X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hostel Mundo Joven Cancún Reviews

Uxmal num.25, Cancun, Mexico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1090 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Enjoyed the hostel. Loved the rooftop and breakfast. There needs to be fans in the girls dorm very badly, and the shower room needs to be cleaned more often. I felt dirty even after my shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We guarantee cleanliness will be checked in all showers and we'll be waiting for your return. Have a good flight back home! Cheers!

57%

Was an OK hostel to stay at, but the WIFI was terrible, the toilets are situated inside the dorms and the shower is a weird system where you hold a button to douse yourself with cold water for three seconds, soap up, then rinse yourself. It was super cheap though, the staff are super friendly and it was secure! When we were there the rooftop bar wasn't buzzing but I'm sure nicer weather and chattier people would have it buzzing.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. It will help us to improve our service and offer the best accommodation in town. Wifi is working much better and the weather conditions are the best. Happy travels!

60%

Not much atmosphere at all. Only stayed one night and went to a different hostel. Power point in locker was a great idea though. The same hostel in Mexico City was much better and very fun.


43%

I stayed at this hostel 3 years ago and it has completely changed. It was now dirty, the dorms are cramped and the vibe is nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're right that's why we are renewing the hostel itself & would like you to try us a third time to change your perspective. Happy travels!

80%

Loved that you were able to leave your bags for 3 days no charge, thanks Jacuzzi a real treat

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes,it is great. We're glad to know you had an awesome time here! Feliz viaje!

100%

Exactly what was paid for. I believe the beds should be renewed more often due to the amount of usage. However that may be adding to running cost and increase fees required. Bed was very worn out and hard.

  • 8th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're renewing the hostel and We'll be waiting for you a second time. Thanks for choosing us. Cheers!

89%

Of course this place is low-budget, so don´t expect too high standards, it´s hostel life. A big plus of this place is the rooftop bar. You can hang out, have a cheap beer or tequila and talk to people. Came back to this Hostel a second time and would for a third time, too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'll be waiting for you a third time. Cheers!

83%

Overall, the hostel was not bad, but I feel like it was once a great place who has now let itself go. The only part of it that is still good is the roof terrace, which imo is worth the price in itself. Unfortunately, the shower and bathrooms in the 14-bed dorm were far from clean, one toilet was broken and the light in the shower was broken, which means you have to shower in the dark. Also, oddly enough, TV room has no TV, plus wifi is unreliable at best. Still, good location and value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry for this experience. We already made the changes in the shower,lights and tv room and guarantee the Hostel is renewing itself to offer the best accommodation in town. We'd like you to give us the chance to welcome you a second time if possible. Happy travels!

51%

Paid $38 USD a night for the private room. Sheets and floor were stained, no toilet paper, overall dirty room. Walls are very thin and were kept up til 1am by people drinking on the roof above us. Overall average hostel, decent location in terms of bus stop but otherwise kind of sketchy area, did not feel like cancun. Would be worth it if the place was

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback! It will show us our weaknesses to be aware on what to focus on. Have a good flight back home!

100%

great roof deck with a bar, helpful staff. easy to sleep since there are posted "quiet times". excellent breakfast. can't ask for anything else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! Thank you very much for your words amigo. Happy travels!

100%

Great & helpful staff. Very close to Ado bus Station. Had a blast on the Chichén Itzá tour. If you're looking for a inexpensive stay in Cancun, this is a good choice. Thank you to everyone on staff.

  • 14th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very,very much for your comment Robert!.. Have a great flight amigo !

89%

Great hostel and have stayed several times previously whilst visiting Cancun. Great hostel and highly recommended

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome friend.Thanks for the feedback! Happy travels!

51%

Not a good experience. but still quite ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi friend, first of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're very sorry to know you didn't have the experience you wanted to but would like to invite you a second time and give us the chance to change your perspective. Happy travels! cheers!

54%

We stayed there for one night to catch a flight next morning and arrived late in the evening. For that it was fine, except the restaurant, located in the same building. They did not have not had nearly all food listed in their menu, and the portions were quite small. We had to get out to get some additional food, after waiting in the restaurant for almost one hour.

  • 19th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Andreas! We really appreciate your comment on this matter. We will take care of this situacion and we hope to see you back soon!

63%

Rooftop terrace was the best part of the hostel. However wasn't always open when it was supposed to be. Maybe because it was the low season though - same as advertised morning walks and city buses! Uncomfortable beds with bunks that felt they would break. Friendly staff! Wouldn't stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel very sorry to hear about that, but really appreciate the review so that we know our weak points to focus on. We hope you try us one more time to change your opinion. Best regards!

97%

It's FANTASTIC, one of the most beautiful hostel never seen (jacuzzi on the roof)

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your words. We work hard to satisfy all our guests. Come back soon!

51%

Extremely basic hostel. Rooms without any atmosphere. Very noisy. Dirty sheets, dirty shower (1 shower for 10 people), dirty toilets, ... Very poor breakfast: toast with nothing to put on it and some cereals. That's it... Lousy atmosphere along the guests. I felt like an intrudor in their club.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. We've just renewed the hostel. We hope you come back soon ! Regards from Cancún !

83%

Right next to the ado bus station... So location was wicked for us... As we used cancun for a pit stop for 2 days until we went to holbox

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for choosing us. Come back soon!

54%

This hostel is in Downtown Cancun - You have to take a bus to the hotel zone where all the beaches are located so be aware. We were in the 14 bed mixed dorm - air conditioning was not working so the door remained open the whole time. The fans on the bed gave some relief during the night but still a very uncomfortable sleep. The shower in the room was disgusting, with broken walls and the door didn't shut properly. Rooftop terrace was nice with working jacuzzi. Lockers in room were also good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, We'll definitely work on our weaknesses to offer the best hostel in town. Happy travels!

66%

No AC in the 14 bed dorm, no air circulation in the room and the little fan attached to the bed missed your body completly. Didnt even bother showerin, bathroom looked dirty and the toilets were in a seperate room with windows open. The roof terrace was the only good thing about the hostel, i would only stay here if i needed to get a bus. Its only a 2 block walk over

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amelia,thanks for choosing us while in Cancún. All the rooms have A/C at the hostel except the the one with fan as advertised. We're 24/7 available in reception to provide assistance for all our guests. Next time please let us know. Happy travels!



View all Cancun Hostels

Please give us your feedback