Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hostel Mundo Chiquito

  • 485 Aburanokoji Takeyachosagaru Hashimotocho, Nakagyoku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
10.0

Just excellent. Staff great, the hostel itself was lovely and very clean. Can't fault our stay at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.4

This hostel was good for a short stay with a nice garden and facilities including a common room and bicycle rental. There was a supermarket close by and the underground station was a 10 minute walk away. The atmosphere in the hostel was friendly and lay back but a bit quiet; there was not much chance to speak to others. The kitchen had everything necessary to make a meal. The hostel was sometimes gloomy so it could be improved with more lighting/fairy lights to brighten up the atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Dec 2016
9.7

The hostel was really nice. It's an old Japanese house, so it gets a bit chilly in the hallways and the kitchen area, but the rest of the house is heated so its fine. As it is an old Japanese house all the doors are really low. So be prepared to duck your head under every door or bang it against the frame ;-) The staff was very nice and helpful. The showers are outside, but they were alright.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Dec 2016
6.3

After reading the reviews on here thought people were being fussy and complaining about the size of the rooms but they really are very small. More like a little wooden box to stay in. Bathroom is outside. Water in sink is cold only. Didn't feel relaxed or comfortable staying here, although the staff are really really nice and friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
9.4

It's worth for staying. Nice Japanese style hostel which has private beds. It's quite far from Kyoto station but if you have 1 day pass it's valuable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Very clean and conveniently located in central Kyoto

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Nov 2016
10.0

Staff: very nice and helpful ladies! Location: very close to bus stop and a famous attraction. Security: it's safe. Everyone had a safe box Facilities: their shower is the best among the hostels I have stayed at so far. Super comfy! Atmosphere : their common area is cozy. Everyday there are guests chatting there. Very good atmosphere . I would totally recommend this place:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pedrobrandaoleite1047
  • Portugal, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
31st Oct 2016
7.1

Too small! Is it suppose to be like a capsule hostel but rustic one (maybe...) The eight people room would be a small room for a single person, they use it for 8!!! You have a box inside your bed your you can leave stuff, but if you have a medium/big bag, you don't have space not even to enter the room with it, nor the hall because they are too small!!! Hall and toilets are outside, like a small backyard. Toilet is "comme ci comme ça", showers are ok! The best part is the entrance small living

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
29th Oct 2016
5.7

we arrived we werent welcomed as the reception was closing and the girl was in a rush and was grumpy when asking where we were on a map to get our bearings.This was a theme the whole week we stayed a shame cause the other girls were very nice and helpful she really let this place down it was pretty cold when we were there cant help the weather but very shaky loud glass panel doors arent great for dorms also cleaning the toilet would be good very strong smells all the time and dirty toilet seat.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.