. Overall, not a bad place. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
6.9

I stayed for one night in a double room. Great location with balcony and courtyard with views over river. friendly, helpful staff member on checking in. Room and bathroom clean. Only issue was that I arrived back to my room on my final day before I had checked out to find new people already in it and my stuff gone. It had been moved to a locked cupboard and was all present but I didn't appreciate it being moved given I had time remaining before checking out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Ok place to stay for a night or two. Staff could have been a bit more welcoming and attentive. Very little space but cost effective.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
7.7

Pension Merlin was secure, spacious, clean and had a lovely communal garden with great view. Unfortunately our stay was marred slightly by the fact that the pension was up a very large flight of stairs meaning my partner and I were lugging 20kg bags up and down. Further, the wifi promised was available only when sitting outside in the courtyard, and as it rained constantly we basically had no access. We would have also appreciated a heads up as to the hostel being cash only prior to arrival.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
7.4

This place was alright for 1 night. It's a little noisy due to location and 1 of the showers doesn't really work it's more of a trickle. The staff didn't really have anything to say didn't give me a map until I asked and just seemed a little unfriendly. Good location to crash at for a night though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
7.4

Positives; Perfect location by the beautiful Vltava river. Easy to walk everywhere. Great view from the balcony. I stayed in a dorm room which is fine for one night. Across the supermarket. Negatives; Showers with little pressure. The staff was not very friendly. Due to language problem they dont want to talk much. The staff wasnt there all the time anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • rebacl
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jun 2016
7.1

It is located right in the center, which is a really great location. If you have huge luggage, it is recommended to go by a taxi, cause the road is rocky and is difficult to drag the luggage, even though the way is not too far from the bus station. However, there should be either bed bugs, fleas or a lot of mosquitoes in the room as the next day I got bitten quite badly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
28th Jun 2016
5.4

Staff not very friendly, mattress very old and uncomfortable, sheets not very clean, showers with little pressure, but very good location and cheap price for a double room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
5.7

The room is quite noisy. Temperature of water in shower is not consistent. The hygiene of toilet is not good at all. There is always no one in the reception.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.6

Clean rooms superb location cool feel to the places makes you feel at home. Would stay again for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.